Hayden Christensen On Star Wars With HuffPo Live

Hayden Christensen is promoting his new flick with Kate Bosworth “90 Minutes In Heaven,” which opens tomorrow. While talking to HuffPost Live, he was asked a question about Star Wars and his “rock star” years. This short video has his response.

Tags:

107 Responses to “Hayden Christensen On Star Wars With HuffPo Live”

  1. Hunk a Junk Says:

    Anthony Daniels take note. Clearly, Hayden has heard and endured a lot from the “crazy fans,” and he has every right to be bitter about it. But he keeps it classy. No need to throw anything or anyone under the bus.

  2. Kim Says:

    What a class act. I really hope he does have fond memories of the experience in spite of the whiny haters. I love his performance in both AOTC and ROTS.

  3. Eduardo Jencarelli Says:

    Remind me never to subscribe Fortune Magazine. They seriously lack quality writers:

    http://fortune.com/2015/09/10/kathleen-kennedy-lucasfilm-star-wars/?xid=soc_socialflow_twitter_FORTUNE

    • piccolojr1138 Says:

      Kennedy admits she is the one who has thrown away Lucas’ treatments for VII, VIII and IX.

      “A still more pressing task, though, was to rethink the story line that Lucas had sketched out for the new Star Wars episode. Kennedy, frankly, wasn’t thrilled with the plot. Her new bosses at Disney expected the movie to come out in the summer of 2015, but Kennedy held firm that the project would all come to naught without a great story line at its heart. “Every fiber in my being knew what I needed to do to at least get that movie off and running. So that’s what I focused on,” she says. “A lot of what they were expecting was, in my mind, unrealistic, because nobody making the deals makes movies.””

      • Hunk a Junk Says:

        Which is why I suspect there’s now a rift between Lucas and Kennedy. They’ll speak kindly of each other if asked, but we won’t see Lucas at the premiere and Kennedy (ask we’ve seen at CVII and SDCC) won’t even mention Lucas’ name while promoting the film. If we ever see them standing side by side in public again I’d be surprised.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        Where did this come from?

        (Also, threadjacking ;).)

      • Hunk a Junk Says:

        Sorry, LP! Just my own theory. I’ll move along, move along… 🙂

      • Simon Maxwell Says:

        Well, the fact that Lucas’s treatments for episodes 7, 8 and 9 have been completely discarded makes me even less interested in seeing any of these films (and I wasn’t especially interested in seeing them in the first place).

        As far as I’m concerned, the Star Wars Saga will always consist of only episodes 1 to 6. With no input whatsoever from Lucas, episodes 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 etc and the umpteen spin-offs are nothing more than big-budget fan fiction.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I agree with you Simon. Without Lucas at the helm, the continuing episodes of Star Wars won’t be the same. They’ll lack his imagination and certainly won’t continue the ideals of SW us fans have come to expect.

      • roxam91 Says:

        So this pretty much confirms the ST is nothing more than EU 2.0

      • Bob Clark Says:

        Wait, is this an actual confirmation that the ST doesn’t include Lucas’ treatments at all? That it’s a wholly new story? Not just changes to the story, even large ones?

        If that’s true, then I really have no interest in them. My god.

      • Hunk a Junk Says:

        Yes, there will be no “story by George Lucas” credit on the film. I believe at one point he was to receive an executive producer credit, but I don’t think that’s the case anymore. He effectively walked away from the production after JJ was brought in and they decided to drop his treatments. His only credit, beyond the Lucasfilm logo, will be “Star Wars created by George Lucas.” Coincidentally, today Lucasfilm announced the street date for the Art of The Force Awakens book and it included this blurb: “Exclusive interviews with the entire creative team also provide a detailed look at what it took to bring director J. J. Abrams’ vision to life, while the unused “blue sky” concept art offers glimpses into roads not traveled.” So “blue sky” was apparently the production alias the company was using for the Lucas treatments. Yup, roads NOT traveled.

      • piccolojr1138 Says:

        I hope the Making Of and the “Art Of” will enlighten us about the treatments. And I hope Lucas will talk about it too.

      • Marshall Says:

        Sheesh, you’d think Abrams was the original creator of Star Wars.

      • Bob Clark Says:

        Oh jesus. Well, that’s it. As soon as I see official confirmation that he isn’t getting a “Story By” credit, I’ll know to stay away from the film entirely. Maybe if I feel charitable, I’ll ask a friend to pirate it for me.

      • Nick Skywalker Says:

        Massive internal eye roll.

        This trilogy is going to be a disaster. Might as well rename it A Midwinter’s Fanboy’s Wet Dream. I’d bet money on the idea that Lucas’ treatments actually brought something new to the table and this drivel that’s going to be on screen in 3 months is nothing more than a rehash of the OT. Nothing new, nothing original. Just a lot of pandering fan service to disgruntled “fans.”

