I’ll Just Leave These Here

A couple of Dec. 24 tweets from Jett Lucas, George’s son, that are interesting and a bit poignant:

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

I’m fine with moisture evaporators and trade talks but I see his point ;).

Charlie Rose’s YouTube channel posted yesterday some video of his interview with George Lucas.  They’re relevant when you connect it with the tweets.

 

Tags:

82 Responses to “I’ll Just Leave These Here”

  1. andywylde77 Says:

    Pretty interesting stuff! I am always happy to say that I got 6 amazing SW movies as opposed to others that say they only got 3 or in some cases 2. Well all I can say is it suxx to be them!

    • hansolo1138 Says:

      That’s always been the dumbest thing about hateboys. If there has not been a good SW film since The Empire Strikes Back, is the franchise even worth your time?

      • andywylde77 Says:

        Yeah exactly the point that I find interesting. If you listen to some fans they only seem to like ANH and TESB. Which begs the question to those people that think that, why are you a SW fan to begin with?

      • hansolo1138 Says:

        “Because those two movies rocked my world when I was seven and I have yet to get over that.”

  2. Obi-Rob Says:

    Like I said. I swear to god TFA was made with Lucas and his Artistic intentions in mind. The movie makes fun of fanboys with Kylo-Ren AND the junk dealer character that “judges” the “worth” of what the Jakku scavengers bring him!

    J.J. Abrams is a friend of Spielberg since he was 16 years old. That means something. That means he is…and has been… friends with Lucas.

    Lucas, his daughter and his Son and Frank Oz are all openly sick and tired of the fanboy PT bashing openly to the media.

    I wish the hateboys would get the hint that THEY are hated by the ones they hate.

    • Noah Evans Says:

      Hmmm that is an insightful examination of the matter. I mean, Kylo’s hilarious anger lashes appear similar to the attitudes of entitled ungrateful fans. In addition, as someone else pointed out in the SPOILER-thread, it is ironic that the the obnoxious Junk Dealer is portrayed by… bum-bum-buuuuh SIMON PEGG!

      • Obi-Rob Says:

        Even in the end battle: The younger hero’s lightsaber duel against the lost and confused Darth Vader Fanboy Kylo-Ren who calles them “Traitors” and they even say “No your the traitor!” back and forth!

        They fight over who the “traitor” is. Like fans. But the real traitor in the story is Kylo-Ren……the one who “killed” (both irl and otherwise) Han Solo!

        get it?

        It really is on Lucas’s side. Even in the credits it was excellently respectful to Lucas and such.

        The sub-text is that its anti-fanboy guys. Its a good movie in this regard just like any episode of TCW would be. Just like how Dave Filoni was on George’s side about SW and put it in TCW to make everybody happy.

        Episode 7 is no different. Its a Lucasfilm production.

    • Natalie Says:

      If it’s true, it’s accidental and wasn’t JJ’s and KK’s intention. Maybe it’s something left over from Lucas’s treatments.

      • Daniel Xie Says:

        Let’s just give JJ and KK the benefit of a doubt for once.

      • Natalie Says:

        Why should I? They’ve ruined the most original saga in the history of the cinema with their stupid rehash/reboot/remake.

      • Bob Clark Says:

        I’m with the “leftover from lucas’ treatment” idea. The rest of the movie is practically foaming at the mouth with OT fanservice. Their idea of homage isn’t subtlety, but laying loud, bright easter eggs everywhere. Whatever “message” might be there is something that escaped the notice of the Disney trust, I’d bet.

    • Stefan Kraft Says:

      An article by Andy Schroeder that expresses some thoughts similar to the ones here: https://clonecorridor.wordpress.com/2015/12/25/guestpost-the-force-awakens-isnt-a-saga-movie-its-a-message-by-andy-schroeder/

    • Cristian Martinez Says:

      I think that you are seeing this wrong, I think that what the Original Star Wars fans think of us.

