Another Interview About “Obi-Wan & Anakin”

Charles Soule is a popular guy these days, because star wars.com has another interview with the “Obi-Wan & Anakin” series writer:

“It probably wasn’t the very beginning, although I’m sure there are some stories to be told there. And I didn’t think it was at the end right before Attack of the Clones, because the relationship that they had was pretty much established by that point. So, I figured it would be kind of in the middle, when Anakin was just on the cusp of becoming a teenager, which is when everybody starts asking questions about the path their life is on. Up to that point, your parents, your guardians, tell you what you’re going to be doing with your life, and you just do it and don’t really think about it that much. But then, right around 13 or so, you start wondering if there might be another way. And likewise, Obi-Wan jumped into this after promising to train Anakin on Qui-Gon’s deathbed, and I don’t think he necessarily knew what training Anakin Skywalker was going to be like. If you had both those questions happening at the same time, you could get a really cool, dramatic story out of it.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Another Interview About “Obi-Wan & Anakin””

  1. zch81721 Says:

    I have to say the response I have seen to this announcement has been incredibly positive. Out of the websites I searched only one appeared to be snarky. Even the comments sections people were being incredibly positive and excited about this announcement. I was surprised to see the San Diego Comic Con video not get the desired response Disney was hoping for and I think they are slowly turning around. I am seeing more prequel toys appear in stores nowadays including a Jar Jar figure which I thought would never happen (something I need to get). Then there were the rumors of Hayden Christensen appearing in Episode 8 popping up. Even though the easter eggs in the comics and Rebels were a nice touch to see them include a comic set in the prequel era is a huge step forward. Also Rebels season 2 looks like they may finally give the Clone Wars team room to breathe instead of just doing OT greatest hits the show. Maybe if this comic does really well we’ll see more prequel related stuff. I don’t buy comics all that often but I know I will do everything I can to pick up every issue of this and I’ve seen several others say they will do the same.

  2. Tarrlok Says:

    I like what I read. The Anakin/Obi-Wan relationship was nicely fleshed out between 2002 and 2014, but most of that content focused on their exploits during the Clone Wars. A look back at their earlier relationship is worth doing.

Leave a Reply

