Frank Oz Sticks Up For Jar Jar

Frank Oz, who puppeteered Yoda, was asked about Jar Jar at the TFA premiere and this is what he had to say:

Tags: ,

25 Responses to “Frank Oz Sticks Up For Jar Jar”

  1. Βlade57hrc / Ira ProV Says:

    That made my day! 🙂

  2. timontatooine Says:

    Yes! Yes! This makes me cheer!

  3. Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

    Yay Frank! If you can’t trust a master Muppeteer, who can you trust?

    To that interviewer, I’m afraid I must paraphrase Mean Girls and say “Stop trying to make Darth Binks happen! It’s not going to happen!”

  4. Alessio Pasquali Says:

    Such powerful words from THE Jedi Master himself. Hopefully, we will see Jar Jar in Episode 8 if Rian Johnson’s pics on Twitter are any indication.

    • Noah Evans Says:

      Hopefully (and if not 8, then 9). He (and whoever else, such as Mace and Maul) could’ve been frozen in carbonite and gets unfrozen in the film. Also, hopefully Ahmed Best can come back (it would not really dumb to replace him)

    • Shaman McLamie Says:

      I don’t think we need Jar Jar Binks in Episode VIII. I will say I do hope they do a Jar Jar in carbonite Easter egg.

  5. susanbowes Says:

    It’s about time somebody said something positive about Jar Jar. I think he (Jar Jar) was a great addition to the saga.

  6. Noah Evans Says:

    Deer Yoda, aka The Muppets, aka a few Sesame Street characters… WHY CAN’T MORE PEOPLE LIKE YOU BE IN THE INDUSTRY RIGHT NOW!? (although I’ll give my respect to Harrison Ford for showing class and not giving out a comment when being asked about the prequels). And it shouldn’t be surprising that Oz loves Jar Jar, I mean he has helped bring a cast of whimsical characters to life.

  7. Hunk a Junk Says:

    I was lucky enough to meet and briefly work with Frank on a project. He’s a very down to Earth and straight talking man. A genuinely sweet (and filthy-mouthed) man!

  8. Hunk a Junk Says:

    BTW – to me 3PO & R2 were the Laurel & Hardy/Abbot & Costello team while Jar Jar was the Charlie Chaplin/Harold Lloyd type slapstick comic. A 1920s and 30s comedy sensibility.

    • LadyJediScientist Says:

      I actually thought he was in line with Buster Keaton. I love the fact Frank that lovers Jar Jar. Here we have the master puppeteer appluading a CGI character!!! See: these two technologies can get along😎😎😎

      • Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

        A lot of Jar Jar’s shtick was a direct homage to Buster Keaton, though he represents all the silent slapstick greats.

        Personally, since he’s actually far from silent, my first thought as far as slapstick influence was Jerry Lewis.

    • Jacobesico Says:

      I loved the Clone Wars Episode when Jar Jar and Threepio teamed up together. I thought they made quite the double act.

  9. lovelucas Says:

    Lifted me up. I have lots of Jar Jar in my collection. He’s a warrior even if unintentional. Also the only one brave and smart enough to save Naboo. I really hate the comments implying George and he are racists. I mean….- I promised myself I wouldn’t go here but… WTF?

    • Noah Evans Says:

      In this day in age, EVERYTHING IS RACIST, even milk (because it’s white) and trees (because… logic?). It doesn’t even matter if something is portrayed in a positive light, someone (or someones) will get uptight for no reason….

      • Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

        It’s actually a good thing that people are being more careful and trying to strike back against the casual bigotry that has permiated our culture since time immemorial. We need to see people as people first.

        Just because this particular case is a gross misinterpretation, and there’s always a danger of going to far in the other direction, doesn’t mean the intention is bad.

      • susanbowes Says:

        One of my favorite scifi movies is Lathe of Heaven starring Bruce Davidson. It’s about a guy who dreams that end up becoming real, but there’s always a hitch attached. He tries to commit suicide because he can no longer deal with his dreams and is sent to a psychiatrist who finds out what Davidson can do and he thinks he can solve mankind’s every problem by suggesting dreams to the man. He has Davidson dream about racism and when the man wakes up, he finds out that everyone’s skin color is now gray. No hitch to this dream though. Great movie.

        Wouldn’t it be nice if Davidson’s dream did come true in real life. However, our hitch would be that people would always find something to discriminate against.

      • Tarrlok Says:

        I have no problem with people criticising what they see as casual racism. It may be a misinterpretation, but better that than people being pressured to self-censor their real concerns.

        Criticism of the Gungans for an alleged similarity to racial caricatures needs to be considered in context, however, and a lot of media commentary doesn’t do this. TPM has a secondary character, Panaka, who is a black man – not an alleged stereotype in alien form but an actual human of Naboo who happens to be black. TPM also introduces Mace Windu, who needs no introduction. There’s even minor character Adi Gallia sitting quietly in judgement on the Jedi Council. It seems a bit silly to overlook this in an effort to claim that TPM is racist on aggregate.

        And Jar Jar and his species don’t have all that negative a portrayal; they’re heroes, derided by humans like the above mentioned Panaka until they prove their worth. Especially given the very progressive depiction of human race across the PT (consider why two out of the four TCW S6 arcs give leading roles to non-white humans), it’s not really fair to claim that racism is a major sin of the PT.

        Sorry for the wall-of-text.

  10. peacetrainjedi Says:

    “Go I will. Good relations with the Gungans I have!”

    Love Frank Oz, and all the great characters he has brought to life over the years! This is beyond awesome that he made the comment; and even cooler that he went out of his way to make it! The interviewer didn’t even bring up Jar Jar, so Frank Oz wasn’t being defensive. This somehow makes me love Yoda even more, even though he was already my favorite Star Wars character. Thanks for posting this LP!

  11. darth66zannah Says:

    Another person for that asshole Simon Pegg to have no respect for

  12. James Says:

    I love Jar Jar too! Not quite my favorite but definitely in my top ten.

  13. andywylde77 Says:

    I always considered Jar Jar to be the Don Knotts of the SW universe. Also being rich with many influences of comedy stars from the silent movie era. I thought he was just fine and added a whole lot more to the SW universe than people seem to give him credit for. It was nice to see a new alien in SW that wasn’t just some grunting slobbering brute like all the aliens in Jabba’s palace.

    But I am sure if they put Jar Jar into an Imperial officer uniform he would have been “TEH BEZTAZ EVA!” lol

  14. Shamari Stewart Says:

    I didn’t like jar jar (and not because I wanted to jump on any kind of prequel-hate bandwagon, he just was never what I liked about TPM), but I’m glad Frank Oz sticking up for the character. All the public hate he’s received is absolutely ridiculous

Leave a Reply

