“Rebels” Serves Up CW/PT Nostalgia

Last Saturday night’s “Rebels” episode “The Last Battle” was a trip down memory lane for fans of The Clone Wars and the prequels in general.  Written by Clone Wars alum Brent Friedman, it featured Captain Rex in a final battle against those “clankers”  when he went along with Ezra and Kanan to go salvage some battle wreckage for use by the Rebels.  It turned out the battle droids’ “boss,” itself a droid, thought the post-Order 66 shutdown order was a trick so these were still active.  It was sort of like those stories about Japanese soldiers hiding out for years after WWII and thinking the war was still going on.

Not only was it fun to see Rex in double barrel action mode and to get a few more laughs from the battle droids, it was also awesome to see droidekas again.  Seriously, those things were COOL.  Why did the Empire not use them?  They could’ve mowed down a lot of Rebel scum!  I also got a chuckle out of Rex’s joke about the superiority of first generation armor; the Empire went cheap on that too.

Speaking of the Empire, Ezra managed to solve the whole thing by pointing out that they and the Separatists were on the same side now.  This was driven home with the Imperials’ reaction to finding a battle droid was to shoot it.

To cap off the night of Clone Wars feels, the show ended with CW’s theme song and a CW-style rendering of the Rebels logo.

There’s more info here on other CW alumni contributions.

Anyone else see it?  What did you think?

Tags: ,

14 Responses to ““Rebels” Serves Up CW/PT Nostalgia”

  1. Jacobesico Says:

    Looking foward to seeing it. I live in England so I’m a week behind. if they’re any slower, I’ll view it online.

    No spoilers, please

    I love Rebels. I find that it compliments the entire saga.

  2. bpmisqueegan Says:

    It was quite enjoyable. Im hoping Kalani shows up again at some point. Maybe we’ll finally get a super tactical droid figure.

    I had assumed that Rex’s ‘first generation armor’ comment was referring to his phase I clone armor which he had retained and modified instead of switching to the phase II clone armor when it had been issued.

  3. Christian Says:

    Is there a lot of Clone Wars/PT action and characters in season 2 of Rebels that warrant a purchase?

    I don’t like the characters or the animation in Rebels but, I want, Hell I need, to know what happens to my CW friends!!!!!

    • lazypadawan Says:

      Ahsoka and Rex frequently show up during S2 and that finale…

      A couple of other long lost clones also appear.

    • Brian47 Says:

      You should absolutely give the series a try, it’s a great bridge between the PT and OT eras, as I think it was meant to be. The characters inherited the PT/TCW history, which informs much of who they are and their actions, plus it’s present conflict is set against the OT Empire so there is still that influence. But when someone like Kanan was a Jedi padawan in the TCW and Hera is the daughter of a former leader on Ryloth fighting against Separatists, the show is steeped in PT/TCW elements. They are not foreground in every episode, but I think there is enough evidence throughout to make it worthwhile.

      • Christian Says:

        I did see most of season 1. I gave it a chance but, I’m not crazy about the animation and I didn’t like any of the new characters. Once my nephew told me about the Clone Wars characters popping up I got interested. I don’t have Disney XD so I’ve been debating for months to get season 2. When I heard about the first episode of season 3 it really got me interested. Sounds like my kinda episode.

  4. Tez Says:

    Kalani was also the tactical droid who fought against Rogue One’s Saw Guerrera in ‘Clone Wars’.

    Why, yes – I am a nerd. 🙂

  5. Jacobesico Says:

    Finally saw it.

    Loved the Clone Wars nostalgia. I really miss that show.

    I get the feeling as if Dave Filoni was trying to make up for the fact that Disney cancelled it.

    It was a really nice touch.

  6. Kathryn “LadyJediScientist” S. Says:

    Have seen the episode three times and it gets better with each viewing! While this episode is very heavy on nostalgia, it is nostalgia in service of the story and the characters. We got to see Rex, Kanan and Ezra work together as a team. Rex also gets to work out his issues and get some closure in regards to the Clone Wars.

    I loved the use of the music from S1 of TCW and the re-appearance of the battle droids.

    Well done episode and I hope the rest of this season is as good as this episode.

    Thank you Dave!!! You do George proud!

Leave a Reply

