Jedi Lounge Interview With SW Prequel Fan Page

Jedi Lounge interviewed Andy of Star Wars: The Prequel Trilogy on Facebook. Read in amazement at someone unapologetic about supporting the prequels for a change!

Tags: ,

71 Responses to “Jedi Lounge Interview With SW Prequel Fan Page”

  1. susanbowes Says:

    A very interesting article and I agree with everything that Andy said. He feels the same way I do about the prequels – that they were extremely important to the whole saga. I’m very glad there are still some people who aren’t afraid to say they loved the prequels as much as I did.

    • John Kramer Says:

      I just want to ask something. I just saw on this site something about Twilight. I hate Twilight, it’s only for teenagers.
      I fear that people on this site love Twilight. Because if that’s true, I don’t think I can love the PT anymore. How can I join the teenagers? That’s shame.
      I love the prequels, but if prequel fans also love Twilight, I fear that I must join the PT haters.

      • Hunk a Junk Says:

        Wow, there’s a lot to unpack in that statement. From my certain point of view, I’d say PT fans in general are better about not drawing lines in the sand. I think we acknowledge that fans should be permitted to like what they like without some internet troll or bully belittling them for their subjective tastes. I don’t like country music, but I spend zero time complaining about those who do. The same goes for Twilight. It’s not my thing, but I know plenty of people who love it and, hey, more power to them. If it brings them happiness, and it’s not harming me, why should I care? And that’s how I look at Star Wars. I liked the PT. I see great value in those stories and think they add to the saga as a whole. I’m totally fine with some people not liking them or liking the OT more. Where I take issue, and I think most here would agree, is in the constant attacks — many of them hypocritical — against the PT by trolls, bullies and hateboys who get their jollies from telling other people what they should and shouldn’t like. So I wouldn’t worry whether people here like or dislike Twilight because it really has nothing to do with the PT except in how some fans feel they need to police what other people enjoy.

        Bottom line, if you enjoy the PT — THEN ENJOY IT! The rest is just noise.

      • susanbowes Says:

        Well said Hunk a Junk! I agree with you 100%. Nobody has the right to try to control anyone’s thoughts about a movie, or any other subject. That’s how Nazi Germany came to power after all, and I’m positive none of want a dictator controlling us in any way.

      • John Kramer Says:

        Well, Twilight hurt me. It’s true. I always fear the teenagers, so I never enjoy watching any movie which have teenagers saying their voice. While I love what the Joker said, don’t need the rule, but when I love a movie, then my rule is it must have 3 things: good villain and hero, great battles and mostly, classic, meaning, old people and kids love it. I never watch any movie for teenagers, because to me, teenagers are a bunch of stupid people who don’t remember their time as kids and also have no respect for old people.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        There are stupid teenagers but not all teens are stupid. Some also read this site and you’ve just insulted them.

        From Rules of the House:

        3. Commenters must be polite and civil.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I wholeheartedly agree! Not all teens are simple minded, and even if true, they still have a right to voice their opinions. Who has the right to judge them, or anyone?

      • lazypadawan Says:

        Seriously? This site is not about telling people what they can and cannot like outside of Star Wars.

      • darth66zannah Says:

        “Get out of here…you dirty old troll…” – Hellboy 2

      • Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

        Definitely a troll. And not the good kind. Lack of cohesiveness is a dead giveaway.

        For anyone reading who may have serious qualms one way or another, Hunk-of-Junk said it best. There are things about Twilight that offend me on a deep level for various reasons, but after going through I-III hate constantly I outright refuse to ruin the good time of someone who finds something meaningful in any piece of art regardless of my personal feelings about it – as long as it’s not being used as an excuse to hurt others of course.

