Let Lucas Know You Appreciate Him


Art by Noah Evans

Fan Susan Bowes has taken it upon herself to make a video showing George Lucas there are Star Wars fans who appreciate him and his work and is asking for fellow fans to submit their own messages to include in the video. If interested, e-mail your clip to susanbowes@optonline.com. She’s already started working on it and would like to post it on YouTube and Facebook as soon as possible.

Tags:

88 Responses to “Let Lucas Know You Appreciate Him”

  1. susanbowes Says:

    Thanks for telling everyone lazypadawan. I’m extremely anxious to finish this video asap. Got into another heated argument on FB with a hater again today and I’m madder than hell. I know I shouldn’t let them get to me and that it won’t do any good at stopping haters from hating, or from making their outrageous comments, but it’ll be great posting the vid on FB so we can get our two cents in. We’ve let them get away with their snide comments for far too long! It’s time to draw that line in the sand!

    • Ξ’lade57hrc / Ira ProV Says:

      Don’t do it in a hurry.
      Make it good!

      Maybe also show how many Prequel pages/sistes have sprung out especially during this year!
      We are legions! πŸ™‚

      P.S. Interested in having foreigners like me too? πŸ˜€
      Messages in different languages should be cool.
      Now i have to think of what i could say in a single sentence, since taking a dump on a picture of Stoklasa and pissing on one of Pegg would probably be inappropriate, LOL. Suggestions welcome! lol

      • Ξ’lade57hrc / Ira ProV Says:

        BTW, i shared it on my page too.
        Hope people respond!

      • susanbowes Says:

        Any one who wants to participate in our little campaign is very welcome. Thanks for posting it on your page. Maybe if enough people get involved Mr. Lucas may hear of our video and watch it. That’s our goal anyway… to let him know just how much he’s appreciated by true SW fans!

      • susanbowes Says:

        There’s no need for us to be as bad as the haters by mentioning them by name. It won’t help our cause any. Just tell Mr. Lucas that you loved the prequels, as well as the originals. I’m sure he’ll appreciate that.

    • Yellow12 Says:

      Wonderful idea ! I’ll be honest the last interview with GL reaally made me even more dissatisfied with Disney/Lucasfilm and so on .
      But anyway enough’s been said about this topic . It’s a pity I can’t make a video myself , but I state again that I deeply respect George Lucas , his vision and works of his , like Star Wars (obviously ) , Indiana Jones , Thx 1138 etc.
      He’s of course a great human being too .

      • susanbowes Says:

        You don’t have to make a video of yourself. Just post a note here saying what you want to Mr. Lucas. I can copy and paste it and then add your message to the video.

      • Yellow12 Says:

        Well I would like to thank George Lucas for the works of his
        ( especially SW and IJ ) , say that I admire the calmness he has with the haters and that I hope he”ll enjoy making experimental films , enjoy the peace and quietness and wish the best for him .

      • susanbowes Says:

        I copied your message, but will make it out to look like it’s a personal note to George from you. Do you want me to include your real name, or that the note is just from a fan? If you don’t want your real name shown on this site, send me an email at susanbowes@optonliine.com. Make sure you say your a prequel lover in the body of your email and type “Lucas video” in the subject area because I get at least 60 emails a day and I delete most of them because they’re advertisements. I’d hate to delete your email by mistake.

      • susanbowes Says:

        P.S.
        I already rewrote your message, but I did make a few changes to it to make it sound a little better. Please read it and let me know if it’s okay to use with my changes. If you like what I wrote and want me to add it to the video, let me know. Any changes you want to make you can send them to me in an email, or post it here…

        Dear Mr. Lucas,

        I would like to thank you for your movies, especially Star Wars, all six films, as well as Indiana Jones. I admire your strength in dealing with the haters, proving you’re a much better man than any of them could ever hope to be. I hope you’ll continue making experimental films, but if not, I hope you’ll enjoy the peace and quiet that retirement brings you. I wish the best for you in all future endeavors.

        May the Force be with you,
        (your real name)

  2. Noah Evans Says:

    YOU HAVE NO IDEA MUCH I APPRECIATE YOU SHOWCASING MY ILLUSTRATION!

    Oh, and I’ll get around to making my video to send to her tomorrow.

