Screen Rant: Future SW Films Can’t Ignore Prequels

Screen Rant is normally a rat’s nest of prequel haters and Lucas bashers but someone actually posted this piece on why future Star Wars films can’t ignore the prequels.  Sure there’s some laying down cover fire and it seems to have the idea that there’s something “correct” or more palatable about the OT but coming from Screen Rant, this is astonishing:

That’s obviously not the case. First of all, not all fans that were there in 1977 feel that way. There are many who also enjoy the prequels. Second, The Phantom Menace came out over a decade and a half ago. There is an entire generation of fans that love Star Wars and were introduced via the prequels, or Rebels and The Clone Wars. Many of these fans view the prequels with just as much nostalgia as the older generation of fans view the original trilogy.

Of course, that older generation often dismisses these fans, suggesting that younger generation of Star Wars lovers “aren’t real fans.” The Force Awakens may have positioned itself to win back those of the older fan base that were disillusioned by the prequels, but in only a few short years, the majority of the fan population will be populated those “fake fans” who came to love Star Wars through the prequels and animated shows.

That generation is not going to be ignored. That doesn’t mean the older generation will be swept to the side, however. As mentioned above, there are many ways to include prequel era references in newer canon in a way that embodies the style and tone of the original trilogy. All Star Wars fans can be winners here, regardless of what part of Star Wars they love the most.

Tags: ,

53 Responses to “Screen Rant: Future SW Films Can’t Ignore Prequels”

  1. susanbowes Says:

    I guess I’m among the few “older generation” fans who loved the prequels. 🙂

    • Hunk a Junk Says:

      Exactly. I remember seeing ANH in the theaters (in Dolby stereo!!!) like it was yesterday and I loved the PT. While it’s absolutely true that younger fans will make up the majority of PT fans in the years to come, it’s untrue that all older fans are OT only fans. Part of the reason is that I remember reading interviews with Lucas describing the PT back in the early 80s predicting it would be “more political” and “more about conspiracy and betrayal” and “not as fun.” The ANH novelization included a preface basically laying out the outline for the PT, with Senator Palpatine using subterfuge to gain control of the Republic. So I knew and expected the PT to be different than the OT — and I embraced those differences. I don’t want Star Wars (cough-cough TFA) to just remake the same story over and over again.

    • jayoungr Says:

      Count me in that number as well. In some ways, I think it’s actually harder to be an older-generation PT fan, because it’s our peers and contemporaries who are going around with “Lucas Destroyed My Childhood” T-shirts. I was shouted down at a new year’s eve party for saying that I didn’t mind the changes made for the Special Editions of the OT; I can only imagine the reaction I would have gotten had I admitted that I may just prefer the PT, at least on some days.

    • Thorin Milliken Says:

      Count me in too! I’m 43 this year… saw every Star Wars movie at release and absolutely LOVE them all, especially the Prequels. Ya, I definitely feel in the minority with my generation on this though. It’s a real shame.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I’m among the older generation fans who love the prequels as many of you know by now. They’ll always be my favorites and the films that made me enjoy the OT even more.

    • Keith Palmer Says:

      I might just a bit of an outlier in that I did see Star Wars at the movies when I was quite young, but during one of the early-1980s re-releases; I knew the story of TESB and RotJ (even if I was that later movie “was coming”) from the storybooks and comics before I saw them on videotape. If there was a different crucial factor to my ending up the way I did, though, it might have been lurking on Star Wars-related discussions online in the late 1990s, when the conventional wisdom all too often seemed to be “Jedi completely blew it,” and that simply never appealed to me…

      Anyway, I’m perpetually tempted to say the prequels sharpened the focus of the old trilogy on “the central characters” and pointed out just what part of the conclusion was supposed to matter the most… and while The Force Awakens didn’t seem as “prequel-hostile” to me as we might have been suspecting and fearing, it still wound up implying the beloved “Big Three” “blew it.” Time will tell how things shape up from here on, I suppose…

      • lazypadawan Says:

        I have an essay about that if you want me to e-mail it to you.

