SWPAS Annual Report And The Way Forward

WordPress just sent the annual report about SWPAS’s views and where they came from and the site’s most popular posts in 2015.

SWPAS got 350,000 views with the busiest day (surprise!) December 18. The most popular post of 2015 was the TFA Open Thread/Reax on December 18. #2 was the “Prequel Fans Have Heard The Dog Whistle” post in July, #3 was the post about Lucas’s interview with Charlie Rose in November, #4 was the post on Anthony Daniels’s comments on the prequels, and #5 was basically an impromptu open thread about the goings-on at Celebration Anaheim back in April.

The top referring sites were Facebook and starwars.com.

Most visitors are from the U.S., the UK, and Canada. Finland, Germany, Slovakia, France, Spain, Australia, Brazil, Norway, Sweden, Russia, Poland, Mexico, New Zealand, and Vietnam are representing in strong numbers. I am however amazed at what other corners of the Earth prequel fans are lurking: Kazakhstan, Burkina Faso, Mongolia, Cambodia…it’s crazy. To my readers in Syria, Afghanistan, and Somalia, stay safe out there! I need all of the eyeballs I can get!

The top five commenters for 2015 were Stefan Kraft, Susan Bowes, Adam D. Bram, Hunk A Junk, and andywylde77.

And now for what’s in store for 2016. Regardless of how you feel about TFA, SWPAS is a pro-prequel site for anyone who loves the prequels, period. I let people say their piece in the open discussion thread and thankfully it didn’t turn into WWIII. I wish I could say the same about the Facebook page, where I’ve had to ban several trolls over the past week or so and even delete a post because it was getting out of hand. If you ever wonder why I have a low opinion about other fans, try getting called an a–hat on Christmas Eve by a total stranger. I am considering starting a separate SWPAS discussion group that’s members only. In any case though this is about celebrating the prequels and promoting them and I hope fans of all stripes feel comfortable here.

I also have in mind a project that I will announce soon.

Thanks everyone!

Tags:

87 Responses to “SWPAS Annual Report And The Way Forward”

  1. Noah Evans (The Artist) Says:

    YOUSA SOMU WELCOMI! However, you thank, we do, for creating this website (I think… right? Enlighten me if I sound ignorant.. I actually don’t know how many members run this site and lazypadawan is the only one I am aware of who does run it)

    And I feel you, I have been there.. it really is bugging when pro-pages/sites/pictures are trolled and attacked :/

  2. susanbowes Says:

    I was surprised so many different countries visited this site. That’s awesome! I was also surprised that I was one of the top five commenters. Good to know I’ve come out on top of something this year. LOL

    You already know that I’ve also been harassed about my opinion on the prequels on Facebook. I don’t blame you for wanting to create a group for members only, which I’d gladly join. I’m curious to know about the project you’ve got planned. I bet it’s something I’d be game for. 🙂

  3. Shamari Stewart Says:

    I was having a conversation with a star wars fan online about the force awakens yesterday and how it compares to some of the other movies and how we felt about it. Our “conversation” basically ended when he said this:

    “Episode 2 is obviously not better than TFA. It’ s not even subjective, AOTC is the worst in the entire series. This isnt a question of opinion or preference, this is a question of beeing able to understand what makes a movie good or bad.
    Epsiode 3 might be better for someone I can understand that tho (even tho I very strongly disagree with those opinions), as epsiode 3 was actually a watchable movie unlike its predecessors from the prequels. But still episode 3 also suffers from terrible acting, unbearble dialogues, boring and uninteressting characters (also a terrible villain), way too overused CGI, dance like over -coreographed lightsaber duels which failed to deliver any kind of tension, and a rushed plot which was mostly a faliure because the previous two movies failed to built up anything in the story (such as Anakin’s turn to the dark side/fall of the republic/faith of Padmé).”

    I then proceeded to tell him that how “good” the movies are is in-fact subjective (and I insulted him, in a moment of weakness I suppose but the arrogant dick deserved it), and that was that. The prequels are still very hated by a lot of people, especially after this movie came out and tried so hard to be like the originals (which I promise I’m done complaining about, unless someone else brings it up). The hate and intolerance in these people is truly ridiculous, it’s like they didn’t even watch star wars because they’re the fucking empire, to be blunt. So yeah basically I love this blog, and any other prequel fan page out there because it’s nice to be reminded that this thing that I love so much is enjoyed by others also, and that the derision by other so-called “fans” (putting fans in quotes because some of these a-holes give real fans a truly bad name) is wrong and it is felt by all of us. So thank you lol

    • Jacobesico Says:

      I don’t think that a lot of these “fans” have the intelligence to enjoy the Prequels.

