Nine Years of SWPAS

Yesterday was the 9th anniversary of SWPAS’s launch.  Almost a whole decade!  I know I haven’t written very much lately due to other things draining my batteries, but I plan to keep this site chugging along.  Thanks for all of your support all of these years!

Tags:

21 Responses to “Nine Years of SWPAS”

  1. Marshall Says:

    I think our work is starting to pay off. Today in the Disney store I found this Star Wars Mega Figure Playset that covers eps 1-6 : https://www.disneystore.com/play-sets-more-toys-star-wars-mega-figure-play-set/mp/1413891/1000265/

  2. susanbowes Says:

    Thanks for creating this site/ I know I haven’t been on much lately myself, but I deeply enjoy it and appreciate your efforts to keep this site going. 🙂

  3. Helen Says:

    I hope you will. I might not always comment, but I read EVERY post! xx

  4. Nariel Says:

    Congratulations! And thanks for creating the site and keeping it up – it’s like a breath of fresh air 🙂

  5. Cynthia Ailshie Says:

    I’m mostly a lurker, but I have to chime in. Thanks for running this site! These movies mean so much to me, and it makes me so happy to know that I’m not alone. And nine years is an impressive achievement.

  6. susanbowes Says:

    Cynthia Ailshie:

    I feel the same way about the prequels. I love them! The prequels make the whole saga better, (The circle is complete!) Revenge being my favorite, ❤ 🙂

  7. fundhund Says:

    Congratulations! This site is a great (and safe ;)) place to be, and I have found so many intersting things (arcticles, links, perspectives ..) since I know it.
    A breath of fresh air indeed!

  8. Captain Fordo Says:

    Congrats! The force is with you, and will be with you always!

  9. Jacobesico Says:

    Happy ninth anniversary!

    Keep fighting the good fight! We’re all behind you!

  10. Keith Palmer Says:

    Let me add one more voice of thanks at getting through nine years of thick and thin. That you keep coming up with positive interpretations is tonic for a weary spirit.

  11. George Shot First Says:

    Congrats on the nine years, LP! When I discovered you WAY back in the day, this was pretty much the only sanctuary from the storm of hatred and negativity that was raging across so much of Internet fandom. You were a steady, firm beacon in the midst of that insanity and you’ve weathered it well.

    So many other fans (including myself and my fellow fans in GSF) have been able to reveal themselves and let their fandom flag fly high thanks to your efforts. You showed us fans of the prequels and GL that we weren’t alone.

    I know that sometimes it feels like mainstream acceptance for these films is unattainable, but I have never been more hopeful than I am now. There has been an enormous change in public opinion as new fans discover these films and old fans rediscover them and share their positive experiences and sentiments online. I firmly believe that your tireless efforts have been crucial in this change.

    Thank you, and here’s to another 9 years!

    • lovelucas Says:

      Safe haven…don’t know where we would be if you hadn’t created it, LP. I’m pretty sure I would have totally abandoned Star Wars and would have had to be content with my own collection of Star Wars and thinking I was out there alone in the desert of Tatooine. I don’t think you know how important this place is to us.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I agree 100% lovelucas. I feel the same way as you do. I’d be lost in the desert on Tatooine if not for this site, thinking I’m all alone in my love for the prequels, except for my FB friends who love the prequels too. 🙂

  12. jonedney124 Says:

    I also want to leave my thanks. Having got back into the Star Wars zone last year in preparation for the ‘new beginning’, it’s been great to read so many informative and interesting articles about the saga and to know I’m not the only one who loves the 6 films (and likes the 7th). Just today in one of my classes in Spain, a kid said his favourite film was Star Wars and when I asked him which one, he said I-III, the ‘second trilogy’, which made me smile. A student in China said they thought Revenge of the Sith was the best SW film so it does satisfy me to know that there is true love for the saga out there, whatever happens in the coming years with the new stuff. I was already getting a fire in my belly for film defence with the Hobbit trilogy and returning to Star Wars last year and finding this site this has only bolstered it across all of the films I like and am prepared to stick up for.

    • George Shot First Says:

      I feel like love for the prequels is far less stigmatized in other countries. I may be wrong about that, but it’s just a sense I get from travels abroad and from many of the international customers we’ve spoken to.

  13. Kathryn “LadyJediScientist” S. Says:

    Congratulations on 9 years LP!!

    I first found this site just before Celebration 2015. I’ve enjoyed reading your posts, along with the comments & I’ve enjoyed contributing to this site as well. This site has made the Star Wars fandom a wonderful experience for me, and I am certain there are many others that feel the same way.

    Wishing you many more years of glorious content with this site!

  14. Pedro Felipe Says:

    Amazing site, I believe it is now more important than ever after the Disney purchase for us saga fans to make our presence be felt.

Leave a Reply