        And when 99% of us get up in arms and defend I-III almost as rabidly as the haters tear it down, we’re not demanding that anyone like it. We just want it to be shown the proper respect. We want the hypocrisy and bullying to stop, and for mainstream geekdom to take the time to understand these films before passing judgement either way.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I agree with you (and Hunk-of-Junk) about us wanting people who didn’t like the prequels to at least respect them, as well as any movie and/or thought anyone has on any subject. We’re “all” entitled to our own opinions and deserve the same respect due anyone, or any matter whether we agree with them or not.

      • lisse Says:

        What? There are a lot of problematic things about Twilight’s messages but it has nothing to do with it being aimed at teenage (girls lbr). And, I find it troubling and indicative that so many people go so hard against things that fangirls/teen girls are into. In fact, there are articles written about the vitriol against media aimed and loved by teen girls . I literally have no idea what you’re trying to say here, John Kramer, because it makes no sense to me. Are you shaming teenagers? Teen girls? Twilight? If there are some fans who like Twilight and the PT, how on earth does that affect you?

      • jarjarbacktattooguy Says:

        Teeny bopper-Padme and moppet-Ani were two of my favorites from the PT because they were so young, they therefore offered a fesh new perspective on the Star Wars universe and story.

        They were both innocents, not super powered Jedi or brilliant politicians. They were like we all were once.

        If you just keep making everyone the same age, over and over, it gets boring. I think Rey and Finn are too close to the ages of Luke and Leia in the OT, as well as Anakin and Padme in II and III.

        But JJ is just a typical Hollywood trained monkey who can throw paint against a canvass, but not think for himself. Apparently.

      • susanbowes Says:

        As far as Twilight goes, I can remember reading an article that the stars of Twilight were considered for the lead roles in Jumper, (which Hayden Christensen aka: Anakin starred in) but the producers decided to go for older actors.This doesn’t really have anything to do with the prequels, but I thought it an interesting subject to bring up seeing as we’re talking about teenagers.

      • roxam91 Says:

        Late jumping into this discussion…

        First of all, so what if there are people who like Twilight? I despise Twilight, but I will defend the right of those who love it because every person has a right to like or not like whatever work of fiction exists.

        And why are you generalizing that all teenagers like Twilight? I was a teenager when the first two movies came out, and I hated them (and I still do). My sister, a teenager, doesn’t even care for them one bit.

        And what if there are people who love Twilight and the OT but hate the PT? I suppose you’ll start bashing the OT then?

        And funny that Twilight should be brought up, as Chris Weitz, director of The Twilight Saga: New Moon, hates TPM (at least those were his thoughts during 2011. Who knows if he changed his mind or learned to accept it?).

      • susanbowes Says:

        I can understand not liking Twilight myself. The story is kind of a stupid twist as to why vampires can’t go out during the day. I prefer the standard reason – that they’d burn to a crisp if caught in the sun. I don’t like the movies either. However, I did like the first book and I’m far from a teenager. I agree with you that everyone deserves a right to their own opinion and I will defend that right with my last breath. No one has the right to force anyone to their own way of thinking.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I feel sorry for you if that’s the way you feel about Twilight and teens. From your comment, it appears you’re a very small minded person. I only hope you’ll learn from the replies to your extremely biased opinion, but even if not – I still defend your right to voice your opinion.

  2. lisse Says:

    Great article! I am enjoying that there are people coming out of the woodwork to support the PT.

  3. jarjarbacktattooguy Says:

    I’m not allowed to hang around the teens anymore, but if I was, I wouldn’t hang around the Twilight teens because they have fangs and bite people. Jarjarbacktattooguy isn’t into the freaky goth stuff.

    I would hang around Jem and the Holograms though. Those chicks can rock out with the greatest musical instrument of the 1980s…the keytar! They have funky fresh orange and pink hair, and are truly, truly outrageous!

    The Jem teens do not have the starship-fixing capabilities of an astromech droid, but the do have the totally rad, holograph-projecting droid, Synergy!

    Jem owns all the emo-dystopian teens in movies today. She doesn’t slay people with fangs or a bow and arrow, she slays with the power of (light) rock! That’s her force, her mind over matter!

