Update On Fan Appreciation Video

I mentioned back in November Susan Bowes’s plans for a fan appreciation video for George Lucas and his work on the prequel trilogy. She has moved the deadline to mid-January, so there is still time to get a video clip to her. Her e-mail address is susanbowes@optonline.com.

Tags: ,

16 Responses to “Update On Fan Appreciation Video”

  1. PrinceOfNaboo Says:

    I know I am late but is there any chance to put the messages into geographical context?

    Meaning you can especially submit photos or videos that show how much George’s creation has spanned the world and how he’s globally appreciated. I think Lucas would like that.

  2. Jonathan Says:

    How should I make sure the video isn’t too big to email?

  3. susanbowes Says:

    I receive 2 more replies on this project just a few minutes ago. (from facebook prequel fans) Awesome! So far our vid is coming out very nicely.

    Thanks for passing the word along lazypadawan. 🙂

  4. susanbowes Says:

    Johnathan:

    Most vids sent are about 2 to 3 minutes long. I’ve made a sample vid and posted it on VK. (similar to youtube) You can get an idea of what I’m looking for if you watch it. The link to see it is:

    http://vk.com/video251265273_171370542

    If your vid is approx. 3 minutes long, or shorter, it should fit as an attachment. However, make sure it’s in an unzipped file. I can’t open them and won’t be able to add it to our video.

    If a written message to Mr. Lucas, just send it to me in the body of an email. (susanbowes@optonline.com)

  5. susanbowes Says:

    PrinceOfNaboo:

    Something like that may make our video too long. I’ve posted a sample video on VK. (similar to youtube) To get an idea of what I’m looking for you can watch that. The link to see the sample video is:

    http://vk.com/video251265273_171370542

    Just so you know, one person sent a vid like what you’re talking about, (at the end) but due to it’s length I had to omit it from the finished product. The Hayden interview will be cut as well.

    • PrinceOfNaboo Says:

      Thank’s for your reply. I’ve seen your sample and I like it a lot!

      What I had in mind was something similar to a video that was made by fans of the tv show Fringe. I don’t know if anyone of you is familiar with this here, but they basically took one “slogan” (Where is Peter Bishop? – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GYs56DNN4l4) and asked fans to take photos with that slogan all over the world.

      In this way, the video felt very broad and big and epic despite being less than five minutes. I can only say that I’m not brave enough to stand in front of a camera saying something that I know will be avaivable for everyone online and – according to your sample – others feel the same.

      So what about putting those written words in your video on a background that’s characteristic for the place these people live in? Someone living in Paris might have a private photo of the Eiffel Tower and could put his words on this photo and so on…..It would not take too much effort, make the whole thing more visual (which is something George likes) and displays the various places on earth which Lucas’ creation has reached.

      Lazypadawan’s last post made it, again, obvious that we’re here from so many different countries and I think it would be a good idea to incorporate that into the video.

      It’s just an idea, though, and YOUR video.

      • susanbowes Says:

        First off I’d like to say that I LOVED Fringe and wish it was still on. I never did see much of the last season and would love to find out what happened to all the characters.

        The video you’re suggesting sounds interesting and it’s a very good idea. Maybe pictures of the countries Lucas filmed the saga would be good to use in the vid, along with a written message from you. How’s that sound? Unfortunately, I don’t have many pictures of the sites he filmed SW, but maybe you could send me some. If not I could search the net – time allowing – for some of the sites. Let me know what you think of my idea and we can proceed from there.

      • PrinceOfNaboo Says:

        Susan, thank’s for your reply.

        Pictures of shooting locations would be great, but they should be from the person who writes the message, I think. Are there any SWPAS readers who’ve been to a SW filming location and took pictures?

        I’m sending you an e-mail with a more concrete example of my idea and if you think it might fit your video, maybe lazypadawan spreads the word and others will do the same!

      • lazypadawan Says:

        I have been to the plaza in Seville where part of AOTC was shot but that was in 1997, before filming ever took place! lovelucas has been to Villa Balbianello though.

      • susanbowes Says:

        PrinceOfNaboo:

        I don’t have any pictures of the locations used for any SW movies, nor do I know of anyone who does. Whatever you decide to do will be fine with me. The most important thing is that Mr. Lucas knows he still has loyal fans, no matter how it’s said. Just please make sure you attach your video in an unzipped file so I can open it. A written message will be okay if sent in the body of your email to me. And thanks again for wanting to participate in our project. It means a lot to me and the rest of our group, and I’m sure it will mean a lot to Mr. Lucas if he does see our appreciation video.

      • susanbowes Says:

        Thanks lazypadawan.The location alone would be good to add. No need for it to be after filming. Perhaps you should send your pic(s) to PrinceOfNaboo so he can use them for his video since he’d rather be the one who wants to write a message to Mr. Lucas using locations.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        My picture is in a box somewhere, heh heh. Don’t think I’m going to find it any time soon.

      • susanbowes Says:

        Most likely you won’t find the pic you’re looking for. I’d suggest that PrinceOfNaboo search google for pictures to use. I have seen location pictures of the “Lars homestead” on facebook, but that was a long time ago. The buildings had been left derelict after years of neglect. (Filming was done years before the pics were taken.) The group who posted the pictures were looking for donations to restore the whole set. I would’ve loved to contribute to that cause, but I was broke then, just like I am now – like most of us nowadays.

  6. Shaman McLamie Says:

    I need to get on this. I had a bad cough for two months that conveniently ended just before The Force Awakens released and I got the props I wanted. Now the weather just needs to clear up. It’s been less than stellar around here and I thought this was the place where the sun always shines.

    susanbowes can you add sound from the movie, particularly a single line from one of the characters? Wasn’t sure how good your editing is. I know mine aren’t.

    • susanbowes Says:

      If you mean can I add audio from the movies to the appreciation vid, yes it’s possible, but I’d have to know which line and from what movie you’re talking about. I do have a lot of SW videos in my files and may be able to get the line from them as well. If not, there’s plenty of SW vids on youtube that include audio from the movies. I could check them out too.

      Are you planning to make a live video, or a written message to add to the line from the movie? If not, I could add your message and/or vid right after the scene you want added. (line from movie) You can reply here or send me an email with a more descriptive idea of what you want. My email address is: susanbowes@optonline in case you don’t know.

Leave a Reply