      • Keith Palmer Says:

        I’m interested (if at least in part to learn just what “that” from my comment it’s about). I don’t know if you can read the email address from where I authorize my comments here, and it’s at least a few steps to get to an email address from what my header links to, so you can send it to keithrjpalmer “at” gmail (.com).

  2. Hoggle Says:

    Hypothetically, i thought would have liked a sequel trilogy 1/2 new, 2/6s OT & 1/6 PT in story dramatic narrative pay off styles. The 1/2 new, meaning etheric and spooky, 2/6s OT Hi-jinxy & bravadoee, 1/6 PT implicit & connotative

    But that could just be that i’ve been a bit of a GL 6 film Star Wars saga dork ✋ (although when i watch the OT se set, it is never without having beforehand watched all 3 prequel theatricals as lead in).

    I don’t know, the PT may be relatively unscathed compared to the OT as it is if just looking at entire official movie verse anyhows 😉

    But it’s too early on to me to have totally decided, as it’s possible that something which might appear initially to have some dissonance to a prior sequence actually takes on an unique quality when experienced in a greater context, if something has dissonance that is in the first place 🎨

    • jayoungr Says:

      “Etheric and spooky”? I’m curious in what way.

      • Hoggle Says:

        I don’t know, it would depend on the story.

        But it can be a fun chance to go to town with such stuff :mrgreen:

        Although not currently set in stone, but for me some of it involved(s)

        the meadows of time
        evil fotress or castle in the neatherworld
        ghost planetary space ship battles of limited color palattes
        neatherworld lands of intense limited color palettes
        neatherworld cave nexus points of intense limited color palettes
        reverse hyperspace wind portals
        undead sith armies and generals
        Egyptian type of spirit double (Ka)
        a monster Darth Vader
        fallen Han & Leia son
        spirit and neatherworld Jedi Anakin
        all the stars of the galaxy/universe within 24 rotating spheres
        a winged feminine Guardian etheric being
        maybe planetary or astrological Demi-gods

        I’ve really only thought about half of it fully through, but that’s my version of etheric and spooky stuff that came up for me although i may have exceeded 50% of stylistic tone, ooop 😳

  3. Cristian Martinez Says:

    I think that they now are afraid, when they realized that the older generation would die down, and all the bashing would be pointless, because only the Prequels fans would remain, the Original Star Wars fans are like the Fox News audience, they sooner or later would die down, and Fox News would have to struggle to try to catch the eye of the younger people, a very hard task because like the Original Star Wars fans they demises them as stupid and ignorant (the irony there).

    They really think that their reign would last forever? Last night and this morning I had a talk with two Original Star Wars fans, that think that only their opinion is valid, that anyone that think different (aka like the Prequels) is invalid, that only the Original Star Wars fans have the right to have an opinion, the rest need to fuck off.

    And hell, there even one that trough that fans have power over the artist work, when the artist is independent of his fans and he can do whatever he want, the fans can like it or dislike it, it his work, the Original Star Wars fans aren’t better than the Original Star Trek fans, both of them believe that the artist work belong to them, and only them.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      I watch Fox News and I’m not that old! I don’t think young people watch much of news anyway, which has always been the case.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I’m certain that most of the younger generation isn’t aware of current events, nor anything much to do with our history. Love the “on the street” quizzes given by talk show hosts and a few newscasters. Most of this generation don’t know squat and get 99% of the questions wrong!

  4. Jared Myers Says:

    The idea that all old school fans hate the prequels is BS. I’m a first generation fan. From 1977 – to the mid 80’s Star Wars dominated my childhood. The OT will always be my favorite. However, I also have found memories as a 20something to 30-year-old of the Special Editions the Prequels…..they all served to make the original films even more epic and filled with subtext, than they already were. How could any “true” Star Wars fan hate that?

  5. Leon Says:

    That’s so stupid!! Most “real” Star Wars fan were also introduced to Star Wars when they were kids, just like the prequel fans! That’s why they can’t stand any changes and have so much nostalgia for it! And further more, the prequels didn’t even receive generally bad reviews from adult critics at the time! Episode 1 and 2 received very mixed reviews with most people ranging from bad to mediocre to great, Episode 3 received very good reviews from almost everyone! It wasn’t until the internet came and all these hardcore OT lovers started making movie reviews and shit that it became fact that people just hated the Star Wars prequels. Thankful more and more fans of the prequels have come over the later years from younger generations and people who aren’t afraid to admit they never really hated the prequels. Most people I show the films too either like them all as much or like the prequels a little bit more because of the larger focus on story, drama and themes.

