Then And Now: Character Posters

Yesterday TFA character posters featuring Han, Leia, Finn, Kylo Ren, and Rey were released on the internet. As an especially nice touch, their actors with social media accounts got to release their character posters on Twitter, Facebook, etc. first. The whereabouts of Luke, Chewbacca, Poe, Phasma, and BB-8 are unknown…perhaps the film will reveal Luke is all of those characters in disguise! Like at the end of Scooby Doo or Styx’s “Mr. Roboto” video (“I’m Kilroy!”).

It’s not the first time these kinds of posters or ads have been produced. A couple of sites posted these oldies from the TPM campaign based around “one,” i.e. “one love” or “one destiny” since it was “Episode I.”

For AOTC, similar posters were released:

star-wars-episode-ii-attack-of-the-clones-anakin-skywalker

star-wars-episode-ii-attack-of-the-clones-count-dooku

star-wars-episode-ii-attack-of-the-clones-padmc3a9-amidala

Tags: , ,

28 Responses to “Then And Now: Character Posters”

  1. Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

    Funny thing about Clones – they’re associated with Dooku in the posters, hiding the fact that they fight WITH the Jedi. I love that playing with expectations.

  2. Shamari Stewart Says:

    Very cool, I might have to get that AOTC Anakin poster..

  3. susanbowes Says:

    From the trailers I’ve seen about TFA the opening scene with the figure dressed in white – his face hidden under the cloth – I think that is Luke. I’m probably wrong, but that’s my thoughts on the subject.

  4. susanbowes Says:

    Shamari Stewart:
    I love that poster too and have it saved in my picture files on my computer.

  5. bansheegun Says:

    Any idea why ROTS didn’t have any?

    Natalie looks great in her AOTC poster.

  6. jarjarbacktattooguy Says:

    I think these were all the bus stop-sized posters.

    Were the AOTC ones released in the States? These were so beautiful.

    So, did they want us to think the Clones were the bad guys or that Dooku was a good guy? Maybe it was a subtle reference to how they were all bad because they were being controlled by the master of puppets, Palpatine.

    Maybe they wanted us to think the Count was actually TFA-era Luke, who had time traveled back to the Prequel era on behalf of the hateboys, to stop the prequels from “sucking”.

    And yes, TFA will have the Scooby-Doo ending. JJ has seen Wayne’s World too many times, while high.

  7. roxam91 Says:

    The image links for the TPM posters appear to be broken…

  8. Jacobesico Says:

    I love the tome poems from Episode 1.

    Shmi Skywalker’s has to be my favourite. “Don’t look back before you go.” But I love Queen Amidala’s as well. “There are things that I can’t do but there are certainly things I will do.”

    I also love when she says “I cannot judge those who are different” It focuses on Jar Jar and the Gungans.

    But they don’t make posters like they used to.

  9. Heidi Says:

    Oooh I love the TPM ones. I haven’t seen those before, I’ll have to post them sometime.

  10. Jonathan Says:

    Can anybody tell me how BB-8 functions? His head being disconnected from his orb-shaped body, how does it stay “together”? Miniaturized repulsorlift technology?

Leave a Reply

