One Fan’s Love For Jar Jar

Jykdrumz on his blog World Of Peacecraft wrote about seeing TPM as a young boy and his affection for Jar Jar:

First off, I was the right age to find him quite funny. I loved his design, I loved his movements, and I sure as heck loved his pidgin-speak. This style of speaking was, in my eyes, a great form of world (or in this case, galaxy) building. While the original films include some characters who speak alien languages entirely, in most cases they clearly understand the Basic English being spoken to them by the humans, and said humans clearly understand their language as well. To me, Jar Jar and the other Gungans represent people in the real world who may learn and understand another language, but will never be completely comfortable speaking that language fluently. How do I know Basic English is not the Gungans’ first language? Because when Jar Jar first takes Obi-Wan Kenobi and Qui-Gon Jinn to the underwater Otoh Gunga city, the camera explicitly shows two shocked Gungans exchanging the words: “Hu me gusa?” “Hata hata.”

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “One Fan’s Love For Jar Jar”

  1. Jacobesico Says:

    Good for him!

    It’s good to see the prequel generation speaking out.

  2. Noah Evans (The Artist) Says:

    Messa’s MINDBLOWN! I didn’t notice thought nor had those thoughts… is there ANYTHING George did not intend in the creation of the films? (aside from the Return/Revenge of the Jedi title shifting)

    Good to see Jar Jar’s appreciation-base rise (take that haters who has ever said no one loves or only one person would love Jar Jar!)

  3. Julian Kley (Jykdrumz) Says:

    Thank you for linking to my post! It’s thanks to everyone in this community that I was inspired to put my voice out there. You’ve all done so much for me already, so I’m glad that I was able to do something positive for you as well.

  4. davidbreslin101 Says:

    The point on the Gungan’s pidgin English (or pidgin Galactic Standard or whatever) is a good one. In the real world, there are many, many pidgins and creoles that sound just as odd as Gungan-speak to speakers of the parent language. When I learned that one of the two trade languages of Papua New Guinea is called “Tok Pisin,” it took me a moment to get it, then I flinched slightly. Thing is, in-universe the Gungans do get dismissed by outsiders, wrongly, as useless savages. For all his spluttering alien laughter, wierd grammar and faintly rude-sounding loan words, the Gungan Boss has well-deserved dignity and pride.

  5. Jacobesico Says:

    In regards to the Darth Darth Binks therory, it’s been going on for years.

    Anyway, I’m more of a fan of Master Bombad.

Leave a Reply

