Tribute Video Is Live

Susan Bowes’s tribute video to George Lucas is up on YouTube. Β Spread it around and let it go viral!

Tags: ,

44 Responses to “Tribute Video Is Live”

  1. Marshall Says:

    Just watched it and gave it an up vote. So far it has 5 “thumbs up votes. That recommended video of Tom Hanks saluting George is good too.

  2. susanbowess Says:

    Thanks for the thumbs up Marshall. Spread the word…. maybe if our vid gets enough “Likes” on youtube Mr. Lucas might hear about it. Awesome! πŸ™‚

  3. Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

    I’m so sorry I never contributed. Of course I just had to get sick and lose my voice.

    • susanbowess Says:

      I’m sorry you didn’t get to contribute to our project too Nilbog, but at least you’ve got the satisfaction of knowing our vid may be seen by Lucas himself! That’s A-W-E-S-O-M-E!!!!! πŸ™‚

    • jayoungr Says:

      If this catches on, maybe Susan will consider making a “part 2”? People who don’t know about this site might see the first one and want to add their voices!

      • susanbowess Says:

        I’d consider making a part two. It would be an honor to continue our tribute to Mr. Lucas. However, I noticed on the youtube page that others had also thanked Mr. Lucas in the comments area under the video. I believe word will spread quickly and others will add their thanks as well. I just wish more people would click on “Like,” so our vid would go viral. (I assume that’s how it works. ???) I did notice 3 thumbs down the last time I looked, but I imagine that was from haters. (over 600 views so far too, but it could be more by now πŸ™‚ )

        I’m very excited to learn that Jett Lucas re-tweeted our vid on his Twitter page, and hopefully he told his father about it. Mr. Lucas could’ve seen our vid already. It would be outstanding if he did. Wow! πŸ™‚

  4. Jacobesico Says:

    I’ve said this many times before but I’m going to say this again for the final time. Thank you Susan.

    Your video is an example to us all. I hope that this video will inspire others to make their voices heard. Keep an eye on the comments though. I don’t want any haters to hijack this. Can you delete comments on Youtube? If not it would be best to close the comments.

    Our next step is to make sure that George Lucas sees this. We should tweet this to Jett Lucas because I think that would be our best bet.

    I also think that we should co-ordinate with the other pro-prequel sites such as Clone Corridor. Get a bit of a movment going.

    We could call this The Silent Majority Awakens or something.

    • Cristian Martinez Says:

      I think that “Silent Majority” is what the Original Star Wars fans call themselves off, and I wish to more tribute videos to appear, or become really viral, it seems now more than ever people take videos more seriously because they believe that Disney totally mishandle Star Wars.

    • susanbowess Says:

      Thanks again Jacobesico, but all I really did was put the vid together. It’s everyone who contributed to the project that really deserves the credit. However, I do appreciate the compliment because it took a lot of time and patience to edit everything together. πŸ™‚

      I hope our video inspires others to speak out too, but as far as closing the comment area on youtube, I want to see hater’s comments, most of whom will probably try to “defend their cause,” but we know better than that, don’t we? I’m not sure if you can delete any really crude comments, but on the other hand, it might be good to let everyone see just how vicious the haters can be.

      Your idea to co-ordinate with the other pro-prequel sites is a great and I hope everyone will pass the word along to these sites. I’ve posted the vid to many prequel lovers sites on FB already, and also posted it on the home page in the stats area for everyone on FB to see, some being haters I’m certain. I’ll most likely get feedback from them, but like a Jedi, I’m prepared for battle!

      As far as tweeting the youtube link to Jett Lucas, that’s another fantastic idea. I can’t do it myself because I don’t have a Twitter account, but maybe someone else on here is a member and will notify Jett about our video. It sure would be awesome if Mr. Lucas gets to see it. After all, that is the main reason everyone contributed to our appreciation vid. My fingers are crossed. XXXXX πŸ™‚

  5. Stefan Kraft Says:

    Jett Lucas has already re-tweeted the link to the video, and also the link to Bob Clark’s animation. Hopefully, he will show them to his father!

    One problem I have: I live in Germany, and due to copyright, I am not able to watch the video because of the music used. Maybe Susan can upload a version without music? Or maybe I can find a workaround. I’ll keep you up to date.

    • Jacobesico Says:

      That’s great! I’m so pleased! Thanks LadyJediScientist.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      That’s awesome!

    • susanbowess Says:

      That’s awesome news about Jett re-tweeting our vid and I also hope he shows it to his dad. That was the main objective after all. πŸ™‚

      As far as you being able to watch the vid, did you try watching it here? All you have to do is click on the red arrow in the center of the screen. It doesn’t go to youtube and plays directly. The only way to delete the music is if I make another video without audio, and then post it on youtube again. The video without music might cancel out the one with music, and if so, I’m sure you can understand why I don’t want to do that. However, I’ll post the vid to VK today and then post the link here. Maybe you’ll be able to see it that way if not able to see watch it directly on this site.