      The Prequels gave me a lifelong interest in History and Politics and a greater understanding of life in general.

      I remember when I lost my Dog of 14 Years I thought of Yoda’s words in Revenge of The Sith. “Death is a natural part of life”. Those words helped me to move on.

      I don’t think these “fans” even care for Star Wars. They only care about being little kids. Things like Politics or Trade Negotiations are far too complex for their small minds to comprehend.

      • Noah Evans (The Artist) Says:

        “I don’t think these “fans” even care for Star Wars. They only care about being little kids. Things like Politics or Trade Negotiations are far too complex for their small minds to comprehend”
        Jacob, I really don’t like the term ”ruin my childhood” because of how illogical it is since the people saying it are grown-ups, but then again… are they really grown-ups?

      • Jacobesico Says:

        Yeah these haters say some wierd things. I think the “ruin my childhood” comments were in response to the Special Editions.

        I never really understood all the fuss about Han shooting first and having seen both the unaltered and Special Editions side by side, I think that the changes were for the better. I was introduced to Star Wars via the Special Editions

        But I think that a lot of these haters act like big kids. Especially one Junk Dealer from Jakku whos name rhymes with Limon Dregg . 😉

      • susanbowess Says:

        I saw the original movies and became a fan. When the prequels came out I loved the saga even more, making me a real Star Wars junkie. I too cannot understand how anyone could say that the prequels ruined their childhood because they only enhanced my youth.

      • Noah Evans (The Artist) Says:

        Still, a childhood only happens once long ago, so it is impossible to ruin via Special Editions or Prequel films, unless of course their childhoods are still going on (aka they have not fully matured)

        Since it’s been brought up, the “Han Shot First” matter is faulty, since (unless I am wrong) Han was the only one to shoot in the original cut. Claiming he shot “first” implies that Greedo (or anyone, possible Stan Lee) shot after he did. If Han was the only one to shoot in the original version, than that means by logic, GREEDO ACTUALLY SHOT FIRST! … and to practically summarize it up, it is just ONE LITTLE DETAIL that contributes very little to the entire motion picture.

        ….Limon Dregg xD

      • Natalie Says:

        I was just talking to a Russian fan who thinks American must be really stupid not to appreciate the complexity of the PT. They want something dumb but not whimsical (the OT was never dumb by the way). With all the other action franchises (Transformers, Marvel, etc.) why do you want Star Wars to be like that?

      • Sergey Holod Says:

        As a Russian I can say that TFA isn’t a triumph here. For a majority of moviegoers it is “just another Hollywood crap in a shiny wrapping”: quite entertaining to have fun for one time. But for people who know about Star Wars and who know what one must expect from Star Wars – for these people to see this bland mixture of reused images and ideas is a real tragedy: everybody who saw this movie are bashing it mercilessly.

        After all these negative comments about TFA from people I respect I don’t know whether I will gather enough force to watch it someday.

      • Noah Evans (The Artist) Says:

        (WARNING: First section has politicalness to it)
        Natalie exactly. Multiple OT purist and critics (I guess the vocal minority still) must’ve really missed the point with these three original space fairy tales 😦 And unfortunately, America has fallen from their grace and intelligence it once had in it’s early centuries (even the centuries before it became an official nation.. however you desire to do the math from 1620 to Kennedy’s Assassination)…. and to add insult to injury, Star Wars is also one of many subjects that has been dragged into controversy over nothing… but then again, the U.S is a nation for of entitled people and those who care only for celebrity gossip rather than historical minds or the tragedies going on in other countries (speaking of which, I have been meaning to watch Attack of the Clones in response to the recent shootings in Pairs and San Bernardino)

        Sergery, sad to here that but glad that Russia has intellectual minds that appreciate art.

