Can You Stand One More “Practical” Video?

Wow, that’s three spoofs since SDCC??

Tags: ,

41 Responses to “Can You Stand One More “Practical” Video?”

  1. Morgan Cherney Says:

    Ah, good ol’ Ira Prov

    • blade57hrc Says:

      I included a link to yours and YE’s videos in the description.
      The unofficial #disneymarketingfail trilogy, LOL.

      • Morgan Cherney Says:

        I noticed, thanks for that. I didn’t even expect mine to become at least moderately popular, as I didn’t even put much in it, and did it at Paul F. McDonald’s request, and only linked it to him, so he must have generously spread it around. Truth be told, I want this movie to succeed, I’m highly looking forward to it. It’s the constant pandering and Pegg-rewarding it take issue with. Let’s at least wish the film luck.

    • blade57hrc Says:

      The movies will succeed box-office wise.No doubt about that.

      That said, while i would be a fool to not want another great SW movie to enjoy, there’s certainly a part of me that wants it to fail artistically because of their intentions behind it…
      And judging from JJ’s past movies which in my opinion are just ”consumer hamburgers”, that’s a fair bet…

      On a more positive note, a love this Rogue one poster. 🙂

      • zch81721 Says:

        So far none of the spin offs have impressed me. I’m pretty much bracing for the worst with Force Awakens and if it is as bad as I think it is I’m done. No more sequels unless they pull something really impressive in episode 8 or include a spin off that isn’t a OT retread. Episode 8: The Apology of the Apology.

  2. bansheegun Says:

    I cringe every time I hear Mark Hamill say “Real sets… Practical effects.”

    Most of these “practical” suits don’t really look that great. Maybe it’s because it’s so up close, but they don’t look “real” like they are claiming them to be.

  3. zch81721 Says:

    Practical drinking game everyone! Also if Abrams hitting the film box is what creates that shaky cam bullshit I’m going to smack him. One thing I loved about the prequels is how you could see what the hell was going on during the action sequences. Not what Abrams loves doing by getting up close and shaking the damn camera. That shit does not belong in a Star Wars film!

    • Stefan Kraft Says:

      Yeah, the action scenes in the PT were normally quite conventionally filmed, like in the OT. (One exception is probably the battle of Geonosis.)
      However, we should not condem JJ yet (we haven’t seen the final movie, who knows how it turns out). He is a professional filmmaker, and I would not be surprised if he still (more or less) follows the style for action scenes established by the earlier movies.
      I just hope that I won’t leave the theatre and think “all good and well, but in the end, nothing really new. Just a huge hommage to the OT.” (And there is still the possibility that I will think “(no) thank you for throwing the PT under the bus” – but we will see.)

    • Eduardo Jencarelli Says:

      With four months of marketing left, I don’t want to risk going into an alcohol-induced coma.

    • blade57hrc Says:

      YES!
      I love how you can actually SEE the action sequences.
      The worst example i remember of me going ”WTF is happening” was with the last Conan re-whatever. I couldn’t understanf $h1t in the action sequences.

      BTW, isn’t a director supposed to watch his freaking monitors when shooting a scene, instead of faping the film box?
      I actually ”facepalm’d” when i first saw that footage of him and that’s why i included it in the video.

      • zch81721 Says:

        It depends on the director but yeah him hitting the damn box is beyond stupid. Old school film making my ass. At least it looks like he’s cut the lens flares. Or at least I’m hoping and he’s not putting them in post as we speak.

  4. Hunk a Junk Says:

    I’ll say this for JJ, he’s a good salesman. He’s completely lying and most of the fans and media are lapping it up. He clearly learned the lesson that if you talk fast enough and with enough passion that people will buy whatever BS you’re spewing. He’s a coward. He doesn’t have the guts to just say what he’s really signalling to the fans: “I hated the prequels too and we’re not making THOSE movies. We’re making Star Wars without that icky George Lucas screwing it up.” That’s what ALL this “practical” nonsense is about. Period.

    • Stefan Kraft Says:

      As I said, I am more hesitant when it comes to judge JJ yet. I would not be surprised if he does not hold a grudge against that trilogy, but he is not a fan of the PT either. Hence, he has no problems following the general marketing idea by Disney (subtly distance yourself from the PT). Or he really thinks what you suggest, Hunk a Junk.
      Since I cannot read his mind, I will wait for the final movie.

