A Video On Prequel References In Rogue One

“Rogue One” Easter eggs and references are like Pokemon…you gotta catch ’em all.  This video lays out all of the prequel references in the film, courtesy of The Star Wars Prequels Channel :

Tags: ,

23 Responses to “A Video On Prequel References In Rogue One”

  1. Logan Says:

    Nice video. I read that Jyn is supposed to have an ARC-170 toy somewhere, but I couldnt find it.

  2. Jonathan vd Sluis (@Natusaurus) Says:

    The moment that the imperials saw that Scarif had been invaded reminded me of the scene where Nute Gunray shouts “This is m-much too close!” The final battle has a lot of echoes of the battles of Naboo and Endor.

    • Pedro Felipe Says:

      I don’t mean to be negative, and art can be interpreted in various different ways, even ones not originally intended (something haters clearly don’t get), but it is incredibly unlikely they sought inspiration in The Battle of Naboo for the final battle scene given the lengths they went through to avoid mentioning the prequels. Remember, Chris “hater” Weitz made the screenplay and Gary “Fu*&^ George” Whitta made the story, glad John “Love George” Knol also wrote it with him or the outcome would be certainly have been way worse. There are a few prequel references in the finished movie, no doubt thanks to John Knoll and the story group but, much like with the “the force awakens”, in the countless events, videos, interviews, where there are multiple people involved with the movie talking about what they wanted to do and what they were inspired by, not one has mentioned the prequels except from a tweet by Pablo Hidalgo after the movie came out. You know, they talk about A New Hope, which we would expect since the timeframe of the movie is so close to it, but they also talk about not only Empire Strikes Back and Return of The Jedi but Alien movies and all kinds of inspirations but never once talk about the prequels. It’s like Will “Hater” Wheaton said in the interview to StarWars.com, the first one they did at the rogue one premiere: “I was waiting for this after I was so disappointed by the prequels which we don’t talk about”. This should open a lot of peoples eyes to what is clearly the Disney policy. When Gareth Edwards was asked in this interview (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zorQTrrorU4) about the state of the Jedi by the time of Rogue One, he used a Tarkin line from A New Hope: “They’re all but extinct”, and no matter how obviously the interviewer asked things directly related to the Fall of The Jedi and the rise of the Empire he never ever mentioned anything from Revenge of The Sith. I mean anything, like “Jedi Order” or “Order 66”, they never, ever referred to the Emperor as Emperor Palpatine or anything! It’s outrageous!!! For all intents and purposes they sound like they are in 1997 and have never seen the Prequels. I ask you, how can you make a movie in the Star Wars universe by avoiding even mentioning, even a single detail from episodes I, II and III. There is not a single scrap of reference to those movies in any interview, commentary, behind the scenes released so far as I have seen, and I’ve seen a lot (I’m not counting the visual dictionary or similar reference literature because that isn’t directly related to the actual production of the movies and those are handled by Pablo Hidalgo and the Story Group). I ask you, how can you do a sequel to Revenge of The Sith without ever even mentioning anything about that movie at all in all pre-release material! It is great to see Prequel fans attributing meaning to events in these films, but I really don’t think the third act of rogue one had any inspiration from The Phantom Menace except for perhaps by the part of John Knoll.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        Visually, it looks like a combo of the space battle in ROTJ and in TPM, mixed in a little bit with something new.

        I concur they could be doing a LOT more re the prequels. Fans have to be more vocal asking for it.

      • SWPN Says:

        You hit the nail on the head. All I see is prequel fans attributing meaning instead of the filmmakers. I don’t care about what the fans choose to see. It’s all confirmation bias. I want the people involved to mention and acknowledge them. And that hasn’t happened. If it wasn’t for John Knoll, this would be no better than TFA.