  3. Bob Clark Says:

    What form do the clips have to take? I’m sitting on a storyboarded short I was going to animate but put aside. Depending on when you aim to release this, I could try and do it.

    • susanbowes Says:

      Anything you want to add will be appreciated. No form necessary as long as your clip is short. I’m assuming a lot of us want to say thanks to Mr. Lucas and that’s why it’s necessary to make your vid short.

      • Bob Clark Says:

        I think it’s 90 seconds.

      • susanbowes Says:

        That’s fine. I have to cut my part of the video down. I’ve got dozens of behind the scenes stills of Lucas directing the actors in every movie and all of them aren’t needed. I’ll wait to cut my video though in case only a few of us add their own recordings.

    • Stefan Kraft Says:

      An animated short would be great – I enjoyed your other ones, Bob. πŸ™‚

  4. Shamari Stewart Says:

    I will definitely try to do this! Awesome!

  5. susanbowes Says:

    The more the merrier. πŸ™‚

  6. Rebel Je'Daii (@SWForce4EU) Says:

    :O Is there a deadline! I like this idea!

  7. susanbowes Says:

    No deadline. Just don’t take forever to make a short vid. I want to post our video asap.

  8. susanbowes Says:

    To all planning to record their thanks to Mr Lucas, adding it to mine:

    No specific deadline required, but the sooner, the better. It might be a good idea to post them here instead of sending them to me because sometimes I have a problem opening attachments. I can easily save your vids if posted here. Plus everyone can see them that way. πŸ™‚

  9. cousinbasil Says:

    How could some people who would prefer not to have their faces or voices featured in this participate?

  10. Heidi Says:

    My sister and I will record our appreciation short tomorrow, and send it to your e-mail. I really appreciate you doing this for us, Susan. ❀

    • susanbowes Says:

      No thanks to me are necessary. We all want Mr. Lucas to know he’s still loved for creating Star Wars. That’s our goal and I’m glad to participate in this way. I’ve been making SW videos for a long time now and posting them on youtube. It’s about time I paid him back in some small way for all the enjoyment he gave me.

      p.s.
      I may have a problem opening your attachment so it might be better if you post your video here. I can save it and add it to mine that way. I don’t know how to post vids here myself, but lazypadawan has to know how to do it. She created this site. πŸ™‚

      • Alexander Says:

        I think he knows people like what he created in the 70s, but since 97 people have started bashing all his new stuff. Why not make a thanks for the prequels vid. It would at least mean something.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I hope you’ll join in and record your thanks to Mr. Lucas too. The more people added to the video, the more it will mean to Mr. Lucas if he ever sees it.

  11. Jacobesico Says:

    First of all, I want to thank Susan for taking up my suggestion with such vigour and enthusiasm. That really means a lot to me.

    I think she has got all the specifics nailed down perfectly. I want this video to be a thank you to George Lucas for the Star Wars saga. Both the prequels and the originals. I don’t think that the likes of Simon Prat or Disney deserve to be mentioned alongside a legend of Lucas’s status.

    I really hope that this video goes viral across many fan sites and blogs as possible. I think that this should be the first step in a much more proactive part of fandom that appreciates what George Lucas has done.

    I want George to see how his films have touched peoples live. From the Father who is thankful to Lucas because his Son would rather be a Jedi Knight then get involved in Drugs and Crime to the kids who grew up watching the saga the way it was intended to be watched.

    And of course I want to thank Lazy Padawan for making all this possible. This site has been an inspiration and has taught me that anything is possible if you put your mind to it.

    • susanbowes Says:

      Thanks Jacobesico. Your post means a lot to me too.

      Believe me, no mention of any haters will be mentioned in the vid. Only our thanks will be allowed. I also hope the video goes viral. Prequel lovers from all over the world need to see it and hopefully they’ll spread the word praising Mr. Lucas. We may even start a movement! That would be truly awesome and perhaps guarantee that Mr. Lucas will see our video some day and know that he’s still loved and appreciated. He’s earned all our respect!

      I also want to thank Lazy Padawan for making this possible too. Without this site we wouldn’t be able to have a safe haven to share our love of the prequels. I want to thank her for spreading the word about our video too. Force be with you, her, and all on this site – but most importantly… may the Force always be with George Lucas!

