A Not Too Bad Media Defense Of The Prequels

This time it’s in the Las Vegas Weekly:

This curdled nostalgia has, unfortunately, caused many to overlook the good qualities of the prequels, including—and here’s their true beauty—how they function in artful conjunction with the first three films. Phantom Menace’s pod race—a masterfully choreographed action sequence that relies, like so much of the series, on inspired sound design—is an echo of the speeder-bike chase through Jedi’s forests of Endor. Jango Fett’s death scene in Attack of the Clones, in which boy Boba holds his father’s decapitated head, infuses the bounty hunter of The Empire Strikes Back with a new relentlessness. And in Revenge of the Sith, tragedy and redemption meet like strands of DNA, with the birth of the very villain who will be saved three films later/earlier.

Read the rest of it here.

Tags:

19 Responses to “A Not Too Bad Media Defense Of The Prequels”

  1. Joe Bean Says:

    Saw this one. It’s pretty prequel intensive despite the title.

    http://www.latinpost.com/articles/101273/20151210/star-wars-force-awakens-new-trailer-spoilers-news-will-sequels.htm?exe=reporter

  2. Natalie Says:

    I guess PR people at Disney communicated to JJ to say something nice about the prequels

    Abrams has some kind words for the Star Wars prequels
    
”I enjoy the prequels,” he says. “I am a kid of the Seventies whose life was fundamentally impacted by the original films. And one of the reasons that I preferred the original trilogy was that it felt the characters were more everyman or everywoman characters. They felt scrappy and they felt real and lived in, and characters that were essentially nobodies who had to go up against some of the scariest and most intense villains of all time. That, for me, was inherently a more fun trilogy of stories. I felt that the use of technology, the use of design, the world-expanding that George did in the prequels is incredibly impressive. My favorite of the prequels is the third, which has some very powerful moments and some incredible imagery. But I know that when I went into doing The Force Awakens, my goal was to try and make a movie that felt like it was continuing from Return of the Jedi, which it is. As opposed to the significantly different aesthetic that George applied to the prequels, in his remarkable pushing of the boundaries of cinema.”

    http://www.rollingstone.com/movies/…t-star-wars-the-force-awakens-20151211?page=4

  3. Shamari Stewart Says:

    http://www.ew.com/article/2015/12/11/adam-driver-star-wars-force-awakens-prequels

    It has begun. Adam Driver says Episode VII is better than the prequels (he seems pretty sure of himself too, when asked if it was better he goes “fuck yeah”). I mean I want it to be better too but jeez, I doubt he’d say it like that about any of the sacred originals.

    • Natalie Says:

      I’ll be totally fine if I like TFA more than any of the prequels (although I doubt it will beat ROTS). But yes, I’d love at least one person involved to say TFA is going to be at least as good as TESB!

      • Shamari Stewart Says:

        I doubt it’ll be better than ROTS also, but having said that, if it is that would be amazing

    • Shamari Stewart Says:

      ?? Because I want it to be a great movie? What’s with the attitude? :/

      • lazypadawan Says:

        I’m just trying to figure out what you’re saying. I never walked into a SW movie hoping it’s better than the last one.

    • Nick Skywalker Says:

      People have absolutely no class anymore. Some things are better kept to yourself and If it weren’t for the prequels or George Lucas, he wouldn’t be working on this movie. But whatever, I can’t take anyone who would play the love interest of Lena Dunham seriously, but that’s beside the point.

      I don’t care if this is a “better movie” or not. I just want it to be a worthy addition to the SW canon. Not everything needs to be compared. There’s a lot of mess surrounding this movie that puts a bad taste in my mouth so at the very least I hope to enjoy the finished product. But, I personally don’t see myself liking it more than ROTS or TESB.

    • Stefan Kraft Says:

      Shamari probably meant “I want the movie to be as good as possible,” like Natalie.

    • Shamari Stewart Says:

      Stefan is right. I’m saying I want it to be as good as possible. I don’t think anything in my comment indicated I was dissing the prequels so I don’t know where that reply came from. Nothing wrong with hoping a sequel surpasses the previous movie, and saying so isn’t necessarily a diss on the movie we already have

    • Jacobesico Says:

      I highly doubt it.

      Judging from the trailers, it looks like an empty rehash of A New Hope that ticks all the right boxes of Fanboy Nostalgia.

    • lisse Says:

      I feel like people are setting themselves up for a fall with blanket statements like this about the quality of this movie. Yeah, maybe it’ll be good and not a retread. But, considering the people involved and their talking points, it could easily easily be a cheap copy of the OT. And, when the nostalgia love wears off in a month or so and people get critical, I wouldn’t be surprised if the fanbase turned on this movie.

      • Natalie Says:

        After reading some spoilers (all of which where confirmed by the footage) I’d say it’s at least 50% ANH rehash (with some stuff from TESB and ROTJ I assume).

Leave a Reply

