“Everything Great About TPM”

A You Tube channel called Cinema Wins apparently likes to focus on the positive with a series on what was great about particular films. The latest installment? “Everything Great About Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace.”

I haven’t had time to watch it yet but the feedback I’m seeing is pretty positive.

Tags: ,

17 Responses to ““Everything Great About TPM””

  1. Independent Radical Says:

    I’m glad this video truly celebrated the film and didn’t just angrily acknowledge that it had good points. I know the channel is dedicated to discussing the good parts of films (and I’m glad such a channel exists given that internet reviews seem to be biased towards negativity), but it does feel like the reviewer sincerely enjoyed it and isn’t just praising it because he has to for his channel. Ironically though, I personally don’t like the elements that he feels everyone likes. I think the podracing scene lacked emotional depth and did little to develop the characters, making it somewhat dull. The character of Darth Maul also lacked depth and a badass appearance and fighting style just doesn’t do it for me, though he does get more development in the expanded universe.

    • Pedro Felipe Says:

      I actually love the podracing scene. I love how Obi Wan and Padme are rather rush towards Anakin, while Qui Gon is a real gentleman. Regarding Maul, Palpatine is the brain, Maul is the expendable muscle, and I think it really works. The dual of the fates is aweasome not only because of the choreagraphy, music, son md effects, but because if the significance of Jedi fighting a Sith (and what a Sith at that!) for the rirst time in a millenia.

    • Tony Ferris Says:

      On Maul’s character development: It’s something that’s largely irrelevant. In fact it’s more to the movie’s benefit that he actually be understood as little more than a darkside cipher.

      Duel of the Fates is not the personal battles of Obi-Wan & Anakin or Luke & Vader, it’s intentions are much broader. This is Jedi v. Sith in its purist form. Light v. Dark. It’s why William’s bold, quasi-religious score, and the immense, almost cathedral-like reactor complex the duel traverses, is so very appropriate.

      Of course, we should have enough investment in our two Jedi to care about what happens to them, but really this is intended to work on a more abstract and elemental level. Building a character arc for Maul would not help that. Indeed, it might even undermine it.

      • Independent Radical Says:

        Fair point Tony, the film as a whole might work better with Maul as a simplistic bad guy and the way Qui-gon and Obi-wan behave during the duel does add some depth to it (including the way Qui-gon meditates, while Obi-wan panics and Maul stalks him), but for me, personally, Maul himself will never be among my favourite characters or parts of the film. He was killed before he got the chance to become interesting.

      • Tony Ferris Says:

        That’s cool. 🙂

        For me, and I think for Lucas, what’s interesting about Maul is the graphic primacy of his design (demon with a crown of horns), which has a visceral impact on the psyche (he reminds us of the devil after all, whose fall echoes off Anakin’s eventual fate), and the purity of his… Sith-ness.

  2. Nariel Says:

    I like this review a lot, it’s very entertaining and indeed it seems that the reviewer genuinely enjoys TPM. While I don’t completely agree with everything he says, I think he makes many good points, for example about Qui-Gon and the Jedi Council, the use of CGI and his defense of George Lucas at the end. I’m looking forward to his reviews of AOTC and ROTS.

  3. Pedro Felipe Says:

    The Phantom Menace is wonderful, the story is exciting and deep. It’s the kind of movie I never get tired of watching and find something new in every viewing. The designs and the music and the editing are awesome to a ridiculous degree. Palpatine’s manipulation is is really well done and really tells us something about politics. The special effects were literally revolutionary in their time. It looks just beautiful. And speaking of awesome, Maul absolute rules. I could go on for days and days but I just want to say it’s one of the most brilliant movies ever made and certainly on the top of my list. It’s so good I cannot understand the haters as being anything other than not intelligent enough to get it.

  4. Hunk a Junk Says:

    Nice video. TPM remains my favorite of the PT and third favorite overall. Unlike TFA, it’s a movie made with guts and vision. It’s the definition of T.R. Roosevelt’s inspiration to “dare greatly.”