        Why do I want to see this movie again? I got a bad feeling about this.

      • Marshall Says:

        I have a feeling that no one’s really that excited about this new film either, judging by the way merchandise is just sitting on the shelves.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        We haven’t seen the film yet and won’t for another three months and change. The only stuff people grabbed were the admittedly cool-looking Sphero BB-8 and the action figures, and 99% of those were bought by scalpers and diehard Star Wars action figure collectors. Otherwise, why get a t-shirt featuring characters you don’t know?

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        Well, maybe I will still enjoy the story of the new trilogy. I think it is too early to judge the film by now. In the worst case, it will be a fanboy service, including a Han Solo shouting “See, I shot that guy first before he could.” In the best case, it will be a worthy continuation of the mythology.
        Still, I want to know:
        a) What did the original story treatments look like? I have read a rumour that it would show Luke exploring the roots of the Force (maybe in line with the Yoda arc we saw in the Lost Missions of TCW?). If true, I think this idea was good: it was a sequel that at the same time did not simply continue the story of EP VI. And there was always this idea that the third trilogy would focus on philosophical questions.
        b) Will the new movies at least use some of the ideas by GL? (Probably not…)
        c) Why exactly were GL’s ideas dropped? I thought even some haters (not all…) claimed that “the story ideas for the PT were good, but the execution was not.” In the worst case, the reason is “Walt is rotating in his grave” worthy: GL’s ideas were too unconventional for a big $$$ blockbuster. (I am a Disney fan. In the best case, the studio IMHO remembers the tradition of its founder and tries something new. In the worst case, it just tries to make money. Yes, I fear the latter holds for the new SW movies…)

        I will not be surprised if GL will never talk in public about the aspects of the ST he does not like. He enjoys his retirement, he values friendship, and he is a class act when it comes to such things (that’s at least my impression).

        So, I will probably watch the new movies. However, this does not mean I may not change my mind.

      • Tony Ferris Says:

        Well, that saves me the price of a movie ticket. Sweet!

      • susanbowes Says:

        It’ll be on HBO eventually. That’ll save you the price of a ticket too. LOL

      • Hunk a Junk Says:

        Guys, my prediction is the movie will be good — good as in entertaining, exciting, funny (which is really the key) and delivering satisfying payoffs. Audiences will love it. JJ knows how to deliver a solid narrative film. Critics and fanboys will unleash hosannas on it and there will be endless snark and smack about how JJ got it right and JJ knows Star Wars better than George Lucas. And I say that without having to see a frame of film and knowing that it won’t actually matter what’s in the film. People are going to gush about the ‘practical effects’ and how masterfully the CG was handled (notice how no one seems to be upset that iconic ships like the Falcon are all CG — do you think hateboys would be giving George a pass for doing that?) Fanboys HAVE to praise the film to high heaven because for 18 years they’ve been complaining that the problem with Star Wars is George Lucas and if only George were out of the picture everything would be right again. So they’re not about to criticize anything now that they’ve gotten their way. And yes, JJ will be hailed for his “vision” — of copying what George did 40 years ago. People will pretend like Star Wars just farted into existence and George Lucas had somehow stolen it from its real creators (the fans, apparently). So don’t predict the film will fail or be criticized. It won’t. It will make 2 billion worldwide, it will have an RT score north of 95%, and people will use it as vindication for every hateful thought they’ve ever had about George Lucas. The only question in my mind is how badly it will throw the PT and the SE under the bus. I’m expecting that the “force awakening” part of the story has to do with the elimination of midichlorians (though they won’t be mentioned by name) and retconning of the idea of Force ability passing through bloodlines. I bet JJ wants to return (though this would be a false reading of the mythology) to a democratized vision of the Force where anyone can be a Jedi if they just train hard enough and believe in themselves. And yes, I expect a snarky line about Han shooting first or about how bad it is to try to “erase history” (as in Lucas’ “suppression” of the O-OT). That’s what I think is in store for us. And as a final *****slap to George Lucas, I predict the film will earn multiple Academy Award nominations and wins. I don’t think it’s inconceivable for the film (if it’s even remotely good) to get a Best Picture nom. Seriously. The Academy hates George Lucas (despite their grudging Thalberg Award) and if they have the chance to give him one last kick out the door, they’ll take it. He’s ridiculed them for decades and this is their chance for revenge. So fasten your seat belts, it’s going to be a bumpy night.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I’ve no doubt SW Episode 7 will be a huge hit at the box office. Fans have been waiting for years for the saga to be continued and 99% will go to see the movie which will make it very successful. However, I highly doubt it will be nominated for an Academy Award no matter how much “Hollywood” hates George Lucas. Science fiction movies are rarely given that honor with the exception of a few such as 2001 – A Space Odyssey, Alien, etc.