    It’s showtime, Synergy!

  4. Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

    Good interview. I just wish there wasn’t so many spelling errors (I.e. “biast” where it should say “biased”).

  5. piccolojr1138 Says:

    In a new WSJ’s article (full of horseshit), it should be noted that Lucasfilm stands for the prequels… for once.

    “Lucasfilm says the big box-office numbers of the prequels prove their popularity and that, according to the company’s research, “among the general population, the world loves both Star Wars trilogies equally.””

    And the last paragraph proves again that the nutcases are on the other side

    “Mr. Giunta is hopeful. “I think it’s gonna be good,” he said. “But I thought ‘Phantom Menace’ was going to be good. I thought ‘Attack of the Clones’ was going to be good. I thought ‘Revenge of the Sith’ was going to be good. I don’t learn, obviously. My son is nine now. He’s at the perfect age. And I have not let him watch the prequels. I want to make sure he’s old enough to hate them. Which is sad. Because maybe he would like them.””

    (Maybe you should be stronger than me and not click. It’s full prequel bashing).

    http://www.wsj.com/articles/fans-love-hate-relationship-with-the-star-wars-franchise-1446662135

    • roxam91 Says:

      I really hate it when idiot bashers don’t let their children watch the prequels just because they don’t like them. Even if I end up hating the ST, I wouldn’t dare ban my children from watching them.

      It’s times like these when I am actually glad my parents never cared for Star Wars at all, and yet still supported my love for the films.

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        There is one “funny” thing with the decision of some parents not to let their children watch the PT: it even goes against the message of their beloved OT. In EP VI, Luke decides to do what he must do: risk everything to bring his father back. He may understand why his father figures Obi-Wan and Yoda warn him, but his decision is different. In the end, it is Luke who decides – and I think this is what makes him a real adult. (And I think Anakin could also have achieved this in the PT if Qui-Gon had survived and had become his mentor.)

      • susanbowes Says:

        I totally agree that if Qui-Gon was Anakin’s master, he would’ve never turned to Palpatine as a father figure and would’ve never turned to the Dark Side.

      • Jim Raynor Says:

        Exactly, Stefan. The whole point of the SW saga is to overcome the mistakes of the previous generation, to take their actual good lessons and forge your own path in life. Once again the haters miss the point behind the very movies they venerate and claim to know better than George Lucas does.

      • susanbowes Says:

        You’re absolutely right Jim.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        What the hell? You’re on moderation from now on.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      What a biased piece of s***. I’m going to send a few nasty grams to the Wall Street Journal on Twitter. Bet they won’t answer.

    • Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

      I wrote an open comment to this kind of thinking on my blog.

    • Hunk a Junk Says:

      Wait, so Lucasfilm says they have research that shows objectively that the PT is equally admired by the general public as the OT? They KNOW this — they have data — and yet they’ve embarked on their “practical effects” (cough-cough “We hate the prequels too”) marketing campaign for TFA? So instead of taking pride in their company’s product and the work of the company’s founder, they deliberately set out to sh** on it to, what, please the most despicable loudmouth hate-mongers on the Internet???? They could instead, I dunno, show people the research numbers or talk about how their new film fits into the entire saga story. They could flipping DEFEND their fans who, by their own admission, are equally as numerous as those who like the OT!!!! Instead, for whatever reason, they’ve decided as a company, “Screw the research! Screw reality! We REALLY want those Internet bullies to like us and our new movies! Please, please, like us! Hey, we totally agree the PT movies were made the WRONG way! We’re making the new movie the RIGHT way — not the way George, I mean ‘he whose name shall not be on our poster’, made his movies. Nope. We don’t like them either.” Seriously?

