The Fan Film Sensation Sweeping The Nation

Why wait for Disney to get around to a prequel-era spinoff when you can watch this short Darth Maul fan film today?

The visual effects in this are pretty good. Nice action scenes too.

Tags: ,

39 Responses to “The Fan Film Sensation Sweeping The Nation”

  1. Shamari Stewart Says:

    Attention Disney! People enjoy prequel stuff!

    But yeah the visuals are great, the choreo is great, and Maul is pretty damn scary in this.

    I’d only want the some of the actors to be a little beefier (just a tad). They don’t have to be super sculpted or anything but man some of them were REALLY thin.. I’d think the jedi encouraged physical fitness as well as force training and knowledge/understanding of the jedi code.

    And I’d want to know how the jedi responded to losing so many of their ranks in one place at one time. Did Maul and Palpatine dispose of the bodies? Either way the jedi would probably be on the lookout for whoever killed them or kidnapped them or whatever, trying to find out why they up and vanished after appearing on this planet.

  2. roxam91 Says:

    I really hope the popularity of this fan film convinces Disney to do a Darth Maul Anthology film.

  3. Edward Diego Says:

    The most-used Backlot in fan films: Forest … lots of Forest 😉

    The ‘tablet-sphere’ at the beginnnig looks nice. Darth Maul checks his Social Sith Network Account.

  4. zch81721 Says:

    No one likes the prequels my ass! But yeah I heard about this but I wasn’t really sure but glad I finally watched it. Hopefully the popularity of this will show Disney that we want to see other eras.

  5. Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

    I find the effects here more believable than TFA.

    I don’t know whether that reflects excellently on this film or poorly on TFA.

    For the sake of positivity, I’m going to go with the former. Great job guys.

  6. starwarsfan10 Says:

    Please stop hating on Disney just because of their reluctance to get around to the Prequels, guys. I understand your frustration, but, criticizing Disney will only make things worse for you. Besides, Disney has made primarily great films like Zootopia, which just came out.

    • Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

      For my part, I’m not hating on Disney. While I generally loathe much of their business practices, they also have continuously produced quality work for decades, and have created and will continue to create memorable works of art that people can enjoy for generations.

      However, they have been continuously dropping the ball on Star Wars. Their mistreatment of Lucas and his vision has forever soured my reaction to what would otherwise be a pretty enjoyable film and tainted my desire to see the story continue. This is not all their fault – it’s our silence and acquiescence that allowed the he-man-Lucas-haters to assert themselves as the “typical” Star Wars fan. We simply need to be far more vocal and far more assertive with our love of Lucas’ entire Saga (without resorting to the underhanded tactics of the haterbase, of course – we don’t want to be hypocritical).

    • jayoungr Says:

      Half-serious answer: But who else SHOULD we be frustrated with if we’re not getting more prequel-related stuff?

      Slightly more serious answer:
      Disney doing Disney = mostly great with a long track record of greatness.
      Disney doing Star Wars = ???

    • lazypadawan Says:

      Hmm, methinks I detect a sock.

      There’s nothing I said that was mean or factually untrue.

    • darth zannah Says:

      This was very well made with excellent visuals. HOWEVER, THESE FAN FILMS NEED LESS ACTION AND MORE STORY!

    • Cristian Martinez Says:

      The problem that I have with TFA is that a completely bare bones of Star Wars, even more than the freaking Originals, there is no character development, world building, the new Death Star is completely stupid, for two reason, one, a ice planet so close to the sun (Who they are kidding?) and two, is a freaking static weapon for moving targets. The New Order is that stupid that they cant even built a moving weapon. Why the resistence is having so much trouble in defeating them again? And of course. How Luke freaking Skywalker being a freaking Jedi now, being allied with the freaking non existent New Republic let himself be beaten by this idiots.

      Like someone already say in this site, Fanservices Awakens is Star Wars Michael Bay movie, totally stupid movie with a lot of action, no story at all, no world building only to the Original Star Wars fans see and masturbate with it, meanwhile they destroy all what Lucas worked so hard to built.

      That my problem with TFA; and it seems that it would be a trend for the next two movies, that even fanmade movies can do a better jobs that the blowjob sucking executives of Disney that are in a hurry to please the most toxic part of the fandom because they are crybabies children and already have a stupid bias for the Originals.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        You’re entitled to your opinion about TFA and I’m no shill for Disney but I should remind you that while I’ve let people had their say, this is a PT fan site, not the I Hate TFA Club. Try to be more respectful of other fans here.

      • Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

        There’s plenty to like about TFA and it really isn’t a “bad” little film when all is said and done. It’s just disappointing to see something so generic come from a series whose claim to fame has been showing people things they’ve never seen before. And George’s sense of pulp and whimsy is sorely missed.

      • Captain Fordo Says:

        Sad thing is that michael bays films have more action/character development/plot than “The fan service awakens” had. The cannon fodder bay former deceptions had more character development than Kylo, ray, or Han did in TFA.

    • lisse Says:

      Corporations aren’t people so I’m sure Disney won’t get their feelings hurt by criticism. I’ve had tons of problems with Disney prior to their acquisition of Star Wars and I’ll continue to have problems with their corporate vision of Star Wars.

      Zootopia was enjoyable though and Ariel and Jasmine will always be my favorite Princesses.

  7. lovelucas Says:

    100% behind what Adam said. and I’m going to continue to bad mouth Disney and its treatment of Star Wars, the prequels and George – makes me feel goooooooooooooooood. Plus I have actually convinced people to reconsider.

    • Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

      If you’re 100% behind what I said, you wouldn’t be bad-mouthing anything….

      • lovelucas Says:

        Well, then – never mind. Disney will never be on my “let it be” list.

      • Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

        I don’t like what they did, and I’m not “letting that be”, but I also refuse to outright bash ANYTHING, and after what we’ve been through, I’m surprised more of us don’t feel the same.

        We must be more vocal about what we love, but we can’t turn around and be hypocrites or whatever credibility we have will be gone. And just because Disney dropped the ball on this hard enough to bore through the earth and into orbit, that doesn’t negate the good stuff they put out continuously.

        Criticize and point out mistakes, and lobby for what we want. But if we go out of our way to “bad-mouth” and be more negative than we absolutely have to, then why should they listen to us? How are we better than the hateboys?

      • lovelucas Says:

        Then I’ll continue to “point out mistakes” and choose my verbs much more carefully. The hypocrisy is something I can’t abide – and that does not qualify as pointing out a mistake but pointing out the different standards used to criticize.

  8. madmediaman Says:

    Throwing in my 2 cents. You can take this as Disney hating or not (that’s certainly not the intention), but my observations:

    It’s pretty sad that a fan film has better fight choreography and staging than a $200 million film made by professionals.

    For all of Abrams talk about returning Star Wars light saber fighting to “old school” roots, which he alleges is more vicious and character centered, this film reveals the fraudulent nature of his comments. I felt as much pity, and emotion for the last Padawan left in this 15 minute short, than I did for Rey who had some 2 hours of screen time to develop. The filmmakers did an outstanding job of interspersing character moments, and story in what was little more than an extended fight scene.

    I also appreciated the director used every inch of frame in his shots (much like Lucas), and didn’t resort to obscene amounts of “shaky cam”. Well done…

    Best Star Wars film since Revenge of the Sith.

    • Hoggle Says:

      The cinematic for the Old Republic mmo on Alderaan featuring the woman with the double-bladded lightsaber got everything right in all it’s characterisations and action choreography.

      That’s my favorite non GL slice of Star Wars cinematic 🎥

      I saw a link for this somewhere elsewhere from a more commercial source saying something like X (10 or 50 or 500 or sumthing) times better than TPM….lol

      Laughing at how ridiculous that is but at same time, that is how it is for some people also & it is more their era of Star Wars now in its shifting fandom, which is just a ever so slightly different type of fandom to what mine was, hehe 😃

      • Jacobesico Says:

        Her name is Satele Shan.

      • jayoungr Says:

        Any relation to Bastila?

      • lazypadawan Says:

        On YouTube, there were a few of the usual prequel-bashing comments and then there were the “better than TFA” comments.

      • Hoggle Says:

        oh right, thanks for that .(y)

        She struck me as the embodiment of a Jedi in balance in the force. Was a significant influence when getting into a sequel trilogy fan fic.in my minds eye.

        I really thought that cinematic was pretty groovy 8|

      • Jacobesico Says:

        She’s Bastila’s descendant and at the time of SWTOR, The Grand Master of the Jedi Order.

      • Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

        I remember when I started playing there was a bug that shrank her to the size of Tinkerbell during an important conversation with Jedi players. Made all the more hilarious since character models in these scenes are programmed to follow eyelines, so it looked completely natural to see the Grand Master of the Jedi looking up at a gargantuan padawan looking back down at them.

        I do love that game.

      • Jacobesico Says:

        Yeah SWTOR’s great. I love playing it and I love all the stories.

        I don’t play it every day but since Knights of the Fallen Empire launched, I was able to complete a couple more storylines

        The name that I chose to use on here is in fact the name of my Sith Inquisitor.

    • Brian47 Says:

      Well, to be fair, these are all subjective responses. I found the fight sequences in TFA to be pretty great and involving and I’m saying this as a big of the fights in the PT. There is room for all kinds of fighting in the Star Wars movies, whether balletic or more “rough & tumble”. With fan films, I find that they are often just flash and no substance, i.e. mostly action and not much story, but this one did have some winning attributes.

    • Steve Bragg Says:

      It was a very good fan film, but about everything else you said, no.

  9. Thorin Milliken Says:

    Wow! That was actually pretty darn impressive! I’ve not really gotten into much of the fan film universe, but that was wild. Well done.

  10. Shaman McLamie Says:

    If you guys haven’t noticed the team behind this fan film has posted a behind the scenes video for the film. It’s rather professionally made for a fan film.

  11. jayoungr Says:

    How many Star Wars fan films are there, anyway? I watched Threads of Destiny a few weeks ago and enjoyed it as fanfic. Are there more besides that film and this one?

    • lazypadawan Says:

      There are a lot of them. A whole bunch of fan films were made during the prequel era. Lucasfilm ran a contest for years, then recently revived it.

  12. Edward Diego Says:

    If you take a closer look at Darth Mauls Face Tattoos – they are slighty different if you compare them with close up shots of Ray Park in ‘Phantom Menace’. I wonder why they did that?

  13. Artiom Deyev Says:

    I really enjoyed the movie! Does anybody know any information about the crew that made it – they must be professionals (or maybe students). The actor who plays Darth Maul looks very similar to Ray Park, and he fights good!
    As a prequel fan I’m glad that a prequel related fan-movie is getting so popular! Thats a good sign) I think its our duty as members of prequel appreciation society to like and leave a good comment for this video on youtube.

  14. Nick Gillard Says:

    Well done guys, great job! Nick Gillard.

Leave a Reply

