PopWrapped’s Top 5 Lines From The PT

PopWrapped has a list of its Top 5 lines from the prequels.  Some really interesting choices and interpretations.

Tags:

15 Responses to “PopWrapped’s Top 5 Lines From The PT”

  1. lovelucas Says:

    I had lots to say about his take on Anakin “untruthfully apologizing” to Obi-Wan when it was the moment they were the closest to being brothers.

  2. Nariel Says:

    Interesting list, although I also agree with the comments above. Obi-Wan’s line “Not to worry, we’re still flying half a ship” always makes me smile – it’s one of the few light-hearted moments in ROTS.

  3. Josh Kale Says:

    I see I needed to be more specific about Anakin being “untruthful.” I wasn’t trying to make it sounds like Anakin was trying to be manipulative or something like that. He’s trying to do the right thing, but he is being untruthful towards himself. After all, Lucas says on the commentary that while Anakin appears to feel good about the relationship, we see by the end of the scene that he really doesn’t. Apologizing doesn’t repair the way he feels.

    • lovelucas Says:

      I still think it’s genuine. It’s in the way Hayden delivers the scene, especially as he watched Obi-Wan walk away after wishing the Force be with him and vice versa. I think they both think what they want will come true. Anakin is kidding himself, but it’s a genuine wish. Remembering at this point Anakin still doesn’t know the true Palpatine.

    • Independent Radical Says:

      I think “conflicted” would be a better word to describe Anakin’s state than “untruthful”. He does glance to the side awkwardly at the end of the scene, suggesting that he’s hiding something from Obi-wan and indeed he has a great deal to hide, his fears that Padme will die in childbirth, his temptation to use the dark side to save her and his general greed for power. He also feels some tension towards Obi-wan because he seems to be siding with the Jedi Council over him and instructing him to do whatever the Council wants.

      However, it’s clearly wrong to characterise the relationship between Anakin and Obi-wan as one of growing hate. Their relationship actually improves between Attack of the Clones and the start of Revenge of the Sith. They become equals and its clear they both care for each other (with Anakin risking his life to save Obi-wan). Even later on, Anakin says “I should be there with [Obi-wan]” shortly before his turn to the dark side and after his turn he’s willing to spare Obi-wan if he remains faithful to Palpatine (not a chance of that happening, but it’s clear Anakin doesn’t hate Obi-wan at this point). When Obi-wan arrives to kill him, instead of siding with him and lectures him (relegating him to subordinate position) that’s when Anakin becomes enraged. The chopping off his limbs and leaving him to burn in volcanic sand thing probably rubbed him the wrong way too (LOL!)

      I think the apology made by Anakin was genuine. He wanted them to remain friends, but he could sense that there was the potential for conflict building. Seeing their friendship be destroyed was the most heart-wrenching aspect of Revenge of the Sith for me, probably because I’m a huge Obikin shipper (yeah, I’m weird, deal with it) and I also love the idea of them reconciling after Return of the Jedi. If you feel the same way, check out my fanfiction stories on fanfiction.net (shameless plug).

  4. Kathryn “LadyJediScientist” S. Says:

    I agree: Anakin was being honest in his apology. Overall, I like the list & I agree with the author there are so many memorable lines to choose.

    Some of my favorites include the following:
    “Are you an angel?”
    “The ability to speak does not make you intelligent.”
    “I’d be much too frightened to tease a senator.”
    “Our baby is a blessing.”
    “So this is how liberty dies, with thunderous applause.”
    “Sometimes we must let go of our pride and do what is requested of us.”
    “I will not defer!”

    There are more, but I’ll stop here. 🙂

  5. Raleigh St. Clair Says:

    My personal favourite, “I should think that you Jedi would have more respect for the difference between knowledge and wisdom”.

  6. Mark Says:

    Interesting list. I also feel Anakin was being honest. Lucas is pretty good about having folks say what they mean.

    Some of my favorites (paraphrasing):
    “I hope you did’nt kill anyone I know.”
    “Curious.”
    “Jedi business – go back to your drinks.”
    “Now we will discuss a new treaty.”
    “Perhaps I killed a Jedi and took it from him.”

  7. jonedney124 Says:

    My favourite exchange in the whole prequel trilogy:
    Dealer: You wanna buy some death sticks?
    Obi-Wan: You don’t want to sell me death sticks.
    Dealer: Alright, I don’t wanna sell you death sticks.
    Obi-Wan: You want to go home and rethink your life.
    Dealer: I want to go home and rethink my life.

    Also, for completely opposite reasons:
    Obi-Wan: You were my brother, Anakin. I loved you.

  8. Jacobesico Says:

    My favourite line has to be “The day we stop believing democracy can work, is the day we lose it.”

    It had quite an impact on me.

    Some others:

    “I will make it legal”

    “You can’t stop the change anymore then you can stop the suns from setting.”

    “Enter the bureaucrat. The true rulers of the Republic and on the payroll of the Trade Federation, I might add. This is where Chancellor Valorum’s strength will disappear.”

    “Yes. A flaw more and more common among Jedi. Too sure of themselves, they are. Even the older, more experienced ones.”

    “This party’s over.”

    “The shroud of the Dark Side has fallen. Begun, the Clone War, has.”

    “Twice the pride, double the fall.”

    “Once more the Sith will rule the Galaxy. And, we shall have…peace” *

    “You’ve allowed this Dark Lord to twist your mind until now. Now you have become the very thing you swore to destroy.”

    *= Tempted to type peas

  9. lovelucas Says:

    She will be loved.

  10. Kathryn “LadyJediScientist” S. Says:

    Loving all of these lists! 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