      There’s been a lot of talk recently about online bullying and harassment, especially in the gaming community. Clearly, CLEARLY there has been pervasive bullying going on in the Star Wars fan community. Lucasfilm must know this. They have people like Andi Gutierrez who monitor social media. They COULD make a case for the PT. They COULD show their research. They COULD, I dunno, support an anti-bullying campaign as part of their charity efforts (alongside Force for Change). They COULD not dog-whistle their admission that they don’t like the PT either. They COULD allow all the artists who built practical sets and models on the PT speak up about their hard work and effort. So why don’t they? At what point does Lucasfilm stand up to the bullies instead of cower before them?

      • Jim Raynor Says:

        Hunk a Junk, of course they have the data. I have it too – anyone with Google has access to this information. Just run a search on Gallup’s audience polling on TPM from 1999, or the Prequels’ CinemaScore polling grades. The fact that the Prequels have spun off a successful animated series with an audience of millions, and continue to sell merchandise more than a decade after their theatrical runs, should tell people something.

        It’s just lost in the internet geek echo chamber, where the same pool of disgruntled fanboys will keep repeating their gripes about the movies till the end of time. Most people, whether they liked the movies or not, tend to move on and stop talking about ten to sixteen year old movies. These guys just can’t.

        Disney knows this, but it also knows that children, supportive fans, and the casual mainstream audience won’t raise a stink about how things will in the upcoming movies. Average people have no opinion at all about “practical effects” because it’s a total non-issue for them. So there’s no need to reach out to this larger, happier, and far more well-adjusted demographic. They’re onboard no matter what.

        All that “practical effects” messaging is part of a strategy to keep the fanboy haters from exercising their outsized voice in the geek media. It’s about avoiding bad press, whether that bad press is valid or not.

      • Hunk a Junk Says:

        I agree, Jim. My rant was rhetorical. It’s painfully obvious what they’re doing. I’ve been saying this since Disney announced it was making Episode VII: it’s going to be a hateboy OT-loving cinegasm to get disgruntled hateboys back on board the franchise. Disney needs Avengers-sized box office to justify their 4 billion dollar investment to stockholders. So Lucasfilm has clearly made the calculation that throwing PT fans and George Lucas under the bus is worth it to get the Simon Pegg army to say nice things about their movie. It’s just galling that Lucasfilm ADMITS they know the PT is equally popular but is still whoring to the Internet bullies.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        For that matter, why doesn’t the licensing show that?

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        “All that ‘practical effects’ messaging is part of a strategy to keep the fanboy haters from exercising their outsized voice in the geek media. It’s about avoiding bad press, whether that bad press is valid or not.”

        piccolo1138 has recently written a commentary on a french fan site that stated the same. If (some parts of) geek media promote your movie even more if you implicitly say what they want to hear (“It’s done the old, real way *wink wink*”), then why not take advantage of it?
        What bugs me is that the average reader may believe the (probably wrong) generalizations like “All SW fans have been disappointed by GL”.

    • PrinceOfNaboo Says:

      Most haters like this one don’t even realize how pathetic / insecure they sound and I’m still surprised that anyone would be willing to publish something like that to support their side without being embarrassed.

      I think it’s definitely fear. Fear that their kids would like and enjoy the Prequels as most people do who watch them unbiased, proven by numerous polls and surveys. They’re quite enjoyable, actually.

    • maychild Says:

      What a petty, spiteful asshole. He won’t “let” his son watch the prequels, because he didn’t like them? Newsflash, jerkface: putting up with your kids’ entertainment is part of being a parent. My mother surely disliked, if not hated, much of what I liked to watch/listen to when I was a kid, but unless it wasn’t appropriate for my age, she didn’t prevent me from watching/listening to it.

      And the sick thing is that this guy’s attitude is being presented as reasonable and normal, and we’re supposed to nod along with him. Just like that freak who got a tattoo (!!) of Darth Vader holding Lucas’s severed head. No, that wasn’t bizarre and extreme, it was totally reasonable!

    • Bob Clark Says:

      Jesus. That’s just bad parenting. Forget about Prequel fandom or not here, but forbidding your kid to see movie because you don’t like it? Younger parents may not be as religious or conservative, but apparently they can be just as strict and ideological.