      • Noah Evans (The Artist) Says:

        P.S. Since my remarks me mislead people, I want to say that I am glad that there are OT-fans who accepted the prequels 🙂 And also for those who didn’t know, “A New Hope” was the first film of the series I watched (and before than, I played the Original Trilogy arcade game art Chuck E. Cheese’)

  4. Shamari Stewart Says:

    Like I’m heavily considering not even being a part of the fanbase anymore, what the actual fuck. If communicating with other fans means I’ll more than likely be exposed to people who say shit like this then what’s the fucking point? A fanbase is supposed to be a group of people with whom you can SHARE a common interest. People like that ^^^ (the person I spoke about in my previous comment above) are literally just gonna split the fanbase or drive people away from the fanbase. And they’ll be proud of it too, and to that I’d tell them congratulations and I’d be glad to be rid of them.

    • Cristian Martinez Says:

      With Force Awakens and the apparent dumbed down of the Star Wars universe, when actually show how proud they are for dividing the fanbase and bash any Prequel fans, I tell them: “Congrats, you actually destroyed Star Wars, you should be proud.”

      Now the Original Star Wars fans are really making an effort to try to say that the next movie would explain everything that this one doesn’t, but every-time that they do that, I destroy their efforts, the awkward questions still lingers in the air.

      Hell, yesterday I was banned from the Jedi Council Forum for answering a Original Star Wars fan that was in the Prequel Section making subtle comments bashing the Prequels, I confront him, and the rat me out to the Mods, that were very happy to shit first and ask questions later, but being honest, Jedi Council Forum isn’t much different from any other Forum, being an older users give you privileges, more if you are buddy buddy with the Mods.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        The JC forum was never all of that fair to prequel fans which is why I never re-registered after it switched servers.

  5. Shamari Stewart Says:

    Also sorry for using your site as a place to rant about star wars, it won’t happen again. But I’m just fuming! Ugh..

  6. Shaman McLamie Says:

    My god I should have proof read this too many typos :P.

  7. Shaman McLamie Says:

    Lazypadawan can you delete my post. There are probably a few to many typos and one in particular really bugging me. I’ll repost it hopefully better edited. It didn’t help it was rather late when I wrote it.

  8. Shaman McLamie Says:

    Definitely a newcomer to the site this year. Really happy to have found it. It can feel awfully lonely on the Internet with all the people hating on the Prequels and it’s nice to have a forum where others appreciate the movies and to find so many Great Articles celebrating and showing insight into my favorite part of the Franchise(still love the OT as well though). My right Hand even suggested an article that was featured on the site. What was really interesting for me these past two year was as the Star Wars hype ramped up so did the rhetoric against the prequels. I actually never experienced it to this extent before and while not beginning to hate on the Prequels I found myself agreeing with a lot of the criticisms. Then this summer I bought the 2011 blu-ray box set(before it doubled in Price) and for the first time owned all six movies and watched all the Star Wars movies in almost a decade and I came to the realization that the Prequels were not as bad as the haters made it out to be; they weren’t bad at all and very enjoyable. Almost all their criticisms fell flat and I found that a lot of points they use to raise up the Originals weren’t really any superior to the Prequels. I actually found a lot of criticism made against the Prequels could just as easily be levied against the Originals. With all the hype surrounding The Force Awakens I’ve come to learn an awful lot about Star Wars, the Prequels, the Originals, especially a lot of the behind the scene work(which people are whole sale ignorant about when it comes to both Trilogies), Star Wars fans in general and also how laymen to Star Wars view the franchise. The Star Wars Prequel Appreciation Society helped a lot with that this year.

    • Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

      I remember having a similar situation. I didn’t have anything to counter the haters until shortly before I found this site. It was showing them to my wife back when we first started dating that reminded me how great all the films are, and the more people complained about I-III, the more I saw their points manifest in IV-VI! The two things I hate most in this world are Hypocrisy and Cruelty, and that’s all I see in mainstream geekdom now.

      That’s also why I’m trying to be as even handed and open about TFA as possible. Not going into too much detail until I’m sure which parts of my reaction are my own preferences vs objective film technique vs things I may have missed.

      On a side note, I’m very surprised to be a top commenter, since I actually felt as if I’ve had less to say compared to other years.

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        I am also surprised I made it into the Top 5.

        BTW, the discussion in the TFA thread was civil, so there is no need for additional rules, and I think LP is right to just remind us to be polite to each other. (Should this not be the case in the future, this may of course change.)
        LP, do you think that fans should write you an e-mail if they feel “bullied” here because of their opinion on TFA?

      • Shaman McLamie Says:

        It was good to have seen the discussion stay Civil even though we had some who loved it, some who were sorely disappointed and most seemed to enjoy it, but weren’t impressed.