  12. susanbowes Says:

    To all:

    It’s been mentioned that not ever one has the means to make a video thanking Mr. Lucas. No need to do that. Just post a note here and I can copy it, later adding it to our video.

    • hansolo1138 Says:

      OK, here goes:

      Dear Mr. Lucas,

      All six of your wonderful films have inspired me like no other work of fiction has. Even though I will see the next Star Wars movie in theaters, I feel that it will miss the heart that you always
      put into your movies. I hope that you decide to continue to make movies, ignoring the critics who foolishly deem you a failure.

      Sincerely, Ezekiel G. Arndt

      P.S.: I would REALLY like for you, Spielberg, and Ford to make another Indiana Jones movie. I loved the last one, and so did many others!

    • Jeff K Stepan Says:

      This is great, Susan! I appreciate you doing this; what a cool idea.
      My message:

      To George Lucas,
      My name is Jeff Stepan. I’m a big fan of your work, but especially the Star Wars franchise. Without a doubt, it’s my favorite film series. I remember watching the Empire Strikes Back on VHS sometime around 1994. I was 8 or 9 at the time; it was my first exposure to that galaxy far, far away! Not a bad place to start.
      A few years later, I saw the Special Edition of A New Hope in the theater. That was a great experience, of course.
      During the spring and summer of 1999, I must have seen the Phantom Menace 15 or 20 times! I would then go on to see Episodes II and III in theaters on opening days.
      Oh, and it must have been February of 2000 that I rented Return of the Jedi, which I still consider my favorite of the Saga; not that I can pick one!
      I’m 30 now, and I still love the Star Wars universe as much as ever. All the films are great, and the combination of story, characters, drama, humor, adventure, excitement (heh!), and joy in the series is second to none.
      It’s been a great thing to have in my life, and I feel lucky to live in the era of Star Wars.
      I, for one, appreciate every second of this Saga. Thank you so much for sharing your vision with us all!
      May the Force be with you… always!
      -Jeff Stepan

  13. susanbowes Says:

    To Noah Evans:

    I didn’t check before my last post, but just noticed that you’re the artist who drew the painting above. I’d like to add it to our video thanking Mr. Lucas. Do I have your permission to use it? If no, I understand, but I love it and think everyone else will too – including Mr. Lucas if he does see our video. (fingers crossed!)

    • Noah Evans Says:

      I read one of the replies above before seeing this comment below… so know my answer already you may, but I’ll say it again..

      YESSSS! you have my permission, and I am delighted that you love it so much that you’d feature it in your tribute πŸ™‚

      (Also, I am going to work on my entry soon. I was going to use the picture with my other artwork, but because yousa want to showcase it, I’ll only focus on few of my other pictures as well as the merchandise I have got over the years. Again, feature The Triple-Self Portrait in your honorpiece to the man who started it all)

      • susanbowes Says:

        That’s fantastic and I thank you very much for allowing me to use your illustration in our tribute video. I’m certain that if Mr. Lucas does see our video, he’ll love your cartoon just as much as I do.
        Force be with you my friend. πŸ™‚

      • Noah Evans Says:

        This comment makes me so happy!

        (Also, are you adding music to the entire video? I am curious since I was going to add it to my portion, but I figured I’d ask beforehand)

      • susanbowes Says:

        Yes, I’m using the standard theme from the beginning of every SW movie in my vid, but it’s going to be in the tribute area along with behind-the-scenes pics of Lucas directing the films. You can add music to your vid if you want. Just remember that your vid will have to be short because others are adding recordings too.

      • Noah Evans Says:

        Alright

        Here is my entry https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C8n95NfZLR8&feature=youtu.be (It is only a minute, but if you need to cut it down, that’s fine)

      • susanbowes Says:

        I absolutely loved your vid Noah. Loved the music you added too, and I loved the feeling I got from listening to you praise Mr. Lucas. I’m certain if he ever sees your video, he’ll love it too. Very good job! πŸ™‚

        I’ll add your vid to mine as soon a possible. Thanks so much for participating. Force be with you.