      • Daniel Xie Says:

        How?

        A quote often highlighted as “proof” of the movie’s hateboy pandering is Lor San Tekka’s quote how things would be “right” again. Yet he then mentions a need for “balance” and that without the Jedi, all is lost. Coincidentally Kylo Ren shows up, burns down the village with the First Order not long after the scene with him and Poe. So maybe they are doing a jab to the haters?

        Kylo Ren is the cause of Luke disappearing, much like how the hateboys is the cause of Lucas disappearing.

        Also Pegg plays the role of a villain willing to cooperate with the First Order just because Rey wont give him BB-8. When the Millenium Falcon is taken, he shouts how he deserves the ship, much like how Pegg thinks he’s a better fan than everyone else.

        Luke even looks like Lucas in the end.

      • hansolo1138 Says:

        None of those subtexts sound intentional. That’s less likely to me than the Darth Jar Jar Theory.

  3. bansheegun Says:

    YES to the second tweet. I don’t think the PT fanboys realize how stupid they sound when they rip the politics of the PT and gush over the OT’s pew pew battles. Star Wars is more than just lasers. JJ obviously doesn’t realize that.

  4. Noah Evans Says:

    I desire to expand upon George’s views on the lack of risk-taking in contemporary cinema, and not just the rise of multiple remakes of everything and the young-adult trainhype.

    Some companies or owned-studios appear to be over critical of any idea or who should be in charge, case-and-point, PIXAR! “But Noah, they are creative and stuff”. Sure, but if you look back at at the late 2000s, they’re films seemed to follow a basic structure of events and characters (bad guys, characters who are really good or made for comical ca$h) and there have been cases in which the studio and the directors had different ideals on how to make the film, in which they were demoted or removed (Ratatouille, Brave, and The Good Dinosaur, and by the way I have not watched Dinosaur nor InsideOut for everyone’s information): speaking of which, Ant-Man had a director/studio conflict as well.

    Since I brought Pixar into the mix, I’ll share with you that the medium of animation is where I am probably called to labor in (although live-action is on my mind, but at the moment only for adaptations [the irony] of shows I like, such as Octonauts and Over the Garden Wall). And to simply put it, the Hollywood industry shows scrutiny over subject matters, only focuses on CGI now and not traditional animation (and stop-motion pops up once in a while, like the Shaun the Sheep film and LAKIA flicks), and the movies produced out are mostly aimed at PG and below. The independent field on the other hand is difficult to get financing for (The Goon and the Dragon’s Lair Prequel Film prior to the recent kickstarter camping) and get rare promotion (although Aardman is an overseas studio and is probably bigger than most of the inde studios here in the U.S, their Shaun movie had barley any promotion done for it).

  5. LadyJediScientist Says:

    I like how George refers to the films as his “children”, which is how Jane Austen use to refer to her novels- her “children”.

  6. Captain Fordo Says:

    The haterboys are full of crap and BS and it seems that no matter where they go, they have to force their tainted views others. In a sense, those haterboys are like the “Starscream” of Star Wars. Always bitching and whining about everything and then complaining whennsomeone says something that differs from their small narrow view. Just like starscream tried to overthrow megaton and lead the deceptions, so to are the haterboys/plinket-suck-ups trying to take control of Star Wars and enforce their fascist views on others since their currently have the loudest microphone.
    But just like starscream always gets stopped before he can succeed in his plan to take over as deception leader, so too will the haterboys eventually be stopped. There a vocal minority currently compared to all the true fans who like the whole saga and the PT. hopefully the haters boys will be silenced soon.

    • andywylde77 Says:

      Imagine for a second if someone was to say,

      TFA sucks! Just accept the fact.

      Now imagine all the people that would run and defend the movie based on whatever kind of faulty logic they can muster. Because what I just said in the line of TFA has been said about the PT for years and years. But it was OK to say,

      The PT sucks. Just accept that fact.