  5. Kathryn “LadyJediScientist” S. Says:

    For a while I watched Nostalgia Critic and Nostalgia Chick, as well as Retrospective, on You Tube. While these reviewers could be entertaining at times and somewhat informative, I found them to be inconsistent in their standards. They would praise risk taking in films of the past, lament the lack of originality in films now and then decry the Prequels as being horrible. How can you long for more originality in contemporary film and then insult the filmmaker who has consistently striven to be unique and original in his films?

    Having now watched Cinema Wins’s Phantom Menace review and X-Men reviews, I have now found a new online film reviewer. Cinema Wins takes a more positive approach to reviewing and he genuinely appreciates George’s work as a filmmaker. The reviewer’s love for Phantom Menace clearly shines through in this video, which made it very enjoyable to watch. While I don’t agree with everything he says, I appreciated his upbeat approach, his enthusiasm and I look forward to seeing more of his videos.

  6. davidbreslin101 Says:

    Channel bookmarked- I like this guy! In amongst the jokes, he manages to demolish many of the standard attacks on the prequels. He shows that “picking a film apart with a hostile agenda” and “thinking more deeply about the film” come up with very, very different results. His take on Qi Gon v/s the Jedi Council was an eye-opener for me.

  7. Independent Radical Says:

    As much as I liked this video, I feel like he gave into the prequel haters too much in his new video about Attack of the Clones. I was disappointed, since I like that movie better than the Phantom Menace. While I may not support the Anakin-Padme romance in Attack of the Clones, I was at least intrigued by it and the fact that it was destined to have a dark ending. I would’ve liked to have seen that perspective acknowledged instead of him arguing the standard anti-prequel sentiments (including the claim that Anakin mind tricked Padme, which strikes me as very insulting to her character). Attack of the Clones furthered Anakin’s character development and set up his fall to the dark side more so than the Phantom Menace did. It also had a simpler, easy to follow story and introduced fascinating political themes. I don’t mean to insult the Phantom Menace, but I feel Attack of the Clone is underrated even among prequel fans. Sorry if this comment is off topic.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      No, that’s fair. It’ll warn everyone off the AOTC video ;).

    • Nariel Says:

      Thanks for the heads-up about the AOTC video, Independent Radical – I agree with your critical remarks. Personally, I hate the interpretation that Anakin mind-tricked PadmĂ©. The reviewer had very few positive things to say about the romance subplot in general, repeating some of the typical prequel haters’ arguments instead, which was also disappointing to me. I liked some of his other points, for example about the relationship between Obi-Wan and Anakin, but overall I have much more mixed feelings regarding this video than the TPM one.

      • davidbreslin101 Says:

        Having seen a few more of his videos now- there’s a certain ambivalence about the whole project. His aim is to give some love to the movies that “everyone is supposed to hate”, but in places you can feel him buckling under the peer pressure already. The AotC video is the most obvious example of this, where he went beyond defensive quips to actually voice negative opinions.

  8. Nariel Says:

    For the record, I like the new ROTS video – it seems more positive in tone again. In particular, I think his analysis of Anakin’s fall and how the movie has been building up to it is very well done.
    Perhaps peer pressure did influence the previous video, because I also have the impression that AOTC has now become the prequel everyone loves to hate (not here of course 🙂 ).

    • Independent Radical Says:

      Yes, the Revenge of the SIth video was much better (even if I don’t totally agree with his analysis and don’t think Anakin is blameless for his fall). Prequel haters forget that the film actually received generally positive reviews from critics. I think they are just determined to hate it, because they hated the other prequels.

      Peer pressure can cause a person to genuinely change their mind, because the arguments people make weigh down on your brain and if you’re not a good critical thinker it can be hard to get rid of them.

      Indeed, Attack of the Clones has become the new most hated prequel. I’m not really sure why though. I think it’s because the Internet has a strong bias against “whiny” people (i.e. anyone who isn’t 100% happy about the state of the world), despite being full of whiny people. Prequel haters dislike facing their true self, haha.

Leave a Reply

