My (Further) Thoughts On The Trailer (Spoiler Alert For Those Staying Pure)

If you’re avoiding anything about TFA, including the trailers, go click on something else now and definitely do not read the comments.

Okay…

Here are some of my additional thoughts:

What has continued to strike me about the third TFA trailer overall is its somber tone. Even ROTS’s trailers still had a touch of pulp. There’s no humor, no comic bookish arch exchanges, no sense of wonder and high adventure, no silliness and whimsy except for a couple of peeks of BB-8. This almost had the tone of a dystopian YA novel-turned-into-a-movie. I thought it was interesting someone on the nets said it reminded him of the trailer for “Divergent.” While the second trailer in April had that pulpy grand adventure exhilarating tone we’ve become accustomed to in previous Star Wars trailers, this was like listening to the slow, slow-paced version of Tears For Fears’ “Mad World” by Michael Andrews and Gary Jules. In fact, you could probably set the trailer to that cover of “Mad World!” Is this the overall tone of the film? Or is it JJ Abrams being his schmaltzy self? If you’re familiar with the Abrams oeuvre, you know he loves emotional displays like that. I just hope that people get to crack a few jokes or smile every now and then. That said, I absolutely loved the part with Han and Leia. Sure, it looks like they’re not having a good day but then again, Leia might be giving him a farewell hug before he goes off on some mission and gets emotional at him leaving again.

The visual effects look pretty good and nothing appears “old” to me at all.

The trailer focuses on the ST3 and Kylo Ren, which is fair enough since they are carrying this thing. You learn a little bit more about them but not very much. Ren is confirmed as a Vader fanboy but what does he mean by “Imma finish what you started” (paraphrasing)? Someone commenting in the open thread about the trailer noted that Han shows a very interesting character arc, going from being a total skeptic in ANH to being the one who brings the “story” to this next generation. Interesting indeed but the scene where he’s talking to the noobs about the Dark Side and the Jedi had me a little concerned. I mean, I understand Finn the First Order guy not knowing about this stuff after being steeped in propaganda for a good portion of his life but why doesn’t Rey know? Is she just playing dumb or what? Then it concerned me that none of the new heroes are Skywalkers. I don’t want the only remaining Skywalker a villain with about a 100% chance of death. That’s a copout. And it makes this crew no more special or consequential than if you had Iron Man, Doctor Who, and Katniss Everdeen in those roles instead. Star Wars is at its heart a family saga, it’s not just a sf/action series with interchangeable heroes. Kathleen Kennedy seemed to get that recently in an interview, but this trailer doesn’t allay my concerns on that part.

It also doesn’t allay my concerns about this being a very safe, very contained remake of ANH just with more 2015 angst. The scope doesn’t seem as “big” as previous films. Maybe there’s a lot more to be seen but you’d think they’d invent a new ship or two or weapons in three decades’ time or come up with a unique planet.

I still haven’t decided what I think of Williams’s new stuff. It doesn’t sound like the usual Star Wars music.

At times the trailer looks familiar and at other times, I can see the technique or style is very different. Some of the Abrams-isms in camera movement, angles, framing, etc. are quite apparent to me and I hope that while viewing the film overall it doesn’t become a distraction. I get that Abrams is going to put his own stamp on things but Irwin Kershner and Richard Marquand weren’t so radically different from Lucas you felt like you were watching something totally different.

Oh well, it’s just a trailer and they can’t all be like the prequel ones. The trailers for the first set of SW films wouldn’t have inspired anyone to see them but those were made in an era when trailers weren’t that big of a deal. What matters is the finished product, which in the end might turn out to be just fine.

By the way, where’s Luke?

Tags: ,

68 Responses to “My (Further) Thoughts On The Trailer (Spoiler Alert For Those Staying Pure)”

  1. roxam91 Says:

    I think the whole idea of having a “dark” trailer seems to be the norm these days, and may not be indicative of the finished product. For example, Marvel’s two recent releases (Age of Ultron and Ant-Man) had a first trailer that seemed relatively serious, but the films themselves had quite a number of light-hearted moments. So yeah, this is probably just the “cool” thing to do with trailers these days.

