A ROTS Memory I Forgot To Post

Apologies to Josh for neglecting to include his submission with the rest of the Prequel Appreciation Day memories of summer 2005:

I very much appreciate that you are celebrating 10 years of Revenge of the Sith. For the occasion I have attached a photo of my original ticket stub from 2005 to share with everyone. I can’t tell you how many times I re-watched the trailer leading up to that day. I had to beg my mom to take me to see it and I wouldn’t shut up until she did. Ultimately I went to see it twice. I had never done that before with any movie so at the time that was a big deal for me. The scene from the movie that is burned into my memory ever since the first viewing was the scene in early Act II when Yoda tells Anakin to “train yourself to let go of everything you fear to lose.” It was just what I needed to hear at that point in my young life. I think it is one of those movies that made me realize a lot of unpleasant things about myself and helped me deal with them, therefore it is a very personal experience for me. The experience reminds me of something Roger Ebert once said, “When a movie character is really working, we become that character.” I feel like I become Anakin every time I watch that movie, which is both an unpleasant and a rewarding experience. I believe it is an example of how an audience can learn from the pain and mistakes of the protagonist through empathy. That’s what’s great about movies, they may not make you a better person, but they can help you to become a more conscious, self-aware, and reflective person. Revenge of the Sith certainly did all of those things for me, and elevated cinema from a pass time into a passion that continues to this day.

Thank you for all that you do to celebrate the Prequel Trilogy. The Star Wars fandom becomes a more interesting place to be when a diversity of opinion is allowed to flourish.

https://mail.google.com/mail/?ui=2&ik=f66921b0f5&view=att&th=14d2afe387ff0eb8&attid=0.1&disp=safe&zw

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

