Ewan On The Prequels

Cedric Troissou found this British radio interview with Ewan McGregor and of course the prequels came up.

Tags:

16 Responses to “Ewan On The Prequels”

  1. darth66zannah Says:

    Oh, shut up lady. THE FORCE AWAKENS SUCKS! “They weren’t globally recieved…” Oh sure, you dumb ass, is that why Phantom Menace made a billion dollars and ROTS had rave reviews? I swear I am so sick and tired of the hypocrisy I hear from everyone in regards to the prequels and TFA. Yesterday I was watching Return of the Jedi and it just kept making me hate TFA more and more. Why? A lot of these OT fanboys complained how the prequels ruined the OT…yet here we have TFA…which to me really takes a crap on the OT. In ROTJ Yoda says…there is another skywalker..and to pass on what you have learned…Luke tells Leia, you have that power too…Then in TFA she’s not a Jedi! She’s a general? Thanks for pissing all over the OT disney! Then the movie is called Return of the Jedi…only for all of them to killed and go back to 1 Jedi like in ANH. Thanks again Disney for pissing all over the OT! Also it kills me everytime I see a romantic scene between Han And Leia only to know they will get a divorce…where is the outrage? Oh yeah, as long as it has lots of explosions and practical effects it’s great! It’s globally recieved! I want to crawl into a hole a die

    • Helen Says:

      All the things you mention that TFA ruined for you, I felt too. And one more: They killed Han *before* he got to see Luke again. So, no Han and Luke reuniting. And come to that, no BIG THREE reuniting either, which I am sure any OT fan would have loved to see, Luke, Leia, and Han together again in at least one scene (before Han died.) But no. Instead, we get divorced, Han and Leia. And that’s it. That’s what OT fans waited all these years for? I sense a disturbance in the force, OT fans, ya think?

      • Jacobesico Says:

        Exactly!

        I don’t count TFA as Canon to be honest. Sure it’s alright but I came away from it feeling empty. Something that I’ve never felt after watching the previous six.

        But credit to Ewan for not jumping aboard the basher express.

        Anthony Daniels take note.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      Zannah, if you want to vent, you can shoot me an e-mail at SWPASadmin@gmail.com. I’m okay with people sharing their opinions as long as they do so in a respectful way but I don’t want fans who feel differently to not think they’re welcome here either.

      That said, that lady’s statements were ridiculous. It is true TFA got more of a pass from the geek axis and the media than TPM did but it doesn’t really mean anything as to what an actor would feel about being part of the prequels.

      • darth66zannah Says:

        sorry Lazy…I just feel really hurt about this but you’re right…Im not knocking anyone elso for liking it…heck my best friend thinks its the best one yet…I just don’t want to talk about SW any more with anyone…it’s like talking about an ex spouse I divorced..except you guys

  2. Helen Says:

    Ewan has said this before in defense of the PT, that he was pleased with the work he did in SW. He has always said, that if asked, he would do SW again. But of course, ppl like this interviewer don’t want to hear that. They want to hear that he regretted it or that he was embarrassed by them. And where does this lady get her info? She should do some fact checking before spouting off as she did. ugh. It upsets me. :-/ Sorry.

  3. Boba's Vette Says:

    “What you just described there is totally not how I feel about it.” Nice reply by Ewan there.
    That’s exactly how it for us fans who have to deal with the media who act as if everyone was sorely disappointed with the prequels.

  4. ladylavinia1932 Says:

    I get the feeling that Mr. McGregor really enjoyed doing STAR WARS. Every time I watch the two travel documentaries that he did with Charly Boorman, I noticed that the topic of STAR WARS came up a lot. And he also seemed to enjoy doing an Obi-Wan impersonation.

    • senatorbinks27 Says:

      I always recall the bit in the making-of doc for Phantom, after shooting the scene where Maul knocks Obi off one of the high catwalks Ewan is laying on the gym mat and when “Cut” is called he jiggles like an overexcited toddler, turns to the stagehand all smiles and goes “They asked me ‘D’ya wanna do Star Wars?’ Too @#$%ing right!!!”

  5. maychild Says:

    In the most recent issue of “People,” Ewan has a small Q&A on the final page, in which he relates how he nearly got into a traffic accident and yelled out the car window at the other driver, “You almost ran us off the road!” and he heard the other driver say, “I just got yelled at by Obi Wan Kenobi!” Ewan said that was “great.” Kind of an odd bit of positivity toward the prequels, but a bit of positivity nonetheless. Someone recognized Ewan as Obi Wan and said so.

    • LadyJediScientist Says:

      That is just fantastic! I’ve never heard that story before, but it is just marvelous!

      In regards to the interview, I like how straight forward he was with his answer, but he avoided being harsh. I also appreciated him saying that the PT films could be seen by kids. I’ve read interviews that Ewan has given over the years and he has said more than once that part of the reason why he agreed to be in Star Wars was he wanted to make a movie that his kids could see.

      Plus that , I think just the idea of being a Jedi appealed to him😉

  6. Stefan Kraft Says:

    I think many have already expressed their desire to see Ewan with his lightsabre again. If a spin-off is set during the PT, he still does not look older. And if set between the PT and OT, the 10 years that passed since the PT may even be an advantage. 🙂
    Or even a Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan spin-off (hey, you can still dream…)

  7. Brian47 Says:

    Ewan seems to be a class act all the way, but he also knows how to put things in perspective for actor vs an audience member. Of course as fans we focus a huge amount of attention on “Star Wars” and specifically those he starred in, but for him they are three movies in a long list of movies in every genre that he’s participated in. I’m sure that Lucasfilm came to him with an offer for an Obi-wan solo film then he’d consider it, but he has a healthy attitude on what he’s already accomplished.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      *Nods.*

    • Edward Diego Says:

    • Hoggle Says:

      There seems to be like the business of films, the business of fandoms, & the fandoms of films.

      Star Wars & it’s post prequel era to now (the prequel film era itself wasn’t really anything different from what star wars had always been in it’s balance of things) is perhaps the pinnacle of how complicated the above three things can get! 😕

Leave a Reply

