In Other News From NYCC

Disney Press plans on unleashing a YA novel called “Crimson Corsair and the Lost Treasure of Count Dooku,” which I think is about one of the minor characters in TFA.

Greg Rucka, who is writing Marvel’s Shattered Empire series, had some stuff to say during a panel that we’ll all find refreshing:

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

Wow!

Tags: , ,

36 Responses to “In Other News From NYCC”

  1. mes520 Says:

    Wow, very nice. I’m gonna have to pick up Shattered Empire as soon as it comes out.

  2. roxam91 Says:

    If I was there, I would’ve stood and applauded Rucka! Now that there is a true saga fan.

  3. zch81721 Says:

    Ok this and the new comic announcement just made my day!

  4. Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

    Ahh, a man after my own heart.

  5. Helen Says:

    Wow is right! A fist fight!

  6. susanbowes Says:

    I agree with roxam91. I would’ve stood and applauded Rucka too.

  7. susanbowes Says:

    lazypadawan:
    Where can I buy issues 1&2?

    • Kingpun Says:

      Most comic stores should still have them, at least #2 as it came out just last Wednesday. #3 comes out this upcoming Wednesday. I think it will be only 3 issues long and that there probably will be more “Journey to the Force Awakens” comics before the release. I know there will be a one-shot about C-3PO and what happened to his arm.

      • Brian47 Says:

        Yes, you can find Shattered Empire at any local comic book stores, issue 2 was just out this week. I think it will be running 4 or 5 issues. I have really enjoyed the current Marvel series, such as the Main Star Wars, the Darth Vader series and the Kanan series.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      Check with your local comic book store. I think Barnes & Noble might sell some comics as well. If you don’t find them there, there are online comic book stores like Things From Another World.

  8. Jacobesico Says:

    Forget a fistfight.

    I’ll use force lightning on those blowhards while yelling “Unlimited Power!”

  9. bansheegun Says:

    What’s even better is he said it in front of PT hater Chuck Wendig πŸ˜‚

    • zch81721 Says:

      Chuck has more to worry about. I’ve seen reviews for his book and they are not pretty. Not just from angry EU fans mind you but several reviewers have said his writing style is bad and the story itself doesn’t really amount to anything. Considering he fakes a character’s death 5 times (that’s just amateur writing right there).

      • Jim Raynor Says:

        Funny how so many “celebrity” Prequel haters end up eating crow when it comes to their own creative work.

      • Jacobesico Says:

        It’s funny because in the Star Wars Insider there was an article covering his book and in it, he was boasting that he understood Star Wars and could write a Star Wars novel with his eyes closed.

        I’m not one to read Star Wars Novels unless they attract my attention (Revan, Darth Plagueis ect..) and with the reviews I’m hearing I’m not going to pick his book up.

      • Jim Raynor Says:

        Wow, that was some really self-satisfied talk from Wendig. I wouldn’t have said that even if my novel was great. Guy sounds really full of himself.

      • madmediaman Says:

        Plus while his book debuted at #4 on the bestseller list, sales quickly went into freefall. By week 4 of the release his sycophants were celebrating the fact Aftermath was still on the bestseller list clocking in at #128… you read that right #128.

        Contrast that with Heir to the Empire which remained in the bestseller’s Top 10 for almost 2 months, and even stuck around the Top 5 for another 6 months.

      • bansheegun Says:

        Judging from his Twitter, Wendig doesn’t seem like a nice guy at all.

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        Let’s say that Aftermath got reviews that were all over the place. Interestingly, it had some Prequel references in it… which probably shows that Wendig is a professional author (he takes all SW elements seriously if he has to). On the other hand, his behaviour on Twitter was not 100% what I would have expected from a Lucasfilm employee.

      • bansheegun Says:

        There’s been a few Lucasfilm employees who have gone off the rails when discussing politics and other issues on Twitter.

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        It wasn’t politics, I meant his statements about the PT. They were better than the stuff some other Lucasfilm employees have posted because they were more or less expressed as his own opinion. Still, you could argue whether they were really necessary.