  6. Tony Ferris Says:

    “… there are many ways to include prequel era references in newer canon in a way that embodies the style and tone of the original trilogy.”

    To be honest, it’s the style and tone of the Prequels that I’m interested in, not references to their narratives. But whatever…

    • lazypadawan Says:

      Yeah, that was one of the points that annoyed me.

    • jayoungr Says:

      Yeah, it’s like the author is intellectually trying to give PT fans their due, but just can’t get into the mindset of someone who actually thinks the PT has merit.

      • Tony Ferris Says:

        Perhaps he simply doesn’t think they have merit (that’s allowed). Full credit for at least taking a punt at acknowledging that the PT has a fan base , and that it might not be a bad idea to cater to it.

        Mind you, I could do without being pandered to the way that OT fans were in TFA, so again… whatever…. LOL

      • Hoggle Says:

        TFA was hampered by expectations and those type of pressures i would guess but it did what it was suppose to do.

        From what i know of it & stuff that appeals, a direction that combines the leap from say Interview with the Vampire to Vampire Lestat along with that Mortis 3 show arc of the clone wars could fly.

        Like Rey & Kylo are still seperate in a similar way to Han & Leia to start with & Snoke pulled something to have the situation in TFA happen in the future, but it’s not actually the future yet. Empress Leia learns about this & her, Han & Luke who has a rebuilt Jedi Order, have to figure out what it means and how things move from the more rosy Galactic here and now to everything going astray. And that relates to an still emerging first order & grander Sith like plans behind everything. And the two different galactic dimensions of Snoke & Empress Leia kind of start merging & bumping heads, as they are both in a sort of clash in shaping them with their powers which neaither has full control over, leading on to another more mythic type of galactic layer that hasn’t really been uncovered in the saga yet as what it leads to, relating to the Whills and all that type of thing.

        In saying that, i would bet on a type of TFA’s Empire Strikes Back being the first sequel’s sequel that gets made which will have some type of star wars fandom appeal about it & that’s all good 🎉

  7. princesselwen Says:

    Glad to see that someone else noticed the importance of worldbuilding in the Prequels, and the politics of the Originals. Not to mention, some people actually LIKE Space Politics. 🙂 And there are an awful lot of younger fans who weren’t even around when the originals came out for the first time.
    With the style and tone thing, it would be nice if the setting improved over the course of the new trilogy.
    And please, lets have more of an actual impact in the story from the destruction of Hosnian Prime, and not just “Oh dear. Lost their planet the New Republic has. Oh what a shame.”
    And someone else noticed the Ghost-Anakin-Shaped Hole.
    Speaking of that, I’m currently working on a fanfic in which Kylo Ren goes to some weird cave in order to speak with Vader’s spirit. He gets a vision of Anakin instead–and things get interesting. I can link to it when it’s done if anyone here would like to read it.

    • Cristian Martinez Says:

      I am one those that loves Space Politics, that is the reason why I still fan of Babylon 5, that was the real show that showed real politics in space, not the lame and very downgraded politics of Star Trek, were every was ended happy and no race dared to commit atrocities because they feared the consequences of all powerful Federation, but Babylon 5 was the first to say that maybe the Federation couldn’t do nothing, or they didn’t care less about it, or maybe they made a pact of no aggression with the power that committed the atrocity in first place.

      Maybe the Original Star Wars fans still live in the fantasy land of everybody end happily ever after, and all obey the super power to end happily ever after, that the Rebels are incorruptible and are incapable committing atrocities as the Empire.

    • hansolo1138 Says:

      “And please, lets have more of an actual impact in the story from the destruction of Hosnian Prime, and not just ‘Oh dear. Lost their planet the New Republic has. Oh what a shame.’ ”

      Exactly. When I watched TFA, I thought, “So, there IS a New Republic in the new continuity? What’s it like, anyway?”