    I don’t think Rey not knowing about past events automatically means she may not be a Skywalker. For all we know, she could’ve been abandoned on the isolated planet of Jakku, living there her whole life, without knowing much about the events of the galaxy. I do want to mention that the chronological gap between ROTJ and TFA is the biggest of all Star Wars films, so if Jedi were considered “ancient” after being killed off 19 years ago, who knows what a 30 year gap absence would be considered.

    I started theorizing a bit about what Kylo Ren meant by saying he’ll finish what Vader started. What if the faction he’s a part of, the Knights of Ren, believes that balance to the force hadn’t been achieved yet, and that to achieve that, both Sith AND Jedi need to be destroyed. With the Sith gone, Kylo Ren may be focusing on the Jedi (aka Luke), hence completing the prophecy that started with Anakin.

    I don’t quite get the complaints about the music. I enjoyed it tbh. If there is a complaint I have regarding the music, it’s that we haven’t heard completely new themes yet.

    • Nick Skywalker Says:

      Wow I really like that “Knights of Ren” theory. I’ll really enjoy it if they go that route.

    • Brian47 Says:

      Quick word on the music in the trailer… while it utilizes Williams’ themes, Williams himself did not score that trailer. He is of course composing music for the film itself, but most all trailer music is from existing music libraries or composed specifically from those who create music for trailers.

  2. piccolojr1138 Says:

    Don’t forget BB-8 !

  3. bansheegun Says:

    There’s another thing: I still have no idea what the hell the plot is about from the trailers. If I didn’t read all those “Spoilers/Rumors” I would be completely lost. I mean, a super cut of cool looking effects and scenes is nice, but I feel they’re being to cautious.

    • Nick Skywalker Says:

      That’s another reason why I felt the somber tone of the trailer was awkward. It’s hard for me as the viewer to feel any sort of emotion for characters I know nothing about.

  4. Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

    Is it sad that I think it would be interesting to see Katniss, Iron Man, and The Doctor in a room together to see their personalities bounce off each other?

    Personally, I think that Doc and Tony would get into a war of snark while Katniss stood there nonplussed.

    • roxam91 Says:

      I have similar feelings too. In fact, I actually participate in a crossover role-play that involves the most ridiculous meetings you can possibly imagine. Don’t judge me…

  5. twessf Says:

    I definitely don’t want to fall into the trap the Hateboys have…nitpicking ever perceived flaw in the movies and not being able to just enjoy them. I want nothing to do with that noise – I’ll leave the negativity to Hateboys. As for the JJ-ness out it all…Lucas told him to make it his and Lucas has always been an advocate of filmmakers and their visions.

    My hope is that the movie comes out, is great, a hit, and well loved – then KK and JJ drop the bomb that they’ve used a boatload of GL’s ideas.

    • Stefan Kraft Says:

      Maybe TFA does not use GL’s treatments (because it has to be a “safe movie” for good and maybe not-so-good reasons), but EP VIII and IX will? Just a hypothesis, but if they really bring back Hayden for EP VIII…

      As for the look: hard to tell. You have a point: GL told Abrams what to do. It is hard to judge by the trailer(s) how much Abrams has “spiced up” the SW Saga look with his own style and whether it is “too much” (for me at last). We’ll see.

      Off-topic: The only real complaint I have is that the poster offers no reference to Lucas, not even a “based on the universe/characters/(whatever) created by” or something similar. Every Batman comic has a reference to Bob Kane (and Bill Finger from now on). This is really something I do not like.

      • Mike Jones Says:

        I read somewhere that for the gap that’s in between ROTJ and TFA, a lot of the world-building ideas for this time gap did indeed come from Lucas and Arndt (and some from Rian Johnson).

  6. jarjarbacktattooguy Says:

    TFA is the new Hunger Games. Dystopia sells. I guess Kathyfilm thinks the generation of Marlene McFly will only see that type of movie.

    I’ve accepted that this is the Star Wars for a new generation. I do feel like I was garbed. Kathyfilm treats me like I’m kirgo. The hateboys will nump me. Do I feel pissquanced? Sure. But I’ve got a scrote. They’re all just tranks, lo-bos and zipheads anyway!

    I’m going to drink some Pepsi Perfect and watch some good Star Wars movies, at home on my JVC Video Glasses.

    And remember, litter kills when you throw it out the window of your Ford Probe hovercar. Hover safely.