      So now TFA should get treated differently? If someone doesn’t like the film, why shouldn’t those people be allowed to express those feelings like the people that hated the PT? Because now when someone criticizes TFA they called racist, sexist, misogynist, a fake SW fan etc. The proof is out there if wants to see for themselves.

      So people expressing decent arguments why they have issues with TFA isn’t allowed? But ignorant accusations can be thrown at the PT?

      • Captain Fordo Says:

        I know what you mean, the haterboys are hypocrites. Rob117 (who bashed the PT on Jett Lucas’s post) is another example of those idiots.
        It also seems that the vocal minority of hater boys wants to control everyone’s views and who is a “real” fan. I’m seeing more and more similarities of the haterboys to Starscream by the minute. Except the difference being that Starscream wasn’t stupid compared to them.

      • cousinbasil Says:

        You know, I came across exactly this when I checked out a forum yesterday. The person who hated TFA was bashed as a troll with no bias for what they were saying (they weren’t a PT fan either). All the OT/ST lovers had “proof” to back up why TFA was the best ever but the PT , to them, is so universally bad no need to back it up.

        Needless to say, the rage was strong in me.

      • andywylde77 Says:

        I know what you mean. But I even stated this many times that when the first trailer dropped there was people saying that the trailer was better than the entire PT itself!

        Now I know that is really nothing but troll talk, but I seen so much of it and even when more trailers dropped it was the same stuff about it being better than the ENTIRE PT! So I just write that off as trash talk. But I know without a doubt that there are deluded fans out there that believe this to be true whole heartedly.

        And I have seen a lot of comments about how Lucas not being involved makes it better than the other movies. Now with this all in mind, how can I or should I say, who should I be able to take seriously with this kind of garbage that people spew?

      • cousinbasil Says:

        I’ve asked myself the same thing. Are they making a self fulfilling prophecy? Self brainwashing? Or intentionally saying things making those weaker willed more susceptible into believing their forced POV? One very evil “Jedi” mind trick if you ask me.

        It angers me most when it prevents the younger generation from making up their own minds about all the saga. Reminds me of the warnings in the PT about the shroud of dark side clouding reasoning.

      • susanbowes Says:

        Remember Obi-Wan saying the Jedi mind trick only worked with those with weak minds? Well, that’s you’re answer. Most of the hate comments are from those less intelligent than most SW fans. Just my opinion of course.

      • andywylde77 Says:

        Yes there is a lot of people that seem to be easily convinced by others when it comes to SW. Both young and old fans seem to use the word of internet people as gospel. Like if there are videos saying that the PT is garbage they will believe it. But if there people that work in the industry like ILM, Lucasfilm etc. or even Lucas’ buddies like Spielberg, Coppolla etc that say the PT is great, they get brushed aside as “oh they are just friends with Lucas so they are just being nice”

        Now this isn’t something that happens to all, but I have seen it a lot online. Like how they follow plinkett and his kind and just parrot what they say. Not only do these internet personalities influence some people, but these people seem to just use the opinion of the internet personality as their own.

        So don’t let it get you down.

      • Tarrlok Says:

        I’m another one of those who really likes TFA overall for its characters’ interactions while simultaneously criticizing the underlying story and various nerdy details, which seem rushed and badly thought out. That’s just my opinion, though, and opinions are like…

        To be clear, there are plenty of people out there who dislike the PT as well as TFA. However, there are some who love TFA but hate the PT and who now howl with outrage and no sense of irony if anyone criticises TFA. These are the ones who have invested so much into the idea that TFA is a salve for the wounds that the PT inflicted upon them.

      • andywylde77 Says:

        Yes I agree as well. I mean overall I enjoyed the film. I do have issues with some character stuff, but nothing that destroys my enjoyment of it. I take issue with Rey being able to use the force pretty fast. But that is because of 2 previous trilogies of watching force users old and new having to have discipline and train in the ways of the force. The characters that were new to the force in the past 2 trilogies wanted to understand what the force is and means.