        P.S.
        Loved your Jar Jar impersonation too. If I closed my eyes I’d swear it was really Jar Jar speaking. LOL

      • Jacobesico Says:

        That was brilliant, Noah! I loved your Jar Jar impression and your Jar Jar hat is very cool.

        Your artwork is very good as well.

      • Noah Evans Says:

        I’m blushing on the inside…..

  14. Pedro Felipe Says:

    Hello, I love the prequels and I honestly think they are great movies. I wonder if this great initiative had something to do with George’s recent interviews with Vanity Fair and Charlie Rose (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V-PdhARgL0c). It really broke my heart to see that interview. I live in Brazil and grew up watching the prequels, I thought they were amazing. I grew up reenacting the duel on Mustafar and the prequels were just as much Star Wars to me as the Original trilogy, even superior to it at some aspects(Like John WIllians Score). I can testify to how many people love those movies and I knew nothing of the hate that spread of the fan community. When I grew up, I have become a very interested in the film industry and a filmmaker myself. I have re-watched the prequels and found them to be awesome, seeing things in the plot I couldn’t before (e.g Palpatine’s manipulation of the senate and the trade federation), I tried to analyse every criticism, but most were simply shallow and many didn’t make sense and were outright full of prejudice (e.g
    “The Phantom menace has politics, politics is boring”, “The Phantom Menace only had sets as tall as the actors heads”, like this wasn’t a lot of real sets and real props, like it was bad. “The dual of Mustafar is too choreographed”, like it wasn’t awesome and fit for a fight between master and apprentice who knew each other’s moves)

    It was only recently that I have discovered the massive proportion of the prequel hater movement. Their violent blows and insults really hurt my childhood. For christ sake, around 4/5 of every article about The Force Awakens bashes the prequels in some way. It’s like I am reading something and then: “unlike the mediocre prequels” or “Hell, if you like the prequels”. And not some nerdy sites or blogs, these insults are found at major newsites. People hating George Lucas and rejoicing about the fact that he is not involved in The Force Awakens!!!

    I think what’s happening here is that most people do like the prequels, in fact the reviews of the prequels have been superior to those of the original trilogy. The number of people I know who like the prequels far outweighs those who don’t(let alone those who hate them). It comforts my heart that after reading major publications bashing the prequels I can go to a toy store and find a boy who thinks the Greatest Star Wars movie ever is Revenge of The Sith.
    I think that what’s happening here is that the most vocal fans are those who spend their whole time on the internet complaining about things as if they could do better and it is those who have steadily formed the perception that everyone hates the prequels.

    Sorry about the lengthy comment

  15. Pedro Felipe Says:

    Hello, I love the prequels and I honestly think they are great movies. I wonder if this great initiative had something to do with George’s recent interviews with Vanity Fair and Charlie Rose (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V-PdhARgL0c). It really broke my heart to see that interview. I live in Brazil and grew up watching the prequels, I thought they were amazing. I grew up reenacting the duel on Mustafar and the prequels were just as much Star Wars to me as the Original trilogy, even superior to it at some aspects(Like John WIllians’ Score). I can testify to how many people love those movies and I knew nothing of the hate that spread of the fan community. When I grew up, I have become a very interested in the film industry and a filmmaker myself. I have re-watched the prequels and found them to be awesome, seeing things in the plot I couldn’t before (e.g Palpatine’s manipulation of the senate and the trade federation), I tried to analyse every criticism, but most were simply shallow and many didn’t make sense and were outright full of prejudice (e.g
    “The Phantom menace has politics, politics is boring”, “The Phantom Menace only had sets as tall as the actors heads”, like this wasn’t a lot of real sets and real props, like it was bad. “The dual of Mustafar is too choreographed”, like it wasn’t awesome and well fit for a fight between master and apprentice who knew each other’s moves.)

    It was only recently that I have discovered the massive proportion of the prequel hater movement. Their violent blows and insults really hurt my childhood. For christ sake, around 4/5 of every article about The Force Awakens bashes the prequels in some way. It’s like I am reading something and then: “unlike the mediocre prequels” or “Hell, there are actually people who like the prequels”. We are treated as a very small minority. And this isn’t in some geeky sites or blogs, these insults are found at major newsies witch shall not be mentioned but I bet you have come across them yourselves. People hating George Lucas, saying he is a terrible writer and director and rejoicing about the fact that he is not involved in The Force Awakens!!!