      • Βlade57hrc / Ira ProV Says:

        ”The more people complained about I-III, the more I saw their points manifest in IV-VI!”

        That’s EXACTLY what has happened to me!

        On another note. I notice a LOT more pro-PT videos and comments all over the ”place” (internet).
        Critical mass is achievable it seems…I feel it in the water…i smell it in the air…much that once was…OOPS, wrong movie… 😀

        P.S. HAPPY NEW YEAR everybody!

    • Natalie Says:

      People who are not attached to the OT typically enjoy the prequels – maybe not as much as the OT but they don’t hate them and are more likely to embrace the whole saga.

      • Kim Says:

        Not all fans who grew up with the OT dismiss the prequels. I was 8 when I saw the original “Star Wars” in the theater with one of my younger brothers, and by the time “Return of the Jedi” came out, my youngest brother was 6, and we all went to the theater for that and were total fanatics, especially my youngest brother and me. We watched those movies on VHS countless times, and I can remember how freakin’ excited we were to get the OT on laserdisc in 1993. We were never disappointed in the PT. In fact, although I wouldn’t have believed it possible, the PT made the OT even better, and I love Episodes 1-3 just as much as 4-6. One fantastic saga and for the dopes who can’t appreciate this beautiful tale in its entirety, it’s their loss!

      • lazypadawan Says:

        Ditto for me here! I grew up with the OT and the PT was an extension of that love I had for SW in the first place.

      • Captain Fordo Says:

        Don’t forget there are many people who truly enjoy the PT more than the OT. It’s not a small circle like the haterboys think, who want everyone to worship the OT as a holy gospel.

      • Natalie Says:

        I’m one of those who watched the OT first and loved the PT. And yes, I appreciate the PT, especially the way it expanded GFFA and added backstory to Yoda, Obi-Wan, Palpatine and Vader. However, I think the majority of the Gen-Xers dismiss the PT, if not outright hate it. Otherwise, why is there so much negativity on the Internet? (Remember, it was created by the GenXers). I also have this impression from talking to people in real life 😦

      • susanbowes Says:

        I happen to be 65, and though a part of the generation that supposedly hates the prequels, I think they’re even better than the originals… at least Revenge is – which is my favorite movie from the saga. Us “old folks” aren’t all bad and shouldn’t be counted among the haters.

      • Falcongunner Says:

        I agree with Susan, I’m just about to turn 55 and I embrace the saga whole-heartedly-it is just one big Saga anyway! and if a part doesn’t appeal? then disregard it…just don’t hate.

  9. Jacobesico Says:

    I would love to have a members only site or maybe a forum. I sometimes find comments layout confusing and being a member of a Doctor Who Forum, I’m used to threads.

    This is a nice little community and I too am very pleased to have found it.

    I hope for 2016, we can be more proactive as a fanbase. I know that there are plenty of formidable people on here that I wouldn’t fancy going up against.
    Maybe we can get involved with more projects that shows the world our love for the Prequels and the whole Lucas saga?

    Anyway a Happy New Year to you all.

  10. Eduardo Jencarelli Says:

    Everyone has watched this interview, right?

    http://collider.com/star-wars-the-force-awakens-george-lucas-interview/?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=collidersocial

    • lazypadawan Says:

      I saw this earlier. It’s from the same Charlie Rose interview that he did before he had the chance to see TFA. Nevertheless he was dead-on about this: “They wanted to do a retro movie. I don’t like that. Every movie I work very hard to make them completely different, with different planets, with different spaceships, make it new.”

      I’m also itching for him to get on it with those weird little movies he wants to make. Bring on Lucas Unleashed!

      • Tony Ferris Says:

        I agree. Lucas’ ‘experimental’ movies are my The Force Awakens, if you get me.

        He’s said a lot of this before though, and the movies have never materialized, so I’m not holding out much hope. Just perhaps a tiny glimmer…

        Until then, I’m feeling like I might take a wander through his student work again soon.

    • susanbowes Says:

      Though many are saying Lucas is unhappy over the box office results for TFA, I saw a report on TMZ today that said differently. They showed Lucas shopping with his wife and he didn’t look too unhappy to me. In fact, he had a big smile on his face. 🙂 He’s vacationing and you should see the humongous yacht he’s traveling around on. Its got to be luxurious inside and anyone who can afford that isn’t too worried about money. He’s a billionaire already and doesn’t need, nor want the money Disney’s getting for TFA.

