More Fans Speaking Out

First up is A Brief History Of Prequel Bashing Or Why We Can’t Have Nice Things…it was originally posted on December 14 but I wasn’t aware of it until today:

If there had not been an Internet community back in 1999 when The Phantom Menace arrived, I am firmly convinced that the received attitude towards the prequel trilogy would be completely different. Without the rot of groupthink to shape and amplify negativity, individual criticisms of the films would have remained overshadowed by the abundant virtues in the films. While there were always fans of the prequels from the start, as new generations of Star Wars fans have grown up in a world with both the original films and the prequels, increasingly we are seeing that these new fans do not distinguish between the trilogies and are often shocked when they first join the online world and discover such hatred for the prequels.

My only quibble with the blog post is his criticism of the romance in AOTC. I knew exactly what Lucas was aiming for and I loved it. So there.

An online comics writer/artist posted Life After Star Wars. I’ll inform you in advance that this guy was not too fond of TFA but that’s not the point of his piece nor is that opinion the reason why I’m linking to it. Chances are if you read this page you’ll be able to relate to what he’s saying. I did tell him privately there are more of us out there than he’d think.

The weird thing in my mind was always “This man gave us this thing we claim to love so much, Star Wars. Who are we to tell him what he should do with it, or that it even belongs to us.” It isn’t ours. It never was. We are confusing our memories, or how we felt the first time we saw the A New Hope, with that of ownership. We own those memories, and not the story that gave them to us. Those stories belong to the creator first and foremost. It doesn’t mean anyone has to like it, but if you don’t it is time to move on and let go of that personal attachment to what you think belongs to you and doesn’t. The prequels are done, and made, and they are forever part of the lore of Star Wars.

Tags: , ,

27 Responses to “More Fans Speaking Out”

  1. susanbowes Says:

    I agree about the love story in AOTC. Anakin’s love of Padme and the fear of losing her, as he did his mother, is the main reason Anakin turned to the Dark Side after all and was extremely important to the saga.

    I totally agree with your statement that most haters believe they own SW and they most certainly do not! That right belongs to Mr. Lucas alone.

    I had another confrontation on FB today with one of those haters and stated that “he was one of the ones who thought they owned SW” and all he could respond was “Wow.” I don’t generally allow myself to be so downright mean, but this guy deserved it.

    • Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

      I still feel that people who felt the Ani/mé romance was unrealistic have either never been in a deep romantic relationship and/or are EXTREMELY self-unaware about it.

      That’s what people sound like when they’re in love. That’s why they annoy single people. I sound like Anakin’s “worst” lines with my wife every day without even thinking about it.

    • Hoggle Says:

      I am not sure if Anakin’s fear was the main reason for his turn, more his mortal greed.

      If it had been primarily his fear, then when alone in the Jedi council room, he would of had another vision of Padme’s death. Instead he get’s Palpatine’s voice, in what is probably telepathy as is not shown as prior dialogue between them. After Anakin knows Palpatine is the Sith Lord, & has not yet joined him, he is blocked from taking Anakin unawares so no more visions of Padme’s death occur but as they now have established dark side connection to each other after Anakin’s executing Dooku at his behest, he can still connect with Anakin despite it being more revealed now as him (Palpatine) and not disguised as the future.

      This is why Palpatine was so confident of Anakin becoming his new apprentice after his rescue, & he know’s Anakin is greedy. It is greed, not fear, that bought Anakin down.

      It also shows what would have been Luke’s next stage with the Emperor, if he had followed the Dark Lord of the Sith’s directive in executing Vader/Anakin.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        Let’s put it this way….Anakin’s fear of being left alone and losing those he loved fueled his “greed.” He also wanted status and respect, even if he hadn’t quite earned them. But fear was at the core of his actions.

      • Hoggle Says:

        It does seem like splitting hairs in part, & a threat to Padme resulted in fear.

