Clone Corridor Compares & Contrasts Clone Wars Cartoons

Clone Corridor looks back at both the Clone Wars micro series (2003-2005) and the Clone Wars series, comparing and contrasting the approaches to story and characters.

Tags:

23 Responses to “Clone Corridor Compares & Contrasts Clone Wars Cartoons”

  1. madmediaman Says:

    Interestingly, I was never a big fan of Genndy’s Clone Wars series. I thought it was too over the top, and seriously came up short in the storytelling department. Stylistically it’s got some cool visuals, but for me it just felt flat.

    And Durge certainly didn’t help matters… he felt more like a video game boss you had to vanquish than a character in the Star Wars universe.

    But this was a cool retrospective.

    • bansheegun Says:

      Yeah, cool for what it was but the animation style was not for me. Some of the characters (Qui-Gon) looked really bad. The 2008 series had much better animation and had actual story. Plus it had Ahsoka, always a plus 😄

      • M. Marshall Says:

        Really guys? Why the hate? The 2003 series was awesome. And the reason the first season had little dialogue was because Lucas requested it. He didn’t want any spoilers for episode 3 and it was a test to see what how well Tartakovsky and co. would do. When it won an Emmy, Lucas then gave the go ahead to make a second season. It was this series that convinced him to make a second Clone Wars series, which is why it’s sometimes called the pilot series. I’ll never forget the way I held my breath when General Grievous was first introduced and he picked off those jedi one by one. The jarring music also helped. It made me say for the first time, “I have a bad feeling about this.”

        And the animation is Tartakovsky’s trademark stylized animation (read: Samurai Jack) which Lucas admired because it reminded him of anime. I have nothing against CGI, but I really miss hand-drawn animation.

      • bansheegun Says:

        Not hate, just prefer CG. I felt a more real world connection to the characters in TCW because of the facial animations and movements of the characters. It felt real.

      • Marshall Says:

        However 2-D animation allows for more diversity in style, be it “Snow White” “Yellow Submarine” or “Princess Mononoke”.

      • bansheegun Says:

        Not to mention, TCW had the best CGI animation of any television show in history. Period.

      • roxam91 Says:

        I’m a person who usually prefers hand-drawn animation to CG, and I still thought 2008 Clone Wars far exceeded the animation of the micro series.

      • Marshall Says:

        That’s like comparing apples to oranges.

      • roxam91 Says:

        Even ignoring CG animation altogether doesn’t make the animation of the micro series any better.

      • Marshall Says:

        It’s not about “ignoring” animation or saying which one is “better”. I’m just saying show some respect for these series. At least Tartakovsky and co. have more respect for the saga than Kennedy and Abrams.

      • roxam91 Says:

        Again with bringing up topics irrelevant to what I was talking about. Look, I’m not gonna continue this discussion anymore. If you enjoyed the micro series, I’m glad you did. I honestly couldn’t stand it. If you have a problem with that, then I’m sorry I don’t share your opinion, despite being a huge defender of Episodes I, II, III myself.

        MYFBWY

      • roxam91 Says:

        *MTFBWY

      • lazypadawan Says:

        roxam91’s opinion is that person’s opinion. I liked the micro series and loved the Clone Wars series. I like Rebels.

        Let’s be cool here and not turn this into TFN’s message board :).

  2. roxam91 Says:

    The 2003 micro-series (which came around when I was 12) was honestly the first Star Wars-related thing didn’t like. When I first heard about it, I was excited at the thought of a Star Wars animated show. But what I got could be best described as “Three minutes of cool stuff. The End.” This was not what I wanted. Additionally, the character designs looked crappy (seriously, why did Yoda look like he was in a bad mood the whole time??), and Anakin’s voice was AWFUL (people complain about Hayden, yet they’re ok with this guy??). I ended up giving up around the 3rd or 4th episode.

    The 2008 Clone Wars, however, was exactly what I wanted from an animated Star Wars show. Actual plot. Good character designs. AND great voice acting.

    Say what you will about the Disney canon, but I for one am glad that the 2008 series is the one that counts as canon rather than the 2003 micro series that I would like to forget.

  3. Nick Skywalker Says:

    The animation used in the micro series looked like a cross between bad anime and the old Buzz Lightyear cartoon series animation. It was over the top and horrid. I watched a few scenes on YouTube and I wasn’t impressed, story wise.

    Admittedly I’ve never watched TCW 2008 (blasphemy I know) but I might give it a try one of these days.

  4. James Says:

    I was too young to see the micro sereis on T.V, but I rather enjoyed it when it came out on dvd. Of coursee I knew it was not entire accurate to canon as it WAS very over the top ( even at 10 years of age I knew that) but it did really well filling in the gap between 2-3. Plus it had a few things the 2008 sereis didn’t have sych as Anakins knighting, and full meetings of the jedi high council. Nonetheless the 2008 sereis certinly had a higher quality and more depth .I think the new sereis is better by far but the old one was fun.

  5. Keith Palmer Says:

    I liked the original “micro-series” when I first saw it; I suppose I was impressed with its “dialogue-light, action-heavy” style. In retrospect, though (and before the computer-animated series started, too), I did sort of wind up dwelling on how it had presented Anakin as “seething” and goaded into an ominous rage in the climactic battle. It had only been made after Attack of the Clones, to be sure, but even there it didn’t quite seem an interpretation I could agree with. The “second micro-series,” able to draw more on production material from Revenge of the Sith, did seem to try to make up for that, but still sort of leaned on the “ominous foreshadowing.” It may be, though, that the “micro-series” being invoked as a “non-George Lucas production” (and used to cast aspersions on the computer-animated series) also didn’t quite help how I wound up thinking about it.

  6. Brian47 Says:

    That first CW micro-series makes for intense viewing, it’s almost a fever dream of how the Clone Wars could be portrayed. It’s good to revisit for a quick, contained and thrilling SW adventure in the PT era.

  7. Slicer87 Says:

    I think the old micro series was more like the live action PT films than the CG one ever was.

  8. Rogue 47 Says:

    When the micro-series first appeared I enjoyed binge-watching episodes late at night but I could never really sit down to watch them individually. That changed completely with the 2008 series which became a fixed moment in the week where I would sit down with my daughters to watch. And even after the oldest had left the house to go off and study we would occasionally coordinate on Skype while collectively watching it. Some memorable moments of the micro-series stuck in my head, especially the feels of watching those moments for the first time … like the duel with Ventress. But overall for me the 2008-series contained so much more dramatic and emotional content and so much more visual story-telling and beautiful design that for me represented genuine Star Wars. It will always be a pity that the 2008-series was not allowed to close those last few in-universe weeks to Revenge of the Sith.

Leave a Reply

