IGN Tries To Serve Haterade, Fails

IGN, part of the geek media entertainment industrial complex, tried to use the rumors of Hayden Christensen appearing in Ep. VIII as an excuse to bash him only to find out the first comment getting 1500 “likes” isn’t what they expected:

Tags:

26 Responses to “IGN Tries To Serve Haterade, Fails”

  1. mindless droid Says:

    “geek media entertainment industrial complex” Internet win of the day! LOL

    • jarjarbacktattooguy Says:

      There really are no independent Star Wars articles being written anymore that don’t bash the prequels.

      The vast majority of the people who write for these websites are not real journalists, they are blowhard hacks who feel the need to constantly cram their opinions down your throught in every article they write.

      Life wasn’t always like this. We used to have a great magazine called Starlog. They always wrote unbiased articles about every kind of Sci-fi/fantasy/pulp adventure film ever made. The articles were always respectful, as they just shared information and let the reader go into the film with unbiased eyes and develop their own opinions about the respective film or TV show.

      I can’t go to any general interest movie site anymore because they’re all a bunch of snarky hipsters who tell you what to think. Only franchise-specific fan sites like this one treat less popular franchises with any respect.

      I really hate the internet (besides this site and Space1970.blogspot). I wish Superman would hurl the internet into the Sun, Quest For Peace-style. I was much happier scouring the Medialog news section of Starlog every month at Brentano’s Bookstore (east coast geek representin) back in the 80s and 90s, desperately searching for any small blurb about the upcoming prequels.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        I remember Brentano’s!

      • susanbowes Says:

        I never have and never will go to a movie based on what any critic says about a film, or the acting in it. Most of the ones critics hate, I love. Some don’t even stay to watch the full movie – if they go at all. How can you judge a film if you don’t watch it through until the end? In my opinion critics are a bunch of overpaid, useless, hacks who don’t know good acting, nor a good movie. Who needs them! I’d rather go to a movie and judge for myself whether or not I like a film.

  2. bansheegun Says:

    I’m on IGN daily. They’ve always smeared the Prequels. I never click on their Star Wars articles because the writers always make nasty comments. Grace Randolph from BTT does the same thing, but she tries to hide it.

    • Noah Evans Says:

      Sigh.. Grace.. not only has she bashed I-III, but is a very “PC” person (because we need quantity over quality, and for Peter Parker not to be white).

      Also, I am not sure or not if I ran into her… at comic-con in 2011, a blonde woman scolded me in harsh torment for my Jar Jar hat. I do wonder about if she was Grace or not, but there are some facial differences I think (it’s been four years) and Grace seems nice at times in her videos, plus I don’t think people who have established followings are that rudely unperfessionOOOOOOOOOOOOOH right, Simon Pegg :/

      • lazypadawan Says:

        A big clue it’s a pro….that person’s hair and makeup are done and looks a lot more put-together than 99.99% of all of the other tired, hot, worn-out, and very ordinary-looking con-goers.

        In any case, who goes around picking on people like that? What a bitch.

      • bansheegun Says:

        Grace is a hard core SJW. She always thinks everything is sexist. She’s basically the Anita Sarkeesian of movie critics, except she doesn’t lie and swindle people out of money.

      • Jacobesico Says:

        I hope you gave her a piece of your mind

        No fool would DARE scold me for being a fan of the prequels lest they suffer a severe tounge bashing.

      • Noah Evans Says:

        Hmmm, to think about it, it was probably a con-goer (there was also a difference in not just the facial features, but bust wise to and average vs wide).

        Sorry Jacob, but… I was hurt and shocked.. and… I am a very soft person around strangers… plus, I always feel helpless when in situations like that (at last con, some dude with a lightsaber struck me, am I have since felt pissed that I didn’t do more to defend myself).

      • lazypadawan Says:

        This is why all of this SJW bellyaching and crying over “bullying” in fandom these days are full of ****. FANS are the bullies, with Darth Media close behind. What happened to you was assault and battery and the jerk who did it to you should’ve had his butt arrested as well as booted from SDCC.

        SDCC is full of rude a-holes. At the last one, some spazzy girl slammed into me merely because I was in her way. It was outside and she easily could’ve avoided me but she just shoved into me. Didn’t even bother to apologize.

      • jarjarbacktattooguy Says:

        I liked cons better when they were held in small hotel convention rooms, and only attended by unattractive freaks (like myself). Now they are more like dance clubs. Too many people there just for the party.

        The San Diego Con is more like Disneyland than a real convention anymore.

        But I’m jealous…you have a Jar Jar hat!

      • lazypadawan Says:

        Millennials made cons a thing to go to like spring break or a music festival. Every comic con in the country has like 75,000 people on up going to them. Everybody wants to be a geek.

        Smaller esoteric cons still exist though. You just got to look for them.

      • susanbowes Says:

        Ever notice how SW geeks suddenly got popular once The Big Bang Theory came on TV?

  3. Nick Skywalker Says:

    Ha! I will admit though, I’ve surprisingly seen more pro prequel/prequel defenders on YouTube vids and other articles. TMZ aired a clip where Hayden was signing autographs and the reporter, when back in the TMZ room, referred to him as the guy who infamously ruined SW (when the moron later admits he’s never seen SW) and there were many comments defending Hayden and they had lots of up votes. Long story short, the reporter asked Hayden “if he was going to look at the new Anakin with a critical eye”, completely unaware that Anakin is…no longer with us. He got chewed out for it back in the studio, thought it was amusing.

    But yeah I love to see prequel defenders, especially when they cross over into mainstream.

  4. susanbowes Says:

    Lazypadawan:

    I saw the video on FB that you’re talking about and also commented on it – that I’d love to see Hayden in future SW films. Turns out more people agreed with him returning to the saga, then those who opposed it. So much for trying to bash Hayden. The jerks who made this video failed miserably. I could barely contain my glee at their failure!

  5. ladylavinia1932 Says:

    When I first read this, I could not help but laugh. I think many of you would be shocked that when this rumor first appeared on the Jedi Council forum, many of the members seemed open to the idea. Surprise, surprise!

  6. Jim Raynor Says:

    Speaking as someone who just posts here and doesn’t run the place, I’d rather not see this blog take on a social/political side including one that demonizes so-called “PC” “SJWs.”

    Fandom is made of distinct populations, and generally I’ve found the female/tumblr segments more tolerant. Don’t forget that vocal fandom and the geek entertainment media complex (great name BTW) is largely older and male, with many “MRAs,” some self-identified and some even sinking to the level of rape apologism. I literally had to explain to somebody at one of the big geek forums that nonconsensual sex is not acceptable…

    • lazypadawan Says:

      Yes there are the creepy neckbeard types who reside on Reddit and make up a large portion of the RLM fan club, not to mention being the kind of guys Chris Hansen used to bust on “Dateline.” I avoid them as much as possible. I’m just skeptical about people who go on about bullying but never in the context of what I’ve been describing here for the past several years.

    • Noah Evans Says:

      I feel like I had a hand in changing the topic and opening a door in the upper comments… so, you have my word that I won’t mention anything, matter, or form of political opinion.

  7. roxam91 Says:

    IGN, oh IGN… can’t spell “ignorant” without “IGN”. But yeah, even when they’re discussing something other than Star Wars, they still make me cringe. Apart from Eric Goldman, I can’t think of anyone at IGN who deserves my respect.

  8. Marshall Says:

    That’s ironic because I came across an IGN video that defends the changes in the saga. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mDeJjBDlWBc

Leave a Reply

