“Re-watching TPM”

Making Star Wars.net has an ongoing column called Opening the Holocron and its latest entry is a look back at TPM:

Of course, no movie could ever transcend that toddler’s memory and TPM – with its admitted flaws – certainly did not. But I did, and do, enjoy it.

Perhaps prophetically, it sure seems that many viewers who despise TPM (as well as its siblings Attack of the Clones and Revenge of the Sith) simply can’t remember what it was like to be Anakin Skywalker’s age, to have that kind of hope, to have that kind of awe…

Like Anakin himself, those who deride the prequels don’t (or didn’t) want things to change.

Tags:

45 Responses to ““Re-watching TPM””

  1. Helen Says:

    I don’t see flaws! Never have. 🙂

  2. fundhund Says:

    I´m really tired of those backhanded compliments a´la “with its admitted flaws”, “I understand clunky dialogue [Mark Hamill], “of course they are not as good as the originals”, and so on.

    Yes, the movie has flaws, just like every film out there. But nobody feels obliged to add a remark about the flaws of The Empire Strikes Back or A New Hope.

    Just stop it, already.

    • Helen Says:

      What one person thinks is a flaw, another person does not. But they say this like it’s just so. A fact. A given. Like everyone knows it has flaws, but we like it anyway. I’d almost rather a person say they don’t like it at all, then this kind of back-handed remark that only serves to keep these alternative facts going.

    • Artiom Deyev Says:

      You’re absolutely right! It would be much better just to say how much you love this movie and how awesome it is.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      On that I agree.

    • Dave S Says:

      It’s not just limited to the Internet either. Famous Monsters of Filmland magazine reprinted their thank you to George Lucas letter from the time of ANH’s original release recently. However, they prefaced it with “despite your feelings about the special editions and everything that came after…”

  3. Branislav Marček Says:

    “I’ve seen space operas that put their emphasis on human personalities and relationships. They’re called “Star Trek””

    Well, I saw an another space opera that also puts it´s emphasis on human personalities and reationships. It´s called Star Wars!

  4. matt Says:

    In Mark Hamill’s defence though, he always thought the dialogue of the originals were ridiculous too – that’s what’s behind the “clunky dialogue” quote.
    He has a whole segment on it in “An Audience With Mark Hamill” – it’s hilarious!
    I don’t think Mark takes the films as seriously as die-hard fans. He loved making the films and had a great time doing it, but he’s always had an irreverent sense of humour.

    Reviews are interesting. If you see reviews of the original Star Wars, then view reviews of the prequels, the criticisms are exactly the same!
    I wonder how the originals (which I also love) would be received had there been internet forums in 1977…

    • Dave S Says:

      They all thought that while they were making it. There’s a famous quote from Harrison: “George, you can type this s***, but you sure can’t say it.”

    • Dave S Says:

      There might not have been forums, but there were magazine letter pages. I’ve seen quite a few that weren’t too happy with Empire when it was released. Of course now that’s forgotten and everybody loves it because “it’s so dark”. I love it too, but I don’t regard it as some sort of untouchable masterpiece.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      I’ve always said that there wasn’t much said about the prequels that someone didn’t say about the OT.

  5. Helen Says:

    What bothers me most is comments like that! I love the TPM or the PT, *but.* But this. But that. But it has flaws. Despite the obvious flaws.

    I’m not saying people can’t dislike something about a movie, but this generalization, this so-called *alternative fact* that TPM the PT has flaws makes me insane. Can’t anyone just say they love this movie(s) without making an excuse?

    I do! I love them all. No excuses. George got it right.

    • fundhund Says:

      Yes, he did!

    • andywylde77 Says:

      Yeah I am just about fed up of years and years of hearing the same song and dance with the “I like TPM even with all its flaws blah, blah, blah”

      Every film has flaws! Some more than others but a flaw is still a flaw. It gets old reading a preface about the PT and all its faults just to get to the part about what someone likes about it. Some clowns that even claim to like it sound apologetic when talking about liking it. Those people need to take some pride in what they like. Like me. I say I love or enjoy something I stand behind it 100%

      So yeah all the nonsense that gets brought up about the PT films about being flawed, filled with CGI, bad dialogue etc. needs to stop!

      If I had a penny for every post I ever read about the PT and its flaws, I would be able to buy a tropical island somewhere.

  6. ReuniclusBlob Says:

    i love star wars and poke on in all its phases but i keep seing YouTube channels and forums crapping on the new installments it gets me depressed i even saw someone saying only handicaped people can like the prequels 😦 and that george Lucas is the worst director ever

  7. joe Says:

    those people can go to hell

  8. joe Says:

    sorry i get riled up easily

  9. Pedro Felipe Says:

    Ridiculous, that’s insulting. It’s patronizing. I have seen The Phantom Menace more than 100 times, I have T-Shirts, Lego sets, Posters and puzzles because I freaking love that movie. I can’t find one freaking plot hole, 1 freaking plot hole when every f#%€£ review I see says there are a ton. Nothing that hasn’t been explicitly exposed on screen or is perfectly plausible. It’s all beased on being intellectually disonest. I can’t stand this patronizing behaviour anymore, it’s like if you are praising the prequels you gotta almost ask pardons for the haters when you do it. This is not an honest analysis, when from the very begginning you’re critizing the movies before actually saying anything about it.

