A Word About Spoilers

People are going to start seeing TFA this week and to keep those avoiding spoilers spoiler-free until this weekend (since North America gets it later than Europe), I am hereby instituting a no-spoilers rule until December 20. Any spoilers posted in comments will be deleted.

Tags:

49 Responses to “A Word About Spoilers”

  1. Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

    Might want to extend the no spoiler policy a bit or at least limit it to certain specific posts, since a lot of us will be avoiding the first few weeks on principle before giving it a fair chance.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      I’ll think about it. I understand people not wanting to be spoiled if they can’t see it for a while but on the other hand, there’s always the guy in Burundi who gets mad at people discussing a t.v. show episode he won’t get to see for another two years, which is a bit unreasonable.

      • hansolo1138 Says:

        How about a specific “spoilers” thread? This would allow people to discuss their thoughts about the movie in detail, while everyone else simply avoids clicking on the open thread?

  2. roxam91 Says:

    Agree with Adam. I’m gonna be rather busy the first few days it comes out, and I might not get to see it till a week after its release date (at the earliest)

  3. Jacobesico Says:

    That’s no problem.

    I’m going to try and avoid bashing the movie as well in future.

  4. susanbowes Says:

    Being on Facebook almost every day I know I won’t be able to avoid spoilers. I’ll try to avoid them, but I know curiosity will get the better of me and I’ll end up reading every comment about TFA. Star Wars is in my blood and even if I know everything about this movie beforehand I’ll still watch it. Unfortunately, I have to wait until TFA comes out on DVD because there’s no way for me to get to the movies. 😦

  5. Captain Fordo Says:

    “Spoilers, avoid as they haven’t happened yet!”as River Sing ( from Doctor who) would say.
    Though while this site won’t spoil the plot, it’ll be hard to avoid on other sites.
    Anyways LazyPadawan, what do you think about creating a “Prequal Appreciation Society” forum (ie something like theforce.net)? Would be a nice place to discuss Star Wars without hater boys or plinket-suckups.

    • Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

      We do. Or at least we did. It sees almost no action. I gave up after trying to keep it alive for almost a year.

    • Shamari Stewart Says:

      That sounds like an awesome idea and I would participate daily 😀 lol (but I understand if it never happens or can’t be maintained)

    • Jacobesico Says:

      I would to have Prequel Appreciation Forum.

      I love this site. It’s great to be amongst fans who love the sage in the same way that I do. I find it a safe haven as does many people.

      I think that it would be really great if we can expand because I think a lot of us have a lot to say about our love for The Prequels. I do at least.

      I’m already starting to feel down due to the sniping at the Prequels from those who have seen the TFA world premiere.

      But I think that would be great idea.

      P.S it would be great if you could add a Fanfiction section as well. 😉

      • susanbowes Says:

        As far as making this an Prequel Appreciation site… it’s already an appreciation site so I see no reason to change the name. However, I love the idea of a fanfiction page. As some of you know, I’ve written a continuation of the SW saga myself and I’d love to share it with everyone here. I’m sure everyone would love my story. 🙂

      • Captain Fordo Says:

        Your serious, the haterboys and plinket suck-ups are already at it? :facepalms:
        Yeah because a rehash of episode 4 with almost identical plot, character, events, and even vehicles is new and great./s
        What I hate the most is that 99% of the haters haven’t even seen the PT, but no they bash it. Hope everyone at RedLetterMoron has an accident for causing this BS to happen.

      • Jacobesico Says:

        Yeah in Britain unfortunatly. The Guardian is hailing it as “the true Episode 4” and one of it’s columnists refuses to call Episode 4 A New Hope. He just calls it “Star Wars”

        It’s just snide little comments about “Too much CGI” and one reviewer on ITV (One of our Channels) said that TFA made him feel like a little kid again. In the Daily Mail, the reviewer refered to Revenge of The Sith as “Disapointing”

        It’s got me very down at any rate. I think I’ll give the movie a pass. I’m done with Star Wars. I’ll just watch Rebels which I love and that will be it.

        It’s clear that The Sequels are not for me or my generation.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        This is what really sucks…there’s no need at all to knock down other movies to boost another. Really, what do the prequels have anything to do with this? It’s just more knocking against Lucas because they hate him. What stinks is that Lucasfilm doesn’t seem to care. It’s all about the monies!

        As for your generation, I’m considering a project that will give you guys more of a voice. It’s time for your story to be told.

      • susanbowes Says:

        Sounds good to me. Us old timers have a lot to be said. 🙂

      • Jacobesico Says:

        Thanks LP.

        Looking foward to it. 🙂

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        As I have written on Twitter, most reviews I have read here in Germany briefly mention the PT in a rather negative and not nuanced way. (One exception is the newspaper “Die Welt” that bashes the PT to the max in a paragraph – at the same time, they mention that there does not seem to have been much technical progress between the OT and the ST. Oh my…)

        I can (or should) accept reviews that use comparisons like “GL did this in the PT, but it did not work. TFA, on the other hand…” (I do not like to read criticisms of the PT, but a good review explains why it judges a movie in a certain way, and if it justifies it like that, so it be.) However, almost all reviews only dedicate two or three sentences to the PT so that it does not (really) contribute to the review. In one or two cases, it was really superfluous (so the author thinks that the last movie is a failure – what should I learn from that?) I guess that the limited article length contributes to the writing of such statements, but I find them annoying.

