Joseph Fiennes Was Almost Obi-Wan?

The current star of Hulu’s “The Handmaid’s Tale” told The Wrap that he was a finalist in the contest to play the younger incarnation of Obi-Wan.  Sort of:

While Fiennes played coy at first, the actor let out enough information to source the film to Star Wars.

“I auditioned for a great director,” Fiennes started. “It was whittled down after many auditions to myself and another fine actor who I was at that time at drama school with.”

The Wrap independently confirmed Fiennes and McGregor were classmates as Guildhall School of Music and Drama way back when. The Londoners went on to pursue their acting careers, but the pair apparently reunited under the guise of Star Wars.

Fiennes went on to say he moved forward with audition levels until he got to do a test in front of a director and Robin Gurland, a casting director. After finishing, Fiennes went to meet George Lucas and his daughter.

“I auditioned for a great director,” Fiennes said as he began his story. “It was whittled down after many auditions to myself and another fine actor who I was at that time at drama school with.”

However, the encounter would up being a pitfall for Fiennes. “His daughter turned around and said ‘I don’t like this guy. He’s weird. I don’t like him.’ And that’s how my audition went,” Fiennes recalled.

Oh well! Read the rest here.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Joseph Fiennes Was Almost Obi-Wan?”

  1. Jacobesico Says:

    I can’t imagine anyone else besides Ewan McGregor playing the young Obi-Wan. I googled this guy and he didn’t look right for the part.

  2. jayoungr Says:

    Joseph Fiennes is an excellent actor, but I’m glad we ended up with Ewan Macgregor (who is also excellent).

Leave a Reply