  7. ‘Star Wars’ fans crash sites selling tickets for premiere | World Class Fence Distributors Says:

    […] Related Article: My (Further) Thoughts On The Trailer (Spoiler Alert For Those Staying Pure) […]

  8. datarobfrancis Says:

    I can best say this (and I hate to say it): It appears Star Wars is going in a direction that simply doesn’t interest me. It may get better latter on, but I’ll have to wait.

  9. Simon Maxwell Says:

    Going back to the episode 7 poster and the absence of George Lucas’s name – as far as I know, as James Bond’s creator, Ian Fleming has had a credit on all Bond film posters. The fact that Lucas doesn’t get a ‘based on Star Wars created by’ credit stinks as far as I’m concerned. It’s as if Kennedy, Abrams and co want to airbrush Lucas out of Star Wars history.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      I don’t know the hows or whys but it struck me last night while seeing a commercial for the new Peanuts film (aired during “It’s The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown”) that it credits Charles M. Schultz, even though Schultz passed away 15 years ago. Now the film was made with the input and cooperation of Schultz’s estate but still, he got credited for the world and characters he created.

    • Nick Skywalker Says:

      If George isn’t credited at all, that in itself proves that they’re trying to erase Lucas from SW. Peter Benchley got a credit in all 4 Jaws movies, Michael Critchon got credit in all the Jurassic Park films, including JW, heck the Gilbreth family got credit for both recent Cheaper by the Dozen movies! And the list goes on. If there’s no “Based on the characters created by George Lucas” credit in the film at all, that raises some red flags.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I think its a travesty that George Lucas’ name isn’t included on the poster, or in the credits for TFA. Disney has betrayed him as much as all the haters have. It’s no wonder he washed his hands of the whole mess and walked away. However – all true fans of SW will always credit him for creating such a brilliant saga. His name will still go down in history, no matter how many people reject his participation.

      • roxam91 Says:

        TFA isn’t even out yet, we still don’t know whether his name is or isn’t on the film’s end credits. However his name is always listed during the credits for episodes of ‘Rebels’, so… we’ll see if they rectify this for the credits in TFA this December.

      • susanbowes Says:

        Hopefully I’m wrong about Lucas not being added to the end credits, but if not, I hope they rectify the insult before the movie comes out.

      • Brian47 Says:

        If I recall, it might be from the big cover story in Empire magazine, GL was set to be listed as “Creative Consultant” or “Executive Consultant” in the end credits. I’d need to check that article again to be sure…

  10. Jacobesico Says:

    The interesting thing for me is if there is a backlash, how would TPTB deal with it.

    For me, seeing that trailer, it seemed like it wanted to play on my nostalgia for the Original Trilogy. It was cleverly done. The X-Wings, the TIE fighters, that bit with the Han Solo and the Princess theme was pretty powerful but the lack of clear plot is quite disturbing. I don’t like the new Stormtrooper Armour by the way. It doesn’t have that Star Wars feel. It looks like it belongs in another movie franchise. I’m not keen on the TIE Fighter colourings either.

    I would have wanted to see more B-Wings. We didn’t see them properly in ROTJ. I’m sure with the latest technology available, we would be able to see them in action as intended.

    Anyway I don’t want to turn into a Sequel Trilogy hater. Any judgment I have on the film will be how true it lives up to George Lucas’s legacy.

    Just my two cents.

    • Hunk a Junk Says:

      There is a HUGE part of me that just wants to spend the next 15 years doing nothing but bitching about this film online. Just relentlessly. Trolling hard and never, ever letting up. Picking apart even the most inane detail. Accusing JJ and KK of flat out racism where it doesn’t actually exist. Working hard to convince as many people as possible that this film should be shunned and everyone involved forced to apologize.

      Of course I won’t. And that’s what separates this community from the hateboys.

  11. Hunk a Junk Says:

    Off topic for a moment, I wonder why Disney is choosing not to show the 3D versions of the PT during the marathon screenings. They all exist. TPM 3D has already had a public release, so I can’t understand why they wouldn’t at least show it in 3D. What’s the hold up? Given all the obvious ignoring of the PT in Disney marketing, you’d think this would be an easy bone Lucasfilm could throw to the loyal PT fans.

