Marvel To Reissue AOTC & ROTS Comics This Fall

Marvel is going to re-release TPM’s comics adaptation in May.  Coming this fall will be AOTC and ROTS.  Here’s the preview of new cover art by Mike Mayhew:

12803096_995668963832848_4358236297086690754_n

12670496_995668967166181_7661353886995363851_n

Tags: , ,

26 Responses to “Marvel To Reissue AOTC & ROTS Comics This Fall”

  1. JamesII Says:

    YAY!

  2. zch81721 Says:

    These look much better than the TPM cover. I like the AOTC cover, also nice to see Jar Jar. I like the ROTS cover (my favorite movie in the whole franchise) but there is 1 major problem, the awkwardly placed Palpatine face.

    • Hunk a Junk Says:

      Jar Jar also looks like he’s staring at Padme’s chest — which is kinda awesome. 😛

      • Mike Jones Says:

        I was a little surprised they placed Jar Jar in the AOTC cover. I would’ve thought that he would go on the TPM cover since he’s featured much more in that movie.

      • Mike Jones Says:

        This is not to say that I’m complaining about it (I’m not) but it seems like a perplexing choice given the amount of screen time he had in AOTC compared to TPM.

      • zch81721 Says:

        Looki looki, mesa like.

  3. Cristian Martinez Says:

    Make me wonder what was lead to the re-issues of this comics. Is really good that they are doing this. But why? Money isn’t the only argument, after all, Disney throw the prequels under a bus when Force Awakens come out and had no shame in humiliating the Prequels and the Prequels fans in any opportunity.

    No, there is something more into this. Maybe is because the Prequels fans are making many uncomfortable questions about Force Awakens, real questions, rea critics, not the bullshit of the Original Star Wars against the Prequels.

    And they are throwing us another bone to keep us quiet. I really hope that people don’t be stupid and shut up because of this, Disney deserve all the critic for Force Awakens and the Original Star Wars fans deserve all the blame for pushing it.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      It’s been over a decade since any one of them was in print and Marvel likely figured with renewed attention on Star Wars, people who might have missed out before would want to get these.

      I also have the impression is Marvel is a little bit more pro-PT than most of the Disney machinery.

      • hansolo1138 Says:

        I think with Rebels featuring so many Prequel era characters and references, the several Marvel Prequel series and references in OT-era comics, the cameos by Prequel actors in TFA, and the fairly diverse merchandising, it might be time to lay off Disney for throwing the Prequels under the bus to market TFA. Just my 2¢.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        Sorry man, but I can tell you for sure there’s not much “diverse” merchandising aside from toys, which I don’t buy much of anymore.

      • Cristian Martinez Says:

        I mention this because you have posted something no so time ago, were it was say that Marvel wouldn’t re-issue any TPM comics or adaptations of the comics, so it to me is strange that suddenly they decided to re-issues this comics, when they mention they wouldn’t do it.

        And I am sorry Solo, but they are throwing bones at use, after the Original Star Wars fans had a feast meal, Disney is throwing us the left overs, wishing that would be enough to keep us happy and quiet, but no, this isn’t enough, without a public affirmation of Disney that they respect the Prequels and they would do spin-off movies about them, they wont gain my two cents, but Disney never would do that, it would destroy their whole “practical effects” Original fanservices bullshit that they have throwing all over the media, that reviewers of internet are so happy to follow because they own stupid nostalgia.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        What I said was there were no plans right now at Marvel to produce NEW prequel-era comics.

      • Jacobesico Says:

        Talking of Rebels.

        That episode was amazing! 😀

        So many feels.

      • hansolo1138 Says:

        Absolutely. Great action, great story, and great resolution to the season. Maul in particular was used VERY effectively. And the ending to [spoiler] was way ambiguous than I thought it would be.

        Also, I think the direction Filoni and co. seem like they are going to go with Ezra might be the antidote to how disliked his character is by some fans.

  4. LadyJediScientist Says:

    Just gorgeous covers! I already confirmed my pre-order for Phantom Menace😆
    On the subject of why Disney is doing this now, it is hard to say. Limiting the content to just OT & TFA makes no sense to me because it would reduce profits. But I have come to realize business & marketing has less to do with common sense & more to do with perspections of the sales person.

    Anyway, I will enjoy these editions because I loved Dark Horse’s artwork in these adaptations.

  5. Jacobesico Says:

    It’s about time. As much as I love it, I was getting a bit fed up of seeing just the Original Trilogy issues.

    I think I’ve still got the Revenge of the Sith one somewhere…

  6. Kim Says:

    Glad they are releasing these in hardcover. All three adaptations are great!

  7. Eduardo Jencarelli Says:

    Check out the Path of a Lightsaber video. It details the origins of Anakin’s saber dating back from the prequels and going all the way to Episode VII.

    http://blogs.indiewire.com/theplaylist/watch-the-journey-of-anakins-lightsaber-across-the-star-wars-series-daisy-ridleys-the-force-awakens-audition-20160330

  8. hansolo1138 Says:

    That ROTS art is effing epic!

    Between DC’s new rebirth event and the myriad of SW comics available, I really wish I had money for comic books.

  9. Heidi Says:

    Oooh, I love the covers. for a second there I thought they were redoing the comics, which would also be equally exciting because, more artwork! But I’m glad they’re being reissued, I can’t believe it’s been that long in print, our local libraries still carry good copies.

    • Heidi Says:

      Do you think the hype of manga is not hot enough right now to warrant aotc and rots getting they’re own treatments, the tpm one is hard enough to find as is.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        Probably not. As it is, I’m bummed we will probably never get PT radio dramas.

      • Keith Palmer Says:

        I’ve been wishing for more Star Wars manga adaptations myself for years; the one thing I can think of that might have some marginal relevance on this is that the manga versions Dark Horse published were drawn around the time of the Special Editions. (If they’d been drawn contemporaneous with the old movies, I have the impression they’d have looked a bit rougher… although that unfortunately reminds me of how annoyed I get when anime fans waxing about “old-school” titles use that as an excuse to get digs in at the Republic Trilogy.) I do at least know the TPM manga adaptation has been released on Comixology along with the other adaptations.

      • hansolo1138 Says:

        Or TFA radio dramas. The OT audio dramas are kind of underrated.

  10. Steven Boyes Says:

    I’d have loved prequel radio dramas not just for the expanded storyline…but also for the practical explosions…….of hateboy heads….Boom, Boom…Boooom

Leave a Reply