        Just saying that this threat to Padme was caused by Palpatine to work on Anakin’s greed, as he was in other ways too. George Lucas back in the day, was emphasising that Anakin’s main thing was essentially he was becoming greedy with his powers. It’s abit of a emphasis leap in the film for him, when Vader Anakin is starting to talk about his own Empire & over throwing the Emperor to rule, and i see it as coming about in where George saw Anakin’s turn coming from, rather than as how he was manipulated which produced the fear.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I have to disagree with you that Anakin’s “greed” is why he turned. If you recall, when Mace had Palp cornered Anakin tells Mace that he needs Palp when Mace swung his lightsaber at him. And the reason Anakin needed Palp alive is because he believed Palp knew the power to cheat death. Anakin needed that information in order to keep Padme alive – or so he thought. Greedy? In a way yes, because Anakin didn’t want to lose Padme like he lost his mother. That’s the way I look at it anyway. I’d much rather believe that Anakin sacrificed his soul for love.

  2. Shamari Stewart Says:

    I agree with both articles, but I still love the love story from the prequels. I feel like there’s been a wave of fans and people coming out and saying they liked the prequels, or at least that “the prequels weren’t that bad I guess” or something along those lines. I literally saw someone converted the other day, a bonified hater admitting that the prequels introduced very interesting and necessary concepts to the star wars universe and that he appreciated that. That’s something I thought I would never see, and it’s awesome!

    On another note I’m starting to dislike TFA less and less. Not because I stopped seeing the flaws but because I’m lowering my expectations and I’m not allowing myself to become a hater (like many of the prequel bashers). I’m gonna focus on the things I liked about the movie, and hope that going forward they fix the things I didn’t like about it. And I’m going to try to appreciate that they, like george, attempted to tell their version of a star wars story. They’re continuing the franchise and they’ve gotten tons and tons of young people around the world interested and invested in star wars. That, is really cool, regardless of whether the movie is what I wanted it to be or not. And I refuse to be some guy going off about how terrible the movie was and basking in my hatred of it because that’s not cool. That’s the same thing the prequel bashers did, and then I’d be the old nerd who hasn’t grown up that’s shouting at the kids who loved the movie saying it’s a worthless rehash, and the cycle will continue.

    • M. Marshall Says:

      Actually it’s the disappointment a lot of fans had with TFA that’s making them see the creativity of the prequels.

      • Shamari Stewart Says:

        I think you’re right about that too. And that’s good! I wish TFA was more creative, and I hope the next movie is too, maybe disney will learn from the criticism.

    • susanbowes Says:

      Lets just hope the cycle does continue, but not hate for the prequels, but for the love of the whole saga… TFA included. Star Wars will continue to live as long as WE keep it alive! Current fans as well as those who come after us. 🙂

  3. Jacobesico Says:

    The romance in Episode II was based on the old Courtly love concept. Attack of the Clones would have fitted in well with the movies from the 1930s and 1940s.

    That was what Lucas was aiming for and I think he nailed it. I love the fireside scene between Anakin and Padmé and I love the poetic talk and Across the Stars is my favourite score. It has such beauty to it.

  4. John Weathers Says:

    Thanks for linking to my blog post! I have spent years deeply appreciating it when other prequel fans speak out and wanted to add my voice. As a refreshing wave of recent articles had already done a great job pointing out the greatness in the films, I thought it might be interesting to explore how the irrational level of hatred for them evolved.

    Regarding the romance in AOTC, I’d just like to say that I totally get what Lucas was aiming for with the film, and I think it is very important, and I was not trying to suggest that he failed.

    I want to make it clear that I am not in the crowd of people who attack the romance, and I certainly wasn’t going for any backhanded praise. I enjoy the romance between Anakin and Padmé. My wife and I even dressed up as them for the premiere of TPA.

    I just think that the deleted Padmé scenes are all great and that they better establish why her character might fall for Anakin. Without them, I feel the film gives no hint of attraction on her part before the kiss and no motivation for why she first kisses him. Furthermore, the fighting scene between them in front of the queen even makes it seem like she might find him annoying. But when you add the scenes where she talks about wanting a family and the two of them visit her family, you clearly see that there might be something between them, that she is guarding her emotions (like virtually everyone in the Republic’s society other than Anakin) and that the fight might simply be this romantic tension spilling over.