    • roxam91 Says:

      To be fair, even the OT isn’t getting the 3D treatment, and that was supposed to be the trilogy that was easier to convert to 3D (according to Lucas)

      • Hunk a Junk Says:

        But the conversions for the 3 PT films are already done. They were shown at the last Celebration. So why not include them in the marathon? We’ll already have the 3D glasses for TFA.

      • roxam91 Says:

        It still wouldn’t be fair if the OT isn’t shown in 3D. Either they’re all shown in 3D, or none are.

      • Hunk a Junk Says:

        But they’re showing TFA in 3D. So how is that fair?

      • roxam91 Says:

        TFA is the first Star Wars film to be released during the age of 3D popularity, so for it to not be in 3D would be rather strange given the standards these days. Would I prefer to see all 6 previous movies in 3D? Of course! But if not all are converted to 3D, then I’d prefer to see them all in 2D rather than three in 3D, and three others in 2D. I don’t support throwing the OT under the bus, just as I don’t support throwing the PT under the bus either.

      • Hunk a Junk Says:

        TPM is the first film released during the age of 3D popularity. It wasn’t made that way, but it was released.

        Here’s what I think is going on. I don’t think Lucasfilm cares about the PT any more at all, but they’re stuck with them. They can’t just renumber the episodes starting at ANH and call TFA episode 4 (though I bet there are some there who wish they could). And they obviously want to give fans the chance to see the OT before seeing TFA, but having an OT only marathon would be too obvious a give away that they too think the PT sucks (as if their “practical effects!” campaign wasn’t a big enough dog whistle). So they’re begrudgingly showing the PT along with the OT, but they don’t want 3D versions of the PT to upstage the OT. Nope, can’t have that. The only thing allowed to upstage the OT is their new improved soft reboot of the OT! If they truly were passionate believers in the PT they’d want to give the fans a treat. They’d want to present them in the best way possible. The assets to DO that exist right now and it would be no additional cost or burden to ship the 3D hard drives to theaters instead of the 2D versions, but they aren’t doing that.

        Since this is the SWPAS, I think we should be encouraging Lucasfilm to show the PT in the best versions possible.

      • roxam91 Says:

        TPM wasn’t released during the age of 3D popularity, it was REreleased. Big differece.

        I really wish I could reply to your comments below that, but I feel you’re going down a path I cannot follow, an extremely negative path. Yes, I have some serious concerns with TFA and Lucasfilm post-Lucas, but sheesh, you’re taking it to a whole other level.

      • Hunk a Junk Says:

        It may be negative, but it’s based on observation. If Lucas had converted the OT instead of the PT to 3D before he sold the company, does anyone believe for a second that the marathon wouldn’t show the 3D versions? Of course they would! I’m sorry, but it’s been documented here numerous times and in many, many ways that Lucasfilm just isn’t into the PT. This whole “practical effects” campaign is the company’s tacit admission that the PT was made ‘the wrong way.’

        As PT fans, why should we not be encouraging Lucasfilm to show the 3D versions? I don’t get the resistance.

      • roxam91 Says:

        I really have no desire to continue this discussion with you, as we clearly see things very differently regarding a marathon that just didn’t happen to use the 3D versions, which quite honestly, isn’t even bugging me one bit. Not to mention you keep bringing up the whole dang ‘practical effects’ campaign which, as much as it continues to annoy me, is completely irrelevant to this discussion of 3D conversions. Unless Lucasfilm converted the OT to 3D and released them only while keeping the PT in 2D, then I can agree with your sentiments. But right now, I have a very, very, hard time agreeing with you. MTFBWY

    • lazypadawan Says:

      My guess is there is only one print of AOTC and ROTS in 3D, which is why they’ve only been shown at Celebrations.

      • Hunk a Junk Says:

        They’re digital. There are no prints. And in the case of TPM it had a nation-wide roll out. There’s no reason not to include it in the marathon. If nothing else, I’d think theater owners would prefer having the 3D version to make sure people didn’t skip it as part of the marathon (as I overheard a few people saying while we were in line for tickets). If people aren’t in the theater, they’re not buying concessions.