    • darth66zannah Says:

      i wish he would have knocked Chuck out for talking all High and Mighty, saying the prequels sucked, then giving us the worst Star Wars thing ever to exist with his book…

  10. Jim Raynor Says:

    Rucka’s not just the writer of a current Star Wars series, he’s well-known name within comics who has done some notable work. Good to see someone with some standing within geekdom speaking up so positively about the prequels!

    • TPF1138 Says:

      I’m a huge fan of Rucka myself. I’ve read most everything he’s done (his Queen & Country series of comics and novels are of particularly high quality), so his opinion of TPM was great to read. It was a little bit of a surprise too, I wouldn’t have expected him to be a fan, and I imagine he has some criticisms tbh, but this was very pleasing.

      His point about Qui-Gon’s meditation was lovely, but it’s his acknowledgement of Menace’s ‘brilliant storytelling’ that I found quite heartening. Because that’s a point I’ve made for years. That movie is magnificently plotted. It’s perhaps the best plotting of any single episode in the saga. It’s layers are delicious.

      ‘Clones is forced to condense too much, because it has such a lot of story to relate (to this end Lucas employs a more abstract approach to sections of the narrative, and a constantly shifting tone which is something of a joy, if it can be engaged with on its own terms), and ‘Sith is far more straight-forward since the plot complexities have been dispensed with through its two fore-bearers. It’s unique strength is in its psychology. A New Hope is even more straight-forward, but that’s part of its charm. ‘Empire becomes a little more complex again, but not much, it’s more pointed focus on character is its major quality. ‘Jedi’s plot is a little thin to be honest, but it hangs together on the strength of its set-pieces, character arcs, and third act climax. πŸ™‚

      ‘Menace though, has a deceptively simple story about a group of heroes attempting to repel a planetary invasion, but the layers of complexity that obscure what’s really going on, coupled with the masses of foreshadowing, and backwards/forwards construction make it kind of breathtaking.

  11. Hunk a Junk Says:

    Nice! Good to see someone stand up and be defiant. At a comic book convention no less.

  12. susanbowes Says:

    Kingpun & Brian47:
    I live in a one-horse, backwater town and we don’t have any comic book stores, nor even a regular bookstore anymore. My town is folding up and all our stores are closing down. Guess I’ll have to search online for issues 1&2. Thanks anyway. πŸ™‚

    lazypadawan:
    Thanks for telling me that I might be able to get the comics from Barnes and Noble, but the nearest store is almost 40 miles from my town and I’ve no car to get there. Looks like I’ll have to check online for “Things From Another World” in order to find Rucka’s Marvel’s Shattered Empire series as you suggested. Either that, or I’ll have to wait for the series to come out in paperback.

    • roxam91 Says:

      If I’m not mistaken, you could download the comics digitally on comixology.com, unless you prefer reading comics physically.

      • susanbowes Says:

        roxam91:
        Thanks for the info. I really do prefer reading “real” books and comics over digital work. Nothing like smelling that fresh ink, but beggars can’t be choosy. LOL

  13. lisse Says:

    Not only does Rucka have the best opinions on Lois Lane, who’s one of my favorite comic book characters ever and not only did I love his work on Batwoman, now I find out he’s got gr8 PT opinions? I love him even more now and I’ll be picking this up at my LCS.

  14. zch81721 Says:

    It would be funny if there was a huge boost in sales of Shattered Empire because of this statement.

  15. Stefan Kraft Says:

    Great to finally see some Lucasfilm employee defending TPM πŸ˜‰ But honestly, it is really great. The only “problem” I have is the aggressive wording (“fistfight anyone who disagrees that it isn’t brilliant storytelling”). But since he is a grown-up man, he will probably also agree to disagree with other fans that respect his opinion.

  16. Dave Strohmenger Says:

    Can we introduce Rucka to Simon Pegg?

Leave a Reply

