Video Shows How People Reacted To TPM

Far be it from me to forward traffic to Boing Boing but it posted some t.v. news video from 1999 capturing reactions to the film from people who had seen it.

Tags:

30 Responses to “Video Shows How People Reacted To TPM”

  1. susanbowes Says:

    This video proves that not everyone hated the prequels. 🙂 (Y) Put that in your pipe and smoke it haters! LOL

    Btw, lazypadawan. I posted a sample of Lucas appreciation vid on VK site for everyone to check out and get opinions. Let me know what you think of it so far… more vids coming from people so it’s not finished yet.

    http://vk.com/video251265273_171370542

    • Shaman McLamie Says:

      Oh crap I still need to record mine. Will probably get it done this weekend.

    • darth66zannah Says:

      where do I send my video? I want to be a part if this! I got some real good stuff to say!

    • Jacobesico Says:

      That was amazing and very touching, Susan.

      Well done!

      • susanbowes Says:

        Thanks Jacobesico. I really don’t deserve any thanks. I’ve been thinking of making a video dedicated to Mr. Lucas for a long time anyway. It just took a little reminder from you to get me working on one, and what better way to show Lucas that he’s still appreciated by his fans…. mainly us prequel lovers. It’s about time Lucas heard from us. 🙂

      • Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

        I will definitely be sending a video of my own.

        If I may offer some constructive criticism (take it with as much salt as you like):

        The testimonials are more powerful than anything, and I feel they should be the focus. The Hayden interview and the various montages from the films, while certainly in the spirit, actually kind of take away from the message: we, the fans, appreciate him. If I didn’t know the testimonials were in there, I’d probably have moved on before the Hayden bit was done simply because I can find press from the films anywhere. Similarly, the montages should probably be kept as transitions between testimonials and only a few seconds each at most.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I understand why you think Hayden’s interview isn’t important to our project. The main reason I added it was due to him saying that Lucas, and many others gave a good part of their lives to making the saga. I probably will cut it down to just the first part of the interview where Hayden says George spent 30 years making the movies. Originally, I intended to post behind the scene pictures of Lucas directing each movie, but that definitely would’ve made our video too long. The full interview of Hayden is much shorter than the pictures would’ve been.

        About how long the testimonials are – the videos themselves aren’t very long, but the written comments take a while to read. I wanted to make sure they could be read in their entirety. Not everyone reads at the same speed and that’s why the written comments remain on screen so long.

      • Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

        I have no problems with the testimonials at all, written or filmed. I was saying that it should be 99% those. It’s the other stuff that kind of drags on longer than the intended audience would probably sit through, thinking realistically about what George would probably have the time or patience for. That’s all.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I understand that and I’m definitely going to cut the Hayden interview, except where he talks about Lucas putting 30 years into making SW. I may have to cut my friend Karen’s video out too now that I’m getting more responses thanking Lucas. That’s really why I left the interview in – to lengthen the vid. I was expecting a lot more people getting involved and felt the video was too short without something filling up space. Thankfully a few more people are getting involved now that I posted the sample vid. I’m pretty sure you’ll approve of it when finished.

    • hansolo1138 Says:

      I got goosebumps when “Binary Sunset” played over my message! Thank you so much! If this is a sample, I can’t WAIT to see what the full version will be like! Here’s hoping Mr. Lucas sees it! Will the full version be posted on YouTube?

      • susanbowes Says:

        I may have to cut some of Hayden’s interview and maybe even part, or even all of Karen’s video, depending on how many more people get in on our project. I told a few people on facebook and they’re also eager to participate. However, I’ll definitely keep the music score in the video. (I’m glad you liked it so much.) And the full video will most definitely be posted on youtube and on facebook as well when finally completed.

  2. audioepics Says:

    Yes, I want to send one too, all the way from Belgium! 🙂

    • susanbowes Says:

      No rush sending me your thanks to Mr. Lucas. I would like to get the video done by Christmas, but when its posted on youtube isn’t really that important. What matters more is that our vid is posted there. And, if by some miracle Mr. Lucas does see it, I think he’ll appreciate our effort.

  3. Dave Strohmenger Says:

    I should have known better than to read the comments. I guess I’ll never learn. They were exactly what I was expecting.

  4. Captain Fordo Says:

    Great video. Too bad the dense retards in the comment were showing their stupidity again; they couldn’t bear to see how most people actually loved the movie. The haterboys just clung onto what the idiot-troll at the end of the video said; they of course treated the one hater as the only view that mattered and was holy.
    Wasted some time arguing with the trolls, but it was a waste.

  5. Claym0res Says:

    The video was beautiful, but the comments are trolled.

    On a simialr note, Oh boy, I think I want to strangle every single OT-purists right now. Those scum just posted another crappy video on Cinemacins thats wants to destroy TPM again (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeXDrvPB5rI). Warning, lots of venom from the bashers and plinkett worshippers.

  6. Jim Raynor Says:

    I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again since the facts remain lost in the sea of revisionist history:

    The Prequels made a ton of money. Professional polling of the audiences (Gallup, CinemaScore, Variety) showed that a large majority liked those movies. The Prequels continue to sell toys and support spinoff TV shows more than a decade after appearing in theaters.

    The obvious conclusion is that most people do NOT agree with the hateful nerd echo chamber.

    • Captain Fordo Says:

      Very true.
      But try to tell that to the haterboys in the comments section. They refuse to accept that along with the fact that they are a vocal minoirty, aka the weeaboos of star wars.

  7. Natalie Says:

    Damn right Jim.
    I don’t why I always get sucked into arguing with the anti-PT people but someone on TFN is trying to convince me only the kids really like the PT.

    • Captain Fordo Says:

      Thats actually tame compared to the BS the haterboys are spewing on this video alone. Replied and countered most of them, but damn are they retarded and close minded.

      • Natalie Says:

        Well, yes, that poster is fairly reasonable. He even likes some stuff in the PT. I don’t understand why someone would spend so much time on movies they hate. I mean I’ve seriously disliked everything Peter Jackson done with Tolkien’s adaptations and I’m as attached to those books as those people to the OT but I don’t really talk about them unless they’re mentioned by other Tolkien fans. I’d rather forget them altogether.

    • susanbowes Says:

      That’s partial why I’m making that tribute video to Lucas. Not only to thank him for the “whole” saga, but also to annoy the haters. I’m constantly getting into arguments with them too, mainly on facebook. However, after I post the Lucas vid on youtube, I plan to post it on FB too so the haters will see it. I know it won’t change anything, but at least I’ll get the satisfaction that they’ll know we prequel lovers are fed up with all their crap!

      • Natalie Says:

        Good job Susan! I think making videos and writing articles is a far more productive way to address the hatred.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I agree. Arguing with them sure doesn’t do any good. Forget trying to reason with the haters. You just end up frustrated. And as they say… the pen is mightier than the sword. (unless you’re a Jedi that is. LOL)

      • Captain Fordo Says:

        lol the haters will still hate. there no lives.

      • susanbowes Says:

        Agreed. I know posting my video on Facebook won’t do any good, but I’m sick to death of listening to them gripe. And they say Anakin was a whiner! They whine more than any character in Star Wars ever did! It’s about time we started giving them back some of their own medicine.

    • Captain Fordo Says:

      IKR. Its just sad, but unfortunately the haters literally are the embodiment of no-lives.

  8. Cad Bane Says:

    I loved TPM and the Prequels as a whole, and I am very happy to say it!

    Good post by Jim by the way, I thought I was only one who noticed stuff like that, Most Prequel/Clone Wars videos on Youtube get more likes than dislikes meanwhile and hefty amounts of views too.

Leave a Reply