    • Stefan Kraft Says:

      Just wondering: could the distribution rights be an obstacle for the re-release of the 3D versions?
      As far as we know, Fox still holds these rights until 2020. So more $$$ for the 3D versions will also mean more money Disney has to share with Fox, and both studios do not like each other at the moment.
      Hence, Disney may wait for the 3D re-releases of the PT and the (then converted) OT until 2020 to get a larger share of the box office (ANH or at least its distribution rights will be owned by Fox forever). Add to that the additional profit Disney can make because all ST movies will probably have been finished by then: Disney can launch a mega SW Saga marathon.

  12. susanbowes Says:

    After seeing the new trailer I’m even more excited about seeing TFA. The movie looks better than I thought it would be. However, I think Luke should be the one revealing the truth about the Dark Side and the Jedi, not Han. On the other hand, it’s good to know that Han finally believes in the Force.
    As far as Rey not being a Skywalker – I can’t see that. She has to be Luke’s niece. Without including a Skywalker in the movie, it won’t really be a part of the SW saga. That’s just my opinion of course.

    • roxam91 Says:

      Every time I look at Rey, I keep seeing a spitting image of Padmé. No one can convince that Rey isn’t Padmé’s granddaughter.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I wouldn’t say Rey is the spitting image of Padme, but she certainly looks a lot like her. I’m also convinced she’s a Skywalker. She has to be! Why else introduce her to the saga?

  13. madmediaman Says:

    The tone is just all wrong… there’s a way to do dark and foreboding and still keep your roots firmly placed in the 1930’s action adventure serials that Star Wars HAS ALWAYS been inspired by:

    Oh look at that… somewhat cheesy, melodramatic, but dark and foreboding.

    But hey let’s not forget Empire was super, super cereal, really dark, and the marketing behind it was too. So I guess that’s where TFA drew it’s inspiration? Right? Yeah… sure:

  14. Liz Says:

    I posted on tumblr yesterday about this, and I didn’t want to have to repeat everything I said, so I’ll post a link here: http://ladylyrica.tumblr.com/post/131583123783/a-trailer-of-potential

    I would also like to reiterate what roxam91 said about there being a huge time gap between films: there’s just so much that could have happened in the meantime, and to me (maybe because I’m a writer) that’s exciting rather than scary. I think, from what I’ve heard, that the new EU is staying away from the near-TFA time as well so far (until the film is released), so I don’t think we can really assume too much about what has happened with the Jedi, Empire, etc since the end of RotJ.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      Fair points but you have to remember, Star Wars is a FAMILY saga. If there’s no more family, then the core of the saga has already been cut out and I think just handing a random unrelated guy the job isn’t the same thing. Would you see a Godfather movie about Russian mobsters and Mexican cartel guys instead of the Corleones? Why not just call it something else then and not the Godfather?

      • Liz Says:

        I mean, in all reality, I think it’s very likely that Rey is the Skywalker child. There’s her obvious resemblance to especially Padme. Others have pointed out the classically Skywalker open emotions she shows throughout the trailers. And of course there’s her desert upbringing (though why the writers thought that was necessary is beyond me, since it’s not Tatooine so there’s little symbolic connection – this is one place where to me it DOES just feel like a rehash of things we’ve seen before).
        Finn is more up in the air for me. Because he attempts to fight with a lightsaber I’m convinced that he’s Force-sensitive. I just can’t fathom that he has specifically Anakin’s saber for no particular reason, which is why I postulated Finn and Kylo as a sort of symbolic representation of the Anakin/Vader dichotomy. That post was more of my random rambling thoughts trying to stave off some negativity about the trailer that I was getting from different sources than anything else; and trying to pull together some fun “what if”s. I do agree that a Sequel Trilogy without a new generation of Skywalkers doesn’t belong in the regular saga-title line or whatever we’re calling it; save that for the spinoffs and EU works.

      • madmediaman Says:

        Rumors are Rey is a Skywalker by “adoption.” Kylo is Luke’s nephew and the disappointing former student. In comes Rey… basically a muggle whom Luke essentially adopts and she becomes his favored student. Kylo is cast out and blah, blah, blah…

        it’s fine… it might work. We’ll see.