      Episode IV took the time to briefly explain how the Empire worked. To maintain some semblance of the Republic, sectors of Galactic citizens still got to elect senators who had some authority in their regions. But when Episode IV rolls around, the Death Star and the terror it creates is able to replace the senators as a means of keeping individual sectors under control.

      I got all of that from Grand Moff Tarkin’s dialogue in the conference room scene in ANH. All that I got from General Hux in TFA was, “The New Republic exists, and it’s illicitly funding the Resistance.”

    • Hoggle Says:

      I’d be interested in reading it PrincessElwen 😎

      my unfinished seque trilogy fan fic involves weird caves(nexus points), a character like Kylo Ren, Darth Vader & Anakin too 📖

      • princesselwen Says:

        if anyone wants to read it, you can go to my blog at princesselwen.livejournal.com.
        I’d like to read yours, too.
        Yay for weird Force caves!

      • Hoggle Says:

        I read your ‘Lost City of Llira’ intro PrincessElwen 👸

        I pretty much liked the tone, style and content of your short piece 😊

        I couldn’t find your StarWars Kylo & Anakin cave short though. If you like i could e-mail you my unfinished fan fic stuff to look at.

      • princesselwen Says:

        Here’s the fic:
        http://princesselwen.livejournal.com/17154.html
        my e-mail address is horseandbuggy92@yahoo.com. I’d like to read your stuff.

      • susanbowes Says:

        Wow! I hope you don’t mind, but I just read your fanfic and I LOVED it! That’s exactly what I’d say in a fanfic of my own if Anakin appeared to Kylo Ren. I was even discussing making a video about that very thing with a friend of mine on Facebook today. If I do make a vid, I’ll leave the link here so you can watch it.

        You’re a great writer and I hope you continue your story. I’d love to read more… If not that story, then another fanfiction. 🙂

      • Hoggle Says:

        WOW you’ve got great voice in your writing Princess Elwen 👑 filled with mystery, allure and unseen lore & horizons just out of reach. I get that from both of your two shorts i’ve read, really good stuff 8|

        Thanks for posting that.

        Will be happy to send you my SWs sequel fic stuff, it’s pretty lacking :/ in comparison to your more elegant picture painting style ⚡ ⚡

    • Tarrlok Says:

      ‘And please, lets have more of an actual impact in the story from the destruction of Hosnian Prime, and not just “Oh dear. Lost their planet the New Republic has. Oh what a shame.”’

      Haha. Classic. Reminds me of Yoda re. Kamino in AOTC.

  8. Heidi Says:

    When it comes to politics in Star Wars, why is it frowned upon in Episode 1, 2 and 3 but never in Star Wars: The Clone Wars, which gets so political at times, it blows all three movies out if the water? Is it because the ‘original’ fans just arnt audiences of the show? I thought the T.V. Show had the least amount of friction amount fans and therefore the most agreed upon as being excellent sw material.

    • jayoungr Says:

      I think the people who were most turned off by politics just swore off the Prequel era entirely after TPM and never checked out ST:TCW at all. The ones who did check it out were therefore at least a little bit receptive to having politics in their stories. Just a guess.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      As popular as The Clone Wars was, the show had a smaller, more concentrated audience than the films had (and don’t forget, the theatrically-released pilot was savaged by critics and the geek elite/media). It’s also easier to win over people with 22 episodes a year than it is with a two-hour film. That said, it seemed to me the more political episodes were among the most criticized and the least popular. There were fans who actually dreaded any episode where Padme was up front and center because that meant, ugh, politics.

      • starwarsfan10 Says:

        Not all political episodes were criticized. The Heroes on Both Sides episode from Season 3 as well as the Clovis arc were praised as being strong political episodes for showing where everything was going to go and how Palpatine managed to get the funds he needed to build the Death Star.

      • hansolo1138 Says:

        Padme in front and center doesn’t ALWAYS mean politics. Remember “Blue Shadow Virus” and “Destroy Malevolence”?

