Guest Post: AOTC Hardcover Edition

by Kathryn S.

Released this month is Marvel’s hardback edition of the Attack of the Clones graphic novel. I received my copy about two weeks ago and I spent most of that time drooling over this new edition. I will preface this review with the following statement: Attack of the Clones is my favorite of George’s six film saga and I really love Dark Horse’s adaptation of the film. If I seem to gush more in the course of this review then I did during the Phantom Menace review, see the above statement as to why. On with the review!

The Marvel edition of Attack of the Clones includes all four issues of the comic adaption as published by Dark Horse in 2002. All four art covers are included in this volume, along with the photo variant covers, the cover art for Dark Horse’s paperback edition of the novel, and the “pinup” for Star Wars #12 by Tsueno Sanda. The sketch art for the Marvel cover is also included along with some of the photo art which used was to promote Attack of the Clones during the spring and summer of 2002.

This edition is just as well bound as The Phantom Menace hardcover and the content of the graphic novel is identical to the 2002 printing, with the exception of adding an opening crawl to the beginning of the novel. Marvel has been consistently adding an opening crawl to most, if not all, of their Star Wars comics- both single issues and bound volumes. It is a format choice used to link the comics with the films, but with this novel, the format choice causes redundancy because the exact same text appears on both the crawl page and the first page of the novel.

Attack of the Clones is the longest of Marvel’s Star Wars film adaptation to date, consisting of 152 pages. It appears as though greater care was taken with this volume, or least more of the artwork from the film’s original release was included, which was not the case with The Phantom Menace edition. The comic art is just as stunning as when it was first published by Dark Horse. The lack of an introduction still persists and I still maintain that the prequel editions should have cast introductions in keeping with the format of the original trilogy editions.

I was very pleased with this volume. Well-bound, no alternation to the content of the novel and more artwork was included in this edition than the last one. This edition is definitely worth adding to your library, particularly if you loved the film and the original graphic novel. If you have never read the Attack of the Clones graphic novel or any Marvel’s Star Wars adaptations, this edition will provide a wonderful introduction to both. One final comment, I would love to see a completed painting based on the first sketch that Mike Mayhew did for the cover.

unnamed

 

unnamed-1

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “Guest Post: AOTC Hardcover Edition”

  1. Kathryn “LadyJediScientist” S. Says:

    Thanks so much for posting my review. 🙂 Also I found this great AOTC design on Red Bubble: http://www.redbubble.com/people/luxris/works/21379608-death-sticks

    Enjoy!

  2. Hoggle Says:

    Thank you for another top review of a PTs Graphic Novel, LadyJedi Kathryn.

    AotCs is such a fantastic GN. The incredible Jan Duursema & GL’s middle Star Wars PTs act. And this GN fully captures the plot and it’s momentum of AotCs in a way that the film ( my fav. prequel ) didn’t. The symphony of AotCs plot threads are all present with the art work, capturing the narrative momentum and scale of all the epic scenes to boot.

    The PT’s GNs are very faithful to the original shooting scripts, so they are essentially the extended pure editions of the PTs also.

    If a fan of the PTs & havn’t experienced their GNs before, AotCs is a top treat 🍧

  3. Heidi Says:

    Ooh I saw this before on tumblr, I must have forgotten that this art belonged to the Graphic Novel, because I couldn’t place it.

  4. ladylavinia1932 Says:

    “Attack of the Clones”, along with “Empire Strikes Back”, is my favorite SW movie as well.

  5. Kingpun Says:

    The GN was my first exposure to Attack of the Clones. I grabbed it at Celebration II and read it on the drive home. In retrospect I wish I had more self discipline and held off till the movie. But I can’t say it harmed the experience at all. I get like I was sitting on a huge spoiler knowing that Dooku was Qui-Gon’s master, but after the fact no one else thought it was a big deal.

    Unrelated, I did some toy shopping for Force Friday and if anyone is interested, there is a Hot Wheels set of vehicles that includes an N-1 Starfighter and the Scimitar in addition to ships from the OT, Force Awakens, and Rogue One. Didn’t notice any other PT related new merchandise but I didn’t really scour anything but the 3.75 figures.

Leave a Reply

