Giraffe Named After Queen Amidala

This story is from March but I didn’t know anything about it until scrolling through Tumblr last night. The original article is in Spanish but the gist of it is a species of giraffe with a peculiar horn-shaped thing on its head has been named Xenokeryx amidalae, after Queen Amidala because apparently the giraffe’s horns is reminiscent of the horned headdress she wears in TPM.

Plus I’m sure the scientists involved are fans, heh heh.

Tags:

8 Responses to “Giraffe Named After Queen Amidala”

  1. Noah Evans Says:

    Wow… this is unexpected, since giraffes are one of my favorite animals, and I am sure you can tell from my visits here that I do like Star Wars.

  2. Pedro Felipe Says:

    So much for “nobody likes the Prequels”

  3. Βlade57hrc / Ira ProV Says:

    Israel Sánchez, a researcher at the National Museum of Natural Sciences , CSIC is a SW (Prequels included) fan!

    That means legendary filmaker & entrepreneur extraordinaire Simon Pegg doesn’t respect him!
    I.Sanchez will be flabbergasted to know that…

  4. lovelucas Says:

    Love the handle: La Reina Amidala. Someone gets it.

  5. zch81721 Says:

    There was an interview with Harrison Ford where the guy of course asked him the stupid Greedo question. I’m sure the guy thought he would get the answer he wanted for the clickbait headline but Harrison Ford pretty much smacked him down. “I don’t care.” And even said that was up to George. I’m sure that’s going to piss a lot of people off.

    • Stefan Kraft Says:

      Funnily enough, there are pictures of GL wearing a “Han shot first” shirt. He has taken certain aspects of SW way less seriously than some fans. (And there is probably a little troll in him 😉 )

  6. Nariel Says:

    This made me smile – thanks for brightening up my day 🙂

Leave a Reply

