Guess What’s The Most Streamed Star Wars Track?

Because it is May 4, Spotify issued a press release listing the top 10 most streamed Star Wars tracks from the films both in the U.S. and internationally.

Here’s the top 10 for the U.S.:

1. Duel Of The Fates from Star Wars Episode 1: The Phantom Menace
2. Imperial Attack
3. Cantina Band
4. The Imperial March – Darth Vader’s Theme
5. Anakin vs. Obi-Wan
6. Battle of the Heroes
7. Cantina Band #2
8. Anakin’s Dark Deeds
9. Anakin’s Betrayal
10. The Moisture Farm

And the top 10 internationally:

1. Duel Of The Fates from Star Wars Episode 1: The Phantom Menace
2. Cantina Band
3. Imperial Attack
4. The Imperial March – Darth Vader’s Theme
5. Anakin vs. Obi-Wan
6. Main Title/Rebel Blockade Runner
7. Battle of the Heroes
8. Cantina Band #2
9. Anakin’s Betrayal
10. Anakin’s Dark Deeds

Tags: , ,

54 Responses to “Guess What’s The Most Streamed Star Wars Track?”

  1. madmediaman Says:

    No… that’s not true… THAT’S IMPOSSIBLE!!!! The Imperial March from the most Holy TESB MUST be the most streamed because everyone hates TPM.

    Didn’t you get the memo?

    An interesting aside, and I wanted to get your thoughts on this Lazy. I’m really beginning to wonder if the whole Prequel hater thing is largely a U.S. thing. I’ve noticed more and more positive comments regarding the Prequels from fans overseas. And it got me thinking…

    U.S. schools are largely devoid of any serious study of the classics (books), and more importantly, literary thematic structures, and examinations of myth, however, overseas these things are still requirements in schools. As a result maybe an overseas audience is wired a little differently and “see” the broader picture Lucas was telling both thematically, and on a visual level. Contrast that with U.S. kids being fed a steady diet of Transformers and comic books as myth and there it is…

    • Stefan Kraft Says:

      Hard to tell… I think that it may also be related to the status of pop culture in general. In the US, I think almost everyone seems to be talking about the last news on SW, Transformers, Batman,… More importantly, even “serious” newspapers feature such stories. In Germany, this seems just to start, but is not widespread. Hence, the average fan is less “exposed to the darth media rants” and the whole bashing – if the average reporter is even aware of it. Note that this is just a hypothesis of mine.

    • blade57hrc Says:

      I can’t explain it since the education level in my country is deffinetely at an extreme low right now, but in my country and while checking the official SW pages of other countries (Japan, Brazil, Russia, etc. generally non-English speaking countries), the bashing is deffientely lower ;sometimes much lower to non-existent. For example, the Japanese SW FB page had Anakin’s podracer for page-cover last i checked. Try and imagine that in the ”main” page…
      And when it does exist, it’s usually from people who have ”access” to English speaking media or websites.

      Of course i’m generalizing & trying to express a broad picture as i’ve seen it. I haven’t done any valid scientific research or something like that.

    • M. Marshall Says:

      Well, I definitely didn’t learn about Joseph Campbell until college. My school district sucked.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      More than one person has told me there’s considerably less or even no bashing of the films in whatever country he or she lives in. It’s there to some degree in the UK but I suspect it’s because of a common language and the general meanness of British print media.

      I’ve brought it up before but my perception of Star Wars totally changed in the mid ’80s and that was largely due to what kind of classes I was taking in high school. I had a film buff as an English teacher junior year and while he was more of a Woody Allen fan than anything else, it’s where I first got the connection between literature and film. Senior year in AP English Lit I had a teacher who first brought up Joseph Campbell; surprisingly at the time he had never seen any of the Star Wars films. It was more in relation to the works of William Faulkner or Joseph Conrad. An interview with Campbell appeared in the local paper that summer and after his death, I’d seen his series on PBS with Bill Moyers. It kind of went from there.

      • darth66zannah Says:

        That’s cool Lazy! My professor in College algebra let me borrow a Joseph Campbell dvd with Lucas out of no where…I briefly mentioned Star Wars and myth and the next day he was like “here!”

