TPM & ROTS Turn 18 & 12 Respectively

TPM was unleashed upon North American audiences May 19, 1999; it was the first Star Wars film I saw on opening day.

ROTS was released throughout most of the world May 19, 2005; geez, it has been that long already?

Tags: ,

20 Responses to “TPM & ROTS Turn 18 & 12 Respectively”

  1. Christian Says:

    And they just keep getting better with age!

  2. joe Says:

    blastr has a thing on what happened this day in sci-fi history so you would think they would mention the fact that episodes 1 and 3 were both released on the same date? no there’s no mention of it at all in fact the choices they made don’t have much to do with sci-fi disrespectful of blastr (now called syfy wire but i don’t care) to do this i’m sure it was on purpose since they like to crap all over the prequels when given the chance f**k them

  3. joe Says:

    now entertainment weakly is again advocating the stupid machete order it pisses me off without episode 1 you don’t know how palpatine became chancellor who qui-gon is where anakin came from his relationships with his mother padme and obi-wan hoe c3-po met r2-d2 darth maul who the sith are all that and they think that anakin and padme’s relationship in episode 1 is creepy why is that? it’s a five year age difference do they expect us to think that padme is a pediphile? aer people really creeped out by this ? F**k EW sorry for the rant

    • lazypadawan Says:

      I have no idea why Lucasfilm continues to suck up to Entertainment Weakly, even to the point of having one of its writers host things at Celebration and said writer involving himself with an internet controversy re a podcast. Really? REALLY?

      • Christian Says:

        I wouldn’t wipe my ass with that rag!!! I’ve turned myself off from the media when it comes to Star Wars years ago. All the info I get is on fb. And even there the trolling hate boys try and gang up on ya. I try to avoid these kind of articles but sometimes there they are baiting you. I’ve put more then one in their place. I don’t know why they can’t leave well enough alone. Example, I have 0% interest in 7-9, so I stay away from articles about them. I did see 7 once, honestly I absolutely hated it, never thought I say that about anything Star Wars but without Lucas it isn’t the same. Although I do enjoy Rebels and they lucked out with Rouge One, lived it. But when it comes to 7 not only would I call it THE worst Star Wars movie it was also one of the WORST movies I’ve ever scene!!!!! But the media eats that up. I wanted to get this magazine about Rouge One but of course they dissed the PT & Lucas. I obviously didn’t buy it.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        It’s my least favorite SW film but I wouldn’t say it’s one of the worst movies ever. There’s a lot worse out there.

      • joe Says:

        what controversy?

      • lazypadawan Says:

        It’s a long story but the hosts of a podcast said some stuff that others took offense to or at least acted like they were offended and Brenzican butted in to push the hosts into apologizing or “else.” And that’s all I’m going to say about it.

      • joe Says:

        the name of the article is star wars here’s the best way to watch the movies he says in his own arrogant opinion that we should watch 45236 and he said forever as he thinks we should watch it like this without episode 1 as well as another version that includes the holiday special (which is no longer canon) i remember they put out a special star wars edition i went through it and sure enough prequel bashing including the machete order answer this were people really creeped out by the five year age difference between anakin and padme? they have no right to tell us how to watch a series of moves that’s bullsh*t fortunately i didn’t buy it i didn’t bother with the rogue one issue either can’t they do a tribute to star wars without bashing the prequels ? at least star wars insider doesn’t do this crap sorry for the long rant happy anniversary to tpm and rots and may the force be with you

      • Christian Says:

        You can watch them anyway you want. But no should tell you how or which order to do so. I prefer 1-6 but I as long watch them randomly depending on what I’m in the mood for. In the past couple of years it’s hardly ever ESB or ROTJ. I still love them but I never seem to have much a desire to watch them. It’s always 1-4. Of proud to say not only am I a saga fan but I do tend to prefer the PT. You tell that to some 40 something smuck they can’t fathom that and try to change my mind, trust me ain’t happening. But back to TPM & ROTS birthdays it’s always Star Wars Day in my house. I have such great memories of all the films but more so the PT because I’m older and can remember it better sharing it with my kids and newphews. Honestly there’s way to much to write on all the great memories I had. And you know in person I never met one person that didn’t like the films. And I’m talking hundreds of people adults men an women children. It wasn’t until I got on to the Internet that I discovered any hatred. But the summers of 99, 02 & 05 were magical times for me and my kin. πŸ™‚

      • joe Says:

        those summers were magical indeed

      • Christian Says:

        I mean it. The Toxic Avenger was lightyears ahead of 7. I almost walked out many times but I was trying, I really was, to give it a chance. I’d have to place it within to top 30 worst films I’ve ever seen. But each to thier own.

      • Pedro Felipe Says:

        Yes, my experience is the same Christian!!! I love to show movies to people all kinds of movies, especially movies they haven’t seen before and they all LOVED Star Wars 1,2 and 3. In fact in my experience Episode 2 is the most applauded movie EVER when the credits start rolling.

  4. lovelucas Says:

    Joe Says – I exactly the same way. I’ll watch I-IV over and over anytime anywhere. But ESB – even though it really is a great SW film and RotJ (it has issues, doesn’t it?) – I seem to be avoiding them both. If it’s a marathon, I tend to stop at the end of ANH

    • Darthqui-gon Says:

      WOW!!!! I feel the same way. I can watch episodes 1-4 anytime. But I never seem to have the desire to ESB or ROTJ anymore. I’ve been showing my girlfriend the movies for the first time, Jar Jar is her favorite, we watched 1-4 an Rouge One, but we haven’t watched beyond that, with exception of the Clone Wars. We’ve been watching like an arch a night or every other night for weeks. I’ve been showing her the most important ones, we’ll get back to the rest later. I want to introduce her to Rebels after a few more CW archs. I’m just in no hurry to watch 5 & 6. That’s were the saga ends for me.

    • Pedro Felipe Says:

      I think pretty soon we’ll need a Return of The Jedi Appreciation Society…

      • Moose Says:

        I agree. It is too sad for me to watch Ep. III without watching ROTJ soon afterwards.

Leave a Reply

