Fun With Official Spotify Playlists

The official Star Wars Spotify account set up to promote TFA has a bunch of playlists (mostly of non-Williams/score music) dedicated to various characters from the whole series, including prequel main characters (but no Jar Jar, boo).

Some of them are clearly jokey lists; Chewbacca’s is entirely made up of ’80s “hair bands.”    Some are rather fitting;  I could imagine Han listening to old school rock and rambling about how it was all better back then than the crap we have today.  Others are kind of baffling.  Who knew Palpatine had a penchant for dubstep or that Obi-Wan digs ’60s pop?  Whoever’s responsible for putting Bieber on Luke’s playlist (!!!) needs to be dropped from a helicopter into an ocean of hungry sharks.

Anakin’s playlist features a lot of pop punk and ’00s era emo, the kind of stuff popular on alternative rock radio over the past 10 years.  But no Korn or Linkin Park???

Yoda’s playlist is basically, trippy.

Padmé Amidala’s playlist is full of girl power pop with some Marina and the Diamonds thrown in.

Artoo’s playlist is an EDM party.

Classical for Threepio, of course.

Qui-Gon’s list is stoner prog rock.

Here’s Obi-Wan’s list.  Groovy, baby!

Palpatine’s dubstep of doom.

Darth Maul’s death metal.

And finally, Mace Windu’s playlist which is an eclectic mix.

Have fun with the rest of the gang here.  The stuff on Boba Fett’s, Anakin’s, Finn’s and Kylo’s mixes are probably closest to what I listen to, with some of Artoo and Palpie’s stuff for the dance floor.  No classic post punk anywhere, though.  What a bummer!  Maybe I should come up with my own…

Tags: ,

8 Responses to “Fun With Official Spotify Playlists”

  1. Heidi Says:

    Uhhh, this is what girls on tumblr do, and I cringe every time I see those posts. Is the marketing for Star Wars looking closer and closer at what real people do and say on the web for inspiration on how to market their new products. Some people mentioned before that Rey is a blank slate type if character but that will change once Disney figures out what the people want her to be, which is easy enough to find in tumblr.

    It’s not so much the music list, but when companies in general try to relate to young crowds, I can only eye it with distrust.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      This sort of thing goes back to VHS song tapes women fans used to make back in the ’80s, precursors to the fanvids populating YouTube today. Then along came iPods and iTunes and the individualized playlist.

      • Heidi Says:

        The music playlist for characters thing is not my scene but I would love to have seen those VHS tapes. *giggle* *snort*

  2. Nariel Says:

    I’m not sure whether this form of marketing is more evil than other kinds, but I think the playlists are quite amusing. I like most of Han’s list and some of the stuff on Anakin’s, Leia’s, Kylo’s and Finn’s playlists. Qui-Gon’s list reminds me of my youth 🙂 And I wouldn’t have thought that Obi-Wan would listen to 60’s pop, either, although I admit I have a certain weakness for it myself.

    I have also noticed that Dooku isn’t here either – I wonder what would be on his playlist? Perhaps classical music, too?

  3. senatorbinks27 Says:

    You know, I’ve been thinking and thinking, and nothing now will convince me that Jar Jar’s playlist isn’t just filled to the brim with Disco.

    It just fits. It’s dancy, fitting with his limberness. It’s also much better than its terrible reputation, just like Jar Jar both in-universe and out.

    For the record, I’m not the biggest fan of Disco in general, but I appreciate it more than most modern dance-pop and even like a few one-offs (such as “Turn the Beat Around” by Vicki Sue Robinson and “Tragedy” by the Bee-Gees).

    And ELO is actually one of my favorite bands (though they always had more of a rock sensibility even in their more Disco-y work).

Leave a Reply