        Seriously, though, “Heroes on Both Sides” is one of my 20 favorite episodes, and, as an added bonus, introduced Lux Bonteri. They could really go somewhere interesting with Lux should they choose to include him in Rebels, such as clearing up his ambiguously romantic relationship with Ahsoka.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        I know that; I’m just relaying what I saw posted on forums and stuff at the time.

  9. jayoungr Says:

    At least the article has a really cool image at the top! I’d love to have that on a T-shirt or something.

  10. Jacobesico Says:

    I love the politics in the Prequels. There are so many parallels with today that the Prequels are a must watch for anyone interested in current affairs.

    The Senate scenes are in my opinion, the most important part of the Prequels.

  11. hansolo1138 Says:

    I was introduced to Star Wars through my parents’ old VHS tapes of the OT. But I became a die-hard Star Wars fan through several novels and a TV series set in the PT era. So, even though I’m technically a PT-era fan, I came to know Star Wars the same way the Original generation did. So I can sort of see where everyone is coming from in the comments here.

    I’m not sure if favoring the OT over the PT and ST will ever completely die out. Even if the PT is more widely recognized as the complex, beautiful films that they are, and even if the ST continues to have the critical and financial success that TFA has received, the OT will forever be remembered among film buffs, scholars, and casual fans as three extremely creative, original, and successful films that defined filmmaking like no other film before or since.

    And I won’t give a crap. What will matter more is my love for a nine-film space opera series and the multitude of supporting material based on it.

  12. ladylavinia1932 Says:

    Politics has always played a major role in the “STAR WARS” saga. Not only in the Original and Prequel trilogies, but even in “THE FORCE AWAKENS”.

    • hansolo1138 Says:

      I noticed a very familiar profile pic attached to a commenter named “Rosie” in this article. Was that you?

    • Cristian Martinez Says:

      In what universe played a role in Force Awakens? In Fanservices universe? Awakens totally lack of the world building of the Prequels, we don’t known shit about the New Republic, only that they found the Rebels because they are stupid enough to make other people fight for them against the same enemy that they fight before with a much more better and bigger army, even that they could easily win because the remains of the Empire are fucking stupid that cant even do the Death Star right, they created a static weapon for target that move around, this Death Star cant even move like the previous ones because is a freaking Planet, the New Republic would have easily won against this idiots.

      Back to the subject, Force Awakens, don’t show the New Republic, the First Order Senator that backup the remains of the empire, doesn’t explain were the First Order had get the money for all their fancy ships, equipment, fighters and the money to build the freaking Death Star. Doesn’t explain why the freaking Republic doesn’t use their own ships and soldiers against the First Order, totally ignore Leia political background, she should continue to be a senator or the freaking chancellor at this point, make Luke a total wannabe that cant even rebuilt the Jedi Order and hide like a pussy because he is afraid of the First Order, I had seen Extended Universe works were he rebuild the freaking Jedi Order in less of twenty years with the help of Leia political power, and of course, not mention that WHAT FREAKING JEDI TEMPLE HE IS SEARCHING FOR, were he have all the installations and the space in freaking Coruscant, with the huge Jedi Temple ready to use, but no, he have to search for some stupid Temple (that most likely in Dantooine) because this is a freaking Original Star Wars fanservices masturbation.

      • andywylde77 Says:

        Yeah I agree with you about how the politics were treated in TFA. It was pretty lame how they went about showing the political situation in the movie. We have the RESISTANCE who is funded by the NEW REPUBLIC or maybe some members of the NEW REPUBLIC for the threat of the FIRST ORDER. So why is the NR backing the Resistance? See this is why some context on the state of galactic affairs would have been useful. But no! God forbid they have some political scenes in the new film. I guess they didn’t want to hear the whiners whining about more politics in SW.

        The new Disney model for SW is the KISS method.
        K-Keep
        I-It
        S-Simple
        S-Stupid

        This is what SW means to so many it seems. Because this movie(TFA) was nothing but a Michael Bay film disguised as a SW film. TFA was a movie that actually required you to turn off your brain to enjoy. This film was just an empty hollow shell with no meat in it. But I knew to expect this from Abrams. The man has singlehandedly destroyed Star Trek and Star Wars! How many people can lay claim to destroying both ST and SW?