    I think what’s happening here is that most people do like the prequels, in fact the reviews of the prequels have been superior to those of the original trilogy. The number of people I know who like the prequels far outweighs those who don’t(let alone those who hate them). It comforts my heart that after reading major publications bashing the prequels I can go to a toy store and find a boy who thinks the Greatest Star Wars movie ever is Revenge of The Sith.
    I think that what’s happening here is that the most vocal fans are those who spend their whole time on the internet complaining about things as if they could do better and it is those who have steadily formed the perception that everyone hates the prequels.

    Sorry about the lengthy comment, and have lots of things to say, including fears for The Force Awakens, but it would be off topic. I surely will be sending a video along with all my family, (who all just happen to love the prequels even though major media outlets portray then as disastrous). May the force be with you.

    • susanbowes Says:

      I, like you, loved the prequels and find Revenge to be the best among the saga. WoW… finally leaning how and why Anakin turned to the Dark Side! It was magnificent!

      I share a sadness beyond description that Mr. Lucas won’t be involved in any more SW movies. None will ever match the greatness of his saga. It’s as if we’re saying goodbye to a close, personal friend who’s fading away into the Netherworld, just like Yoda did. Hopefully Mr. Lucas will be able to breach the barrier of the Netherworld and continue to teach us the ways of the Jedi.

  16. Pedro Felipe Says:

    Hello, I love the prequels and I honestly think they are great movies. I wonder if this great initiative had something to do with George’s recent interviews with Vanity Fair and Charlie Rose (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V-PdhARgL0c).

  17. Pedro Felipe Says:

    (READ WITH JAR JAR BINKS VOICE) Messa thought mi comments had not arrived so missa reposted it. Sorry, it was an accident.

  18. Gina Says:

    Dear Mr. Lucas,

    Thank you for igniting my interest in mythology. This led me to more authors and at least one college course–with my paper on the Hero’s Journey of Anakin Skywalker no less. Please continue to share your insights at festivals, panels, and in interviews but above all enjoy retirement!


    I’ll try and check back here if you’d also like a clip of some kind.

  19. Shaman McLamie Says:

    Hi Susan I was wondering when is the deadline to submit content for the George Lucas Appreciation video?

    • susanbowes Says:

      There’s no definite deadline. I’m going to post the vid on youtube as soon as I can, but “when” depends on how many people want to join in on this project.

      (I received your email already. I sent you an email asking you a question about it. Nothing major.)

      • Shaman McLamie Says:

        I never sent you an Email?

      • susanbowes Says:

        I did receive your message to Mr. Lucas, but I haven’t added it to the video yet because I don’t know if you want to include your last name to it. I sent you an email regarding the matter. Did you receive it yet? Also, the note is supposed to be a personal message to GL and I wanted to ask you if you want me to change yours in order to make it sound more personal?

      • Shaman McLamie Says:

        I never sent you an email, or anything to be added to the tribute to George Lucas. I’m waiting for something in the mail before I make my tribue. Probably won’t be till December 3rd till I have a video to email.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I received your email today with your reedit of you message. Do you want me to add your last name to it?

        About a vid of your own – just try to get it to me by the second week in Dec. I want to post our vid around Christmas time and, depending on how many people participate, it will take me a quite a while to finish the video.

  20. Ernesto Jose Says:

    You have no idea how many fans love and appreciate the depth and detail of the prequels exactly like they are. We are willing to defend them always from those who think its a fact that they are bad when art is relative and that’s why we genuinely feel jar jar is a great charachter and as much a part of our childhood as Luke

  21. susanbowes Says:

    TO ALL:

    I’ve had a few people ask me if there’s a deadline for our Lucas video. Since I have no idea how many of you are going to participate, I can’t give a definite deadline. However, because it will take time to edit the video, I suggest that you send your messages and/or notes to me by the middle of Dec. I’d like to post the video on youtube before the end of the year – kind of like a Christmas present for Mr. Lucas.

  22. susanbowes Says:

    To Gina:

    Do you plan to include your last name on your message? If so, I have to know what your last name is before posting your note to the Lucas video. I have to save notes from everyone in my Words program first. Then I have to type messages on a blank frame using my paint program. After doing that I can add the message to the Lucas vid.

