Star Wars Prequel Appreciation Week Day Three: Favorite Side Character

I didn’t come up with the topics and I admit I’m a little hazy on who qualifies as a “side” character. Yoda? Mace Windu? Jango Fett? Watto? General Grievous? Darth Maul or Darth Tyranus/Count Dooku? Ben Quadinaros? Any one of the handmaidens? Capt. Typho? Bail Organa? Plo Koon? Is Palpatine a side character? Kitster???

So I guess by that it means anyone who’s not in the top three or who’s not Qui-Gon. This actually really tough because there are so many great second or third tier characters and I never gave it that much thought as to which one of them is a favorite. Palpatine is of course one of the greatest magnificent bastards to ever grace the silver screen. Jango Fett is as far as bounty hunters go, a pretty cool cat. Shmi Skywalker, the matriarch of the clan that matters, is one of the most underrated characters in the saga. And everybody else I’ve mentioned is pretty memorable even with medium-to-small amounts of screen time.

I’ve got no real answer for this one.

Tags:

6 Responses to “Star Wars Prequel Appreciation Week Day Three: Favorite Side Character”

  1. madmediaman Says:

    I went with Bail. There’s just something incredibly noble about Smits in that role. The scene that really gets me is the destruction of the Jedi Temple. When the clones tell Bail, “It’s time for you to leave,” Skits response is pitch perfect. There’s rage and profound sadness in his eyes, and his simple response, “So it is,” is both defiant, and resigned to the fate awaiting the Republic.

    That’s why I go with Bail.

  2. Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

    There are no small parts. Only small actors.

    And no, I do NOT mean Kenny and Warwick.

  3. lisse Says:

    Shmi. And, I’ve always had a soft spot for Beru, if she counts.

    • Brian47 Says:

      Good point, Shmi might be the most important “side character” or supporting role in the PT. Due to her great importance to Anakin, her absence is as notable as her presence in the films.

  4. Darkslayer Says:

    Eeth Koth!

  5. Stefan Kraft Says:

    C-3PO, my favourite Saga character. But there are other great side characters (Shmi and Bail).
    The only problem I have is that Anthony Daniels seems not to be that fond of the PT. I’m fine with actors not liking their performances or the movies they are in, but sometimes he seems to cater a bit too much to the critics.

Leave a Reply