      There are two good articles by gallandro1/madmediaman:

      https://onesaga.wordpress.com/2015/04/20/learning-to-let-go/

      https://onesaga.wordpress.com/2015/04/18/star-wars-the-force-awakens-teaser-reaction/

      • Hunk a Junk Says:

        I’m not judging JJ as a filmmaker or the film itself. I’m certain the film will be good and I’ll enjoy it. I’m talking specifically about what he’s doing now in promoting this “practical effects” nonsense. He and others working on the production are clearly saying they felt the PT movies were made the “wrong way” and they’re doing the new movie the right way. But since the “right way” is the same way the PT WAS made, it’s clearly not about practical effects at all. It’s just a BS backhanded way of saying “we think those movies sucked too and we promise we’re making movies more like the ones you liked.” And if that’s how he feels, fine, then own it. Just have the courage to say it. I’m sure there are plenty of fans that will applaud him for it. In the meantime, though, they’re lying. There were tons of practical effects in the PT and they’re simply throwing Star Wars’ creator under the bus to elevate their own project. Notice, they’re not saying, “We hope to innovate and push the boundaries of filmmaking like George did in the first six movies. We’re hoping to expand the story into new territory and show audiences things that are as creative and interesting as what George did.” Nope. It’s all about returning to the “old ways.” Nostalgia. Been there, done that. Falcon? Check. X-Wings? Check. Desert planet, snow planet and jungle planet? Check, check and check.

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        “We hope to innovate and push the boundaries of filmmaking like George did in the first six movies. We’re hoping to expand the story into new territory and show audiences things that are as creative and interesting as what George did.”
        I’d say we’re on the same page, Hunk a Junk. I would even accept if the creators of the new trilogy just said “We (just) use the best tools at our disposal to (re)create the SW universe.” Or “we further improve the tools used in the other movies to let the new ones look even better.”
        Instead, we seem to get the “practical/old school effects” for their own sake…

      • Keith Palmer Says:

        The problem with me for sage “learn to let go” comments is that it seems just about as easy to “let go” of “interest in new Star Wars movies” as it might be to “let go” of “shouldn’t they at least avoid all those coded comments?” That, I guess, comes from how I backed away from all things Star Wars after TPM and AotC, if in a depressed “nobody else wants to keep from being offended by those movies” mood, and when I was lucky enough to sort out there really were some other people willing to be positive it was easy enough to continue to not read the Star Wars novels or comics when I kept getting the impression they were being held up as “movie antidotes”…

        I guess, too, I’d almost rather see comments like “we understand how things that were well-meant set some people off.” When all I hear are “look how much money we spent on the sets!” and “look, new stormtroopers!”, it makes the whole thing seem sort of shallow and arbitrary…

  5. Hunk a Junk Says:

    Here’s something to prove this is all BULLsmit of the highest order. In that video we see Mythbuster’s Grant Imahara getting all excited about the practical effects in TFA, but Grant WORKED at ILM on the prequels. He MADE models! He helped build R2 units. He used to get in the Threepio costume for promotional events. Adam Savage built models for TPM and AOTC at ILM too. These people literally owe their careers to George Lucas and every single one of them are all too happy to throw George under the bus because they don’t want to get prequel cooties on them or something.

    http://smg.photobucket.com/user/txkarenr/media/txkarenr2/txkarenr3/txkarenr4/SWPicsartfularchitects.jpg.html

  6. piccolojr1138 Says:

    😀 http://www.ew.com/article/2015/08/14/star-wars-force-awakens-simon-pegg

    “He was a sounding board,” Abrams says. “He would drop by the set because he wanted to, and when he could, he would help… We could talk about things, and he was a perfect combination of incredibly smart screenwriter, fan of the series, critical fan of the series, and friend of mine – but not just blindly supportive. He was an honest, critical friend. And he wasn’t so close to it that he became immune to things. He would come in with fresh eyes and very smart ideas. He’s one of a handful of people along the way that has been really priceless.”