      • Natalie Says:

        Considering he’s a Disney largest individual shareholder he should be more than happy.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I didn’t know Lucas was a Disney shareholder. I guess that explains his big smile. LOL

      • Natalie Says:

        Half of the 4 bil he got from Disney were in stocks (those that weren’t he’s giving away). It’s a lot more than 2 bil now (the price went up before TFA)

      • Shaman McLamie Says:

        He’s probably a little miffed they didn’t use his treatments and the films gratuitous fan pandering, but I don’t think he’s the kind of guy to be vindicative about it since he did hand the keys over. He’s probably thinking good for J.J., Kathleen, and Disney.

      • susanbowes Says:

        Most likely. Besides, Lucas has plenty enough money not to sue anyone. 🙂

  11. Cad Bane Says:

    Yes, I think a discussion forum being brought back would be nice and work out well, Considering all the comments posted on most articles.

    Cheers to many more years for this great website!

  12. Falcongunner Says:

    I’d like to add my thanks for your efforts on our behalf LP because it’s been a real pleasure to hang around with insightful people who love both the Saga and George and I look forward to another year in all your company Have a Happy New Year you Luminous Beings!

  13. JustinJL Says:

    I came across to your website. I must say I admire your compassion for the prequels and Star Wars in general. I must say, I am shocked and disheartened that there are people with so much vitriol and rage towards Lucas and the prequels. I would like to think that it a small contingent of very nasty people and not representative of Star Wars fans, casual or otherwise. Anyway, that is all I wanted to say. Happy New Year.

    • Shaman McLamie Says:

      So this won’t immediately seem Prequel related, but I think most of you will know where it is going. So Nintendo recently announced the winner of it’s Smash Bros Fighter Ballot. Now for months there was plenty of discussion on who was leading and many Internet polls asking how people voted. Top Contenders tended to be characters such as King K. Rool, Shantae, Shovel Knight. These three along with a few others seemed to generate a lot of buzz. Now it turned out the winner of this poll and rather convincingly was a character named Bayonetta and while an often sited fan favorite with a lot of known support and interest it came to a surprise to many that she managed to be the winner with so many others garnering considerably more interest. The point of the story is that the loudest voices on the Internet don’t necessarily reflect actual fan and consumer tastes and interest, to further my case the three top selling DVD sets on Amazon are actually the Trilogy Sets for both the Originals and Prequel Trilogy joined by the Complete Saga. If people thought the Prequel movies were as bad as the haters make them out to be why are they selling so well.

      • Captain Fordo Says:

        Even better is that PT also has a 4+ star rating out of 5 on amazon. More proof the haterboys are a vocal minority as if people supposedly hated the PT, the PT disc set would not be rated so high.

  14. cousinbasil Says:

    “Long time listener, first time caller.” sums me up here this year. Thanks for a great year with many more to come. I gave up on fandom back around 2005/06, thanks for providing a safe place I can delurk in.

  15. hansolo1138 Says:

    lazypadawan, thank you for this site. Fellow commenters, (in particular Susan Bowes and Adam D. Bram) thanks for all of the intelligent Internet conversations (holy crap, those are hard to find).

    Happy New Year and…May the Force be with you all.

    • susanbowes Says:

      Thanks a lot for the compliment, but I’m just stating my opinions about the prequels. I can’t claim to be an expert on SW, but I’ve watched the movies enough to know what I’m talking about – most times anyway. 🙂

  16. lovelucas Says:

    A huge triumph, LP. It really is – worldwide read and recognized is an amazing accomplishment and does it ever make me feel good to know there are prequel fans everywhere in the world. And they all come here for the pearls. Thanking you over and over – and that’s from me. Happy New Year everyone! I love this place too.

  17. timontatooine Says:

    I’m so happy there’s a place where all we prequel fans can unite to discuss and express our love without being shamed or belittled or dismissed – more than that, I’m happy to see that place is thriving like it deserves to! I guess I can speak for the New Zealand cohort of saga lovers when I say thank you so much, LP, for giving us this site and working as hard as you do on it, and thank you so so so so much, George Lucas, for giving us all these amazing movies that so magically capture our hearts be we young or old, rich or poor, from central Coruscant or all the way out in the far reaches of the Outer Rim like me.

  18. Kyle Meisch Says:

    Hey there — first time commentor here. Great site and a fan. I wanted to echo something you said about the fans.

