“Rebels” Season Two Second Half Trailer Is A NutriBullet of All Things Star Wars

Yes, including prequels and Clone Wars. We get Leia. We get Maul. We get more Ahsoka and her possibly fateful showdown with Vader. We get Yoda. We get Anakin. We get Ezra finding a lightsaber suspiciously like Kylo Ren’s. We get major feels. Coming back to your t.v. on the 20th:

Tags: , , ,

43 Responses to ““Rebels” Season Two Second Half Trailer Is A NutriBullet of All Things Star Wars”

  1. starwarsfan10 Says:

    You know what else we got in this trailer, Lazy Padawan?

    -Cham Syndulla from The Clone Wars

    -Geonosis (possibly)

    -Mandalorians

    -The return of Ketsu Onyo, Sabine’s friend, and her ship, the Shadow Caster, based on the ship of Ventress, the Banshee, from the Clone Wars Dark Disciple arc novel

    -Matt Lanter returning to play Anakin

    -Sith Temples

    -And, Jedi Temple Guards from The Clone Wars

    Is it truly not a time to be a Star Wars fan or what? 😊

  2. starwarsfan10 Says:

    BTW, Lazy Padawan, 11 episodes remain this season.

  3. darth66zannah Says:

    Darth Maul? Where? i don’t see him.

  4. darth66zannah Says:

    Looks promising but so did the preview to the first half…so far I don’t like this show…it’s too soft and feels disconnected from the overall saga…i hated season 1 and thought season 2 was going to be better but the only good episode was the “movie” for season 2…trailer looks fantastic though…finally some connection to the saga…unless all this cool stuff is shoved all into the seaon finale which wouldn’t suprise me since they basically did that for the first half.

    • starwarsfan10 Says:

      Well, we have 11 episodes left and most of the stuff you saw in the first half was crammed mainly due to the trailer consisting mostly of Siege of Lothal and the other 9 regular episodes. These next remaining 11 episodes, I’m sure, won’t cram everything in.

    • Cristian Martinez Says:

      This is the response of Disney for the backlash that they had of the Prequels Fans, it seems that they don’t seems to remember how they treat us like trash.

      And now they are saying: “Can you love us pretty please? Look we made a lot of fanservices for you as well, but with less publicity and deep underground so it cant bother the Original Star Wars fans. And it wont be shot to the serious media only to mindless stupid kids that see our TV Network.”

      Rebels have a few things that are good, never the less, those are because it connect them with the Clone Wars, in the end, Disney is treating us like idiots, and some us like good puppies are follow them without question.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        Eh. I didn’t want to like “Rebels” but I gave it a shot and I think Filoni’s influence makes a bit of a difference. Obviously bringing on some Clone Wars characters was in response to the fan outcry but it’s also better than forever leaving some threads dangling.

        Maybe if I win 8 billion dollars in a future Powerball I’ll buy Lucasfilm back from Disney. How’s that?

      • Noah Evans (The Artist) Says:

        LP- I wish you were running Lucasfilm instead of Kennedy.

    • starwarsfan10 Says:

      I’m glad Lazy Padawan is with me on giving Rebels a chance to be loved by the entire global SW fan community and defending it, especially since Filoni is involved the show.

      • Falcongunner Says:

        I agree and think that Dave Filoni arguably is the last Lucasfilm employee who understands George’s vision and it’s that is what matters to fans like us here

  5. Jacobesico Says:

    My god that was amazing!!!!

    I cant wait! 😀

  6. Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

    Crap, and I just downgraded my cable…

  7. Jedibeachbum1379 Says:

    Definitely looks like they’re tying TFA in to Rebels. I’ve enjoyed it but nowhere near as good as TCW.

  8. Jacobesico Says:

    For fans of the Old Republic era, I’ve noticed that they have brought back the Hammerhead frigates.

  9. roxam91 Says:

    Major feels indeed…

  10. hansolo1138 Says:

    Awesoooome. Awesoooome. Awesoooome, AWESOOOOOOME!
    AWESOME! AWESOME! AND HANDSOME! AWESOOOOOOME!
    awesome awesome awesome. im so awesome.
    Wassup, wheezy?

    If you got that reference, please reply.

  11. Cristian Martinez Says:

    @lazypadawan

    I have seen some episodes here and there, and like I say before, Ghost Crew are much more interesting than Ezra ever be, particularly the captain of the ship and Kanan, their relationship is interesting.

