Update On My Crazy Idea

Remember my My Crazy Idea? The idea was to start a Tumblr where prequel fans can show that we exist and aren’t about to be ignored anymore.

I still want to do this. I haven’t got to it because over the past month I moved, volunteered at SDCC, had family members visit from out of town for a week, and spent four exhausting weeks on a trial. Plus I am still unpacking from moving (and sigh it looks like some of my collection got stolen or was lost).

I’m about ready to start it up. The only thing is what should I call it? I originally came up with “We’re Star Wars Fans Too” but someone made the suggestion that I call it something like “This Is Our Star Wars.” What do you think?

Tags:

30 Responses to “Update On My Crazy Idea”

  1. Noah Evans Says:

    I would go with “We’re Star Wars Fans To”, since the whole marketing ploy for Force Awakens kind of disowns us as fans.

    (Also, sad to hear about your missing items)

  2. Ruthie Says:

    Both names are great, but I think I like This Is Our Star Wars just a bit more.

  3. Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

    The problem with “This is Our Star Wars” is that it sounds just as exclusive as the mainstream hateboys and we need to show we’re different. We’re inclusive.

    On the other hand, “We’re Star Wars Fans Too” seems a little weak and pleady. We want to be strong and confident.

    Give us some time to come up with alternate suggestions.

  4. J.Bradley Says:

    Star Wars: Prequality.

  5. Helen Says:

    I like the 2nd one better, but we don’t want to feel like we are being defensive or exclusive either. The PT is SW as much as the OT. Even if some don’t see it that way. It’s their problem. How about “This is Star Wars.” leave out the ‘our’. Or maybe just something to the point and simple: Star Wars Prequel TrilogyFan Blog. Anyway, great idea. I’m down with your idea which is not crazy

  6. madmediaman Says:

    “We Are Star Wars Fans Too” is better, more inclusive sounding, and gets the point across. “This Is Our Star Wars” sounds like “stay out!” which has never been an idea I’m comfortable with. To use the Christian vernacular, I’d rather extol the virtues of George’s 6-part Saga, and “evangelize” those who may have dismissed the PT out of hand.

    There are A LOT of PT haters who are now fans thanks to the work of Mike Klimo’s Ring Theory, and I suspect other works like the recent “Star Wars Poetry” video and the upcoming “Prequels Strike Back” will have the same effect.

    Even a number of formerly hostile nerd sites are starting to revisit the PT and are coming to the conclusion that… “Whoops we may have been wrong.” “This Is Our Star Wars” simply sounds like a club that isn’t interested in expanding and growing, or welcoming those former “lost sheep.”

    • Brian47 Says:

      Agreed, it should be an inclusive name, it shouldn’t start a trend of making a ghetto out of PT fans. It needs to simply communicate that we can fans of all aspects of the series, all the movies.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      That’s an interesting point. See how complicated it is to come up with these things?

      In any case this is a focus on the fans themselves rather than a discussion about the movies….I wanted to show that there are SW fans who value the prequels as much as the other films.

      • madmediaman Says:

        It is a tough nut to crack. It needs to be more active sounding than “We Are Star Wars Fans Too,” but it can’t be super negative. My problem with Prequality is it’s too Prequel specific. It needs to capture the entire George Lucas Star Wars mythos…

        Hmmm…

      • madmediaman Says:

        Because I’ve honestly yet to meet a PT fanatic who is not a fanatic of George’s 6-part vision.

      • Frida Nyberg Says:

        I once made a stamp on deviantART called “the prequels and sequels are equals”. Thought for this I guess it’s too long, and back then it worked because the original trilogy were called “the sequels” sometimes. Now with three trilogies, that doesn’t work.

  7. madmediaman Says:

    Star Wars: A 6-Part Symphony

  8. starwarsanon Says:

    I agree with everyone that “We’re Star Wars Fans Too” is a little more inclusive. But I also LOVE the suggestion of Prequality. Prequels + Equality is just awesome. So that gets my vote.

  9. madmediaman Says:

    Ok, let me throw this out there. Here are two ideas that are both aggressive, yet sound more like fans of the Saga.

    1) Defenders of the Force – A play on the phrase “defenders of the faith.”

    2) Star Warriors – It has an “old school” feel (it was the name Marvel used in the 70’s/80’s to refer to Luke, Han, and Leia in the Star Wars comics)

    Both imply action… Star Warriors is pretty aggressive, but it has kind of a retro-30’s serial vibe which keeps it lite.

    • Keith Palmer Says:

      If we’re looking for something inclusive and “Saga-fan-friendly,” “Defenders of the Force” sounds fine to me. “Star Warriors” might be a little too aggressive for me, and for some reason I’m focusing on that “from the old Marvel comics” and wondering if it’s quite as inclusive. So far as “defending” things goes, anyway, I’m always inclined to contemplate the late 1990s and the dismissals of Return of the Jedi that always seemed to embed something unsatisfying in general fandom, and to wonder if the way this sequel trilogy is being set up will leave those intent on proclaiming it “totally respectful” once more dissatisfied with their interpretations of the original trilogy it just sort of follows after…

    • Marshall Says:

      I like the “Defenders of the Force” suggestion. I’ve always used the “Star Warriors” label for fans of Star Wars because I thought it was unfair that fans of Star Trek were called “Trekkies” while fans of Star Wars were simply called….”Star Wars Fans”

      • Keith Palmer Says:

        I once saw someone else noticing how “Star Wars fans” don’t have a “special name,” then wondering if that had something to do with how they didn’t start off with the “we’re special someones in a world not good enough to ‘get’ what we like” feeling that might have gathered while the original run of Star Trek was scraping by in the ratings and being kept running long enough to go into syndication with letter-writing campaigns. Star Wars, of course, was a phenomenon in the summer of 1977…

        (Of course, maybe this just invites the “special names” of other fan groups to be brought up.)

    • Noah Evans Says:

      Star Warriors may confuse a majority into believing it is a Kirby blog.

  10. zch81721 Says:

    You going to do a column on the toys or Aftermath that will be dropping soon?

  11. LadyJediScientist (@LJediScientist) Says:

    I did like “This is Our Star Wars”, but I am leaning more towards “Defenders of the Force” b/c the Force is a unifying element of the whole saga.

Leave a Reply