      • Logan Says:

        Yeah, they do seem to avoid referencing them. I get that this was closer to A New Hope, but even Mustafar didn’t get a name drop or a title card like the other planets did. I’m hoping Rian Johnson will change that, since he seems to be more pro-prequel. At least Edwards was respectful to George Lucas. I still cringe whenever I watch TFA and I hear Lor SAN Tekka say “This will begin to make things right.” At the beginning, which is supposed to be a jab at the prequels.

      • Logan Says:

        Or at least that’s what I’ve heard…

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        @Pedro: Not sure if I agree 100% with your interpretation, but interesting observation nevertheless. The missing title card for Mustafar was IMHO indeed odd in RO.

        @Logan: Well, it is officially not a jab at the prequels. One of the first scenes seems to acknowledge the balance of the Force, a clear PT reference. This is at least the reasoning mentioned by Pablo Hidalgo on Twitter, I think. (Note, I *still* have not watched TFA… Moreover, I have no link whatsoever to Pablo’s tweets, so I may be wrong.) But the haters gonna hate/will see the line as a PT jab forever.
        Personally, I think Abrams is too professional to make such a cheap joke.

      • Logan Says:

        Perhaps, but then again, Abrams also joked about having Jar Jars’s skeleton in the movie, and didn’t even want podracer flags hanging up over Maz Kanata’s castle. I see your point, though. I hope it isn’t a jab.

      • Mike Jones Says:

        1. Yes, I agree that Gary Whitta did say “F Lucas”, but, at least from what I heard on entire Star Wars saga supporting podcast RebelForce Radio, Gary Whitta, according to Jimmy Mac, had Mustafar be the planet in the story and script for when he was developing it right into the final film. And I know his NeoGaf posts are enough to tell you I’m wrong, but, at least Gary Whitta’s going in there to erase his past or posts and say “Look, guys, as I much as I don’t like the Prequels, I’ll totally not making it look like I’m ignoring them. I’m on board with this. I’m cool with it. Let’s not spread negativity about the saga, anymore” whereas Simon Frickin Pegg, as RFR calls him, has still been out there bashing them in such tasteless way. I think we should at least give SOME props to Gary Whitta for not becoming like how Simon Pegg still is to this day.

        2. If I may adress your belief that there was no mention of the Prequels during Rogue One promotion without feeling like I’m proving you wrong, unless you saw this link, there IS actually a mention of the Prequels and that’s from Kathleen Kennedy at this link here: http://www.nydailynews.com/entertainment/movies/lucasfilm-president-kathleen-kennedy-talks-origins-rogue-article-1.2908049. I would like to believe she and some of the TFA crew only made little to no PT references only because they had to get those disappointed fans back before embracing the Prequels again, which I’m sure they’ll do in Episode 8 since there are rumors from Making Star Wars of Hayden Christensen playing Force Ghost Anakin in Episode 8.

        3. I kindly ask you to not immediately assume Disney has an anti-Prequel policy until we have seen Episode VIII, since I’m sure Rian Johnson will be the one person talking fairly and positively about the Prequels when Episode VIII marketing kicks off next year. I only say that because like Nute Gunray in TPM says “You assume too much”. And, assuming too much means a clouded judgement by negative emotions. Also, PS, if you believe Rian Johnson defending the Prequels by saying “they’re a 7-hour movie for kids” is weak or not enough, look through his Twitter for drawings of Jar Jar and tweets to a person who he told when asked if he’d make sure Episode 8’s marketing wouldn’t reflect TFA (since some felt it was Prequel Bashing) said he would make sure of that. That should give you some hope before becoming cynical, like two other users on this site who I will not call out, over fear of getting banned from SWPAS.

        4. As far as how you can make Rogue One, as a ROTS sequel, without mentioning or making a single reference to the Prequels, it’s, well, complicated, but at least it’s not devoid of Prequel acknowledgement in this movie. The only way I can say they can make Rogue One without acknowledging the PT is that they expect Prequel fans to know what they see since this movie is clearly made for fans of Star Wars who are hardcore, more than new or casual fans.