        As far as normal people being able to use the Force…, I can accept that idea, but only to a point. I still think you’d have to be born with some kind of extra-normal ability such as being “Force sensitive” as was the original idea. That’s why only the Jedi were able to use it. (and Sith too of course) If anyone could learn how to use the Force it would make the ability too commonplace – nothing special. As we all know, that’s one of the reasons the original films were such a success. We’d never seen anything like the Force before Lucas created the saga… and yes my fiends… when you think Star Wars you have to think Lucas. If he hadn’t created the original story there wouldn’t be a fanbase at all and nothing for fans to argue about. LOL

      • roxam91 Says:

        I’m sure the movie will be a massive hit at the box office. But will the fanboys love it? I don’t think so. Sure they may be ecstatic from the trailers that were released, but they felt the same when the TPM trailer was first released, and look what happened. The mixed reception to “Aftermath,” confirmed my suspicions. If all that negativity was simply over a tie-in book, imagine the vitriol Abrams and Kennedy are gonna face once TFA is released.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I agree.

      • Tony Ferris Says:

        I don’t doubt that the movie will be entertaining, and that it will be readily accepted into popular culture. In fact I’m quite content for that to be the case. Sure there’ll be fanboy grumbling (when isn’t there?), but that will largely be salved by TFA’s more familiar milieu and other ‘agreeable’ features.

        I’ve never seen much point in continuing past RotJ though, and have very little interest in Star Wars that’s not shepherded by George Lucas (I still haven’t watched Rebels). I was curious enough to give Ep VII a shot, but that’s drained away over the last three years, the excising of Lucas, and Disney’s cynical marketing that has made it pretty clear that they don’t want my patronage anyway.

        I hope everyone has fun. Truly, I do. Why should I begrudge anyone that. But I’m a Lucas fan, so I won’t be joining in. That’s cool though, there’s plenty of other movies to keep my attention through the Winter. I’m quite looking forward to a few of them actually. 🙂

        P.S. I would love to get a look at Lucas’s treatments, that would be of great interest to me, but sadly those will likely never be made public.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I would love to see Lucas’ vision for Episode VII too. In my opinion, without his ideas Star Wars won’t be Star Wars anymore. It’ll just be another spin-off movie, made just for profit.

      • Sergey Holod Says:

        @ Hunk a Junk

        I agree with everything you said. Yet the very first comment after this article –

        http://www.latinpost.com/articles/77489/20150907/star-wars-episode-7-news-plot-details-practical-effects-marketing.htm

        shows us that some people wasn’t upset about Falcon being CGI because they think it is real. What conclusion one must reach when a person asks: “Where is CGI in trailers?” Where is CGI in trailers!!!

      • Frida Nyberg Says:

        Why would they remove the Force being hereditary? It was there in the OT, with “the Force is strong in my family”. Has this at all been a complaint from hateboys? It makes zero sense.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I couldn’t agree more that the Force should be inherited through a family’s bloodline. This special ability is one of the things that made Star Wars unique. It’s what separated the Jedi from normal society. If anyone could learn to use the power the Jedi would’ve been no more than a police force.

    • jarjarbacktattooguy Says:

      I would be really shocked if none of George’s story ideas are kept in TFA. Scripts are cannibalized by producers all the time. Everything is done by committee now, and most contributors aren’t given screen credit.

      I really think the whole “force awakens in everyone” plot thread probably came from George. I think George wanted to go different places with each trilogy. Nothing tells me JJ is that creative.

      JJ is giving us X-Wings, TIE’s, Y-Wings and Star Destroyers. How original!

      I think I’ll just stay home and watch Labyrinth again. There’s a picture I know for sure that George worked on. There’s Muppets, Jennifer Connelly, and a script co-written by Lucas and Terry Jones! It’s very 1980s and it’s so totally bitchin!

      • susanbowes Says:

        Being Force sensitive is an important part of the saga and the main reason the Jedi were created, so why would Lucas change the whole concept of the Force. And even if it was his idea, (highly doubtful) from what I heard Disney scraped his input entirely. I doubt it’s JJ’s idea too. That idea sounds more like it came from Kennedy.

  4. Nick Skywalker Says:

    Such a classy guy. I think it’s great that even though most of the prequel hatred is geared toward him and he’s got nothing but vitriolic drivel thrown at him for the last 13 years, he still speaks positively about the experience and the movies overall. He kept it positive and didn’t throw anyone under the bus. This may sound corny, but I’d love to tell him how much I loved his performance in SW and that he did a knockout job. I get the feeling he doesn’t get that too much.

  5. susanbowes Says:

    I saw the interview and even asked a question, but it wasn’t asked. I was a bit disappointed, but loved your question. Great reply by Hayden.