    I watched the full Charlie Rose interview. It’s a great interview, and Lucas is an icon and a creative genius. I bet there are few in the world on Lucas’ level. But the real tragedy of it is, I read the comments on this interview wherever it was posted. And the worst comments were from Star Wars fans. I’m starting to think of Star Wars fans as deluded fanboys who don’t actually appreciate what they are looking at or who they are getting it from. It pains me, because I’m a Star Wars fan and I love all the movies [I even like the new one], and I like talking with other Star Wars fans. But god it gets annoying and painful to listen to them try to talk about the films they supposedly love or Lucas who they supposedly thank. All they know are nitpicks and really simplistic, lame, pandering critiques. They don’t seem to care about actually understanding or learning anything, or empathizing with something different — they like what they like and that’s it. They have their assumptions and they believe them over reality.

    With the fanbase, it’s actually a lot like a hive mind, or a cult — you know, what they have with religions and activist movements. People parrot the same lines they heard from others, they don’t think very deeply about what they are seeing or doing, they seem totally un-self aware — all while telling you that *you* are the deluded one. They know *just enough* to say something that sounds intelligent, while not knowing the rest enough to muddle it up. They would tell Da Vinci how to paint his paintings if they had the chance. Can you imagine if Da Vinci had ‘fans’ like that, telling him what to do or what not to do? Pestering him his whole life about it? This is a totally distorted culture with no appreciation for art or artists. No one wants to expand their horizons — not really. I wonder if capitalism has wrought this… people get the idea that they can just tell the company what they want and the company will make it for them and everyone’s just a happy little family. That’s what it’s like with the new Marvel movies. Will they be remembered in 100 years? Do they say anything of value? No, but the fans worship them, and they only beg Lucas had made Star Wars like that. Well, I’m so, so glad he didn’t, and these SW fans who criticize him & are seemingly know-it-alls who are actually shallow can just stuff it.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      I recently told someone that most fans don’t understand SW any more than a junkie understands how the chemical compounds in heroin affect their neurotransmitters to create that blissed-out high. It’s the truth.

      • Kyle Meisch Says:

        Probably right. The only difference that makes it worse is that many SW fans presume that they know enough to tell you what’s up, when they really know nothing about it. At least junkies admit that they aren’t neuroscientists!

      • timontatooine Says:

        True that. The Star Wars “fan”dom is the Dunning-Kruger effect at its infuriating finest.

      • Hunk a Junk Says:

        Hit it on the head, timontatooine! Sitting in the marathon for 19 hours, I had the opportunity to overhear many, many conversations about Star Wars. While there were a few other PT lovers, or people who simply accepted them, the most vocal haters (who still plunked down money to sit in a theater at 2am to see movies they allegedly hate) were loudly proclaiming the easiest to disprove nonsense. One kid in my row adamantly insisted Lucas didn’t actually write any of the OT movies and wasn’t even credited with the screenplay for ANH, which took all of one link to IMDB to prove him wrong. When I countered his “Lucas is a horrible writer” claim by pointing out that Lucas has been nominated for a best writing Oscar twice he mumbled something about how that wasn’t true and wandered away. It’s like talking to anti-vaxers. Facts are apparently optional.

      • susanbowes Says:

        For those who haven’t seen the Lucas interview with Charlie Rose, this is a link to see it:

        http://www.hulu.com/watch/886675
        (This isn’t a direct link. Copy and paste it in your search engine to see the interview.)

        I think this is one of the best interviews Lucas has given about TFA and other unknown facts. A must see!

    • susanbowes Says:

      That’s what’s wrong with today’s society… most people are like blind sheep being led to the slaughter without uttering a “baa” in protest. We go along with the crowd, afraid to state our opinions, letting others control us.

  19. slacker13 Says:

    Hello I am new here good greetings to everyone.

