Essays on the PT Era and on Obi-Wan

A few days ago Clone Corridor posted an essay on the real-world events of the past 15 years and their effect on the PT and on the upcoming films. As a note it does come from a left perspective and I don’t endorse or agree with everything written in the piece.

One of Joshua Sikora’s Cinema and New Media Arts students wrote about Obi-Wan‘s role as a teacher and his relationship with his student throughout the saga.

Tags: , ,

7 Responses to “Essays on the PT Era and on Obi-Wan”

  1. ladylavinia1932 Says:

    The essay about Obi-Wan was interesting, but I had a few problems with it. I think the essay ignored Obi-Wan’s insistence that Luke kill Anakin in “Return of the Jedi”.

  2. Keith Palmer Says:

    I can see how the politics could be objectionable to some, but that essay did get me thinking of an idea of two that might steer “the New Order” and “the Resistance” in between “the Rebel Alliance restored the Republic just as it was, but this time it all went to pieces in under three decades” and “Return of the Jedi in fact accomplished little more than getting Han out of the carbonite.” There might be something yet to “lowering expectations to the point where they can’t help but be surprisingly exceeded.”

    (The essay on Obi-Wan was also one link away from one on “don’t obsess quite so much about CGI, which was at least sort of heartening.)

  3. Rogue 47 Says:

    I was a little surprised to find my essay qualified as ‘left’ and have been wondering which statements in it convey that impression. All I can think of is that it was my classification of the Reagan- and Thatcher-era’s as ‘divisive’ and ‘socially belligerent’.

    All I can say about that is that within the European and UK context, irrespective of what one thinks about the achievements of these two politicians they clearly set-out to end the ‘1970’s social consensus’. I think in both in the US as well as in the European countries the Reagan administration was viewed as a clear break with the more left-leaning and internationally multi-lateral Carter episode, while the Thatcher government in the UK clearly broke with many years of ‘labour party’ stagnation in government. The words ‘divisive’ and ‘socially belligerent’ were not meant as disqualifying remarks about these two governments but rather as observations of the conflicts of the times that were in part actively propelled by these.

    I had no intention to interpret Star Wars as a vehicle for promoting political viewpoints of any kind. Other than that my personal opinions may indeed be somewhat to the liberal-left of what is main stream in the US.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      I don’t want to get into political debates here but if you read the Rules of the House, I note that I will call attention to any particular POVs if applicable. I don’t want people to complain as though I’m endorsing what folks are writing.

  4. ladylavinia1932 Says:

    I never got the impression that Rogue 47’s article was promoting any kind of political beliefs.

Leave a Reply