    • Mike Jones Says:

      The Rotten Tomatoes scores that were posted are outright lies (both for the PT and the OT).

      It’s most likely that the author didn’t even bother to do research and instead made them up to fit their agenda (not hard at all to look them up in RT or on Wikipedia).

      As for this comment:

      “All six ‘Star Wars’ films did well at the box office but the percentage of ticket sales after opening weekend was lower for the “prequels” than the original trilogy.”

      There’s a perfectly good explanation for it:

      1) Back in the days of when the OT was released in theaters, there weren’t a lot of theaters around as there were during the release of the PT movies. Therefore, those movies could not be shown to as many people on opening weekend due to seating limitations so for those that couldn’t see it right away, they had to wait till the following weekend whereas during the PT, movie theaters had an abundant amount of seats so a lot of people got their fill within the first couple of weekends.

      2) With ticket prices being much higher from 1999-2005 compared to 1977-1983, it’s hard to go to the movie theaters every weekend and not blow your budget.

      3) The media world was much different back then. There was no internet around and marketing was more subdued then than now so a lot of people hearing about a new Star Wars film were dependent on word of mouth.

      It should be noted that the PT had long theatrical runs as well (at least till October of the respective year that they came out in; till February of the following year in TPM’s case).

      4) Home media was virtually non-existent back in those days so the movies stayed in theaters much longer so that people could get a repeat viewing in a few months after premiering since folks did not have the convenience of watching the OT movies from the comfort of their home.

      5) Youth in the more recent years have shorter attention spans and aren’t exactly too keen on treating a film as a miracle form God no matter how good it is.

      Overall, this article is full of crap and deception that fully panders to the haters. It makes a bunch of erroneous claims due to a few interviews with haters who were butthurt because the PT did not end up being the films they made up in their minds.

      • Mike Jones Says:

        To add to my 5th bullet point:

        SW isn’t something totally new anymore. It’s not like in 1977 where SW was the only thing like it and was so new and refreshing. Nowadays, look at how many effects-heavy, big-budget blockbusters there are in theaters. A wide variety of them and youth are generally attracted to all of them – not just one – no matter what the genre and the subject matter is.

        People expect for each new SW movie to spark some sort of cultural movement every time but it’s not happening. Yeah, sure the films will be entertaining but people shouldn’t expect for the same types of cultural movements that occurred in 1977, 1980 and 1983 as the OT was the only type of blockbuster that occurred back in those years.

      • Jim Raynor Says:

        Excellent points, Mike Jones.

        The theatrical environment back then was vastly different compared to the one today. Back then, movie studios didn’t care about opening big because the audience kept trickling in over weeks and months. In contrast, these days it’s all about opening weekend. If a blockbuster tentpole doesn’t open as a strong #1 (or at worst a very strong #2 on an extremely competitive weekend), it’s most likely doomed.

        The environments very different even from 1999, and between 1999 and 2002. The Phantom Menace actually didn’t open very big by today’s standards, and accumulated its massive box office over an extremely leggy run. Only 35% of TPM’s total box office came on its first weekend.

        AOTC and ROTS didn’t have the same legs, but then again almost no big movie since then has shown the same endurance. Nowadays, if a big movie “only” drops 50% between its first and second weekends, that is a GREAT hold. A second week drop in the high 50s to the mid 60s is far more typical.

        If the Star Wars Prequels had bad drops compared to the Original Trilogy, then so do the Marvel films and everything else.

        For this entertainment writer not to take these facts into account shows a lack of knowledge and impartiality.

        It should also be pointed out that the geek favorite, The Empire Strikes Back, as well as Return of the Jedi, didn’t perform as well as the first Star Wars. Maybe the novelty was gone by then. Maybe people were put off by TESB’s inconclusive ending (anecdotally, regular people seem far less enamored by the movie than the geeks are). I don’t know. But do you think this writer took that into account while pushing his anti-Prequel narrative?

