Star Wars Prequel Appreciation Week Day Two: Favorite Character

As with Luke, Han, and Leia it’s always a tough pick from a great trio of characters. And as per usual with me, I gravitate toward the one with the temper and the inclination to insult a captor. (“Governor Tarkin, I should’ve expected to find you holding Vader’s leash. I recognized your foul stench when I was brought on board.”) (“General Grievous, you’re shorter than I expected.”)

Everyone in the PT had a compelling journey and TPM’s Qui-Gon was a compelling figure. But I identify the most with Anakin because he’s so flawed and flawed in ways that reflect everyone’s darker nature. He doesn’t turn to the dark side for money or fame or material goods, or even political power and status. He is driven by a need for love and validation and the often painful circumstances of his life make his journey to evil that much more poignant and tragic. His mix of innocence and menace is almost unique in today’s popular fiction.

Plus he’s very easy on the eyes.

normal_anitdvd014

Tags:

8 Responses to “Star Wars Prequel Appreciation Week Day Two: Favorite Character”

  1. Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

    Jar Jar full stop.

    Honorable Mentions:
    Sebulba
    Anakin
    Grievous
    Qui-Gon
    Dooku
    Maul
    Watto
    Padmé
    Dex

  2. Cathie Scott Bergfels- Brown Says:

    You put it very well!!

  3. ladylavinia1932 Says:

    I realize that characters like Yoda, Obi-Wan, Han and Qui-Gon might be more popular. But for me, it is Anakin Skywalker. He is so fascinating. For me, he is probably the most realistic character in the Saga. More than any other character, he manages to personify both what is good and bad about human nature. Do you think that is why many fans are so hard on the character, especially the Anakin of the Prequel Trilogy? Perhaps he is a little too close for comfort?

    • lazypadawan Says:

      Yes.

      They didn’t expect Vader to have been an emotionally vulnerable young man.

    • lisse Says:

      I agree. He’s my favorite for all the reasons you said and also because the Anakin in the PT deconstructs the image of Vader, which I love. Some can’t deal with that and they’d rather their Vader have been not so emotionally damaged without realizing that the kind of person who’d completely disavow their previous identity probably wasn’t so emotionally stable in the first place.

      Also, and I don’t know if I’m reading more into it, but I’ve always regarded Anakin as a product of the things that shape him: slavery, war, dehumanization and since I enjoy narratives that deal with the consequences of those things, it’s no wonder that Anakin fascinates me. He also learns to be a person again and that personhood narrative is something I love as well.

      I guess Anakin’s my favorite because his story touches on a lot of things that interest me.

  4. jarjarbacktattooguy Says:

    Well, since Jar Jar disappears after Episode I…

    Obi-Wan is the most relatable and aspirational. He consistently tries to do the right thing even when it goes against his own innate prejudices; “another pathetic lifeform”.

    He is Alan Thicke on Growing Pains. He always takes the high road, yet always has a snarky quip to pull out of his Jedi utility belt. He loves Anakin like a brother, and never gives up on trying to guide him.

    After Ahmed Best, Ewan McGregor is the lead who is closest to my age. A child of the original trilogy doing his best to make the prequels just as good.

    Anakin was the one who got the chicks. Anakin gets to live the high life on Coruscant. Anakin gets to spend an eternity as a hunky force ghost in his 20s.

    Obi-Wan is willing to live out the rest of his days in a shack in the middle of the desert, just in case Luke or Owen ever need his guidance. They ain’t got no wi-fi out there! No expensive Bergdorf Goodman haircuts, hell naw!

    Obi-Wan spends his life doing the right thing and it buys him an eternity as a force ghost who looks like a guy in his 60s. Anakin kills billions and spends eternity as a handsome young dude.

    Damn you special editions and your fancy CGI!

  5. Stefan Kraft Says:

    Hmm… Palpatine, played by the superb Ian McDarmid? (But is he a main character? And really my favourite? He’s the über-villain after all.) Qui-Gon Jinn, the father Anakin needed (in a figurative sense, not literally)?

Leave a Reply