    • madmediaman Says:

      You know… I think media, and media reporting might be the answer. I remember going back and watching all of the build up for AOTC and ROTS on BBC and Sky via the interwebs, and heard nary a peep about people hating them, or even being disappointed… same with some of the Japanese coverage I saw too.

    • piccolojr1138 Says:

      We’re not more more intelligent than americans 🙂 I think only a minority of viewers care about the mythological side of Star Wars, even within those who like the prequels.
      But you’re right to say there is less hate. I think it’s because here in France, the original trilogy wasn’t a phenomenon as much as in the US. When the prequels came out, the purists weren’t influent enough to impose their point of view on the medias and internet.
      Unfortunately, it changes in a bad way with the new Lucasfilm policy… The journalists follow it. But many fans stay loyal.

      • madmediaman Says:

        That’s a great point as well.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        “I think it’s because here in France, the original trilogy wasn’t a phenomenon as much as in the US.”

        That may be a factor as well. Star Wars was always big in the UK, Germany, and Japan but it seemed like it was never as popular anywhere as it was here.

        On past trips to Paris, I’d search out the film section at bookstores and find shelf after shelf of books about the films of Woody Allen but nothing really about Star Wars.

      • Tyler Johnson Says:

        LP you MUST be interviewed for this! I Plan on contributing and encourage everyone to do the same.
        https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/the-prequels-strike-back

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        Well, one or two small jabs at the prequels are there, but these guys seem to be honest and want to be positive about the prequels. If this is their approach (no matter whether they like the PT or not)* I might really give them a small amount. (Hopefully, they do not feature RLM…)

        *footnote: I cannot say anything against SW fans for whom the PT is not their cup of tea – as long as they behave like real fans and respect the other fans who think differently. Even better if these “PT not my cup of tea” fans try to make the most out of the prequels.

    • Eduardo Vargas Says:

      This is certainly true back home in Colombia. While here we aren’t the most die-hard fans, ( I still wonder why their is no 501st Legion here and Peru has one) You don’t see prequel hate among people my age or even my parents generation.

      In fact, I have heard more often than not from many the statement that ” all six films are good” – which coming from folks who aren’t even fans stands as a testament of how different Star Wars is perceived outside of the US and the Internet

  2. Stefan Kraft Says:

    All SW music is good music, and the PT had some terrific pieces. Even haters admit that. TPM music on the top can therefore be interpreted in different ways…
    But whatever, it’s great!

  3. Eduardo Jencarelli Says:

    Did anyone else know Disney and Lucasfilm booted Josh Trank from a Star Wars Anthology project?

    http://screenrant.com/fantastic-four-josh-trank-star-wars-fired-explanation/

    • madmediaman Says:

      He booted himself… word on the street in Hollywood is that he had a serious drug problem.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        THR and Variety noted some of his erratic behavior and even speculated that Fantastic Four was a big honkin’ mess. THR made it sound as though Simon Kinberg and Trank didn’t get along while working on FF and Kinberg didn’t want to work with him again. Neither source mentioned drug addiction but it wouldn’t surprise me.if that was true and at the core of all of his problems.

      • madmediaman Says:

        “Erratic behavior” is Hollywood code for drugs. Thta was a rumor floating around the set of Fantastic Four

      • bansheegun Says:

        From ScreenRant:

        Trank was on set for both principal photography and reshoots on Fantastic Four, but producer/screenwriter Simon Kinberg (X-Men: Days of Future Past) and producer Hutch Parker often had to help take charge of things – and were so “heavily involved” with the reshoots (some taking place as recently as April 2015) that it took away from their duties on X-Men: Apocalypse (currently in production).

      • bansheegun Says:

        *facepalm* I didn’t even see you post the link. My bad.

    • M. Marshall Says:

      Yes, I pointed it out to Lazy yesterday.

  4. Keith Palmer Says:

    I suppose this is “piggybacking” on the latest article, but I did happen to notice a news piece about the new movie screen on the space station used for a viewing of Revenge of the Sith. Some people tried to make a scandal of the choice; I say “speak for yourself.”

    • Stefan Kraft Says:

      “Picked the wrong one” is true. They should have chosen TPM. 😉

    • Bob Clark Says:

      Weird, they watched a pan and scan version?

      • Keith Palmer Says:

        The screen doesn’t quite look “4:3” to me, although I’m not completely certain it’s in the HDTV aspect ratio either. Maybe the zoom setting’s not quite right on the projector.