      • Bob Clark Says:

        If Rey really is adopted, that could be an interesting Lucas esque detail. A personal touch of a guy who has adopted kids.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        I wouldn’t mind it so much, but 1) it would make Ridley’s casting a huge waste given her resemblance to Padme and 2) ROTJ ended with a heterosexual couple more than likely to provide the next generation of Skywalkers and you don’t use that? It would be one thing if Luke and Han ended up a gay couple more interested in fur babies than the real thing and Leia was totally infertile but 100% opposed to cloning…you’d have no choice there. I’m just a grouch about this, don’t mind me.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I agree. Rey has to be a Solo/Skywalker – not adopted We all know that Han and Leia got married and had kids in the books that followed the movies. It’s only natural that Disney would continue the idea in Episode 7.

  15. Frida Nyberg Says:

    “I don’t want the only remaining Skywalker a villain with about a 100% chance of death.”

    Are people seriously still thinking Kylo Ren is a Skywalker? How? He doesn’t look anything like any Skywalker or Solo we’ve had so far, his face is all wrong, even his ethnicity is wrong (southern european with black hair)!

    “Rey” must be a Skywalker/Solo, she looks so much like Padmé. I still think “Hux” is “Ben Skywalker”, there have been too many rumors and he looks too Skywalker-y not to be, but time will tell.

    • bansheegun Says:

      I think Hux will be more of a Tarkin character, which makes this film feel even more of a rehash of the OT.

  16. maychild Says:

    Since the only part of this trailer that interested me was Han hugging a visibly distressed Leia, I’ve been speculating on what the cause of her distress is. Some extremely unobservant people have speculated that she’s just heard Han has died…never mind that that’s Han who’s hugging her. You can’t see much of his face, but you can tell it’s him because he’s wearing the same jacket as Han is in other parts of the clip, and, you know, because of the height difference.

    Anyway…others speculate she’s just heard that her child, or one of her children (being as we don’t know how many she has, or even if she has any at all), has been killed. It’s certainly possible, though too reminiscent of the now-decanonized EU for my taste.

    Personally, I’m thinking that Leia (and Han) have just heard that Luke is dead, or presumed dead, which will lead to a big reveal of a bearded Luke being very much alive toward the end of the flick.

    • susanbowes Says:

      That could be one reason why Leia and Han are hugging in sadness, but it could also mean that they’d just learned that their son had turned to the Dark side, whom I believe is the one who holds Vader’s melted mask and vows revenge.

      • maychild Says:

        I hope not. No offense, but that is also too reminiscent of the EU for my taste.

      • susanbowes Says:

        EU or not, I think it’s important for TFA to continue the idea on film. Lets face it, even if we don’t admit it, we all have a black sheep or two in our families – so why wouldn’t the next generation of Skywalker’s have a black sheep in their family as well?

  17. lazypadawan Says:

    Again, if you’re commenting here do NOT bait other commenters or I will not approve your post.

  18. Sergey Holod Says:

    One should ask oneself: what is Lucasfilm?

    Everybody who watched “The Beginning: Making Episode I” documentary must remember that people of ILM (John Knoll in particular) were staggered by the amount of special effects planned by George Lucas for his new installment. Both Podrace and Gungan Battle sequences has blown many minds even during storyboards stage of production.

    The very first trailer of “The Phantom Menace” was a sensation and (as we all know) the most downloaded Internet video of all time because it was unprecedented. Nobody could expect visual richness of such density. The high bar of production was unbelievable even for people who were involved in filmmaking industry.

    Nowadays average moviegoer expects that amount of visual effects in an action movie equals the amount of shots. But this visual criterion was set by “The Phantom Menace”.

    What is “the new frontier” then? Where is “the unreachable bar” that one always expects when he watches any new “Star Wars” production? I haven’t noticed anything new in the latest trailer of “The Force Awakens”.

    Somebody here has mentioned “Secrets of Mortis” trilogy from the 3rd season of “The Clone Wars” as the possible direction where the modern “Star Wars” movies must turn. Yet does anybody remember how long the documentary devoted to “Secrets of Mortis” episodes was? Let us compare: “Creating Kamino” 13 min. 18 sec., “Hutts and the Underworld” 15 min. 35 sec., “Witches and Monsters” 16 min., 9 sec., “Secrets of Mortis” 2 min. 24 sec., and “Chewbacca Returns” 18 min. 54 sec.

    Only two and a half minutes for such an epic trilogy! As it seems nobody is interested in this direction, even people of Lucasfilm who have nothing to say about such a spiritual subject.

