2004 Interview With Christopher Lee

Sergey found this video almost a month ago and it isn’t until now I remembered to post about it, heh heh.  It’s a 2004 interview with the late Sir Christopher Lee and he talks about his old pal Peter Cushing and their involvement with Star Wars:

Tags:

3 Responses to “2004 Interview With Christopher Lee”

  1. lovelucas Says:

    Lovely tribute to Peter – How generous of Christopher Lee, to share so many private moments of their life-long friendship. The idea of them cracking each other up imitating Sylvester and Tweedy gives you an entirely different dimension of understanding about these two wonderful actors.

  2. Sergey Holod Says:

    I think the important thing about this interview is now Star Wars Prequels are mentioned: as if Prequel-bashing never existed. I think this is the only way how a professional journalist must bring this theme up.

    By constantly opposing Prequel haters we somehow immortalize their dirty deeds. It’s alright to oppose your opponent in a conversation – whether you are talking personally or via Internet. But such things as documentaries or interviews must completely ignore Prequel-bashing or Lucas-bashing.

    In years to come new generations will see these movies with a pure eye. It will be a surprise for them to learn that there was such a ridiculous thing as “Originals versus Prequels” movement. As it is a surprise for us to learn about public hatred towards Erich von Stroheim, for example. Even if it is worth to preserve these moral atrocities in historical archives, it is not worth, in my opinion, to include haters in documentaries devoted to things we love.

    It is always somewhat hurtful for me when I watch an Episode I documentary where Rick McCallum is mentioning that “Radioland Murders” wasn’t a commercial success. I mean, who cares? I watched this movie more than any other Lucasfilm production! It’s so close to my heart! Is it so important to mention some temporary snags of a thing that will last forever?

    I think we must be very careful about how and where we are getting our revenge against Prequel haters. It is not worth to stain Star Wars history with a memory of these people.

    At least we could try to ignore them in documentaries and interviews.

    • Pedro Felipe Says:

      Couldn’t agree with you more there, it is a common trend for great and disrupting works of art to be viciously rejected and hated in their time, especially by people who are very attached to what they think is “the right way” to do things. It happened with the greatest composers, the greatest painters, the greatest writers. It happened with a New Hope back in 1977, all the reviewers I can think of were calling it a horrible movie, in fact they remember me a lot of the Prequel haters, regurgitating those cliche thoughtless complaints “cheesy dialogue”, “lack of character development”, “simplistic morals”, “uninteresting characters”. It is literally identical sometimes. If it wasn’t for it’s amazing success at the box office, it would never have be considered the milestone it is today. I believe the hate towards the Prequels is an extreme case of this phenomena. I have no words to describe how I felt when I first saw The Phantom Menace, it was the greatest movie ever made. I just couldn’t believe what I was seeing, every time I watch it I still can’t believe how good it is. I know a lot of people who feel the same way, and those haters must be forgotten and their evil must be washed out of the memory of Star Wars forever. They must be only remembered as fools who could not see ahead, consumed by their own passions.

Leave a Reply