  20. susanbowes Says:

    Sorry. For some reason the link to see the Charlie Rose interview with George Lucas wasn’t posted. To see it copy and paste the link below in your search engine.

    http:/www.hulu.com/watch/886675

  21. Von Says:

    Happy New Year SWPAS…

  22. lovelucas Says:

    Want to share this spectacular FB post (and a response) from George lookalike George Starkey:
    You know, when you say “the prequels weren’t successful”, no matter how many times you say it… you’re still sounding like a fool. You may not have liked them, fine, you can feel that way. But to deny the millions who DID love them, and the billions of dollars they made, well… you are sounding like a fool.. and then this happened: response: Michael Griffin I agree with you wholeheartedly. For what it’s worth, I’ve never been able to resolve what I think, exactly, about the prequels. The best I’ve come to is that they are their own thing, not really comparable with anything else, and the original trilogy is also not comparable with anything else. We have some intuition that they can be compared because of the form of there being three movies in each and being presented in the same type of theatrical release, and obviously intended to have similar grandscales, but that doesn’t really make the subject matter or the substance comparable. That’s basically just the form of it. I became much happier with the prequels as soon as I stopped comparing them with the original trilogy. If a comparison is forced, there have to be concessions that there are scenes of the prequels every bit as good as the original trilogy. The first 90 seconds of opening sequence in Episode III stands with the best scenes of the original trilogy. The final fight scene in that episode, between Obi-Wan Kenobi and Anakin Skywalker, is absolutely marvelous (if you’re excited about the magma being off, you’re in the wrong series, head over to Star Trek now, please). It doesn’t end there, I could go on and on. The attachment to the original trilogy runs deeper than some of us realize. It has an awful lot to do with the time of our lives when it was originally released, and nothing we see or do can recapture that time for us. We have an affection for that time of our lives that is beyond us, or George Lucas, to reproduce. Anyone who demands that of George Lucas demands far too much. George Lucas didn’t create all the rest of the conditions of our lives existing at that time, and he was not responsible to re-create them later, either. In terms of the cinematic achievement that was the original trilogy, simply put, once groundbreaking work is done, the ground is broken.

    and George wrote again: George Starkey For what it’s worth, I’d not know 99% of you, if not for the prequels. There’d be no The Force Awakens. No The Clone Wars. No Star Wars Rebels…No Star Wars Celebrations. I’d never have met all the artists, actors, and creative talent behind them. There would be no 501st or Rebel Legions. No Mandalorians. No Wookiees. added: George Starkey And that is worth every cringe-worthy moment of Jar-Jar. Every. Single. ONE.
    and I saw George at every Celebration in a Jar Jar shirt.

  23. Sergey Holod Says:

    Once again I would like to say that even though “Star Wars” is an American movie made by an American guy, its salvation lies in the rest of the world.

    Nowadays “Star Wars” is too deeply integrated in the American society to be appreciated as it is – as a pure artwork. As the saying goes, they can’t see wood for the trees.

    Such a thing as fandom corrupts art because it creates an illusion of ownership. Yet art doesn’t belong to anybody. The mere fact that art easily crosses borders despite of political and cultural differences proves its free nature. An artwork isn’t a whore to satisfy fans’ expectations. One must maintain distance between an artwork and oneself. Only then it will reveal its true nature and share its gifts. An artwork is a free child of its creator who wants to be understood – not used.

    “Star Wars” is appreciated around the world as George Lucas’ vision. His unique concept of balance between dark and light side of the Force is of paramount importance. Even though it is in George Lucas’ humble nature to see himself only as a compiler of other people’s ideas, his contribution to world philosophy is unquestionable. “Star Wars” has become the theme of many culturological meetings and lectures around the world during past years.

    The American establishment – even the best of its representatives like Camilla Paglia – sees “Star Wars” as a sort of crippled child and judge the value of its various aspects from different point of views forgetting that “Star Wars” is a single being. There cannot be neither good nor bad aspects in “Star Wars” because they are all important – they all create this great ensemble – and we must treat them as a whole.

    There will be a time when “Star Wars” will return to its homeland and will be treated without modern prejudices and false expectations. Love will endure and hatred will perish.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      Great post! That time may be beyond Lucas’s lifetime, or even mine.

      • susanbowes Says:

        They posted a link on FB today… it’s a petition to bring Lucas back to Star Wars. I signed. 🙂
        Here’s the link…
        https://www.change.org/p/disney-lucasfilm-kathleen-kennedy-george-lucas-back-to-the-star-wars-movies?recruiter=8986489&utm_source=share_petition&utm_medium=copylink

      • roxam91 Says:

        As much as I would love to have George Lucas back in charge of Star Wars, I have to respect his wishes of wanting to work on his small experimental films rather than continuing with Star Wars. Well that and petitions generally don’t do much.