        Now for Rey this might happen in the next film. I just hope that they don’t cheapen the concept of the force and what it stands for.

      • Tarrlok Says:

        The TFN forums are becoming insufferable, what with the hardcore TFA lovers jumping down the throat of people who imply that they like TFA less than ROTJ or the PT. Even good faith criticism from people who like the movie (like Andy’s above) gets jeered at over there. There are even those who desperately claim, in response to concerns about TFA being too similar to ANH, that in fact ROTJ and TPM are the real rehashes (!).

        I’m sympathetic to the concerns of the movie’s fans that TFA is being unfairly slammed (and I’ve seen some unfair slams; the rants about black stormies are still out there) and that a small crowd of malcontents on the internet will be able to drag the film’s good reputation through the mud after the hype dies down. That’s what happened with the PT, after all.

        I’m sympathetic to the fans of TFA who didn’t spend a decade and a half obsessing over the oh-so-evil PT, that is. Some of them are young and enthusiastic and I’d rather not put a dampener on their new fandom like all the obsessives did to PT fans. Star Wars is an escapist story for young people, after all. Those who did, though, can piss right off and get a taste of their own medicine. It’s worth discerning between them.

        And yeah, there are a lot of flaws in TFA that IMO make it worse than the previous six. Perhaps the internet backlash is an inevitable reaction to some seriously OTT and cynical praise from the mainstream entertainment media. The backlash could go too far, though. I’ll try to stay the hell away from the sort of mutually destructive hate-obsession that a lot of “fans” of Star Wars have developed. It’s helpful to just disengage and find other things to do with one’s time rather than argue with people on the internet over a damn sci-fantasy movie.

      • andywylde77 Says:

        Great post! That is why I have stayed away from TFN. Because I was already calling these things before the film came out. Like I would post that people have whined about the PT making money just because it had the SW brand name. Then I said well for those that think that, then TFA the same rules apply. And that would piss some people off. I mean to me I feel if they are going to apply one set of rules at a movies success, then why don’t they apply them to everything else? It is only fair, no?

        But my posts are still there. If anyone wants to read them feel free. same name as here. -Andy Wylde. You can see I as well as others were talking a lot of sense. But that is the reason I left a few months before the film came out because to some people these films are nothing but a competition. Pretty sad really. It is all about TFA vs. PT. Or even now I see on other forums, TFA vs. OT! I have been seeing the OT get put down in order to make the new film look better. I don’t buy into any of that way of thinking. Bt it is happening and if anyone else is noticing this, they know it is the truth.

    • hansolo1138 Says:

      Eventually Starscream dies horribly at the hands of Megatron, right? *crosses fingers*

      • Captain Fordo Says:

        Yep, many times throughout many of the TF series. Sometimes though Starscream sticks around as a ghost. Hopefully haterboys won’t stick around as ghosts and will be forgotten.

  7. Kim Says:

    The video clips were nice, although they made me a little sad, but I don’t know why I ever look at the comments on these things, they are always so filled with such vitriol and hatred from some crazies. What a truly pathetic life someone must have to be so nasty. So thankful we have Episodes 1-6 the way George made them.

    • Steven F Says:

      The clips made me sad also. I think there is a part of Lucas that feels he might have made a mistake. That’s got to be tough to live with. I think Jett’s tweets are about making his father feel better.

    • LadyJediScientist Says:

      Most definitely! I am very glad the Maker made 1-6 his way & I am looking to seeing him his due at the Kennedy Center Honors! 👏👏👏

      • Kim Says:

        I’m also looking forward to the celebration of his creative genius at the Kennedy Center Honors. The recognition is well-deserved!