    Never the all the political intrigue and the conflict that existed in the Clone Wars was reduced to the simplistic Rebels VS Empire of this cartoon, sure, they bring more Imperials Agents, Inquisitors and of course now Vader, never the less, that wouldn’t never change that is simply a two sides conflict, hell, until now it seems that the rebels or the Imperial don’t fight between themselves for leadership positions, they follow order and go to the next mission as always, I was expecting that the Imperials were more ruthless between each other, and the Rebels leadership at least have more this is mission A to go point B, get trouble C and then get a solution/accomplish the mission or escape to D.

    After the last thread I get the launching episode movie of Rebels, Spark of a Rebellion, and the episode movie The Siege of Lothal, and of course, see some episode here and there, I had a discontent with Rebels after Disney cancelled The Clone Wars, I come with a open minds thinking that I was wrong, that even that some say to me that Ezra was a Mary Sue, maybe he would be end being likeable, but I find that is what happening in the background around Ezra is more interesting that Ezra itself.

    • Jacobesico Says:

      I like Ezra. He’s quite a funny character and I think his character has matured quite a bit throughout the series.

      He reminds me a bit of Mission Vao from KOTOR. They were both the same age and they both have similar personalities.

  12. Shamari Stewart Says:

    I love this trailer and I think this show is doing a wonderful job! It’s starting off slow like The Clone Wars did (in my opinion) but it’s definitely picking up and this season has definitely been an upgrade.

    Also I wonder if that “there’s always a bit of truth in legends” line has a double meaning lol

  13. Jacobesico Says:

    When Rebels was announced I didn’t think that I was going to like it but I gave it a try and I loved it.
    Same with Ashoka really.
    I didn’t really like her when she first appeared in Clone Wars but she has grown on me and that really is down to her character developing and maturing.

  14. Eduardo Vargas Says:

    I haven’t seen most of Season 2 of Rebels, but this trailer certainly blew my mind in a way TFA never really did.

    We’ll see how interesting this gets.

  15. Cristian Martinez Says:

    I have to say that the only episodes that feel like the old Clone Wars was the final season of the first one, it had all what the old Clone Wars had, and that barely appeared most of the season, maybe now they are going to push for the lightsaber/space battles drama that was in Clone Wars, never the less, there was non of the political aspect that make the Clone Wars interesting, is the still the brainless Rebels VS Empire.

  16. Hunk a Junk Says:

    Glad to see Rebels is embracing the entire saga instead of actively dismissing half of it, like TFA did. While Rebels started out doing the same nostalgia “let’s win back the haters” pandering, they seemed to have moved on and appear less timid about acknowledging the PT era. I chalk it up to Filoni. Unlike everyone on the feature film side of not-Lucasfilm, he is clearly the keeper of George’s legacy.

    • starwarsfan10 Says:

      The Force Awakens did not dismiss the Prequel Trilogy. Did u not hear the references of the clone army, the Sith and the balance of the Force? They also had that scene where we saw flags of the Episode I podracers as well as the flags of emblems of gangs from The Clone Wars, such as the Black Sun and Hondo Ohnaka’s gang.

      • Cristian Martinez Says:

        Yeah it was overly excessive subtle nod to the Prequels in a massive Original Star Wars fanservices, I think that they only did that because they were obligated and not because they want to.

        Let be honest, Force Awakens is nothing more than a pure fanservices for the Original Star Wars fans, nothing more, nothing less, it seems that is becoming more apparent more the days pass, and after Abrams admitted that it was A New Hope rip-off, I had seen some Original Star Wars fans stick with the Prequels were bad as Force Awakens, but they are becoming a lonely voice in a massive backlash, this is going better that I was expecting.

      • starwarsfan10 Says:

        Not all of it is fan-service, Cris. I mean they did honor Lucas’s original treatments by keeping the concept of Darth Vader’s grandkids in tact, with Kylo Ren. I really hope they confirm Rey is a Skywalker in 8 or 9, to cement Lucas’s vision for the Sequels: the daughter of Luke Skywalker.

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        Well, it is not clear how much of GL’s treatments was really used in EP VII; maybe they will be featured more prominently in the upcoming movies.

        I think that Catie has written a good summary: http://catie-does-things.tumblr.com/post/137379888726/the-only-real-mandate-we-had-was-what-delights
        It’s probably not the case that JJ Abrams actively dismissed the PT – he just does not have the same connection to it as Saga fans have.

      • starwarsfan10 Says:

        Ok, Stefan. That’s fair to state. But, we should at least wait and see what these guys continue to cook up for these new movies, especially the Star Wars Stories, instead of judging them.