        Goes to show the level of qualifications, or lack thereof, needed to write for entertainment journalism and the geek media. Anyone with an opinion can just publish whatever they want and hold it above others as if it’s the truth.

      • Kim Says:

        Even between TPM and AOTC, there was a massive change with regard to DVD availability. The TPM dvd didn’t come out until 2001, while the AOTC dvd was announced for November release soon after its May release in theaters. Also, there was the “Spiderman” effect with AOTC. Didn’t mean people didn’t like AOTC, but “Spiderman” had a huge pent-up demand since it was the first Spidey film. I remember going to see it during Celebration II in Indy and there were a lot of other Star Wars fans doing the same.

  6. Dawn Says:

    I have friends who’ve uttered much the same sentiments, e.g. that they “won’t let” their kids watch the PT, or they’ll even go so far as to try deliberately steering people away from them when, say, they spot a fellow customer in a shop checkin’ out the movies, or some such….they’ve resorted to tactics like this and I no longer shy away from speaking my mind – and I am *not* diplomatic about it – I don’t hold my tongue in calling them out for this hypocritical, prejudicial, rankly hateful and insulting BS. It is *maddening*, though honestly, part of me rather fiercely and desperately hopes that these kids promptly go out and dl a copy of the PT, grab it someplace, and watch it all on their own….and then end up *loving* it and preferring it. I would never laugh louder, that’s for true….!

    • andywylde77 Says:

      Yeah nothing irritates me more then when a parent(s) say the old ” I won’t let my kids watch the PT hurr hurr” garbage. I don’t think these people really understand or realize how ignorant and disgusting they sound?

      Oh yeah great job there “mature parental figures” Deprive your children some great entertainment because “we don’t like those films” I feel really bad for any child that has to grow up with parents that exhibit that level of ignorant behavior.

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        After half an hour, I realize that my comment is unfair. I am sorry.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I disagree Stefan. I think your comment was right on the mark.

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        LP, please delete it if possible.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        I didn’t see anything wrong with it, but okay…

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        Thanks for removing the comment, LP. On second thought, I realized that I may find it a bit exaggerated how some parents introduce their children to SW (planning it accurately, including which snacks to serve etc.), but if they want to do it like that, who am I to judge?

        However, something I find really dumb (and which I have not mentioned) are the parents that want to influence their children (really hard) what to think about the OT, the prequels or whatever. Saying as a parent that TPM is not your cup of tea (and why) is one thing. But introducing TPM to your child by a long explanation why it disapponted you and then being proud that your child did not like it either – this is just dumb. (I have read something like that on Amazon some years ago. Is this really one life goal? Influence your child in such a way that it does not like some part of pop culture?)

  7. Jim Raynor Says:

    Prequel basher parenting is one of the lamest things I’ve ever heard of, and more evidence that the haters take it too far.

    It’s one thing to keep a kid from certain media because it’s too scary, inappropriate, and possibly harmful for them to see it at a young age. It’s quite another to keep them from a movie because you personally don’t like it.

    This is like the hateful inverse of those Trekkies and hardcore Star Wars fans drowning their kids in fanboy life.

    A lot of people, especially geeks, grew up with parents who were quite controlling. They didn’t need to feel any more controlled or weird than they were. Yet they probably didn’t grow up with parents dictating their movie tastes for them. I sure didn’t.

    At least they quoted Lucasfilm citing actual market research and box office in support of the Prequels’ popularity. That part’s the truth and it needs to get out more because it’s been buried by the bashers’ revisionist history.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      I find it bizarre a grown man could be very open about teaching his kids to “hate” something and actually lives in fear that said kids might arrive at a different opinion than he does. Such a person needs to see a shrink, stat.

      • Jim Raynor Says:

        It’s such a bizarre and petty problem for a grown man with a job and family to take care of. A fear that your kids might watch the prequels and actually like them doesn’t even qualify as a “First World problem.”