    Yet I wholeheartedly believe that “Secrets of Mortis” trilogy is the exactly the direction where “Star Wars” should go. Every decent saga has the tendency to move from events to ideas: one may remember the last book of “The Chronicles of Narnia”, or “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows”, or even “Star Trek: Generations”.

    They simply can’t astonish us with the reality of visual effects anymore. The low cost of visual effects production is (perhaps) the most ungratefully received gift of George Lucas to industry. If in 1980s and 1990s he was alone in that field, nowadays any talentless jerk can create visual effects of impeccable reality thanks to ILM’s innovations that became available for everybody.

    Six Episodes of “Star Wars” are the visual triumph. Yet these movies are also the spiritual triumph. Six Episodes of “Star Wars” are in that league of rarest movies that can change people’s minds and people’s lives to better. The spirit of “Star Wars” saga is still waiting to be explored further. Yet, as it seems, people of Lucasfilm (and many fans) are disagree.

    At any rate, the latest trailer of “The Force Awakens” hasn’t touched my soul. I was totally indifferent when I watched it. I had no expectations. I just waited for something to happen. Nothing happened.

    I have no hope that either Lawrence Kasdan or John Williams can save this apathetic production.

    • Keith Palmer Says:

      I was annoyed myself the Mortis documentary in the Clone Wars set was so short, but I did wind up noticing a comment in it that it was short to keep from eliminating individual speculations with “official explanations.” I do know, anyway, how easy it seems to be to start thinking “George Lucas’s sequel ideas” would have been so influenced by the “Mortis arc” that nervous and/or dismissive executives would have thrown it out and resorted to something “safe”…

      It may be this trailer has registered on me a bit more than the one released in April, which appeared just as I was leaving on a vacation, and didn’t really inspire me to revisit at any speed. However, one thing from it I keep thinking about is a shot of a neo-X-wing shooting a neo-TIE fighter that doesn’t match the “explosion immediately replaces the model” of the old movies, which as much as it points out how overblown the rhetoric of “doing it the old-fashioned way” might have been, isn’t exactly profound…

  19. 42 Says:

    Darkness is nothing without light to contrast with it. That’s what it looks like BB-8 is here for, and I have no doubt the finished film will be full of Star Wars-esque banter and humor. It’s got Han Solo in it, for Pete’s sake. And JJ’s never made an exclusively dark movie. I’m sure he won’t cave to the idiots who feel like Star Wars has to be dark to be good.

  20. hansolo1138 Says:

    Why is everyone here so freaked out about the Skywalkers possibly being kicked out of the saga? Kathleen Kennedy has directly said that the main series (not “Star Wars Stories”) of Star Wars films will continue to focus on the Skywalkers. J. J. Abrams has said it’s intentional that Finn and Rey’s last names have not been mentioned. It’s obvious that someone here is a Skywalker. I’m still betting on Rey.

    • susanbowes Says:

      Why wouldn’t fans be upset if the Skywalker lineage isn’t continued in TFA? The Skywalker line is extremely important to the whole saga, and if the name isn’t carried on, I (and probably thousands of others) can’t and won’t consider TFA a true Star Wars adventure.

      I also agree that Rey has to be a Skywalker.

      • hansolo1138 Says:

        What I meant was, “There is no chance that the Skywalkers won’t be the main focus of TFA” I would be TICKED if they weren’t, same as everyone else. But there is literally no reason to fear otherwise.

      • susanbowes Says:

        There’s plenty of clues in the third trailer that Luke might be training someone in the film (probably Rey) and hopefully that person will be in his bloodline. However, it’s all just hearsay so far. Only Disney knows for certain what TFA is about.

  21. Stefan Kraft Says:

    It is really interesting how different the interpretations are that this trailer allows… On the one hand, it gives you plenty of ammo to be critical of the movie, on the other hand, there is still enough material to interpret it in such a way that it continues the mythology established by GL.

    I think all thoughts I have read here and the comments for the other articles are interesting. Now, let’s see how the finished movie will be.

  22. The Phantom Menace Trailer and The Force Awakens | Clone Corridor Says:

    […] correctly observed, in her remarks on the trailer here, that the trailer showed no element of comic relief. Where the The Phantom Menace trailer showed […]

Leave a Reply