  8. Jamie Maldonado Says:

    Hello! I need this site so badly! I’ve always loved the Prequels, and it’s been a pretty lonely and painful time watching internet mobs fueled by groupthink tear away at them over the years. I love how the haters are working so hard now to maintain their often-flimsy beliefs about Episodes 1-3. They are especially in denial about how younger fans aren’t buying into their hate. I could point out many of the same issues people have in the OT. Like said above, I have six Star Wars movies I love … make that seven! I’ll leave the whining for others. Episode I came out in 1999 … just get over it and move on! Anyway, hello other Star Wars fans with superior taste! ha ha.

  9. Kylo Ren's Ego (@first_order_ish) Says:

    I noticed in the comment section under Jett’s post it was a lot more pro prequel than not, rob117 was the only hate boy

  10. Kylo Ren's Ego (@first_order_ish) Says:

    The comment section under his posts were very positive with the only hateboy being john117

  11. Cristian Martinez Says:

    I think that you are seeing this wrong, I think that what the Original Star Wars fans think of us.

  12. piccolojr1138 Says:

    Zack Snyder pretty much confirmed he was in discussions with George Lucas for a Star Wars standalone (before Disney and Kennedy). I wish he did it

    http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2015/09/10/zack-snyder-sorry-marvel-batman-v-superman-transcends-superhero-movies.html

    “Speaking of cyclical mythological moviemaking: I asked Snyder about a rumor that’s been floating around for years that he’d pitched Lucasfilm on a Star Wars standalone film inspired by Akira Kurosawa’s Seven Samurai—a classic that also inspired one of history’s great Westerns, The Magnificent Seven.

    “Where’d you hear that from?” He laughed. Again, the Internet. He played coy and downplayed the likelihood, now that Disney’s already charted its Star Wars course. “It’s possible. It was before the sale…and they kind of have their own direction now, I think.””

  13. susanbowes Says:

    I didn’t see the movie yet, but from the comments made on this page I gather JJ did a good job on TFA. I’ve been defending JJ all along saying that he had no control over Disney’s decision to toss out Lucas’ ideas. It appears that I was right – JJ held firm to Lucas’ ideals, continuing the saga in a way the Maker might have himself. Good for him!

    I also give Mr. Lucas a lot of credit for walking away from his creation the way he did – with style and grace. He’ll be sorely missed by all his fans.

    • roxam91 Says:

      I honestly was pleasantly surprised by TFA. After all the drama leading up to it, I was happy that I ended up enjoying it a whole lot more than I expected.

  14. Jacobesico Says:

    It would be great if someone with a Twitter account could Tweet to Jett when the George Lucas appreciation video is finished. Hopefully he’ll be able to show George the video.

    I don’t know if he’ll respond but it’s worth a try.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      That would be cool! I think he would dig it.

      • twessf Says:

        I think my biggest problem with TFA is the fact they’ve abandoned the Anti-War spirit of the saga. Whether you are a full on 1-6 saga fan or a Classic Trilogy Supremacist…the most important moment of the entire saga is when Luke throws down his lightsaber and declares that he’ll never turn to the dark side and that he is a Jedi. He chooses mercy over vengeance and peace over aggression. That the point of the whole thing…and that is NON-existent in TFA (which is more pro-war than American Sniper).

      • susanbowes Says:

        I agree wholeheartedly. That’s why Lucas didn’t care for the Legacy series when Luke turns to the Dark Side. Lucas commented on the subject saying Luke was a true Jedi and would NEVER turn to the Dark Side for ANY reason! I happen to agree with him. Luke turning goes against everything the Jedi stood for. It’s a completely ridiculous idea in my opinion. That plus the fact that Luke would never make the same mistake his father did.

      • susanbowes Says:

        That’s a great idea. I’d love it if Mr. Lucas could view our video to him. Unfortunately, I don’t have a twitter account so I won’t be able to do it. I hope someone else has a twitter account and will post our vid for us. Fingers crossed the Maker sees it!