  6. jarjarbacktattooguy Says:

    90 Minutes in Heaven looks great. I am really happy to see all these indie, low budget, faith-based films out there and doing well.

    There is such a lack of diversity in storytelling in Hollywood. I don’t really like Tyler Perry, but I get why his films have found an audience. He is giving people something they aren’t getting enough of from mainstream Hollywood. Faith based films may not be for everyone, but people should be given a choice.

    It’s great to see both Hayden and Kate Bosworth back on the screen in a wide release. I am glad they aren’t above doing these religous themed movies.

    Hayden seems even more of a perfect choice for Anakin/Vader as he gets older. He’s both brooding and good looking. He’s James Dean reincarnated.

    Most importantly, Hayden can really rock that 1980s redneck ‘stache!

    • susanbowes Says:

      jarjarbacktattooguy:
      Hayden could definitely be James Dean reincarnated. Their acting styles are extremely similar. Lucas even said he chose Hayden for the role of Vader because he reminded him of Dean and I couldn’t agree more.

  7. Bob Clark Says:

    I have to admit, I wish that Hayden was getting better quality work than one of these faith-based movies, which are never any good. There are directors of faith who know how to put their spiritual life in film in an artful way, but the whole Kirk Cameron/Tyler Perry side of things is kind of a joke. And I don’t say that to belittle the potential of films and filmmakers of faith. Just that you don’t really see quality examples nowadays.

    • Bob Clark Says:

      Then again, just checked the film– written and directed by Michael Polish, one of the brothers who used to do movies like Twin Falls Idaho. Maybe if they weird themselves up again and cast Hayden he can have a comeback in surreal stuff.

    • Tarrlok Says:

      I saw a bit of the Chinese Crusader movie he did with Nic Cage on Netflix. Quite fun, though I don’t know if it’s considered top quality.

      • susanbowes Says:

        Outcast was pretty good, but I agree that it wasn’t one of Hayden’s best roles. I liked him better in American Heist. It reminded me of Takers. It’s too bad they can’t make a sequel for Takers. I’d love to see how “the crew” got together.

  8. Žiga P. Škraba Says:

    Probably my favourite actor in the prequels. He nailed Anakin.

  9. Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

    He’s looking…to paraphraise General Grievous…OOOOLDER.

    That just makes me feel older and sad.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      Well, yeah, he’s in his mid 30s not the kid right out of high school we first saw years ago.

    • Hunk a Junk Says:

      Seeing him more physically mature, however, reminds me of the entire Leonadro DiCaprio debacle. For those who don’t know or don’t remember, there were all kinds of hints that Lucas was interested in casting Leo as Anakin in Episode II. Lucas, reportedly, even invited Leo to be his guest at the opening midnight screening of TPM at the Chinese Theater in Hollywood and they slipped in quietly to sit in the balcony. I have a friend who was there and before the movie began they ran a preview for Leo’s “The Beach.” The fanboys in the crowd started chanting, “LEO SUCKS! LEO SUCKS!” Later, there were heated rants in forums like Force.net about how awful it would be if Leo was Anakin and the idea was quietly dropped. Later, of course, fanboys flipped to loving Leo after Leo got the blessings of Martin Scorcese and Chris Nolan. I would love nothing more than for some director with impeachable fanboy street cred, like Guillermo del Toro, to cast Hayden and watch the attitudes shift. I’m sure those same fans who chanted “Leo sucks” would now say how much better AOTC would’ve been had Lucas cast someone cool like Leo. Because they’re geniuses.

      • Marshall Says:

        I’m one of the few people in the world who think DiCaprio doesn’t deserve an Oscar.

      • susanbowes Says:

        That makes two of us.

      • Tarrlok Says:

        I know affluent actors probably don’t need my defence… but that sort of unhinged chanting about an up-and-coming young guy in their presence seems really dickish. Same with what they said and still say about Jake Lloyd and Hayden Christensen.

        It’s quite amusing how these self-professed independent thinkers are so damn malleable.

  10. Helen Says:

    omg how awesome was that! He looks so good too. Another example of how George got it right with casting. Yay Hayden! xx

  11. James Says:

    He’s a great actor. Perfect as Anakin and did wonderfull in 90 minutes, just saw it today and greatly enjoyed it.

    • susanbowes Says:

      Hayden is an outstanding actor and hasn’t received the credit he deserves. He was fantastic in Life As A House, as well as other projects he’s taken on. His role as Anakin was incredible and from the trailers I’ve seen of 90 Minutes in Heaven, he did an amazing job in that role too. I was amazed when he said that he’d tied a rope around his leg to experience “real” pain when those scenes were shot for 90 Minutes. Talk about method acting! Hayden goes all out for each and every role he takes on. I’ll always be a fan of his and I’ll always give him the credit due him.