    I remember listening to the commentary on the deleted Padmé scenes, and it sounded to me like Lucas clearly liked them all and wanted them to stay in the film but that he allowed McCallum to convince him to drop them. McCallum claims that they slowed the film down and didn’t feel enough like Star Wars. I respectfully disagree with McCallum. This was especially so after watching a version that I painstakingly created back in 2006 where I seamlessly added all the deleted Padmé scenes from the DVD extras back into the otherwise untouched film.

    • hansolo1138 Says:

      If you’re talking about the scenes that made it into the novel, like the Naberrie family dinner, or Padme’s discussions with her cousin, then I completely agree. Considering the pacing issues present in the final cut, adding a few scenes that better developed the romance wouldn’t cause any further issues in the film.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      The tricky thing with AOTC is that it’s already a long movie by SW standards but of any deleted scene I’ve seen of any of the films, I thought those had the strongest argument for being included because they gave added depth to Padme’s character.

      • John Weathers Says:

        True. I did notice when I attended the marathon of all seven films that it clocked in a 142 minutes and was the longest of all the films. Still, I’ve always felt that it races by for me! 😀 AOTC is probably my third favorite in the series just squeaking past ANH.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I think they should’ve kept the meetings the senators had in Padme’s apartment about Palpatine and what they could do – the petition. Those scenes were important to the plot, as well as the new formed alliance that would arise from the meetings.

    • Hoggle Says:

      Yes, i see that scene with the Queen being that Jedi Padawan learner Anakin has been in Padme’s bedroom with her, who he has been literally dreaming about for years, & it gives it a funner context than Anakin is just an uptight jerk.

      A lot of rational for cut scenes seemed to be along the lines of, quicker way to get the informaton across, A to B quicker, quicker quicker quicker!

      The problem is, it can fillet out the story ambience and rhythm, & for me, it is story ambience and rhythm that gives a film momentum and makes it seem quicker, without it for me films drag. Depnding on the film/director’s style with the film, it’s momentum can have different parameters but in one way or another for me, it’s always the story ambience and rhythm that create it.

    • susanbowes Says:

      I agree with you about McCallum – that the scenes between Anakin and Padme’s budding love affair should’ve been emphasized more in AOTC.

  5. Steve Bragg Says:

    I hate internet in 1997. Message boards were getting strong in 1999. What are they talking about? There wasn’t much social media. But comment boards were pretty common.

  6. Sir Christopher Lee Fan Says:

    If Sir Christopher Lee was not in the trilogy of Star Wars and Peter Cushing in one of them i would not have bought the DVDs, without them i find Star Wars films rather boring.

  7. Thorin Milliken Says:

    I certainly blame alot of negativism toward the Prequels on the rise of the internet forums and the public’s collective cynical mindset. It’s such a shame, but in general articles and posts that are negative tend to draw more attention than positive ones. Obviously, most people are on the internet looking for attention and they found out quickly how to get it.

    Certainly there’s a lot of contributing factors that play in, but Star Wars was just so big that it became an easy target, especially the new movies since they were in the media.

    I personally am one to appreciate things rather than hate on things. I love all the movies. I will say that The new Force Awakens movie is a bit bittersweet, just because of the break with George. I really want him to be involved. I’m glad we’re getting more movies, but I can’t help but think he would have made it more epic. The next one may be though haha.

    TFA has made me go back and bring out a lot of my old Star Wars stuff. Was digging out my Episode One pc game, and Jedi Power Battles for the orginal Playstation. Such fun!!! My son was 3 when Phantom Menace came out, so I got to relive the excite all over from when I was 3 and saw Star Wars in 1977.

    I know I’m new here, but thanks to all for being apart of this great group!

    • susanbowes Says:

      You’re a welcomed member and we appreciate your input.

      I agree that TFA would’ve been a lot better with Lucas’ ideas, but hopefully Disney will allow him to contribute in future films.

Leave a Reply