      • buick runner Says:

        I agree with you Starwarsfan10, TFA was just a poor OT rehash that disregard ROTJ and made a couple of throwaway PT references. The clone struck me as really odd and disrespectful of the OT. Kidnapping children to raise as soldiers isn’t much different from clones, just that it is an slower process that produces inferior soldiers that are less loyal. It was a stupid change that goes against the PT. Heck they could not think of anything better than a rebranded Rebels vs Empire war rehash. Furthermore Luke going into hiding is out of character for him, can’t see him pulling that at all. Plus a Death Star 3, if I wanted to watch ANH, I would watch ANH , not a poor remake.

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        @starwarsfan10: While I was probably critical of JJ Abrams elsewhere, I did not post my comment and the link to explicitly criticize him. On the contrary, I think it is a good explanation why TFA may be too close to ANH; at the same time, this explanation is still respectful of JJ.

    • Jacobesico Says:

      “I chalk it up to Filoni. Unlike everyone on the feature film side of not-Lucasfilm, he is clearly the keeper of George’s legacy.”

      That is so true.

      Filoni has surprised me time and again both with Ashoka’s character and Rebels.

      I didn’t think that I would like Rebels when it was announced but now I love it.

      • starwarsfan10 Says:

        I don’t think we should judge the others outside of Filoni just yet. I mean Rian Johnson USA big Clone Wars fan and PT fan, especially with those drawings of Jar Jar. So, may be we’ll see that side of him have some influence on what we’ll see in Episode 8, as well as hopefully Hayden as Ghost Anakin, if the MSW rumors are true. And, Colin Treverow promises creativity and Innovation for Episode 9, something TFA was criticized lightly for. And, Kasdan seems to think Episode 8 will be an original story.

  17. Cristian Martinez Says:

    @starwarsfan10

    Or maybe it all a marketing campaign, with now recent growing backlash, seeing that they completely ignored the Prequels fans and actively did everything to undermined us and bashing us, now they want our respect and love, so they order their new director to say how much he love the PT and the Clone Wars.

    @Stefan Kraft

    I was born in 1986, and the first Star Wars movies that I had seen were the Originals, never the less, they weren’t what I was expecting, I was expecting something like Babylon 5, not a overly simplified conflict between the Rebels and the Empire, so they really disappoint me, I was expecting the same thing for the Prequels, and Lucas really surprise me how complex the plot was and how many factions the civil war between the Republic and the Separatist have, Lucas really had over-archive himself with the Prequels.

    So Abrams have no excuse.

  18. James Says:

    I’ve seen it a lot, and have finally commented and my nostalgia levels are high, and will admit it looks awesome, on a preferential level I have a rather different opinion than most.
    + Ahsoka v Vader Anakin sounds awesome, his model looks weird, but since it’s only a hologram I can forgive that. Good to see some of that inner Vader torment that was so prevalent in legends but conspicuously missing from the new EU.

    + Cool to see leia at this stage, she and Ezra would be about the same age, interesting to see them interact, she sure seems like the leader type from what i’ve seen

    + Cham Syndula cool continuity with TCW.

    – I really hope all those temple Guards are not still alive, it looks like a vision and that gives me hope, but If anyone at the Jedi Temple survived “Operation knightfall” (for lack of a canon name) I’ll be really disappointed, after all that really undermines the purpose of killing the younglings, the idea that no jedi are welcome in the new order, (plus solidifying Vaders fall). And the theory the Head Inquisitor was one makes it worse.

    – I’ve never liked the inquisitors, but i suppose they are to be expected now. 😦 I prefer a more strict and literal interpretation of the rule of two.

    – Darth Maul should be dead by now, but then he should have stayed dead in episode 1. It really creates a sense of discontinuity with the movies. I like what they have done with them but he would be better of dead. Really all he has ever been is a way to satisfy the haters.

    – I don’t like the idea of Yoda being to active in galactic affairs in his exile. Again likely just a vision, but it feels weird, I like the idea that Luke was his first real contact in years (besides the dead lol).\

    stray observations

    sith holocron
    knights of ren lightsaber
    space whales
    more lasat
    that twilek girl from TCW?

    All in all it look cool and i’m practically drooling over all the nostalgia, but these were just my preferences..

  19. madmediaman Says:

    Looks good… looking forward to the 2nd half of Season 2. Show has really been hitting its stride as of late.

Leave a Reply

