Open Thread: Rogue One Trailer #2

Please bear in mind this is debuting first during prime time in the EST/CST zones in the U.S., so spoilers in the comments may roll in before those of you who live elsewhere get to see it.  If you haven’t seen it yet, don’t complain commenters are spoiling it for you.

Also, the mighty Thor ban hammer will be used to those who violate the Rules of the House.

Tags:

14 Responses to “Open Thread: Rogue One Trailer #2”

  1. lovelucas Says:

    Saw it…..I’m a fan of Felicity Jones and there was a lot of her in the trailer so thumbs up. Still looking for a appearance of Mads. Still so strange to see palm trees in the world of Star Wars.

  2. lovelucas Says:

    Adding on – interesting take on the Imperial March. Everything seems very gloom and doom. I sure miss seeing Jedi

  3. Hunk a Junk Says:

    Liked the trailer. Optimistic. The vistas seem to embrace the look of the PT more than TFA, especially that opening shot of the city atop the high butte. NEW spaceship designs, not just “visionary” JJs slightly tweaked versions of OT craft. Yeah, plenty of fan service, but it seems that Garath Edwards at least has embraced George’s style of expanding the Star Wars palate with new ideas (new stormies, new rebels) to see what another corner of the GFFA looks like.

  4. fundhund Says:

    I don´t really know what to think. I seem to like the Gyn Erso character, and some shots looked really beautiful. But then we have this “there is 97.6 % chance of failure” line, which really made me roll my eyes.
    So we are back to those oh so funny little call backs to the OT, Disney? Another round of the nostalgia ride?

  5. Eduardo Vargas Says:

    Fantastic.

    I’m really looking for ward to this

  6. lazypadawan Says:

    I liked this trailer. Perhaps RO is a balancing act of being set during the OT era and “looking” like it is, while at the same time offering something new and taking full advantage of the mythology. If that’s the case and the filmmaking/storytelling aspects of it are good, then I’ll probably really like it.

  7. Jacobesico Says:

    Seems interesting. I hear Rebels may tie into it and I really love Rebels so I may consider giving it a chance.

  8. Mike Jones Says:

    Things that stood out to me in this new Rogue One trailer:

    1. It continues to cement the idea that this is indeed going to be a war film.

    2. Donnie Yen = Kung Fu Jedi Worshipping Jesus Warrior

    3. I really like that there will be new ships, especially the U-Wing

    4. Saw from Clone Wars with the new hair (though I still think that there might be some scenes where he doesn’t have hair)

    5. The ultimate baddie himself – Darth Vader! I know that it was just a glimpse of him and we do not know what exactly the character will do, but I’m looking forward to see what’s in store for him.

  9. senatorbinks27 Says:

    I don’t know. It seemed too grimdark and gritty – always hated that in the EU. Then again, trailers always lie. I’ll most likely skip it in theatres, but I’ll probably give it a chance on Netflix.

  10. Kenny Kraly Jr Says:

    Wow just wow great trailer!!!

  11. Eduardo Jencarelli Says:

    Is it just me or did it look like the Death Star was about to fire its superlaser on a planet after blacking out its sun? I thought the station wasn’t supposed to be completed until A New Hope.

    Other than that, this look terrific. Good to see Whitaker’s take on Saw Guerrera.

  12. Brian47 Says:

    Guys, on the topic PT-references, has anyone else read Darth Vader #24? This specific comic book series is wrapping up with issue #25, but issue #24 is almost exclusively a jaw-dropping PT-era set flashback/nightmare. Even the cover has Vader & Padme featured together. I was bowled over by what was presented, I’d highly recommend picking it up!

Leave a Reply

