Midi-Chlorian Rhapsody T-Shirt

I found this tee while poking around MakingStarWars.net’s TeePublic store. For some wacky reason TeePublic was threatening to jack up the prices after 9 p.m. PST yesterday but today it’s still just $14.

Update:  Check out this gorgeous Padmé t-shirt on the same site: https://www.teepublic.com/t-shirt/33137-queen-senator-wife

Tags: ,

35 Responses to “Midi-Chlorian Rhapsody T-Shirt”

  1. Morgan Cherney Says:

    I saw this shirt too. There’s also a Sebastian Shaw varient, so nice the artist decided to play for both sides. Myself, I have a Bohemian Rhapsody shirt of Darth Vader, Sidious, Maul, and Kylo Ren. All 3 trilogies.

    As to the price about to go up, $14 is a site-wide sale going on atm, $20 is the usual price, so yea, best take advantage soon.

  2. Bob Clark Says:

    Oh. Hm. Meh.

  3. bansheegun Says:

    And NO snide description of the product! (I’m looking at you, ThinkGeek).

    Anyway, you hear about the director of Episode 9? How long before his Prequel hatred comes out? Kind of hoped Rian Johnson would do 8 & 9, he seems very Prequel friendly.

    • zch81721 Says:

      I’m actually confident with that director. Was very happy with Jurassic World and i figure he’s not going to give 2 shits about practical effects.

    • Bob Clark Says:

      If only they’d gotten him for episode 7. Or Matthew Vaughn. Or almost literally anybody.

      • bansheegun Says:

        I’d be cool with Vaughn. I wish George had stuck with his original plan to direct Episode 7 THEN retire and give the reigns to someone else. We probably would have gotten a completed Clone Wars too. But I don’t blame the man for being tired of all the haters. Not to mention, Bob Iger was super pushy.

      • Bob Clark Says:

        Oh, god. Bob Iger. The man who drove Twin Peaks into the ground. Argh. How pushy was he? In what way? Do I even want to know?

      • bansheegun Says:

        From what I’ve read, George was a bit hesitant for a long time and Iger was very persistent and pushy. I don’t like Iger personally.

      • zch81721 Says:

        I was begging for Vaughn all the way back in 2012 when the purchase was made. He would have been perfect.

    • piccolojr1138 Says:

      Well, he doesn’t seem like a hater. http://furiousfanboys.com/2014/05/jurassic-world-director-colin-trevorrow-comments-on-the-ruined-my-childhood-crowd/

      • Wizardman Says:

        That’s the first thing I thought of when I heard he was directing Episode IX. 😛

        I’m much more excited to see what Rian Johnson and Colin Trevorrow can do with Star Wars than J.J. Abrams, tbh. I like Abrams — he had a hand in one of my favorite TV shows ever, LOST — but he seems to be far too obsessed with “recapturing” his youth when it comes to Star Wars. :/

    • Nick Skywalker Says:

      Aaaanndd he’s already getting hate from the hate boys. A lot of them are already screaming that he’ll ruin SW because apparently, according to them, JW was the worst movie of the year because of…too much CGI and bad writing! Sound familiar?

      • lazypadawan Says:

        Then he sounds like our man! 😉

      • M. Marshall Says:

        Or is it because JW dethroned their precious Avengers as the third highest grossing-film of all time? Hahahahahaha!

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        “Aaaanndd he’s already getting hate from the hate boys. A lot of them are already screaming that he’ll ruin SW because apparently, according to them, JW was the worst movie of the year because of…too much CGI and bad writing! Sound familiar?”
        I know I do not add anything valuable to this discussion, but still:
        honestly, what do these hateboys think? That SW automatically became great because only practical effects were used in the OT? I have recently linked to a video (beware, it was implicitly critical of EP I, so no re-link) that showed that CGI has become a tool in the production of any serious movie. Criticism of (bad) CGI is, on the other hand, only seen by the video producers as a simple scapegoat for “fans” that did not like other aspects of a movie like the story, the acting etc. (I may not quote them 100% correct, but I think this is what they wanted to show, too.)

    • Stefan Kraft Says:

      Personally, I would have found it interesting if the choice of directors for the ST would have been a bit more unconventional. Maybe a smaller name, even an independent director? Remember the choice of Marquand or Kershner. However, unconventional choices would probably only have happened if GL was asked.
      I think JJ can direct a movie worthy of the SW Saga. I just hope he also tries to extend the Saga, not only pay a hommage to the OT.

  4. Helen Says:

    oh nice! It’s so hard to find PT stuff, and when I do it’s usually something belittling of Jar Jar or the PT in general. So sad how we get shut out. Thanks for the links!