  12. Steve Bragg Says:

    I read this forum and I am sad that there will be yet ANOTHER split in the SW fanbase. Films not written by Lucas will not embraced as Canon. The fanbase will never stop splitting up into factions. I should have know it. Lucas enabled all this to happen. There is NO denying that.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      What was Lucas supposed to do, become a vampire and live forever? I wish he hadn’t sold the company yet but what can you do when the Marin County NIMBYs wouldn’t let him build a studio on his own property? And for what? The fan base would split up again over the movie no matter who made it.

      The problems with the fan base is largely with the kind of people in fan culture overall with help from the media and eager-to-please studios.

    • Bob Clark Says:

      The sad thing is Lucas was doing this under the idea that the people he was selecting would respect his wishes and do things with his approval, instead of casting his story aside. He did his homework and tried to ensure something that would unify the fandom in some regard. Shame he didn’t pull for somebody like Filoni.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I think those at Disney who tossed out Lucas’ ideas are out of their minds. I imagine they did this in order to gain new fans interested in “their” version of Star Wars, but I feel they’ve made a huge mistake and will regret their decision,

    • roxam91 Says:

      With or without Lucas, it was pretty much a guarantee that the ST was going to split fans. Happened with the PT when fans didn’t get the movies they had imagined in their heads for years, and they sure aren’t gonna get the sequels they had been imagining either. And that’s not even taking into account the EU/Legends fans who are furious at the new canon (“Aftermath” anyone?). JJ and Kennedy are gonna get a rude awakening this December…

      • Bob Clark Says:

        Personally, I don’t mind getting what I didn’t imagine. I just wanted to see what HE imagined. I don’t particularly care what a corporation imagines.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        The great fandom civil war seems to be starting right now over the books. I’m through reading them. I was reading a select few anyway but now I won’t be bothering with them at all.

      • susanbowes Says:

        How do you feel about fanfictions continuing the saga?

    • lisse Says:

      @Bob Clark Yes. Thisx1000. I don’t mind if things are different than I wanted. I can read fic for that if I really need to.

      But, why am I going to think some random’s interpretation of Star Wars, some corporation’s vision of the SW universe and where it goes next, as more valid than mine? More valid than the devoted fan that writes fanfic about Star Wars for free for years, as a labor of love? Eff that noise. It isn’t more valid. If George had nothing to do with where the story goes, why do I care more about someone’s expensive fanfic and why would I consider it canon? I wouldn’t.

      But, I knew I was going to regard the ST as fanfic anyway – I’ll take the things I like from it as headcanon and disregard the rest.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        That is the question, isn’t it? If this story didn’t come from Lucas then what is the metaphysical difference between these new films and “Heir to the Empire,” some Marvel Star Wars comic from 1981, or any of my fan fiction? Even the Clone Wars was under Lucas’s direction and he came up with a lot of the story lines.

        If it turns out Lucas’s original plans were for something closer to the Mortis trilogy or the Yoda arc and that was junked for something more conventional…

      • Hunk a Junk Says:

        I’d be fine with Disney or anyone else continuing the saga on one unbreakable condition: they respect and maintain the canon stories George made. That means midichlorians, Ahsoka, Han shooting 4 frames after Greedo, all of it. If they leave that alone and build off of it instead of ignoring it or trying to recon it, then I don’t care what they do.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I couldn’t agree more.

  13. ladylavinia1932 Says:

    Damn, he’s looking good!

  14. Sergey Holod Says:

    One can think “Bowfinger” or “America’s Sweethearts” have cynical view upon Hollywood yet what is really happening behind the scene is often beyond any moral standards. It seems to me, people like Hayden Christensen who don’t betray those who helped them are rarest amongst cinema establishment.

    The worst case was J.J. Abrams. Just look at him how humbly he was praising George Lucas in “Industrial Light & Magic: Creating the Impossible” documentary. Personally I think this modest attitude won him the director’s chair of Episode VII. And then compare it to his radio interview with Howard Stern. One could expect J.J. Abrams would walk away after such abominable introduction by Howard Stern where we hear about destruction of the franchise by George Lucas, yet J.J. Abrams stayed and I even suspect he was smiling in agreement especially when he was compared to Jesus Christ who should save “Star Wars”.

    Fortunately George Lucas has never betrayed his own work under pressure of establishment, like Steven Spielberg did in 2007 documentary “Spielberg on Spielberg”. His “1941” is amongst my favourite movies ever yet he admits it was a mistake and people were right by trashing it. George Lucas never did such a thing whether it was Prequels or “Howard the Duck” or any other “unpopular” work.

    Time is the best judge. “Some Like It Hot” was overshadowed by “Ben-Hur” in 1959. It wasn’t even approved by censors of MPAA with all those naked legs and long kisses. But nowadays hardly anyone watched “Ben-Hur” and almost everybody watched “Some Like It Hot”. Regardless of artistic qualities of both movies it proves one shouldn’t praise one movie by expense of another. If it is a good movie, people will watch it despite of propaganda made by press, or critics, or majority of fans.