        In any case, I often think “But that was GL’s intention!” or “May be true, but you should also consider that…”

        On a lighter note, I catched the ending of a SW special on the local Disney channel. Second favourite scene for the viewers was the battle Obi-Wan vs Anakin/Darth Vader! (Favourite was the big reveal in EP V, but I’ll be honest, I think this is deserved because it was such a big twist back then in 1980.)

  6. Natalie Says:

    The reviews are predictably glowing.

    I clicked at random at all the reviews contain two things:
    1) a dig at the prequels
    2) a mention of the remake or reboot. And no one cares.

    And then people are complaining about numerous remakes/reboots/sequels and no creativity in Hollywood. I feel I should stick to TV now from now on, at least there’s more original content there.

    • andywylde77 Says:

      Great point on the whole remake/reboot thing! It shows the hypocrisy of people because any other franchise these days that does that gets bashed to no end. But all the 40 year old Man-Children just wanted their childhoods repackaged in a nice new shiny box and that is what they got.

      It really annoys me how the older generation, (and I am from the older generation to boot) seem to think that the entertainment industry exists solely for their childhood desires. Now reading some of these reviews, it seems most of them are nothing more than episode 7 vs. PT posts. I don’t know why this has to come down to competition for some people. I guess some folks really see this new era of SW as some kind retribution to the “failure” of the PT.

      Well this isn’t surprising really. Anyone that frequents any kind of SW message board saw this coming from miles away. I feel ashamed that I come the older generation. I am sure I will feel more ashamed in the coming weeks too. I hate that I have to share my generation with a bunch of cry babies that would steal others childhoods just so they can relive their own. Pretty sad 😦

      • susanbowes Says:

        I’m a part of the older generation too and am also ashamed so many attack the prequels. It’s a shame the haters all think SW was meant only for them alone. I’d never be so bold as to think that about any movie!

      • andywylde77 Says:

        Yeah the problem is that the older generation, not all of course but some have been the worst of the worst when it comes to SW. They are the ones that say the worst things and belittle other fans, usually younger fans for liking the PT. It really sickens me that I am part of that generation yet that generation has me shaken my head about all the stuff they say and do. But all that aside I still love SW more than anything. So all their foolishness will never destroy my love of SW.

      • Natalie Says:

        I really don’t know what’s going on with Gen-Xers and even older Millennials. Greed, inability to let go, entitlement, selfishness, whining when things don’t go their way… remind you of someone? I know Star Wars was always a personal story but, knowing GL’s irony, I wonder if Anakin’s attitude is a subtle dig at the fanbase that refuses to grow up. At least Anakin came back to the light side in the end. I doubt this is going to happen to this generation.

      • andywylde77 Says:

        Yeah the entitlement is one of the worst aspects of all that. I never scene more people running around thinking that these franchises(Sci-Fi, comics etc.) belong to them and how they think people that make the entertainment are supposed to give in to fanboy desires. It’s all just really, really sad.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        As a Gen-Xer myself, I’ll be brutally honest about folks in my age group. We are the WORST when it comes to being way too hung up on what was popular in our childhoods and youth. Worse than Baby Boomers, I tell you and many people my age used to roll their eyes at them. At least Boomers managed to create and innovate in all areas of the arts and in industry. Gen X-ers…not quite as much.

    • Tarrlok Says:

      Lucas and Spielberg themselves said something to that effect years ago: that the tentpole Hollywood blockbusters are increasingly expensive and unimaginative; that interesting new content is going straight to TV.

      http://www.theguardian.com/film/2013/jun/13/steven-spielberg-george-lucas-film-industry

      Reviewers have such stupidly low standards for a lot of blockbusters nowadays that it’s unsurprising that they uncritically accept the idea of a reboot/remake. I’ve watched too many with an RT rating of more than 90% that have left me either cold or simply underwhelmed. I’ll stay away from media coverage of TFA until I see it, hopefully without prejudice.

      • Natalie Says:

        I wish Lucas was making the ST himself with the assistance of some new talented filmmakers (could be Rian Johnson himself).

      • Tarrlok Says:

        In retrospect, I’d say cynical is a better way to describe film reviewers that having low standards. The standards they apply are sometimes arbitrary, driven by media narratives mostly. My point about the underwhelming films is to do with my own opinions and their divergence from those of the reviewers, both of which are subjective.

        Yeah, if the ST had the same creative process as TCW (ie. Lucas working with other writers to flesh out basic ideas) I’d be a lot happier about it.

        A lot of SW fans have taken for granted the sort of creative process that previous SW productions went through. Lucas always had the final say on what happened in SW, but his interference was never as brazenly cynical as what some corporate studios are infamous for.