  5. Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

    With different directors for each and no George overseeing it, I have concerns about how they’re going to keep things cohesive.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      That’s a good point. I’m fine with the new guy–I figured as soon as JW racked up the bucks they were going to chloroform him, throw him into an unmarked van, drive him to HQ, and make him sign on to do a SW movie. But at least when Kershner and Marquand directed their SW movies, Lucas was very much behind the process so in the end the films were more or less consistent.

    • piccolojr1138 Says:

      Don’t worry, Kathy will keep it cohesive : It will have real sets and practical effects (repeat it a hundred times).

      • roxam91 Says:

        Speaking of practical effects, given how Trevorrow didn’t use much practical dinosaurs in JW, I wonder how he’ll approach this in SW. But if he dares say the word “we are using practical effects,” when promoting Episode IX, I will be the first to call him out.

    • Andrew Weaver Says:

      Well, let’s consider that the original trilogy went through three directors. Did those films seem cohesive throughout? Seemed fairly so to me, but I’m not the best at noticing director-specific influences.

      • Bob Clark Says:

        Yeah, but at least Lucas was there shepherding the whole thing. Now you have a corporation. Not exactly inspiring confidence.

      • Brian47 Says:

        At this point, I don’t see consistency as being the biggest goal of the new era. It will simply be getting quality people in to work on the new movies who respect what Lucas accomplished. I’m fine with the series evolving, exploring different tones, different styles, not unlike what the James Bond series experienced over the many decades. Even the recent and various Marvel movies can display varying tones and styles (between Cap America, Thor, Ant-Man, etc) and yet still all be part of the same universe.

      • jarjarbacktattooguy Says:

        I don’t really have a problem with them experimenting with the spin-offs, but the sequel trilogy is serialized and therefore should maintain a fairly consistent tone and style throughout.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        Exactly. IF they wanted to do that, ALL of the films should be spinoffs not sequels to I-VI.

    • jarjarbacktattooguy Says:

      Is the Lucasfilm Story Group overseeing the movies and tv shows, or just the expanded universe?

      There has to be some secret “star chamber”, who are really running the show. Kathy can’t be doing it all herself. She isn’t a writer anyway.

      Maybe Lucas is secretly still running things from behind the scenes a la Palpatine. Haw!

      • Bob Clark Says:

        One can hope.

      • Morgan Cherney Says:

        The Story Group oversees the franchise. Basically they’re following what Kevin Feige has done with the Marvel Cinematic Universe, where they plan out the movies, tv shows, netflix shows, and even comic book tie-ins. So too are they planning out the sequel trilogy, Anthology films, Rebels, novels, comics, and supposedly a netflix show is being discussed. This is why the EU was reduced to Legends, so everything could be fresh, streamlined, and cohesive.

  6. M. Marshall Says:

    Well, what do you think of this?: http://epicstream.com/news/Drew-Struzan-Says-The-Force-Awakens-is-The-Best-Star-Wars-Movie

    • Stefan Kraft Says:

      Well, if it is his honest opinion, then there’s nothing wrong with it. He could certainly form his opinion better than all of us if he was really able to watch a large part of the movie. His statements on the script give me hope (although they seem to “contradict” the judgements about the story (spoilers) I have read here on SWPAS).

      Have you read the statement by Paul F. McDonald on his fandom retirement? http://www.thestarwarsheresies.blogspot.de/2015/08/early-retirement.html
      I fear a bit that some of our reactions to TFA may have played a role in it… 😦

      • lazypadawan Says:

        I’ve been reading what’s happening on Paul’s FB page lately and it’s not really so much what we’re saying here as Paul getting some flak for not being sufficiently enthusiastic. It’s all part of a bundle of what I’ve been meaning to say lately. I’m concerned many of us who have been on the same side for a long time won’t be for much longer and I don’t know if there’s anything anybody can do about it.

      • Keith Palmer Says:

        Not being on Facebook myself, I was thinking of some of the responses to earlier posts by Paul and worrying they amounted to the exact opposite of what you described. Even with that explained, though, I’m remembering someone who helped make me aware there were other “prequel appreciators” out there, but dropped out of the fandom after Revenge of the Sith… All I can do is hope that my not reading the novels and comics might point to “being able to politely wait at the edge of saga-positive sequel discussion,” if it has to come to that.

    • Stefan Kraft Says:

      Furiousfanboys.com has also an article on Struzan’s statement:
      http://furiousfanboys.com/2015/08/drew-struzan-says-the-force-awakens-is-probably-the-best-star-wars/
      Note that FF is a prequel-defender site.
      Personally, my feelings are still mixed, but should I consider TFA “my SW”, I will happily eat my own critical words I said/wrote about the movie.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        It’s one person’s opinion and I have no idea what Struzan would define as the “best” movie and frankly, I’ve heard it all before. Didn’t stop the peanut gallery.

Leave a Reply