    Although it is impossibly idealistic view on history I earnestly believe in idea established in “Message in a Bottle” episode of “Star Trek: Voyager”. Somehow it should be right. Time will correct all lies in the end.

    • Stefan Kraft Says:

      Good commentary, Sergey. I think that “Ben Hur” is still considered a classic, though. Moreover, Spielberg may really have changed his mind (artists have every right to do so on their own work).
      It is however more probable that Spielberg indeed wants to play it safe with his fans.
      I have not listened to the “Howard Stern” interview. However, statements like “GL destroyed SW” are painful. The moderator could just have said “GL created something wonderful, but the last installments of the Saga did not meet my expectations. Will this be different with the ST?” But hey, hyperbole is the best tool to please your audience. 😦

      It is really great that people like Hayden, Jake Lloyd or Ahmed Best still stand up and praise their contribution to SW despite the hateboy backlash. Class acts all along.
      McGregor maybe said once he did not like the PT, but he seems to have changed his mind – he at least fully appreciates his role as Obi-Wan. (Hey, Disney, please make an Obi-Wan spin-off. And a Shmi one.) Ian McDarmid has defended Hayden. That’s professional behaviour that some of the people currently involved in SW seem to lack.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I agree that Hayden, Jake, and Ahmed are all Class A for continuing to support SW no matter how much they were criticized by “the haters.” They are true professionals and deserve much more credit than they received.

      • lovelucas Says:

        GL destroyed SW – I mean..WTF? People born w/o logic? Re those who support Hayden etc: I loved how Ian not only defended Hayden to the masses that attended his session at CVI but he praised him as a really good actor. I talked to him directly – Yes I did – thanking him for his kind words about Hayden and he nodded but also shook his head and said he did not understand the negativity at all. He didn’t know why or where it was coming from but he disagreed with it…thoroughly.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I applaud Ian for defending Hayden the way he did. Personally I can’t believe all the hate Hayden received either. The only thing I can think of that would explain this hatred is because hard-core fans were jealous. Maybe not of Hayden, but because Lucas didn’t use their ideas for the prequels.

  15. bansheegun Says:

    Always enjoy hearing what Hayden is up to. He’s always interesting to listen to and one of the few celebrities who doesn’t make me cringe every five seconds after they say something. (Looking at you, Natalie Portman)

  16. ladylavinia1932 Says:

    I must not have been paying attention. Portman has a reputation for saying the wrong thing at the wrong time? I didn’t know that.

    [“JJ knows how to deliver a solid narrative film. Critics and fanboys will unleash hosannas on it and there will be endless snark and smack about how JJ got it right and JJ knows Star Wars better than George Lucas. And I say that without having to see a frame of film and knowing that it won’t actually matter what’s in the film.”]

    Abrams is a solid filmmaker, but his originality has always been focused on some of the TV shows he helped to create – “ALIAS”, “LOST” and “PERSONS OF INTEREST”. There are two of his movies that I actually liked a lot. One of them was “MISSION: IMPOSSIBLE 3”, which was basically a continuation of a franchise that had kickstarted 10 years earlier and “SUPER 8”, which struck me as a rip-off of a “STAR TREK VOYAGER” episode called “Prey”.

    Otherwise, I have not been impressed by his career as a filmmaker and

    • Bob Clark Says:

      Actually he didn’t create Person of Interest. That was Jonathan Nolan, brother of Christopher and his constant Co writer. Abrams just produced POI.

    • susanbowes Says:

      I liked the new Star Trek movies too.

      • Sergey Holod Says:

        I didn’t like new “Star Trek” films. And this is the whole point. We can’t argue whose opinion is right because “Star Trek” has no single creator anymore. With Gene Roddenberry gone one can only hope to see one’s own vision of “Star Trek”. Different producers invite different directors and different writes and they create different kind of stories for different fans. And everybody is right. I like my “Star Trek” being without action – one might say being dull and boring – like “Sacred Ground” or “Barge of the Dead” from “Star Trek: Voyager”. I realize many people don’t want to see religious themes in sci-fi genre. And they are right. But I am also right since I think it is acceptable.

        And this muddle of opinions is the future of “Star Wars”. “Star Wars” lost the single creator and gains numerous creators. And you can only hope that one of those creators will create something you would think George Lucas wanted to create. Yet I would be guesswork – an opinion upon an opinion upon an opinion. And everybody will be officially right because it won’t be “Star Wars” created by George Lucas – it will be “Star Wars” created by such and such person.

        George Lucas’ opinion about new “Star Wars” will be the only guide for his true fans.