    • lazypadawan Says:

      *Barf.*

      I hate to say it kids but at this point I’m far more excited about the return of The X-Files and Twin Peaks (at least both have their original creators back) to t.v. than I am about this.

      • Hunk a Junk Says:

        It’s like Lucasfilm is going out of its way to give the founder of their company the middle finger. Okay, fine, you want to make films to cater to those fans unhappy with the PT. Whatever, but okay. But getting Pegg involved as a consultant? That’s just a big FU to George. You bring in the PT’s number one hateboy and now HE gets to mold Star Wars when he’s done NOTHING to earn that right?! It’s also a big FU to the fans who liked and supported the PT. To Lucasfilm, we don’t matter. George doesn’t matter. His story doesn’t matter. It’s hateboy uptopia now. Good for them. They all worked hard for it. <>

    • madmediaman Says:

      Pretty much right there with you Lazy. SPECTRE is the film that will likely scratch my Holiday season itch. Unfortunately with this latest news about Pegg I’m very disinterested in TFA right now.

      Like JJ, Pegg is a hack of a filmmaker who, like JJ again, relies way too much on other people’s work to generate ideas… three of his films are parody/nods to other film genres, and the 1 or 2 “original” works he’s done have been incredible derivative, and very uninspiring. So excuse me if I’m not terribly excited about this news.

      I’ve basically decided to change gears on my site, and I’ll be focusing more on George’s Saga, The Clone Wars, and Rebels. I’ll be moving more toward talking about themes, and new observations I’ve made… especially in light of read Mike Klimo’s Ring theory.

      I’ve just found that very little of what I’m hearing about from TFA really appeals to me anymore. Basically the raging nerds have been given the keys to the kingdom, and I have little interest in their licensed fanfic at this juncture.

      • Jim Raynor Says:

        I agree, madmediaman. Age of Ultron was my #1 movie earlier this year, and Spectre has intrigued me a lot more than TFA so far. I’m even more excited for Batman v Superman or Marvel’s Civil War next year. Basically every other big scifi genre blockbuster has shown more ideas and creativity than The Force Awakens so far.

        “Same old Star Wars as before” might e a selling point to some people but it isn’t one to me.

        The inmates, or fanboys, are basically running the asylum right now and the current brain trust seems more interested in reliving their childhoods than pushing the boundaries into something new.

      • Keith Palmer Says:

        I’ll be interested in seeing those “themes and new observations” myself. Even the Twitter posts Mike Klimo has been making contrasting shots from the Star Wars movies to moments from older films have been intriguing me; I do have a lot of old movies I’ve recorded to DVD from Turner Classic Movies to watch if I can ever make the time…

    • M. Marshall Says:

      Maybe J.J. and Disney should just hand the reigns over to S. Pigg and he can make all the decisions about that galaxy far far away and what direction it’ll take to the point where it’s not even recognizable anymore. Then fans will really have something to gripe about: who anointed this manchild to become the poster boy for Star Warriors?

      • Jim Raynor Says:

        Sadly, a “poster boy” for the fandom is exactly what they’ve turned him into.

        Simon Pegg is a B-list actor who has found supporting roles in some big films. He’s a “name” though in geek circles, someone whose name has been brought up to build interest in The Force Awakens. Just why is he a big deal to the geeky fanboy demographic?

        Because he acts and talks like one of them. He’s unapologetic about nerd raging or being childish (outside of the occasional demonstration of self-awareness). That’s the public persona he’s cultivated.

        It’s also an ugly and self-defeating one that I have no desire to identify with. It grates me that fandom and the geek media *wants* to nerd rage and be childish, instead of growing the hell up. Fandom has chosen manchildren as its representatives, instead of well-adjusted and intelligent people who happen to be fans.

    • lisse Says:

      I hope karma bites them all on the ass, which I would bet my student loans it will, when the new trilogy gets scorned in a few years. Nothing can ever live up to this hype so I’m spitefully looking forward to that.

    • Stefan Kraft Says:

      Oh great, an article about the involvment of GL in TFA! “He would come in with fresh eyes and very smart ideas. He’s one of a handful of people along the way that has been really priceless.” That’s good news!!