    Please let me know whether you want your last name included or not. You can post your last name here. If you don’t want anyone to see it – send your full name to me in an email.

  23. Todd Says:

    I have enjoyed all that is George Lucas from the time I was a little boy. The man has such a gift of imagination and story telling. I was so saddened when I read Disney was not using George’s story outline for the next Star Wars movies. I felt this decision was an insult to the true fans of George, and George himself. My interest has dwindling knowing the story 8s not George’s vision. I’ll always miss what could of been. Thanks for the great stories, George! May the force be with you, always.

    • susanbowes Says:

      Todd:
      Do you want your comment to be your contribution to our appreciation video to Mr. Lucas? If so, it’s supposed to be written as if you’re talking to him personally. If that wasn’t your reason for posting the comment, that’s fine, but we’re trying to get as many people as possible to add messages and/or videos to our video telling Mr. Lucas how much we liked ALL of his SW movies, and to thank him for creating his saga. He may never see our video, but you never know. It’s possible it could go viral and if that happens there’s a good chance he will see it. Fingers crossed. πŸ™‚

      BTW… you wrote “knowing the story 8s not George’s….” Was this a typo? If you meant The Force Awakens, it’s episode 7, not 8’s. πŸ™‚

  24. Jorge Gambino Says:

    I LOVE THE PREQUELS!!!!!

    • susanbowes Says:

      If you’d like to participate in our project you can send a message to Mr. Lucas, attaching it to an email to me at – susanbowes@optonline.com – and I’ll add it to our video. It doesn’t have to say much. Just that you love the prequels and that you appreciate Mr. Lucas for creating Star Wars. It can be either a written message or a short video. The more people that participate, the more of a chance we have of Mr. Lucas seeing it. I’m hoping our vid will go viral. If so, he might just see that he’s still got millions of fans who love the whole saga, from episode 1 to episode 6. I think he deserves at least that for all he’s given us – our thanks.

  25. roxam91 Says:

    Dear George Lucas,

    Huge admirer here. Just wanted to say how much I appreciated your Star Wars films. Not just IV, V, VI, but also I, II, & III. Especially III. Your work has inspired me a lot, and gave me great memories. Many of those involved talking about nothing but Star Wars with a friend of mine who was introduced to Star Wars after dragging him to ROTS. It was his first Star Wars movie and he truly loved it. Sadly though, my friend passed away almost 5 years ago. But I just wanted you to know that he and wee huge admirers of your work. Thank you for everything, and MTFBWY.

    P.S. I also happen to love Jar Jar. For real. Never understood the hatred for him, never will.

  26. Steven F Says:

    I always found that the prequels were Lucas’ true vision of what he wanted Star Wars to always be. Huge epic battles, large amount of planets and tons of jedi fighting. I know that they are supposed to be one story but you can tell he was happy to finally be able to see his true visions come to life and not be hindered by what can’t be done. I think when the new film comes out, and is hated, the fans will finally appreciate what Lucas accomplished with the Prequels

  27. susanbowes Says:

    To Jeff Stepan:
    I may have to shorten your message a bit, but I’ll post the changes here so you can either okay them or disapprove. Whether I omit anything or not depends on how many people participate in our Lucas appreciation project. Force be with you.

  28. susanbowes Says:

    To Heidi and her sister:
    I may have to shorten your written message to Mr. Lucas because it might make the our appreciation video too long. Would you rather I just add you live video instead, or do you still want both written and live messages in our video? I wouldn’t omit anything, but I’m not sure how many people are going to participate. I spread the word on Facebook today and a lot of prequel lovers there want to send messages to Mr. Lucas too. That at least is a good sign that we’ll get even more people thanking him for Star Wars. πŸ™‚ Anyway, please send me an email and let me know what you want to do about your message to Mr. Lucas and thanks again for participating. Force be with you. πŸ™‚

    Sue B. (aka:Forcechild)

  29. susanbowes Says:

    To all:
    This is the link for a sample video for our Lucas project. Video isn’t ready to post to youtube or Facebook yet. More vids to add, but I wanted you all to get a preview and also get your opinion of it so far.

    http://vk.com/video251265273_171370542

Leave a Reply