      • Bob Clark Says:

        It’s not the right aspect ratio at all. It’s not 2.35, it’s not even 1.77. Which I’m surprised by, because you’d think the full widescreen would be the easiest one to show at this point. Weird.

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        (Unnecessary comment by me, but still): Love such technical (stoic, if you will) discussions when the others (including yours truly) were criticizing a strange comment by a non-PT lover.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      Star Wars fans never pass up the opportunity to make utter douches of themselves.

    • M. Marshall Says:

      Who in the world is Angel Rodriguez and why do we care what he/she thinks? Those astronauts can watch whatever they darn well please.

  5. maychild Says:

    http://www.upworthy.com/george-lucas-just-changed-the-rules-of-the-star-wars-universe-to-make-this-boy-unbelievably-happy?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+upworthy+%28Upworthy%29

    • Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

      What nobody seems to understand is that the Jedi’s ban on relationships forcing Anakin and Padmé to love in secret rather than out in the open is what doomed them. That’s the reason why Anakin is redeemed through the children he’d never have had if he hadn’t followed the ways of life as opposed to the Jedi dogma. Palpatine exploited him because he had nowhere else to turn to with his feelings.

      • M. Marshall Says:

        Didn’t they even tell this boy about Luke and Mara? Oh wait, that’s not canon anymore.

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        I agree with Adam, and I think that GL’s comment should be read in this way.
        BTW, do you think that the answer was really written by GL? So he is (slightly) involved in some of the business of Lucasfilm?

      • M. Marshall Says:

        Frankly, I don’t see it as a big deal that the Jedi can’t marry because these are people who lead dangerous lives and if they’re not careful, can kill you with the drop of a pin. But if they were to change their status on marriage, they’d probably only allow Jedi to marry other Jedi. It seems logical. Anyway, why should a 7 year old boy worry about marriage anyway? Or knighthood? He probably has a low midi-chlorean count.

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        M. Marshall, I find your lack of faith in the abilities of this boy disturbing. 😉

  6. Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

    Duel of the Fates is clearly the best, though I personally slightly prefer Battle of the Heroes.

  7. Evangelos Says:

    I remember some time ago,i was searching to buy the soundtracks on CD(remember those?).I was hoping to find a box set for the whole saga,but there was none.Instead,there was a super collectors edition for the OT with bonus stuff.Nothing for the prequels,just the simple jewel case editions.It’s like the prequels are less important,that they don’t deserve a collectors edition or something.You see,its stuff like those that bother me,like the new Battlferont game that has no PT levels(i mean,seriously,what the hell was THAT?)Its obvious that a whole lot of people enjoy the prequels so why doesn’t Disney/Lucasfilm act like it? -(crickets)-

  8. Jim Raynor Says:

    Nice find. Go through the numbers and you’ll find plenty of evidence that the prequels are more popular than the haters would like to admit. Last I checked, Episode I has a 3.5 rating out of 5 on Amazon. That’s with all the crazy 1/5 ratings included.

  9. darth66zannah Says:

    here’s a question: because duel of fates was in all 3 prequels, which film utilized it the best? I like it more in ep 3. Sideous vs Yoda, now that’s a duel of fates!!

    • Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

      Phantom definitely. While I like it in the others, it has a tendency to feel shoehorned. But in Phantom, it was natural.

    • Stefan Kraft Says:

      Phantom, too. I will acknowledge that this is purely subjective because of the fond memories I have from the viewing of TPM back then. I found (and still find) the setting of the scene (the generator room) together with the music really elegant.

      • M. Marshall Says:

        I liked it in “Phantom” too but I like how it was used in “Clones” with the famous “Twin Sunsets” theme leading into “Duel of the Fates” as Anakin rides his speeder through the desert.

  10. darth66zannah Says:

    I know this is random but I haven’t been on here since i returned from celebration…i read your responses to my documentary comment and I have deliberated for quite a while to either be professional, concise and well mannered or just intellectually bitch slap all the haters with a verbal assualt and I have chosen the ladder…if there’s one thing life has taught me it’s that nice guys finish last and right now this is the problem with the prequel fans…I am ripping these haters apart, piece by piece, parental advisory explicit lyrics and all…don’t worry i am including all types of essays, some from here, the ring theory, lard biscuits, all types of stuff…so much that I feel this thing just never ends…but it has to be complete! email me if you have any ideas/ insights/ rebuttals that may be of use: lacayo.jorge@yahoo.com

    • Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

      Definitely take into account “The Star Wars Heresies” and “Ring Theory”. Also, not to be immodest, but feel free to read my works as well (click my name and it brings you to my site where you can search for my Jedi News articles easier than on Jedi News itself).