  7. andywylde77 Says:

    I have been reading some of the early reviews and as expected all the “oh this soooooooooooooo much better than the PT” crap is in full swing! But I am not surprised. Because I wrote on here on other forums a long while back how even when the first trailer hit people were saying that it was better than the entire PT combined! So how on Earth can I take people like that seriously? Answer is, I CAN’T!

    But I am not really going to knock on the movie itself, good or bad. But this comes down the fan base on this one. A bunch of shallow morons that just want to relive their childhoods again. These old school “fans” would piss on the younger generation and not let them have a childhood just so they can relive theirs. It’s pretty sad. But for the reviews I have seen some of them say how “they feel like they went back in time” Well that doesn’t really say anything good. It is the continuation of the saga that takes place in the future. This shouldn’t make anyone think that they went into a “time machine” That is some kind of paradox isn’t it?

    • lazypadawan Says:

      I don’t see the point of “going back in time” for anyone who didn’t live through that period. *Shrug.*

      I have been avoiding reviews because I simply don’t trust them; they’re not serious analyses of the films just reactionary b.s. against Lucas and what he created, specifically the prequels. I’d feel pretty crappy if I put out a film and the only thing the critic could do is not talk about why my movie’s good but only talk about somebody else and his films.

      • andywylde77 Says:

        Yes I agree completely! That is the sad part though that people want to see a movie that “takes them back in time” while it is supposed to be in the future? But I most of the reviews I have read are like you said, reactionary BS to Lucas. That is all it is. I just hope they get all this BS out of their systems real fast so we don’t have to listen to for weeks on end.

      • susanbowes Says:

        Good luck with that. Haters never know when to shut up!

      • andywylde77 Says:

        Yeah I just hope they get all this nonsense out of their systems fast so people that care for SW don’t have to listen to all the “this is so much better than the PT” junk

      • susanbowes Says:

        I’m certain the haters will continue to bash the prequels and compare TFA to the OT saying Disney saved SW. Nothing could be further from the truth of course. They’re just in it for the profits they’ll get from TFA and future movies.

      • andywylde77 Says:

        Yeah their new whining will consist of people who hate the new films are, PT defenders, EU/Legends fans, People who have bad tastes, People who don’t understand SW etc. etc. Yes they will be saying this type of nonsense. I have seen a lot of reviews say it’s the best one since TESB and some even claim it better than ANH! Which is funny because this basically just ANH but repackaged. But I know why they do that because now they can use this new film to knock ANH down a notch and put the new film right next to TESB as the 2 greatest SW films. This is because ANH is all Lucas so the haters have had a tough time over the years giving it respect because of that fact. Then for some strange and odd reasons haters have this ridiculous notion that TESB is the nest because, “Lucas had the least amount of input on this film?” Really? That is news to me? Because TESB has Lucas’ hand in just about or if not all aspects of the film. He even made the most contributions on the script! But these haters really like wallowing in ignorance it seems.

        But as any person that isn’t a hater knows that the PT was a huge success and brought a whole new generation of SW fans into the world. That really bugs the haters. Because a lot of article for the new movie usually start with the lame old, “well this will make us forget about the (insert insult here) prequels! Well I don’t think any of these clowns will ever “forget” about the PT because they are still whining about them all these years later! So when they write their articles they should realize what they are going to write before doing so. Because it makes them look dumb when they are trying to “forget” something yet bringing it up every and any chance they get!

        The PT will never be forgotten. It will be admired, Loved and cherished the world over by many, many people. And they will go down in history along with all the other SW films as well. It does show the mind set of some people that look at this new film as “a way to forget” the PT instead of it being a continuation of the SW story.

      • susanbowes Says:

        The haters have to continue ranting about how bad the prequels were because the prequels were in fact fantastic movies. They have to convince themselves and others that they were bad movies, but so far their shouts haven’t been heard by true SW fans.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I never pay attention to critic’s reviews. Most of the time they never watch a full movie before criticizing it. I’d rather judge for myself whether I like a movie or not.

  8. andywylde77 Says:

    Ah so now reading a lot of the reviews and when some are negative ones are all made by PT loving fanboys! Yep so according to many that anyone who talks trash about the new movie are just fans of the PT.

    And most likely these people saying that are the whiny OT purists that have been whining since the SE’s in 1997. And then they started whining louder in 1999.

    I swear, this fandom really can piss me off with the amount of ignorance that is running wild within it.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      Just like if you didn’t like “Aftermath” you were an EU troll and probably a homophobe.

      • andywylde77 Says:

        Yep same mindset at work there.

      • Tarrlok Says:

        There’s a certain faction of the current SW fandom that has a lot of interest invested in the success of the post-Lucas media releases. For a lot of them, it seems that this is primarily because they want their criticism of Lucas’ way of doing things to be vindicated.

        This isn’t to say that everyone who’s rooting for SW to succeed now has an anti-Lucas vendetta (I certainly don’t), but a lot of the prominent entertainment media types do. They see everything through the lens of how SW apparently needs to be rejuvenated after the dark age of the PT.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        You’re absolutely right.

  9. ladylavinia1932 Says:

    For those who have seen the movie, can you describe Rey’s personality flaws? You can send me a private message, instead of posting on this site.

Leave a Reply