      • susanbowes Says:

        There’s a big difference between the ideas for the new Star Trek movies and what Disney has done with George Lucas’ ideas on the saga he created. In the Star Trek movies the writers tried to keep the main theme of the movies going – continuing the ideals that Gene Roddenberry created. Whereas, in Star Wars Episode VII, Disney dismissed Lucas’ ideas for the movie completely. I think they made a huge mistake by doing that. Even if the movie is a box office hit, Disney has destroyed the high ideals that Star Wars fans have come to expect.

      • Sergey Holod Says:

        I don’t think Abrams’ “Star Trek” is continuation of Gene Roddenberry’s ideas.

        I agree with you about “Star Wars”, of course. Yet, as we know, there are plenty of people (it doesn’t matter whether it is a majority or minority of fans) who think “Star Wars” will flourish without George Lucas. And I suspect it’s no good to argue with them. They are like zombies. They just repeat Disney’s propaganda.

      • susanbowes Says:

        We can agree to disagreeing on the new Star Trek movies. I liked them, you didn’t. No harm done. Everyone is entitled to their opinion. However, I completely agree with you about Star Wars. Haters will continue to hate no matter how much you defend your point of view. Very stubborn lot, aren’t we? 🙂

      • Bob Clark Says:

        The various series did a good jon of continuing Roddenberry’so themes, but the films, the ones done during his lifetime anyway, mostly ignored his input after the first one was a misfire of sorts. I think he’s on record for being not crazy about how the series was militarized starting with Khan.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I agree that the full length films done after the spin-off TV shows aired weren’t very good. However, I’m talking about the new movies starring Chris Pine. I think Gene would’ve been very proud to be a part of them because, in my opinion, they stayed closer to Gene’s ideas for the story. Heck, they even showed James T. Kirk as a child when he stole that car, as well as Jim’s father before he was killed. Amazing plot if you ask me.

  17. ladylavinia1932 Says:

    [“Actually he didn’t create Person of Interest. That was Jonathan Nolan, brother of Christopher and his constant Co writer. Abrams just produced POI.”]

    Hmmm . . . my mistake.

  18. madmediaman Says:

    I’ve been warning people for months that TFA is a soft reboot of Star Wars…

    • Jacobesico Says:

      I got put off Episode 7 when I heard of Abrams disdain for the Prequels.

      I would love to see Hayden Christensen back as Anakin’s Force Ghost.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I think Disney is making a huge mistake by not asking Hayden to be in the following episodes. I’m aware that Disney wants to “move along” by not having familiar characters in the movies in order to introduce new actors, but Anakin/Darth Vader is an integral part of the saga and they should bring this character back in some form. Having Anakin come back as a ghost and mentoring his grandchildren is an excellent way to accomplish that.

    • Frida Nyberg Says:

      That’s what I’ve been seeing too, and I hope I’m wrong.
      Kid stuck on a sandy planet? Check.
      Old Jedi “wizard” in hiding? Check. (FortheloveoftheForce, he even has Obi-Ben’s “dress”!)
      Evil “empire” to be overthrown? Check.
      A rebel alliance for the young main character to join? Check.

      Please don’t let this be ANH 2.0… please don’t let this be ANH 2.0…

      (Like Jurassic World was just a 2015 reboot of the first JP film. Have they lost all creativity?)

      • susanbowes Says:

        Hollywood hasn’t come up with many original ideas in a very long time. That’s why they’re always making sequels and even prequels from box office hits. I mean, come on… how many Rocky’s were there? I’m very surprised they’re continuing Star Wars, but I’m ecstatic that they are. However, I’d much rather see them use Lucas’ ideas for the film, but that option is no longer viable. (Thanks a lot Disney!)

      • Brian47 Says:

        Well, I’m actually fine with revisiting those elements of the movies, I think it goes back to the idea of “rhyming poetry” that Lucas mentioned with the PT. For example, if indeed Luke is now the Obi-wan of the new ST and has been in hiding, then for me that works, it feels like a logical progression of his character but also fits the recurring mythology of the saga on a macro level.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I couldn’t agree more Brian47. And since Luke will be the new Obi-Wan, he’ll definitely train his niece and nephew the ways of the Jedi. That’s why I think Disney should bring Anakin back as a ghost too. He could advise Luke and help Luke train the children.

      • Frida Nyberg Says:

        Nephew?

      • susanbowes Says:

        Yes Frida… Luke’s nephew. According to the books written after the movies, Leia and Han finally get married and have a set of twins (I can never remember their names, but both start with J.) and then they have a third child they name Anakin. I’ve never read the books and don’t know the author, but I’m pretty sure it’s the Legacy series.