        I mean no disrespect, but please try not to become negative in a way that’s looks like it might spoil other people’s joy or becoming too extreme. Try to be optimistic. I feel your fear will lead you to mistrust and anger which is the path to the dark side. I personally would advise to please hold off on assumptions of an anti-Prequel policy until you see Episode VIII.

      • Mike Jones Says:

        @Logan: If it does look odd that Mustafar didn’t get a name card, then do you think that it’s also odd when the planet we see in the beginning of Rogue One not have a tite card as well?

      • Logan Says:

        I know the first planet didn’t have one. I wasn’t trying to be negative, I thought it was weird for both planets.

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        @Mike Jones: Good points. I may also have been too negative.
        BTW, Vader’s rampage in RO reminded me of Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan at the beginning of TPM. I think GL explicitly made them look like “unstoppable monsters” to the Neimoidians.

      • davidbreslin101 Says:

        I feel a bit defensive about liking TFA here… but it was watching that film that lead me to discover how under-rated the prequels are. I wasn’t much of a Star Wars fan at all before that.
        My reaction to TFA was a strange mixture of delight and disappointment. So many things about it were so good- Rey, Finn, the visuals, Abrams’ TV-honed snappy dialogue… but for key parts of the plot he’d it played so damn safe it wasn’t even funny.
        This wasn’t a deal-breaker for me. There’s more to a film that plot, but still, I wanted more out of a science fiction story than nostalgia. I left with an appetite for /new/ Star Wars stories, which lead me to giving those other 3 films a second chance, you know the ones… and 17 years of cultural brainwashing left me like Saul of Tarsus’ scaly eyelids. (I do wonder about Saul, sometimes.)

  3. Buick Runner Says:

    Doesn’t make sense for Vader to have a castle. He is just a agent that does dirty job for the empire.

  4. ladylavinia1932 Says:

    Well, Anakin is a Sith Lord.

  5. Nariel Says:

    I don’t have much to add, except that I love the two comments above 🙂

    • Stefan Kraft Says:

      I think the lava castle is also an old idea from the first ESB draft.

      And I love the two comments, too. 😀

  6. Moose Says:

    Poor Poggle is even Lesser than he was before due the lack of acknowledgement for the Geonosians’ invention of the Death Star.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      I think the connection really should’ve been made clearer in the film. I mean, most people watching it aren’t going to read a freakin’ novel or any other extraneous material and they shouldn’t have to. It would’ve been pretty simple to do it within the film itself.

    • davidbreslin101 Says:

      “Rebels” and “Rogue One” seem to be pulling in different directions here, though there’s some wiggle room to make it work. In “Rebels” we get a glimpse of an abandoned orbital construction site at Geonosis, heavily implied to be where the Death Star was assembled. It’s been taken away somewhere- presumably to have the weapons system fitted by Krennik’s team. Odd that he makes no mention of the Geonosian inventors, but then, they’re no longer around to complain about him stealing the credit. It feels awkward, though.

      • Robert K Says:

        If I may, kind sir, Pablo Hidalgo said, in the Rebels Recon for the Rebels episode with Saw on Geonosis, that when Krennic in “Rogue One” tells Galen that “the work [on the Death Star] is stalled”, he’s saying that the Geonosians are working too slow and as punishment, he ordered them extinct. Plus, the crew on Rogue One know Geonosis wouldn’t be involved in the story, so I think there telling the truth, which is why they had to explain it in Rebels. It is good that the entire Star Wars franchise id all connected, where as the movie and TV sides of the Marvel Cinematic Universe are no longer connected because of Marvel Studios’s and Kevin Feige’s split from his Marvel Entertainment CEO boss, Ike Perlmutter, which I won’t go into entirely about why, but, the reason why is very political. That’s all I’ll say.

        P.S. Sorry, if I replied this twice. I meant to reply to u, but made an error.

Leave a Reply