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        Yes, it is not possible. Geoblocked because the GEMA (German performance right organization) and YouTube/Google still could not work out which amount should be charged for copyrighted music (see https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blocking_of_YouTube_videos_in_Germany ). Uploading the video to VK may be a solution, or I try some VPN. πŸ™‚

      • susanbowess Says:

        Our vid is on VK now. I tried posting it once already, and it did go in, but I can’t find the link for the first one I posted. (I was chatting on FB and didn’t check…lol) Anyway, I hope you’ll be able to watch the vid. Let me know if you do get to see it. This is the link…

        http://vk.com/video251265273_171454017

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        The VK link works. Yay!

      • susanbowess Says:

        That’s great news Stefan. I’m so happy you got to see our vid. πŸ™‚
        Unfortunately, nobody can comment on it on VK because for some reason it isn’t allowed, even though I set the vid to be open for comments. VK must have gremlins in their system. That’s one reason I haven’t posted many of my vids to the site, preferring to post them on youtube instead. (I’ve made several SW vids. πŸ™‚ )
        I checked last night on youtube and our vid was already viewed by over 400 people, (probably more now) with 50 “Likes” and 3 “thumbs down.” (must be the haters that did that… lol) Also, in the comment area, some people are adding their thanks to Mr. Lucas which is very cool. Hopefully Mr. Lucas will read them as well. πŸ™‚

    • Bob Clark Says:

      Are you able to see my animation, Stefan? Vimeo seems to work differently. I do have music issues, especially since it’s anime and the companies that own the rights to their music are often more strict.

  6. Shamari Stewart Says:

    Wonderful video!!! Thanks a lot Susan, this turned out great and George’s son even retweeted it! Also it’s so great to see so many other fans that enjoy star wars and don’t just hate on it or complain about it (having seen those people in real life it’s hard for me to consider them “fans”… they complain about star wars more than they like talking about the good things).

    I really hope George sees it or has seen it already. It’s clear the hate has reached him and affected him so hopefully this reminder that he has a lot of fans can keep him in a positive mindset when thinking about his fanbase (his true fanbase, not fans that hate him for “ruining their childhood” and call him “a hack who lost his touch”).

    • susanbowess Says:

      I share your joy about this vid too, and that Mr. Lucas may actually see it, or might have even seen it already. Wow! I’m so happy that we finally sent our message to him – that he’s still got thousands of fans who love, respect, and appreciate him.

      And my thanks also go to everyone who contributed, or wanted to contribute to this long overdue thanks to Mr. Lucas. I’m sure he’ll appreciate it too. It’s about time he knows that he’s got so many fans who loved his work, and maybe this vid will heal some of the wounds inflicted on him by haters.

  7. Nariel Says:

    Thanks for making this video Susan, and everyone who contributed πŸ™‚

    • susanbowess Says:

      You’re very welcome. Even though it took me a long time to make… and plenty of patience… I still enjoyed making it, and my thanks also goes to contributors. Without them I wouldn’t have made the vid at all. The true credit goes to them. πŸ™‚

      • Falcongunner Says:

        Just got to see the video on VK (Youtube doesn’t work for me either) and I’ll add my thanks for all the work you put in Susan-It truly is a moving work of art in every way and you should be justly proud.

      • susanbowess Says:

        Thanks Falcongunner. It did take a lot of time and patience to edit the vid properly, but I think it turned out pretty good too, and I am proud to have been a part of this project. My thanks go to everyone who contributed their messages, written and live footage. I just hope Mr. Lucas does see it. πŸ™‚

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        I just watched it. Nicely done. And powerful statements IMHO by all involved. Thank you. πŸ™‚

      • susanbowess Says:

        Thanks Stefan, but without everyone contributing like they did, the vid wouldn’t have gotten the notice it’s received on youtube. 535 views already and 59 Likes. Sure would be better if everyone clicked on Like, but 59 isn’t too shabby. The vid’s only been on youtube for 2 days. Not too bad, huh? πŸ™‚

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        In fact, my “Thank you” was for you, Susan, and for all who contributed. πŸ™‚

      • susanbowess Says:

        I wanted to add my thanks to everyone who contributed too. πŸ™‚

  8. Heidi Says:

    Aww I just had a chance to see it now, it really warms my heart, thank you for your hard working effort of putting this together Susan. Did Jett really retweet it?! Wow! Maybe our dream of George getting to see this is more of a reality than I thought. πŸ™‚

  9. andywylde77 Says:

    This was a nice touching little video. It was great to see all love and support that others gave to Lucas.

    • susanbowess Says:

      I just hope Mr. Lucas saw the comments made under our appreciation vid, each adding their thanks to him. I’m sure he appreciated everyone who thanked him in our video as well. Jett had to have told him about it. In case you didn’t know – Jett tweeted the link to our vid on his Twitter page. How awesome is that?!

  10. susanbowess Says:

    Just to let everyone know:

    Our appreciation vid has 926 views so far, 73 Likes, and only 3 thumbs down. Not too bad for the length of time it’s been on youtube. I love all the comments people added thanking Mr. Lucas too. It shouldn’t be very long before our vid goes over 1000 views. Awesome!

    Force be with you all… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