        But now the NR is wiped out. The FO are scrambling their forces. The Resistance is still the Resistance minus a few X-wings. So I guess the next film will start off with a fleet of FO star destroyers attacking a Resistance base? I would bet my bottom dollar they are going to rehash episode 5. Guaranteed. They set it up that it basically has to be a rehash. The FO super weapon is gone. What else will they have? Star destroyers. And the Resistance is just a small base on a planet with a handful of fighters. So the only option for the film makers to have is a Battle of Hoth rehash.

        I mean if they can rehash ANH and make a few billion while doing it, why would rehashing TESB not be an option? Well I can see now that the whining over the PT all these years has driven any hope of originality in SW out the door.

  13. andywylde77 Says:

    Ah, with TFA out now it really puts things into perspective on the SW franchise. TFA really does tell me a lot about the state of the SW franchise and what state it has been in since the days of the PT. The whining and hatred that was shown at the PT since TPM first opened has been so loud that the new owners of the franchise are virtually custom tailoring the new SW universe to accommodate all the whiners and haters of the last decade and a half of SW.

    Need proof? Look no further than TFA. After watching that it was clear as day to me that TPTB are really taking this franchise in the wrong direction. Now I see when people have a negative opinion about TFA they get shouted at and called hater, PT lover, racist, misogynist, whiner etc. Yes! These names are being flung around by people who can’t handle a criticism about the new film.

    What makes me laugh is the chances of these people throwing those insults around were the same ones that trash the PT on a daily basis for years on end. Now that TFA has made oodles of money, all that money according to the people that like it says that all that money is a reflection of the films quality. But when the PT films were making oodles of money, that was only because of the SW brand name. Mind you this is how the mind of a PT hater works and thinks as far as money is concerned. So to me for the TFA to make this much money means that the SW BRAND NAME was so strong due to the PT era helping it stay strong all these years. See? I can apply hater logic too. 🙂

    Sad part is I was really looking forward to the new SW universe but the combination of Disney, Lucasfilm and the fandom killed that desire for me. I am not really looking forward to more rehashes and soft reboots and what not. But that is what is in store for others in the coming years.

    I will say to all the PT haters that you should stand up and take a bow. Pat yourself on the back and feel proud. Your whining and bitching was so loud, consistent and steady that it caused a company to tailor make a new film series based on your whining, bitching and moaning. I guess that is something to be proud of?

    • lazypadawan Says:

      I’ve come to the conclusion that the real reason behind PT hate is Lucas hate.

      • susanbowes Says:

        They go hand in hand, don’t they? PT haters hate Lucas because he made the prequels using HIS ideas, not theirs.

      • andywylde77 Says:

        Yep. Pretty much. For years I have noticed that some people really have a problem with giving Lucas the credit he deserves. It must pain people to have to acknowledge that Lucas created SW. Every time someone praises Lucas for what he created, there are a gaggle of morons that have to try and attribute everything Lucas achieved by bringing up that it was because of all the other people around him.

        Does this ever happen with Spielberg? Nope. Or any other film maker for that fact. This only happens with Lucas.

      • Sergey Holod Says:

        Spielberg is not a writer, he is just a director. He uses other people’s screenplays. Lucas makes movies based on his own ideas. Quentin Tarantino once said in Charlie Rose Show that it is very easy to praise someone talented like David Fincher, for example, whose task is just to find a good screenplay. To make something completely your own is much harder task.

        Furthermore Lucas never bashes his work to please fans. He produced “Howard the Duck” and always defended it in interviews. Spielberg directed “1941” and betrayed it in the recent “Spielberg on Spielberg” documentary. It was very painful to listen to since I adore “1941”.

        I also can’t see any flaws in “Howard the Duck”. And I am glad that Lucas never judge his work by reviews being good or bad.

  14. ladylavinia1932 Says:

    I do realize that the politics featured in “The Force Awakens” is rather lame. But it’s there. And the topic of politics is also in the Original Trilogy. Which is why I cannot understand those fans who had complained about the politics featured in the Prequel Trilogy.

Leave a Reply

