TNT/TBS Win T.V. Rights To All Star Wars Flicks

Turner’s TNT and TBS cable networks have just won the t.v. rights to air all of the Star Wars films.  In what must’ve been a “fun” negotiating process, Turner snagged the license from Disney and Fox.  Variety says the deal runs through at least 2022 and it was worth $250 million, covering a total of 11 films.  That includes Eps I-VII, “Rogue One,” VIII and IX, and “Han Solo!  The Spinoff.”  TFA just started airing on Starz, so you will not see it until 2018.  “Rogue One” will not air until 2019.

But you won’t have to wait long for George Lucas’s SW flicks because TNT is going to start airing them in the U.S. next week.

The Wrap very nicely posted the schedule, but I’ll save you the click:

Tuesday, Sept. 20
8 p.m. and 11 p.m. (ET/PT) – The Phantom Menace
Wednesday, Sept. 21
8 p.m. and 11:05 p.m. (ET/PT) – Attack of the Clones
Thursday, Sept. 22
8 p.m. and 11:05 p.m. (ET/PT) – Revenge of the Sith
Friday, Sept. 23
8 p.m. and 10:45 p.m. (ET/PT) – Star Wars: A New Hope
Saturday, Sept. 24
10:45 a.m. (ET/PT) – The Phantom Menace
1:45 p.m. (ET/PT) – Attack of the Clones
4:55 p.m. (ET/PT) – Revenge of the Sith
8 p.m. and 10:45 p.m. (ET/PT) – The Empire Strikes Back
Sunday, Sept. 25
5:15 a.m. The Phantom Menace
8:15 a.m. Attack of the Clones
11:20 a.m. Revenge of the Sith
2:25 p.m. (ET/PT) – Star Wars: A New Hope
5:10 p.m. (ET/PT) – The Empire Strikes Back
8 p.m. and 11 p.m. (ET/PT) – Return of the Jedi
2 a.m. (ET/PT) – The Phantom Menace

Tags:

13 Responses to “TNT/TBS Win T.V. Rights To All Star Wars Flicks”

  1. lovelucas Says:

    I have missed those SW marathons so much. Used to be an annual (and even more frequently) tradition for me. Yes – we all have multiple copies of dvds, etc, but I just love experiencing it..”live”. I have access to Starz but at this point TFA is on demand which means $$$ so…. I’m delaying. I was at the Toronto Film Festival last week and got a photo with Adam Driver 🙂 – unfortunately my dang phone wouldn’t reverse view so I could only take a photo of Oscar Isaac so I took many of them and he looks great in all of them. Both of them are sooooo nice. Also a photo with Ewan! And finally I didn’t behave like an idiot.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      You’ve met just about everybody in SW! It takes all of my nerve just to choke out a hello to a former dolly grip or doughnut caterer, even though I’ve never had a bad experience with anyone. I even chickened out of hanging around the premiere of “A Clear And Present Danger” because I used to find the prospect of even being two feet away from a SW celeb terrifying. It was just as well because a big thunderstorm rolled through the Northeast and not only was I not going to stand around with lightning and rain, Harrison Ford’s plane got stuck in NYC because of it and he didn’t make the premiere. I’ve never asked any SW personality for a photo. The only time I took a photo with anyone famous was with the guys from “Ghost Adventures” and that was only because everybody else was asking for pictures. And what, this is the second time you’ve had a photo with Ewan?

      • lovelucas Says:

        “actually WITH” Ewan – 4 times but the first time was pathetic. I was being shoved around quite a bit (this was post Jay Leno Show) and his handler noticed the geezer in the back and told Evan about me – he put his arm around me, my daughter was ready with hew new camera and then got jostled herself. so….that photo has my face and Ewan’s chin! Actually that’s how I got a good one with him years later – he was at TIFF for Salmon Fishing in the Yemen which costarred Emily Blunt. She had a 2nd film showing so Ewan just casually saunters over as a spectator. I spotted him and yelled out that last time all I got was his chin in the photo and he immediately turned around and came over saying “Oh, no not just THAT!” – Angie (my daughter) ran into him about 3 a.m. and got her own one on one photo 🙂 Except for this time – 2016 – I always said something so stupid to him I’m still embarrassed about it all.

  2. lovelucas Says:

    Forgot to thank you, LP for gathering all the data on dates and times. Thanks!!

  3. Heidi Says:

    Could someone explain that deal? I thought Disney owned SW, how could they loose out to TNT to air the movies? Is Disney T.V. a separate entity from the main company?

    • lazypadawan Says:

      I have no idea why Disney wouldn’t air the films on ABC Freeform but I guess they are looking at these licensing deals as being even more lucrative. I don’t think the Marvel films show up on Freeform either. On the other hand, Warner Bros.-owned Harry Potter has been on Freeform (formerly ABC Family) for years. Go figure.

      • Heidi Says:

        Whoa, It get’s so complicated. Hmm. All of this for more money. At least they’re getting airtime, I like seeing the films getting some spotlight on t.v.

  4. lovelucas Says:

    Saw TFA free on Starz. I won’t comment on it unless people want to hear my take. Would probably provoke a riot on FB.

    • Keith Palmer Says:

      I’m darkly tempted to ask, even though I still have to get around to watching The Force Awakens on Netflix (it’s available on that service up here); I did see it once at the movies, but something about the promotion of the Blu-Rays squashed my motivation to buy one of them. Noting your reluctance to comment “here,” though, I’m wondering about the email option; my address is keithrjpalmer “at” gmail.com

      • lovelucas Says:

        Oh, I have no qualms about this “here” – just FB. My take is – it’s uninspiring and even boring. Carrie is terrible in it – and I like her a lot. Harrison is really bad, too. The real find is Daisy. The action scenes are too long and repetitive and again – there is no inspiration whatsoever. The planets are never really explored so they’re boring too with no personality. The stormtroopers first order or whatever are bland! The big drama of the death of Han Solo comes across as c’est la vie – life goes on instead of the devastation everyone should feel. Not even Chewie. I don’t think this is a shiny moment for either Adam or Oscar. Both of them have some highs but some of the vocal delivery just isn’t there. They both have delivered the goods, big time, and multiple times in other projects. Oscar won an Emmy last year. But the direction seems missing. The attempts at humor seems very …excuse the pun, forced. I am personally totally pissed off at BB8, even though I knew JJ would resort to this – such a slam to dear Kenny. And again, a poor imitation of the real deal with a ton of “borrowed” tactics and characteristics. I think Snoke is the worst thing ever in a Star Wars film – the thing and the name. There is no soul in this film, no heart and certainly no magic. …. I”m in touch with someone who worked on all of the prequels and he saw TFA on a plane traveling home. His assessment? “Total shit”

      • Keith Palmer Says:

        Maybe I was imagining something a lot more wound up, but thinking back on my lone experience of the movie so far I don’t have much compulsion to offer a personal rebuttal to “there’s no there there,” as much as I can suppose some would immediately start making a big deal of the box office receipts and invoking their strawmen condemnations of the previous films… I suppose I am a little conscious of how relentless the snappy dialogue came to feel, aware of impressions it was TPM’s comedy relief that knocked people off balance and started them spiralling down to complete condemnation, and yet it did seem to skew impressions of Finn’s character.

Leave a Reply