      • roxam91 Says:

        Those books aren’t canon in the new movies though. Though it’s entirely possible that elements of them would appear.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I don’t know if the Legacy series is considered canon or not, but it has been widely accepted by Star Wars fans that Leia and Han had a set of twins, which will most likely be introduced in Episode 7. I wish I could remember the twin’s names, but I never thought the names fit. I think Leia would’ve named her children after those she loved and/or respected. That’s why in my fanfiction I called them Benjamin Bail and Padmay Hanna. (Padmay spelled differently on purpose.)

      • roxam91 Says:

        They’re definitely not canon. Any book set after ROTJ that was released prior to ‘Aftermath’ isn’t considered canon. But I don’t disagree that they might implement that stuff to a certain degree in the ST.

    • susanbowes Says:

      I agree… and made to introduce new actors to the saga.

  19. Hunk a Junk Says:

    Here’s a question I’d like a fan to ask Kathleen Kennedy the next time someone gets the chance: “Doesn’t your emphasis on ‘practical effects’ and the ‘old way’ of making Star Wars by definition mean that you think George Lucas made mistakes when he made the prequels — and did you tell George Lucas you intended to correct his mistakes when he asked you to take over his company and be the protector of his work?”

    • susanbowes Says:

      Good question to ask Kathleen Kennedy, Hunk a Junk. I’ve got a couple million of my own questions I’d love to ask her too. I’m certain Lucas thought Kennedy would look out for his interests when he sold Lucasfilms to Disney, but apparently her loyalty flew out the door the second that door was opened. The Force surely won’t be on her side!

      • Jacobesico Says:

        There must always be a Darth Traya. 😎

        (Sorry. I’m a huge KOTOR fan 😀 )

      • lazypadawan Says:

        Or, perhaps because she answers to Disney execs, the shots aren’t all hers to call anymore.

      • susanbowes Says:

        About Kathleen Kennedy:
        She’s supposed to be the head of Lucasfilms so I don’t see why Disney wouldn’t accept her ideas, if not Lucas’.

      • Hunk a Junk Says:

        Oh, I have no doubt, LP, that Kennedy knows exactly who is buttering her bread. The biggest laugh (and groan) for me during SDCC was when Kennedy said, “Star Wars really belongs to the fans!” Bull****. It now belongs to Disney shareholders and Kennedy knows damn well that if TFA falls short of expectations it’s her head on the plate. So when Kennedy knew “with every fiber of my being” that she had to dump Lucas’ storyline for the ST and come up with something new (ironically, by getting JJ to re-hash the OT), she wasn’t thinking about protecting Lucas’ legacy (what Lucas hired her to do) but protecting her own.

      • susanbowes Says:

        Agreed, but who in that position wouldn’t watch their own arse? LOL

      • madmediaman Says:

        I highly doubt she made that call. I’m sure that’s the company line, but Kennedy has never been anything more than a line producer, and not a creative type at all. She’s gone to bat for director’s and filmmakers over the direction of films, Benjamin Button for example, but has never brought “creative energies” to a movie.

        This smacks of more revisionism…

        Oh, George hand picked her, so if she didn’t like George’s treatments they must have been really bad; seems to be the message coming from Fortune.

        This sounds more like a Alan Horn play. She gets to be the “fall guy” so if the film underperforms (which I expect it to do vs. the unrealistic expectations that have been put on TFA… NOTE: This film is NOT going to make $2 billion worldwide), then Disney gets to throw her overboard and bring in their own people.

      • susanbowes Says:

        I agree about Kennedy getting canned if Disney doesn’t get the profits they expect for Episode 7. It’ll be a shame because even though she’s disagreed with Lucas’ ideas, she’s the last link to Lucasfilms and our love of the original saga.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      Funny how fans like that never get the opportunity to ask anything.

      • susanbowes Says:

        So true lazypadawan. I’m pretty sure Lucas had a facebook page (not him – an employee) where you could post questions and comment on SW. Not sure he checked much, but at least we had an opportunity to post our ideas.

  20. lovelucas Says:

    I can’t even say “I told you so” to this gang. We all knew it was going to happen this way – praise the almighty JJ, sight and story unseen – not that it would make a difference – and continue to act like George did everything wrong. This is how it will play out – you all know it and so I. My biggest problem is this – that George doesn’t know about us, that he believes what he hears and reads about – and we don’t have a loud enough voice to tell him otherwise. Guess what the media will focus on? This pains me hugely and endlessly. Makes me want to cry all the time.

    • susanbowes Says:

      I couldn’t agree more. Lucas only heard what the haters said about Star Wars and what he did wrong. (NOT!) The good he did wasn’t shouted loud enough. With all the negativity, I can’t say I blame him for selling Lucasfilms to Disney. He’s fed up with it all and what makes matters worse – Disney tossed his ideas for Episode 7. Without Lucas’ input, I highly doubt the next episodes will carry on the ideals that made the saga so great.

Leave a Reply