    • blade57hrc Says:

      Are you going to rebute also M.Stoklasa’s arguements like ”Obi didn’t know what was in front of him when duelling Grievous” or ”Lucas is bored that’s why he shot with 2 cameras simultaneously?”

      I’ll send you material later in the day.
      Also, look up for the documentary ”Side by side”. Very interesting material in there, although it is not well known.

      • madmediaman Says:

        Lucas frequently used multiple cameras in his earlier works like Graffiti and… da…da..daaahhhhhh!!!!! Star Wars! Lucas always liked having a “b” camera rolling primarily to pick up reaction shots of actors… It’s a huge time saver.

        Used to to that myself…

    • Brian47 Says:

      I don’t know, I’m kind of a “take the high road” kind of guy when it comes to this type of situation. The haters can tear down but if I want to respond, I do it in a measured, factual way or just relaying the ways I connected to the PT, the aspects I found engaging, intellectually interesting, etc. I just don’t believe in shouting louder or becoming more insulting to make a rebuttal. You just present your argument in a factual manner and that’s it. “Ring Theory” and “Star Wars Heresies” do this well, although I think I might even remove any mention of RLM’s critiques in the former piece. Even mentioning the highly skewed, subjective, biased, mean-spirited and myopic opinions stated by RLM lends them too much air time.

  11. Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

    I only found this yesterday, but apparently it was posted back in 2011: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=BgAlQuqzl8o

  12. Wizardman Says:

    Here’s a clip released by Disney for May the Fourth of GL and co. discussing the digital revolution. Somewhat surprising that they did that. 😛

    http://www.disneymoviesanywhere.com/discover

    • lazypadawan Says:

      I know…I thought it was all about “practical” these days.

      • maychild Says:

        Or maybe TFU is chock full of CGI but JJ Abrams, et al are stressing the “practical” effects because they know that’s what the butthurt hateboys are clamoring for, and since the media caters to the butthurt hateboys, they can get all kinds of free publicity: “A return to practical effects!” is the selling point, no matter how full of sh*t it is, on every level I can think of.

        Butthurt hateboys are so determined to use what they’ve seen of TFU as a spanking stick against the prequels/Lucas that they claim with (presumably) straight faces that the trailers have almost no CGI in them, or that CGI is used “more judiciously than in the prequels,” whatever that means.

        Like others, I really dig all the “practical” bluescreen pics in the VF article — but the butthurt hateboys are apparently blind to them, just like they’re blind to the innumerable behind-the-scenes pics and videos which show how many practical effects and sets were used for the prequels.

        “The prequels were all CGI and JJ Abrams is going all practical!” is their story, and they’re sticking to it, damn it.

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        Well, maybe EP VII will have “less” CGI (“less” = GL would have used CGI in some scenes, but Abrams has decided to use a real set, maybe for the right, maybe for the wrong reason). But it is this strange marketing that seems to be catering to this vocal minority that bugs me, too. And let’s be honest, if EP VII were FULL of CGI and the vocal minority were satisfied by the story, would they really care whether CGI was used or not?

  13. Jim Raynor Says:

    I wouldn’t be surprised if the number of VFX shots for Episode VII is well over 2,000. That seems to be normal for scifi blockbusters these days.

    Even The Winter Soldier, Marvel’s “realistic” and “grounded” movie with an emphasis on physical stunts and locations (they literally used the world’s only satellite launch ship for the movie’s first action scenes) had 2,500 VFX shots.

    What was the number for ROTS again? Somewhere around 2,100?

  14. Jacobesico Says:

    John Williams has done a great job on the soundtrack on ALL six movies. His scores helped tell the story of the Star Wars saga and I don’t think George could have done it without him.

    My favourite score in the Prequels has got to be Across the Stars. It has such a sad beauty to it.

    I look foward to see what Williams does in The Force Awakens.

Leave a Reply