      Wait, I just read the complete link. No, that’s impossible…

      Honestly though: I would rather expect that GL is somehow involved than a guy like Pegg. Pegg may be passionate about SW, but he only loves half of the Saga and does not show any respect whatsoever for the other half. I do not ask everyone involved to like everything of SW in the same way, but to be at least aware of all 6 movies.

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        Unfortunately, I am also rather looking forward to other movies than TFA. When TFA is released, I will watch it two or three weeks after the opening weekend, probably.

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        What am I saying (writing)… As madmediaman once stated, the current situation is as though J.R.R. were still alive, but instead of asking him any questions regarding your Silmarillion movie, you ask some “Twilight is way better” guy instead.

    • Bob Clark Says:

      Okay. I really want this to be the thing that breaks the camel’s back for me. Simon Pegg is given more input than Lucas? I want to be done. I want Disney to out right say that Lucas’ story has been jettisoned and they’re going in a completely original direction, because then, I can really walk away and not give a shit. Right now the only thing, and I mean the only thing that’s keeping me as a (possible) attendee is the idea that Lucas’ original treatment is still in play. But Pegg coming in just really pisses in the pot for me.

    • Wizardman Says:

      I’m incredibly devastated right now….

    • Nick Skywalker Says:

      I don’t want this movie to fail. And I don’t want it to ruin the saga. But the more JJ opens his mouth, the more I want this film to send the hate boys in rage on December 18 and sit back with a glass of wine and popcorn and watch them crucify him and drag him the way they drag George. He is suppose to be a professional filmmaker. The last person he should take advice from is someone who bashes half of the story JJ has been given. This movie isn’t going to be original or fresh or groundbreaking. It’s going to be the nerdy wet dream for people still stuck in 1980.

  7. Jacobesico Says:

    Great video. I have a feeling that the Practical Effects phrase is going to turn into a running gag.

    I also loved how the prequel hater troll was put in his place in the comments section. Although it is rather sad to see fandom split like this.

    I’m sure the outrage would be a lot louder if the boot was on the other foot.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      I’ve said it many times. If the pre-TPM PR was to throw the OT under the bus, I’d understand the bashers 100%.

  8. piccolojr1138 Says:

    Honestly, I’m very excited by TFA. I really like the atmosphere of the teasers. I look forward to December 18th.

    But the insidious attacks towards the PT must be fought back, in the promotional campaign of TFA like anywhere else.

    Besides, TFA is obviously not an extension of the saga, but only a continuation of the original trilogy. Canon isn’t important here, I talk about the themes and the spirit.

    I have nothing against Bryan Young and some other “reconcilers”, but they’re completely in denial. Whether you like TFA or not, this movie is a break with the last sixteen years.

    • Stefan Kraft Says:

      “Honestly, I’m very excited by TFA. I really like the atmosphere of the teasers. I look forward to December 18th. ”
      Good thing! Not my state of mind at the moment, but I don’t want to ruin anyone’s good time.

      “But the insidious attacks towards the PT must be fought back, in the promotional campaign of TFA like anywhere else. ”
      Absolutely! I At least if we’re talking about more than stating one’s opinion. (If someone does not like the PT, fine. If someone begins to state false stuff like “no one liked the PT” or acts like the marketing machinery of TFA, then of course we fight back – in a civilised manner.)

      “Besides, TFA is obviously not an extension of the saga, but only a continuation of the original trilogy. … Whether you like TFA or not, this movie is a break with the last sixteen years.”
      That’s what I fear. I will probably enjoy TFA, but if it’s only a hommage to the OT, why was it really made? And if it is made at the expense of the PT, I will be more than frustrated.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      Maybe that’s the tack I need to take with my yet unpublished, unfinished piece…why I’m not a “reconciler” and can’t be one.

    • Nick Skywalker Says:

      The way I see it for me, at the moment, is there are 2 big reasons I won’t like the movie. 1) it turns out to be truly bad or 2) events firmly established in the PT are either completely ignored or rectonned.

      I plan to go opening day, without reading a single review and make up my own mind. I can see the “most critics comment on the improved quality from the PT” (when in reality it’s around the same or worst; let’s be real, PT will get trashed once again regardless) bandwagon now.

Leave a Reply

