Star Wars Prequel Appreciation Day Links

George Shot First

Skywalker Family Fanpage

Galixy Far Far Away

Fan Of Star Wars

Lady Jedi Scientist

SWForce4EU

Anthony Echevarria

Keith Palmer

The Kessel Runway  plus links to some great prequel-themed fashion!

QuiObi-Lover

Nilbog’s Storybook Land

Tatooine Talk

Plus, Yancy sent in his top 10 here:

Honorable mentions:  the politics (“Politics have been a part of the Saga since A New Hope, and George painted a much clearer picture of how the Star Wars Universe operates… The Prequels are a beautiful warning about just how fragile a republic can be, and how people are willing to give up their freedoms, all in the name of security… a very good warning for today.”) and Rick McCallum (“The man was a tremendous ambassador for George, for Star Wars, and for the fans. I miss his infectious energy, and his unwavering desire to see George’s vision put on the screen.”).

10) Cinematography – George’s wonderful cinematography realized by David Tattersall frequently plays back in my head. Star Wars was now huge in its scope, matching other cinema masters like David Lean and Akira Kurosawa in its visual language… and the ending of ROTS was like a visual trip into Dante’s Inferno.

9) The villains – Darth Sideous, Darth Maul, Count Dooku… all memorable, and deliciously evilllll… MUWAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!

8) Anakin & Padme – Lucas and McCallum both said their relationship was more akin to courtly love, and that’s exactly what we got on screen (which seemed to be completely missed by a lot of fanboys). Their relationship is Greek Tragedy & Shakespeare rolled into one.

7) Qui-Gon-Jinn: Yeah I needed more of this character in the Prequels, but what we did get was amazing. Qui-Gon is one of the most memorable characters in the entire series.

6) The incomparable John Williams… nuff said.

5) Trisha Biggar – Need I say more. Just amazing work in the Prequels, full of new ideas, and concepts that grew the galaxy by leaps and bounds.

4) The Fall of Anakin: Through three films we watched Anakin go from “The kindest boy in the universe,” to a selfish and angry young man obsessed with power, and making things the way HE wants them to be. Kudos to George for not taking the easy road, and sticking to his vision

3) Obi-Wan: While I’ve always liked Obi-Wan, the Prequel Trilogy and Clone Wars TV series turned the venerable Jedi Knight into my favorite character in the Saga… NOW GIVE ME MY SPIN OFF MOVIE!

2) The Clone Wars – Yeah not the Prequel films, but the introduction of the Clone Wars TV series added so many layers of depth to the era. Just an amazing run… I still miss the show desperately.

1) Obi-Wan/Padme Balcony Scene – RoTS: By far the most emotionally powerful, yet beautifully understated scene in the entire Saga, Two characters dancing around the truth, and two characters about to make fateful decisions that will change the galaxy. Some of Lucas’ best work in the Saga, and some of Williams most haunting music.

Note:  I’ll keep updating as I get more links and posts.  Thanks!

Tags: , , ,

10 Responses to “Star Wars Prequel Appreciation Day Links”

  1. lovelucas Says:

    I’ll be back but wanted to contribute this amazing link. I have contacted the artist directly but he no longer has control over any of his work for the Star Wars prequels. If you click on the images, especially that first one, it enlarges so much you’ll feel like you are there. http://www.dusso.com/pages/EP3/EP3main.html

  2. susanbowes Says:

    Don’t forget the link to Mr. Lucas’ appreciation vid we made…

    https://youtu.be/oVjxILlim9k – link to Lucas vid posted on youtube

  3. Jacobesico Says:

    I don’t have a blog or anyting but I wanted to take part.

    It was quite difficult because there are many things that I love about The Prequels.

    In no particular order:

    10) The Podrace- An amazing sequence, that when I watch it everytime I can always feel the suspence even though I know what it going to happen.

    9) Across the Stars- This score is a really beautiful piece of music that touches my soul everytime.

    8) Palpatine- A really great character with so many layers to him. It is a great pleasure to watch Ian McDiramid in action.

    7) Jar Jar Binks- I have no apologies for loving such a funny character. I enjoy every moment he is onscreen and I find his antics hilarious.

