Star Wars Prequel Appreciation Week: Favorite Actor

I’ll be honest…I don’t have a favorite. You’re all winners! Though I admit to still having a crush on Hayden.

cover_d

Tags:

12 Responses to “Star Wars Prequel Appreciation Week: Favorite Actor”

  1. lovelucas Says:

    I will always have a crush on Hayden but so glad to know I’m not alone. I have such a soft spot due in no small part to feeling a motherly protection for him against the harsh hatred he’s had to deal with from Star Wars “fanz” and the sheep that follow them. He wasn’t perfect – but – he was George’s idea of Anakin and he delivered the script that George wrote. And I will always defend that right but George specifically. Ewan would always be hard to say no to – and Ian could take us all to school.

  2. Noah Says:

    After seeing Star Wars 2 in theaters (age 7), Anakin became my favorite character (replacing R2-D2 & C3PO I think… I preferred them over the central characters of the OT) and I was obsessed with him (in a looking-up-to way, I was a straight boy- still am) and being a Jedi. Looking back, I can see some cheesyness (same with Toby McGuire’s Spider-Man) but his portrayal is special to me, plus that is as someone else said #A what George wanted and #B how a lot of teens and young adults act, so awkward and unwilling to show some aliveness. Anyway, the hate for him (and Jake Lloyd) is out of proportion and unforgiving… plus, most of the haters are the probably some of same people who do not see anything WRONG with the acting in a certain third Christopher Nolan movie….

    • Stefan Kraft Says:

      Hey, I am also a fan of TDKR, and I did not have issues with the acting in it (even the death scene of Talia was okay for me when I thought a bit about it). But since this is SWPAS and not Batman AS, I’ll leave it at that. 🙂

  3. piccolojr1138 Says:

    Ian McDiarmid. He actually played three roles perfectly (Palpatine, the cold Darth Sidious and the fiery Darth Sidious revealed)

  4. Nick Skywalker Says:

    I don’t care what anyone says, Hayden nailed Anakin’s role to a tee. It was spot on to what George wanted Anakin to be.

    I probably couldn’t choose a favorite either but Ian McDiarmid gets high marks in my book because he completely hit it out of the ballpark. Palpatine was already a well written character on page but I don’t think anyone could pull off the character like Ian did.

  5. Helen Says:

    My crush is on Liam Neeson (Master Qui-Gon) but I must say, I love them all. Amazing cast in all 3 PT movies. George got it right.

  6. Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

    Yeah, I can’t nail it down to one either.

    I’ll probably say Ahmed, just because he ultimately needs more recognition period, but the truth is there isn’t a performance in these films that I don’t love.

  7. lovelucas Says:

    I totally forgot to include the other gender – Natalie is very critical of her Star Wars performance – esp in TPM – but she’s my Padmé and is convincing that you can die from a broken heart. Pernilla only had a few scenes but she was perfect – and Liam- well, it goes without saying but I should have said it anyway. Qui-Gon is his.

  8. Rita Says:

    I like very very much Padme and Obiwan…but Hayden as Anakin is perfect!!!

  9. jarjarbacktattooguy Says:

    Not really an “acting” job, but Leeanna Walsman and her character really stood out. She’s a doll!

    With her face and her costume, she looks like she just stepped off the set of a Sci-fi serial from the 1940s. I love the vintage comic book and movie serial influence on her costume. Space glam femme fatale!

    Really filled the cult, supporting, bad ass role that Boba Fett did in the OT. A good example of doing a lot with a little. Zam was much more intruiging than Boba ever was. The only shape shifter in the films so far, and they are always interesting in their duality.

    But according to hateboys, Boba was one of the most brilliant characters ever, and Zam just sucks!

    Sadly, another prequel character that has been forgotten by the expanded universe and merchandise people.

  10. Stefan Kraft Says:

    Well, “best actor” would probably be Ian McDarmid or Liam Neeson for me. But favourite? I don’t know…
    C-3PO is my favourite Saga character, so I could of course go for Anthony Daniels. The only caveat I have is that he seems sometimes a bit too unprofessional when he talks about the PT.

    I have to mention Jake Lloyd, Hayden Christensen and Ahmed Best. I like all three of them. Unfortunately, the three were not only criticized (which is okay as long as this is done in a respectful manner), but really attacked by so-called “fans.” Huge respect that all three never distanced themselves from their involvement in the Saga.

Leave a Reply