  10. Pedro Felipe Says:

    Sorry, got really pissed of when I read that. 2017 and we are still rocking the same song? We need to defeat this. Say someone enjoys The Force Awakens, are you going to write a post about it full of excuses saying it has flaws? It’s obvious this isn’t the standart practice in these review, flashbacks, whatever they’re called, but the prequels get treated this way. The Phantom Menace is a masterpiece, finely crafted to the smallest details and I DON’T HAVE TO MAKE EXCUSES TO SAY THAT. I DON’T HAVE TO ANSWER TO THE HATERS FOR SAYING THAT.

  11. ReuniclusBlob Says:

    its just when i see youtuber attacking stuff i like it gets me down and it happens a lot in star wars

  12. Jacobesico Says:

    I used to get rilled up at all the prequel haters but now I ignore them. To me, they are just insignificant specs beneath my notice.

    I also ignore all the lamestream media clickbait pieces about Star Wars. (Same old pathetic drivel written by some hipster.) As well as any opinion pieces from youtubers.

    I couldn’t care less what they think, to be honest.

    And whatever you do, don’t read the comments. I’ve stopped reading the comments section and I am far more happier for it. I listen to a lot of Star Wars music and I usually cover one of my eyes up when I scroll down for more videos.

  13. SWPN Says:

    “with its admitted flaws”

    Ah.. The constant apologetic remark that any PT internet article must have. Sorry, but I don’t feed that BS.

  14. joe Says:

    it hasn’t been mentioned on the facebook page so i want to wish a happy 59th birthday to pernilla august who played shmi skywalker mother of anakin grandmother of luke and leia she was great in eps 1 and 2 and again in the clone wars series

  15. LadyJediScientist (@LJediScientist) Says:

    I found this recently on YouTube. It’s very brief, but I enjoyed the perspective of an academic & non-Star Wars fan on the subject of the Prequels. https://youtu.be/z1V81O9z7gs

    Enjoy the Prequels! Love the Prequels! Never apologize! Ignore the haters! 😉

    • lazypadawan Says:

      Ah yes, good ol’ Camille Paglia.

    • Moose Says:

      Ms. Paglia understands the basic equation: No George Lucas = No Star Wars. I am embarrassed to say that I thought Disney could do a better job than Lucas. I am thankful that TFA gave me back my original appreciation for the Prequels. And then LP and all of you have helped to broaden and deepen that appreciation. Thank you.

  16. Hoggle Says:

    I mean no offense by this, but i do think the PTs are masterworks of film, particularly for their style/genre, of flawed genius, individually with each film in different ways to all three. The genius of PT cinema, is also very unique to it’s form.

    So it is possible to hold them in the highest regard while thinking that each film isn’t perfect to what it is. There are other films, that i may like very much and think to what they are, have been perfectly realised, while still perhaps liking TPM out of the PTs – the least perfect film to me out of the PTs – just as much.

    I havn’t really taken too seriously or shown much interest to all the criticism of the PTs, i have liked very much the PTs for what they are. I do think they have further potential to give more fun in what they could be all the same also.

  17. joe Says:

    anyone want to start a petition to get lucas a honoray oscar or jean hersholt humanitarian award and a star on the walk of fame ? and one for carrie fisher too? it’s a disgrace that they don’t have stars and overrated people like jennifer lopez do today i got a couple of gifts for valentines day both of them star wars one was a little plush talking (or should i say breathing ) darth vader there was a tag attached to it showing the others none of them from the prequels

  18. ladylavinia1932 Says:

    I thought Lucas was already given a special Oscar.

  19. joe Says:

    he got the irving thalberg award which is a bust of legendary producer irving thalberg not the familiar oscar stauette

    • lazypadawan Says:

      Right..it’s from the same academy but not the same as the little statuette. A lot of people have come and gone without any recognition from the Oscars.

  20. Matt Says:

    Reading John Bishop’s most recent two articles on Making Star Wars, he has no love at all for the Prequels and is busy promoting the same old agenda

  21. joe Says:

    and now some a**hole took a shot at lucas on entertainment weakly in the comments section on celebration 8 saying to keep him away f**k him (the idiot who made the comment) celebration 8 will start on april 14

    • andywylde77 Says:

      EW weekly the mag and comments section both suck! That is just a pure fan wank magazine that is just filled with junk articles with nice pictures to look at.

      Comments like that are a dime a dozen. I have seen way too many comments about how it’s great that “Lucas doesn’t have his hands on SW anymore!” All I can do is just SMH and say what a bunch of truly ungrateful bastards! I mean all the guy did was make films that told his story and wanted to share that story with the world. But some people are really just toxic and really should be shunned from society.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      You don’t need to report on every jerk on the internet.

  22. joe Says:

    sorry i knoe i can’t mention every single attack on the prequels on the internet tv or print i am new to commenting on the internet i’ll try to cut back as much as possible

  23. joe Says:

    correction i know

Leave a Reply