        By the way, I’ve extended the deadline date until the middle of Jan. in case anyone else wants to contribute a message to Mr. Lucas. There’s still time left so please pass the word, here and on other sites anyone belongs to.

        Force be with you all and have a great new year! 🙂

      • Jacobesico Says:

        That’s great, Susan.

        I’m sure that Lazy Padawan or some of her followers will tweet to Jett after the video is finished. I just hope he sees it and passes it onto George

        Looking foward to it.

        Happy New Year to you too. 🙂

  15. ladylavinia1932 Says:

    Lucas commented on the subject saying Luke was a true Jedi and would NEVER turn to the Dark Side for ANY reason!

    You really think so? I’d like to believe that Luke was just as capable of giving in to evil as anyone else. I don’t think being a “true Jedi” would help. That is one of the reasons why I like the Prequel Trilogy so much . . . namely Lucas’ willingness to show that any of the characters had the potential to give in to the more unpleasant or negative side of themselves.

    • susanbowes Says:

      Lucas did say that… as well as saying that Luke would never marry because he wouldn’t go against the Jedi mandate like Anakin did. (The Legacy series had Luke marry Mara.) I saw an interview where he said this, but it was a long time ago and I can’t remember what interview he said it on.

      • Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

        I always saw the lesson on the non-attachment mandate as the mandate being wrong for forcing people to go against the will of the Living Force, since it’s through the product of Anakin’s love that he was redeemed and the galaxy ultimately saved. The Midi-Chlorians supporting the Jedi passing on their power biologically (of course, the inherent dangers in this is probably why the mandate exists in the first place, but in the end did more harm than good).

      • susanbowes Says:

        I agree 100%. The Jedi mandate not to allow oneself to fall in love is just as bad as Catholic priests not being allowed to marry and look at the damage that’s done through the years. In my SW fanfiction I do have all the Jedi agree to change the mandate and they finally allow marriage.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        I would strongly advise NOT to go there with religion, read the Rules of the House. The problem with the Church isn’t celibacy (that’s a vocation freely chosen as an adult anyway) but the kind of people who were admitted to seminary in the ’50s-’70s. There are lots of unpublicized problems with clergy in other faiths that do permit marriage not to mention the number of stories about school teachers taking advantage of their students.

  16. Clark Kent Without Glasses Says:

    Lazypadawan, I am Catholic and I can’t thank you enough for saying that. I feel this is (understandably) a widely misunderstood topic and it’s great to see someone pointing that out. Back on topic, this is why I feel very conflicted about the EU being tossed out. There were lots of problems with it, I’ll grant that, but simultaneously, I feel the EU brought so much lore and depth to the universe. I missed that feeling in TFA. It felt like all of the creatures and planets existed just for the sake of this movie, instead of being organic parts of a giant universe.

  17. Hoggle Says:

    Luke could marry i’d say. I personally probably wouldn’t have him marry, just for story reasons, but from the six films i don’t see it being a problem. The non attachment thing is about connection to the force, & the force binds the galaxy together after all.

    I wouldn’t marry Luke more for serving a continuation of the story of the Jedi in a certain way, not because it’s incompatible with being a Jedi. I would just like it more if Luke served the story of having created the new Jedi order that was the cool thing that was idealised in the OT’s presentation, with the catch that as much as it would have kicked bum in the PT & OT if it had been around, it is now outmoded for the current force conflict & issues in the galaxy that unfold, which would relate more to Leia’s leading symbolism in a story of a new force paradigm in the galaxy supplanting the Sith & Jedi domination of the equation to the galactic orders & govts.

    Also, at least in 6 movie verse, it is not established that the Midi chlorians pass on biologically. The midi seem to be connected to destiny in a big way via prohecy and the mystery of aspects to the force also, but i think from the movies that they are not so pigeon holed as being influencial automatically by genetics, in fact there is no indication that the Jedi order is inbreed in any way.

Leave a Reply

