Some Interesting Reading

First, check out the Telegraph’s defense of Lucas and the prequels.

A fan blogger discusses why saga/prequel fans shouldn’t boycott TFA. I don’t necessarily agree with all of his opinions and there are some inaccuracies/assumptions, but it’s an interesting argument. And like I’ve been saying, prequel fans have to learn to be more vocal in constructive ways.

While not technically reading, Geek University posted this video showing Eps I-VI side by side, demonstrating the Ring Theory:

Tags: , ,

23 Responses to “Some Interesting Reading”

  1. Nick Skywalker Says:

    Really enjoy the article defending Lucas. I also liked how the author broke down the critiques and offered his/her stance on the issue.

  2. Shamari Stewart Says:

    Well as for the blogger, some people are just turned off by the media campaign and aren’t interested in seeing the movie, for whatever reason. That’s not necessarily a boycott, it’s just people choosing whether or not they want to pay to see something. I mean I don’t know, maybe there is a boycott going on for some fans but I haven’t heard of it. I don’t mean to speak for anyone else though, since I am definitely going to see the movie lol

    I like the Lucas article a lot though

  3. Hoggle Says:

    The ring theory is boring to me, similarities in visuals of scenes alone is diddly doo.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      Did you actually read it? Visuals are everything in SW. You don’t necessarily have to agree with the piece’s conclusions but I think there are many good points made.

      • Hoggle Says:

        Hi, no didn’t read it but am familiar with the ring theory. I don’t see the visuals as the all encompassing character of the narrative in Star Wars 1 to 6. To me, they are used in all kind of ways through out in proportion to other things. They certainly have their singular moments though.

  4. Cristian Martinez Says:

    Funny, I trough that the Original Star Wars fans would be the ones sabotaging this movie, but it seems that they are to deep in their nostalgic bullshit bubble to care about the visuals.

    This movie and the prequels aren’t much different, the only difference is that it have the original cast in it, and that why the Original Star Wars fans hadn’t bitch about it, yet.

  5. Jacobesico Says:

    Yeah as I said, The Telegraph usually does have some good Star Wars articles whereas the Guardian is a wretched hive of Geeks and Hipsters.

    As for Boycottng the movie, I don’t see why I sould pay to see thirty to fourty year olds become little kids again. It’s clearly not for my Generation who grew up enjoying the prequels so I’ll think I’ll pass.

    And that video is amazing! Why watch one Star Wars Movie when you can watch all six at the same time and learn something new?

    Genius! 😀

    • Stefan Kraft Says:

      In the end, it’s up to you whether you want to watch the movie or not. I will give it a fair chance, and there’s worse than spending 8-9 € (?) on an entertaining movie. Still, I have not been happy with the marketing so that I have decided to delay my first viewing. (This is my own decision – if someone wants to watch it ASAP, then go for it and have fun! And if you think that it is a worthy addition to the Saga, that’s even better!)

      • Natalie Says:

        Some of us are disgusted at Disney’s treatment of the Star Wars creator.

      • susanbowes Says:

        Believe me, I’m disgusted at what Disney did to Lucas too and that’s partially why I’m making the appreciation video for Mr. Lucas, so he can know that he still has loyal fans. However, I’m not going to let that stop me from seeing TFA. It’s Star Wars, and good or bad, I’m still going to add it to my SW collection.

      • Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

        This is my take in the end (and thanks for helping me come to this conclusion). Of course, now part of me wants to see it sooner to get this over with, but I can’t go in with that attitude.

  6. susanbowes Says:

    I don’t believe we should boycott TFA. After all, Lucas did see it himself and supposedly liked it. If the big man himself can forgive Disney for betraying him, we can do the same. That plus, we can’t be sure Disney hasn’t agreed to add Lucas’ ideas in future films. Perhaps that’s why Lucas agreed to see the movie and give it a thumb’s up.

