New To Me Commissioned Art

Somebody (kazaikos on Tumblr?) found these gorgeous paintings created by David Tutweiler for the Star Wars Visions fine art book that came out some years ago.  I don’t remember these at all, so I’m guessing they did not make the final edit.  But George Lucas, who personally commissioned the pieces, kept ’em:

tumblr_nrsylencgz1rkvurgo2_r1_1280

tumblr_nrsylencgz1rkvurgo1_r1_1280

The title of the last one is “Padmé & Anakin Adrift.”

 

Tags:

8 Responses to “New To Me Commissioned Art”

  1. Heidi Says:

    Somebody reblogged this from my tumblr, I’m guessing it’s why it’s getting some recent attention. I don’t know much about them either. Moons of Iego had one copy of the bottom print but I didn’t even know that until I posted them. Maybe they’re under the radar because these works are in George’s personal collections. Makes me like them more because of that, lol.

  2. susanbowes Says:

    I love “Padmé & Anakin Adrift.” It’s beautiful. 🙂

  3. LadyJediScientist Says:

    Impressionism plus Star Wars: Perfection! I would love prints of these. Maybe they will show up in the Lucas Museum.

  4. lovelucas Says:

    Love these and thanks, Heidi for the link. Revelations on what George chooses to keep is almost as good as the art itself…..almost.

  5. lovelucas Says:

    LP – I have that fine art book and I did not see any of these in there. You just know there are probably hundreds of gorgeous pieces of artwork that we’ll never see but would love. I always wondered about the artists – if it’s difficult to give up a piece especially when it will never be shown.

  6. Kim Says:

    Really lovely.

Leave a Reply