      • maychild Says:

        He needs a swift kick in his self-important butt, is what he needs.

  8. Jacobesico Says:

    Those people who won’t let their kids watch the prequels need to get a life.

    • susanbowes Says:

      I agree Jacobesico. Are we living in Nazi Germany where hate runs amok and adults transfer their hate to their children without given a chance to choose for themselves what they like and/or dislike? No one should have such control over another person’s mind.

      • maychild Says:

        It’s what Klansmen do to their children: they teach them to hate. As the saying goes, children have to be taught to hate.

        And the prequel-bashers actually brag about this, like it’s something to be admired and congratulated? Who do they think they’re proving their so-called hipness and intelligence to, beyond other disgruntled, no-life-having, filled-with-poisonous-hatred jackasses?

      • susanbowes Says:

        Actually, the phrase “children have to be taught to hate” is a song from the musical South Pacific that deals with prejudice, hence the song.

      • darth66zannah Says:

        Yes we are. USA is a country festering with hate

      • susanbowes Says:

        Unfortunately, I have to agree with you darth66zannah, although I wish it weren’t true. It makes me ashamed to call myself an American.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        Please don’t go there with those kinds of comments. Read the Rules of the House and use some common sense.

      • susanbowes Says:

        My apologies.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        Geez, not EVERYBODY. A lot of mean, hateful people out there but it’s not “28 Days Later” either.

      • jarjarbacktattooguy Says:

        Okay, I understand the point you’re trying to make. But every parent tries to influence what their kids watch, what they think, how they dress, and who they hang out with.

        If you don’t let your kids watch something just because you think it is artistically lacking, then that is too extreme. But nudging them away from it is totally understandable. Everyone does this all the time. I push my imaginary children towards the prequels and away from Firefly, because I think Firefly sucks.

        However, if a film or show goes against my social or political values, I would try to stop my imaginary children from watching it, within reason.

        In the end though, those crazy kids are going to get hold of those darn prequels (and bath salts) no matter how hard their parents try to stop them. It’s an epidemic…of awesome!

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        Good point, jararbacktattooguy. Should I have children, I would probably not introduce them (actively) to the Teletubbies either. Should my children discover them and like them, I may explain why I do not like them.

        However, I would also not ruin the good time they have with the Teletubbies. The question is: what motivates someone to nudge her/his children away from something? This guy seems to pass his disappointment down to his child. This is just dumb IMHO.

      • Bob Clark Says:

        I’m reminded of when I was 11 or 12, and first really getting into film. I was excited to see the movie Apocalypse Now after seeing allusions to it in several places. My dad, however, was really, REALLY not a fan of the movie. He was in Vietnam, and in the Air Cavalry no less (artillery though, not infantry) and he really hated both the outlandish inaccuracies of the film, and how it was sold at the time as “the true story of Vietnam”. He had nothing good to say about it– but he never prevented me from seeing it. All he did was give me a stern talk before and after because of the mature content of the film. In the end we even wound up seeing it together when the Redux version came out, which he liked a lot more thanks to the added historical context of the French Plantation sequence.

        In other words– if my dad could get over the issues he had over a movie based on his real world war experience, it’s fucking ridiculous that a parent won’t let his kid see The Phantom Menace because he thinks Jar Jar is stupid.

      • susanbowes Says:

        Bravo for your dad!

    • John Kramer Says:

      I love how the haters complain about Lucas ruined their time as kids, and all what they do is ruined the life of the kids and say that they’re not.

      • KoolRanch Says:

        I hate those hypocrits alot. They should get castrated for that.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        Well, I wouldn’t go THAT far.

      • Jim Raynor Says:

        Or how they say only stupid kids like the Prequels…ignoring the fact that they were kids when first exposed to the Original Trilogy.

      • John Kramer Says:

        Or how they complain why Anakin don’t became a great Jedi after Yoda and Obi-Wan teach him like Luke in the originals, while if that happened we would not even have Darth Vader.

Leave a Reply