    • hansolo1138 Says:

      Actually, Lucas said, “It’s the movie fans have been looking for.” Kathleen Kennedy was the one who said that Licas liked it a lot. That, to me, does not bode well

      Still… I don’t think it’ll matter if we boycott the movie. It’s already smashing records left and right. And I am going to see it with the rest of my family at 9:00 a.m. tomorrow, so…yeah. Go ahead and see the movie, folks. You can’t form your opinion on TFA without seeing it. That’s what the haters did to AOTC and ROTS. If it really is bad, if it really does disrespect the Prequels, if it really does give the middle finger to Lucas, then don’t see VII and IX.

  7. Jacobesico Says:

    I just watched the entire Ring Theory video and it was amazing.

    There were plenty of shots that were similar and what really struck me was as Vader was gettng burnt on Mustafar, Luke was removing Vader’s mask and showing Anakin’s face.

    But watching all six movies at once is definitely a dream come true.

    • Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

      I only got partway through it, but here are a few interesting things I noticed so far:

      1. There’s not a single second where all six films have a quiet scene at once, at least not in the first 30-40 minutes. At least one film always has a loud action scene at any given moment

      2. Jar Jar being pushed down by Sebulba happens at the same second as R2 falling off the Sail Barge. The way the video above has it, they’re falling into each other.

      3. The scene in Sith where Anakin seeks Yoda’s advice has the exact same horizontal blind lighting as Leia killing Jabba in Jedi – and they happen at the same time.

  8. Natalie Says:

    And here we go
    http://nypost.com/2015/12/16/why-the-force-awakens-made-me-like-the-star-wars-prequels-more/

    • Shaman McLamie Says:

      “I’m sure in about a week, it’s going to become quite fashionable to bash this flick — hard. But I’d like to go on record as saying I dug it. It’s a good movie with great moments.”
      Kevin Smith back in May of 1999 after watching TPM.
      http://viewaskew.com/press/menace.html

      Personally my attitude of The Force Awakens after watching it aren’t too far off from what Kevin Smith’s were after The Phantom Menace. I really do think The Force Awakens will end up receiving similar treatment from hardcore fans. After the hype wares off it’s going to get a lot of flack. As much as I like the idea of the Prequels getting put in a better light I don’t really like the idea of it being done at the expense of the up and coming Sequel Generation. They don’t need to go through the same crap the Prequel Generation went through.

      • Natalie Says:

        Unlike the prequel bashers, I’ll never tell young people it’s wrong to enjoy the sequels.

        The fanboys attacked George Lucas because he followed his vision over their wishes and wanted to create the trilogy for the new generation of fans. I call Disney, KK and JJ for their arrogance in thinking they know Star Wars better than the creator while at the same time coming up with nothing else than another rehash of ANH. If the fans turn on them, it’s their own doing…

  9. twessf Says:

    When it comes to crowd pleasing, soft reboots of 70’s classic…CREED annihilates the Force Awakens. #SorryIAmNotSorry

  10. Tarrlok Says:

    One well-timed TPM/ROTS parallel I noticed in that video:

    TPM – Obi-Wan and Qui-Gon are pinned down by fire from a pair of droidekas. Obi-Wan observes that they have shield generators. The two Jedi rush away.

    ROTS – Obi-Wan and Anakin approach the hangar of the ‘Invisible Hand.’ Obi-Wan observes that the hangar shield is still up, so Anakin blasts the generator into oblivion. The two Jedi rush in.

    Ironically, the Jedi in TPM leave the Trade Federation ship not long after the point in ROTS when they arrive on the Confederate ship.

    The Venator-class and Eta-2s replace the Consular-class cruiser in the opening shots. There’s a Lucrehulk-class vessel in both opening sequences. The Jedi and Republic are intervening in a dispute with the Trade Federation in TPM and openly at war with the Confederacy in ROTS.

    Obi-Wan is accompanied by a taller, longer-haired Jedi with a clearly different philosophy in both. They do battle with deadly droids around the same times in both films. Anakin attempts to shoot buzz droids off of Obi-Wan’s wing around when Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan deflect the first shots of the B1s back at them.

    That’s just in the first few scenes, but ROTS has some nice allusions and callbacks to TPM elsewhere in the film.

Leave a Reply