    6) Shmi’s funeral- Such an emotional scene. It gets me everytime when Anakin kneels in front of her grave and says he won’t fail her again.

    5) The Arena fight- an epic gladatiorial free for all in the GFFA. I’m laughing at Threepios antics, blown away by the number of Jedi and feeling sorry for Boba Fett after the death of Jango.

    4) Order 66- A really emotional sequence that shows the death of the Jedi at the hands of the Clones that fought alongside them. The emotion is intensified after watching The Clone Wars.

    3) Yoda with a Lightsaber- Something that I wanted to see for a long time and it sure didn’t disappoint.

    2) Naboo- a really beautiful planet with such amazing Architecture. The locations used for it are truly breathtaking.

    1) The birth of Darth Vader- I love the Gothic style scene in which Darth Vader dons the armour. It shows how Anakin has lost his humanity after making his pact with the devil and the noooooo at the end shows how the Emperor has finally got him in his grips.

  4. George Shot First Says:

    I’ve spent the afternoon reading each and every one of these and I love how varied and personal many of these pieces are, covering a breadth of topics with such obvious affection and care.

    People really took this seriously and I love how so many lists can each offer something new and interesting to consider. Great job everyone!

  5. madmediaman Says:

    Here’s a little blast from the past I cooked up last year:

  6. Hoggle Says:

    Great post of some prequel fandoms. They are some fantastico digital art backdrop matte links posted in the thread 2 😛

  7. fundhund Says:

    I don´t have a blog either, but if allowed, I would like to share my top ten things from the prequel trilogy as well.

    Here they are, in no particular order:

    1. Padme and Anakin – only one of many examples that showed me that I seem to enjoy very different things in Star Wars than the majority (?) of fans, I really like the infamous love story between Padme and Anakin. And I honestly think they have great chemistry. One of my favourite scenes is their “You call this a diplomatic solution?” – “No, I call it aggressive negotiations!” banter from AOTC.
    2. A larger universe – The prequels really brought a sense of scale to the galaxy far, far away. It was no longer just empire and rebels, heros and villains, but many worlds, characters and stories in between. A case in point is that some of the coolest villains (Darth Maul!) hardly made it through one movie, which many people didn´t like. I loved it!
    3. Magical worlds – Naboo, Otoh Gunga, Coruscant, Kamino, Geonosis, Utapau, Kashyyyk, Mustafar, Polis Massa. Do I need to say anything more? Many of these places are so fascinating that I would actually like to live there. Or at least, visit them on vacation 😉
    4. The last 30 minutes of AOTC – Ever since I watched that movie for the first time, I strongly felt that it had the best ending of any SW movie. I still do. The dramatic start of the Clone Wars, with the secret couple torn in between, gets me every time I watch it again.
    5. Collaboration of Geniuses – I surely wouldn´t forget to mention John Williams?! He is always brilliant, but his work on the prequels has a special quality about it, that fittingly accentuates the visual magic. I would be unable to name a favourite track , but Anakin´s Theme, Across the Stars and Anakin´s Betrayal would definitely be in the mix.
    6. Emotional impact – As much as I love the Original Trilogy, I find myself more emotionally invested in the prequel characters, which is probably due to the dramatic, almost shakespearean storyline.
    7. I like the very concept of the films. Going back to a world that fascinated us so long ago, and being able to get to see how things involved into the state we are familiar with is a wonderful experience.
    8. Lots of memorable quotes – from “this party´s over”, “you want to go home and rethink your life”, “”this is where the fun begins”, “there is always a bigger fish”, “I hate it when he does that”, to “twice the pride, double the fall”, “I am a slow learner” and “my little green friend” – it´s your pick 😉
    9. The balcony scene with Padme and Anakin – Although technically a part of the romance I already mentioned, this scene has something about it that stands out to me. It´s not only their last happy scene together, but it also features some really nice cinematography. As far as I am concerned 😉
    10. Overall great acting – Dare I say it? I really think that most of the actors gave nothing short of a stellar performance. Apart from the ones I already mentioned, both Ewan McGregor and Ian McDiarmid come to mind, and they usually get credit even from some haters. But also people in minor roles like Jimmy Smits, Pernilla August and Temuera Morrison did a very good job.

Leave a Reply