      • susanbowes Says:

        True, but without Lucas at the helm Star Wars won’t be the same. In his interview with Charlie Rose, Lucas said that he;d wanted to move on with the saga which would allow him to make the movies he wanted to make – non-Star Wars films. He made Red Tails while still the head of Lucasfilms which got blasted by critics. If he hadn’t sold the franchise to Disney, partially because of the reviews Red Tails received, as well as the SW haters, he’d still be able to make other types of films, even though still continuing the SW saga – but the way he wanted it to continue, not Disney’s version.

        I guess we’ll never know the true reason behind Lucas’ decision to sell to Disney, but I also respect the man for walking away from what he still loved and considered his “children.” He did give birth to Star Wars after all.

    • Natalie Says:

      I think American fandom is lost at the moment, we probably have to wait for 20 years or so for the opinions to become more balanced. Maybe when there’re 20 more SW films prequels’ originality will be appreciated if nothing else.

      I’ve notice the Russian fandom is more supportive of Lucas or at least they have a more balanced approach: they can discuss the flaws but acknowledge that Lucas has brought a lot of new ideas and sadly all of this is missing in TFA. On kinopoisk.ru TFA is ranked last of SW movies, by a narrow margin, but it’s still a big difference to IMDB (I wonder if the ranking is going to fall somewhat to say 8.0).

      • Sergey Holod Says:

        There is no such thing as “fandom” in Russia. That is the whole point of my post. There are popular movies in Russia but the concept of “fandom” with all its fan clubs, fan magazines and fan conventions is alien to us. Every Russian can confirm this statement of mine.

        The most popular movies that endured several generations are usually called “cult movies” but yet again – a movie is just a movie here. It is a cause for mind playing – not for role playing.

        For me ideas of “Star Wars” are far more attractive than action, and editorial skills of Lucas are far more important than visual perfection of ILMers. That is, by the way, the aspect of “Star Wars” that has never actually discussed: editing of Lucas. Having seen hundreds of movies in my life I can say that Lucas is the rare person who has this ability to speak to us through editing. His juxtaposition of shots in “Star Wars” equals hundreds of words sometimes. It is something I’m looking forwards to when I’m going to watch “Star Wars”: I hope that its editing will wake new thoughts – and it usually happens.

        I can’t grasp the concept of selling “Star Wars”. The mere thought seems ridiculous to me. One can allow using one’s ideas but it won’t be the same. George Lucas has sold all that he has done but all that will come next won’t be the continuation of his thought. The thought is something that cannot be sold or continued by other people.

        The corruption of concept of “fandom” has clouded this truth. It is no good to preserve “Star Wars” for its own sake. I think George Lucas has finally realized that. At any rate the deepest regret about fate of “Star Wars” is expressed in his recent interview with Charlie Rose.

      • Natalie Says:

        I disagree, Russia definitely has a fandom, it’s just not as large as the US. There’re fansites, fans going to events together, etc.

  24. John Kramer Says:

    At least the Joker still respect Batman, but no hater respect the prequels. And I see Deadpool had sold his spirit to the traitors (you once posted it lazypadawan, here: https://starwarsprequelappreciationsociety.wordpress.com/2010/01/11/starwars-com-twitter-rts-anti-prequel-cartoon/).
    The only thing I hate about the prequels is AOTC had too little screentime for Sidious (not Palpatine, I said Sidious). If someone didn’t watch TPM and ROTS, how could they know that Palpatine is Sidious? Is it because Dooku’s words?

  25. John Kramer Says:

    I ask the wrong question: If I never watch the OT, TPM and ROTS, how could I know Senator Palpatine and Darth Sidious are one?

    • lazypadawan Says:

      I approved your comments but I have no idea what your point is. If you skip various films in the saga, you won’t know a lot of things.

  26. John Kramer Says:

    I ask the wrong question: Not count the OT, if I never watch TPM and ROTS, would I know Palpatine is Sidious in AOTC?

    • susanbowes Says:

      It’s hinted that Palpatine is really Darth Sidious at the end of AOTC when Dooku flees to Coruscant after the Clone Wars start – the scene when Dooku lands and he reports to Sidious about the war starting. You can tell from what shows of Palpatine’s face that he and Sidious are the same man, but you’ve got to look closely at his face to make the connection.

  27. Jacobesico Says:

    I just created an account on the existing Prequel Appreciation Society Forum.

    Maybe we can revive it?

    http://lazypadawan.proboards.com/

Leave a comment